
Kobe Gyu sukiyaki meat comes in sizes from 400g to 1kg, so it is easy to end up choosing without knowing how many grams are enough for your group, or how many days after it arrives chilled you need to use it. This article organizes the publicly available product information and review-site listings for Kobe Gyu Specialty Shop Tatsuya’s “Kobe Gyu Sukiyaki Meat, Tokusen Loin” into five points: amount, storage, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
The serving counts are estimates as shown on the product page.
What We Confirmed
- The amount and roughly how many servings it makes
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in publicly posted reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product Name | Kobe Gyu Sukiyaki Meat, Tokusen Loin |
|---|---|
| Name | Beef, loinSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Amount | 5 sizes: 400g (2–3 servings) / 500g (about 3 servings) / 600g (3–4 servings) / 800g (4–5 servings) / 1kg (5–6 servings). The serving counts are estimates as shown on the product page; no breakdown by number of people is given.Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (size selection field, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| What Changes Depending on Your Choice | Amount (5 sizes). The estimated number of servings changes by size, and the packaging is described as bamboo skin for 400g only and an orihako box for 500g and above.Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, notes for each size, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Storage Method | Keep chilled (5°C or below)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Best-Before Date | Stated as a use-by date: 4 days from shipment when kept chilled (5°C or below)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Country of Origin | Domestic (Hyogo). The country of origin and country of manufacture are Japan. The regional beef brand is Kobe Gyu.Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Place of Processing | Not confirmed (the manufacturer’s address is given, but it is not stated as the place of processing) |
| Condition / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Needed) | Chilled product. The form is shown as thinly sliced and the use as sukiyaki. We found no guidance stating directly whether it can be eaten raw or needs to be cooked.Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Thawing Method | Not confirmed (not stated on the product page or the shop information page. Because the product is delivered chilled, we could not find any thawing guidance.) |
| Shipping | Sent by Yamato Transport’s Cool TA-Q-BIN (chilled); the shop says the meat is cut on the day of shipment.Source: Rakuten Ichiba shop information page (gift wrapping guidance, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Grading / Certification Statements | No individual grade for this product is stated on the product page or the shop information page (Not confirmed). The shop’s explanation says that Kobe Gyu is Tajima-gyu (Tajima cattle) that meets A4–5 or B4–5 in beef grading.Source (shop’s explanation): explanatory image on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)By contrast, the certification criteria of the Kobe Niku Ryutsu Suishin Kyogikai (Kobe Beef Marketing & Distribution Promotion Council) specify, among other conditions, Tajima cattle from designated producers in Hyogo Prefecture; heifers that have not calved or steers; a carcass grade with a BMS No. of 6 or higher and a yield grade of A or B; and a carcass weight of 499.9kg or less.Source (Council’s criteria): Kobe Niku Ryutsu Suishin Kyogikai, “Strict Certification Standards” (viewed October 2, 2026)The shop’s explanation and the Council’s criteria are worded differently, and the product page does not show which category this product falls under. |
| Manufacturer | Tatsuya Ltd. (有限会社辰屋) / 1-13-19 Motomachidori, Chuo-ku, KobeSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Shop | Kobe Gyu Specialty Shop Tatsuya (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, no ingredient list or allergen labeling appears on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, product description, and explanatory images) or on the shop information page. This item is Not confirmed (not stated on the page).
Note that “beef” is included among the items for which labeling is recommended under Japan’s Food Labeling Act (an item treated in the same way as the specified allergens, though not itself mandatory). If you have a food allergy and plan to eat this, ask the shop before buying or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to Check | For This Product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / servings | Choose from 5 sizes on the product page, from 400g (2–3 servings) to 1kg (5–6 servings) (the serving counts are estimates as shown on the product page) | Rakuten Ichiba product page (size selection field, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Keep chilled (5°C or below); the use-by date is 4 days from shipment when kept chilled. Thawing method: Not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026) |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | Not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Checked the product specifications section, product description, explanatory images, and shop information page |
| 4. Whether it works as a gift | Noshi is supported. The shop says the meat is placed in an orihako box (bamboo skin for 400g), wrapped in the shop’s original wrapping paper, and the noshi is attached. It comes in a gift box, and a carrier bag is included. The type of noshi inscription is Not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product specifications section) and shop information page (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| 5. Review trends | Rated 4.83 / 5 (623 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in the standard sort order (Rakuten’s default) and all of the 1-, 2-, and 3-star reviews (7 in total). Posts range from February 2008 to January 2026, and the latest post is from January 2026 (8 of the first 60 were posted within the last two years). This trend may not reflect the product’s current condition. Many reviews say it was appreciated as a gift and praise the tenderness and the sweetness of the fat, while some mention the amount of fat or the price | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The product page shows that noshi is supported. For packaging, the shop says the meat is placed in an orihako box (bamboo skin for 400g only) and wrapped in the shop’s original wrapping paper, and the noshi is attached at that stage (inner noshi, uchi-noshi) (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product specifications section, viewed October 2, 2026). The type of noshi inscription is not listed on the product page or the shop information page, and is Not confirmed (not stated on the page).
