With Kuroge Wagyu off-cuts, the name alone does not tell you the cut or the size, so it is easy to hesitate over how many servings 800g makes, what exactly is “wakeari” about it, and whether it works as a gift. In this article, we organized the product page and the Rakuten reviews for the Kuroge Wagyu off-cuts for sukiyaki, 800g (400g x 2), that Niku no Meat Tamaya (黒毛和牛卸問屋 肉のミートたまや) sells on Rakuten Ichiba into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gift suitability, and reviews. The A4 to A5 grades in the product name are the shop’s own label. The reason for “wakeari” is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and information on cuts and meat quality
- Storage method and best-before date
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Meat Tamaya Kuroge Wagyu Off-Cuts for Sukiyaki, 800g (400g x 2). The product name field on the product page reads A4A5 grade Kuroge Wagyu off-cuts for sukiyaki. The A4 to A5 grades are the shop’s own label. A guide image says only beef cattle that received an A4 or A5 rating in grading are usedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026. Promotional wording has been removed from the shop’s long product name) |
|---|---|
| Name | Not confirmed (the name in the food information label is not found on the product page)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Amount | 800g (400g x 2). The number of servings is not found on the product page and is not confirmedSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| What changes depending on your choice | Packaging. The packaging in the product description is simple packaging. The list of options on the purchase screen and the shipping estimate could not be found: not confirmedSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| Cuts and meat quality (the shop’s guidance) | The ingredients field reads Kuroge Wagyu beef (bara / momo). A guide image explains that it centers on the cut called shoulder rib (katabara), and also uses momo (round) and ude (arm) cuts. It says shoulder rib is not a cut with a melt-in-the-mouth tender texture, and that the meat is sliced thinner than ordinary sukiyaki meat. It also says the slices are large cuts that do not look like off-cutsSource: product description and guide images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| The reason for “wakeari” | The product name says “wakeari”, but the reason is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed. The explanation of large cuts in the guide image on cuts and meat quality is not written as the reason for “wakeari”Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| Storage method | Written in the frozen (−18°C or below) and best-before date field. A separate storage method field is not found on the product pageSource: best-before date field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Best-before date | Written as 30 days when kept frozen (−18°C or below). The starting point of the count (shipping date, production date, or arrival date) is not found, so it is not confirmedSource: same as above |
| Country of origin (raw materials) | Written as Kuroge Wagyu beef (bara / momo), with the origin as domestic. The prefecture or other place of origin is not confirmedSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed (the address of the manufacturer / seller is given, but it is not written as the place where processing is done) |
| Condition / how to eat (heating required?) | It arrives frozen. We could not find a clear statement from the seller on whether heating is required. The product description says it can be used for sukiyaki, shabu-shabu, and grilling on an iron plateSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Thawing method | Not confirmed (the shelf life after thawing is also not found) |
| Shipping | Written as frozen delivery (Yamato Transport, ヤマト運輸)Source: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Manufacturer | Written as manufactured / sold by Meat Tamaya (Shimonoseki City, Yamaguchi Prefecture). The manufacturer and the seller are not listed separately, so the manufacturer as such is not confirmedSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Shop | Niku no Meat Tamaya (黒毛和牛卸問屋 肉のミートたまや) (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredients field on the product page lists Kuroge Wagyu beef (bara / momo). A field for additives and allergen labeling is not found on the product page or in the guide images. This item is not confirmed. Beef is not among the specified ingredients for which labeling is mandatory, but it is among the “items equivalent to specified ingredients” for which labeling is recommended. If you have an allergy, please ask the seller before buying, or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 8, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| Point to check | For this product | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount & number of servings | 800g (400g x 2). The number of servings is not found on the product page and is not confirmed | Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 2. Storage & shelf life | Frozen (−18°C or below), 30 days stated. The starting point of the count, the thawing method, and the shelf life after thawing are not confirmed | Best-before date field on the product page. Checked the product description and guide images |
| 3. Ingredients & allergen labeling | The ingredient is Kuroge Wagyu beef (bara / momo). Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Checked the product page and the guide images |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | Shown as supporting noshi (postcard-sized noshi card, simple packaging by default). The types of inscriptions, and whether a gift box can be chosen for this product, could not be confirmed | Display on the product page and the guide images for noshi and packaging |
| 5. Review trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.53 / 5 (570 reviews). The reviews we read were 60 in the default order and all 21 at 1★ and 2★, and they may not reflect the product’s current condition. Trends are organized in the review section below | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 8, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
Regarding noshi (gift wrapping label), Rakuten’s product information shows that noshi is supported, and the product description says a postcard-sized noshi card is available for gifts, presents, and giveaway prizes. Words such as Oseibo