- Packing: the shop says it is packed in a gift box together with a Kobe Niku no Akashi (神戸肉之証), a recipe, and cold packs. A carrier bag is also included in case you hand it over in person (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product specifications section).
- Statement: the shop says it does not include a statement showing the price (Source: Rakuten Ichiba shop information page).
- Shipping: the shop says the meat is cut on the day of shipment and sent chilled, not frozen, by Yamato Transport’s Cool TA-Q-BIN (Source: same as above).
- Message card: the product page’s gift section has no setting for it. An explanatory image on the product page carried a notice about a message card as a limited-time bonus, but we could not confirm whether it is offered all year round.
- Delivery date: we could not confirm from the product page guidance how specifying or changing a delivery date is handled. Reviews include posts saying the shop shipped a day early to match the requested date, and that it accommodated a change of shipping date (Source: Rakuten customer reviews).
Because it arrives chilled and the use-by date is 4 days from shipment when kept chilled, checking in advance which day the recipient can receive it makes mix-ups less likely.

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The ratings are as of the viewing date and change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Number of Reviews | Date Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.83 / 5 | 623 | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 526 / 4★ 90 / 3★ 4 / 2★ 2 / 1★ 1 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
Range read: the first 60 reviews in the standard sort order (posts from February 2008 to January 2026, latest January 2026), plus all 1 one-star review (January 2016), all 2 two-star reviews (January 2012, July 2022), and all 4 three-star reviews (2009–2017), 67 in total. Because there are few 1- and 2-star reviews, we read all the way through 3 stars. These are trends within the range we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Satisfaction as a gift
About 40 of the 60 reviews in the standard sort order mention using it as a gift (for return gifts (uchi-iwai), year-end gifts (oseibo), birthdays, and so on) and that the recipient was pleased. Most are 5-star ratings, with two or three 4-star ratings. Five of them were posted within the last two years.
Tenderness and melt-in-the-mouth texture
About 10 of the 60 reviews say the meat is tender or seems to melt in the mouth. The posts date from 2009 to 2022, and none was posted within the last two years.
Sweet fat that is not cloying
About 9 of the 60 reviews say the fat is sweet, not cloying, and easy to eat. The posts date from 2012 to 2021 and are mainly 5-star ratings. None was posted within the last two years.
Enough to go around
About 6 of the 60 reviews mention that the amount was enough, such as 1kg eaten by 5 to 8 people or 500g finished by 2 people. All were posted between 2012 and 2020 and are 5-star ratings.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
A lot of fat
Three of the 60 reviews in the standard sort order said, in effect, that there was a lot of fat or that there was fat to trim off. All three are 4- or 5-star posts; the 1-, 2-, and 3-star reviews (all of them) contain no such comment. The posts date from 2009 to 2022, and none was posted within the last two years.
How to check: the cut is summarized in the “Name” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Price
Five reviews in total said in effect that the price is high, has gone up, or whether it is worth the price: 3 of the first 60 reviews in the standard sort order and 2 of the 3 one- and two-star reviews. The posts date from 2012 to 2017, and none was posted within the last two years.
Taste falling short of expectations
All 3 of the 1- and 2-star reviews said in effect that the taste was weak or ordinary and not as good as expected. That is 3 of all 623 reviews, posted in 2012, 2016, and 2022. None was posted within the last two years.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- People who want to choose from 5 sizes between 400g and 1kg to match the number of people
- People looking for thinly sliced beef loin for sukiyaki
- People who want to send it as a gift in a gift box with noshi
- People who can use it all within 4 days of shipment when kept chilled
Who Should Be Careful
- People who want to check ingredient and allergen labeling before buying (not stated on the page)
- People who want to know the seller’s guidance on thawing and cooking in advance
- People who want to confirm the type of noshi inscription in advance
- People concerned about the amount of fat, since some reviews mention a lot of fat
The serving counts are estimates as shown on the product page. Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The amount comes in 5 sizes from 400g to 1kg. The serving counts are estimates as shown on the product page, and the size is chosen on the product page
- Keep it chilled (5°C or below); the use-by date is 4 days from shipment when kept chilled. The thawing method and allergen labeling are not stated on the product page and are not confirmed
- Rakuten customer reviews show 4.83 stars from 623 reviews. Within the 67 we read, many say it was appreciated as a gift and praise the tenderness and the sweetness of the fat, while some mention the amount of fat or the price (this trend may not reflect the product’s current condition)
Related Pages
This article organizes information publicly available on sales sites and review sites. Product details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Kobe Gyu Specialty Shop Tatsuya” product page and shop information page, Kobe Niku Ryutsu Suishin Kyogikai “Strict Certification Standards”, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments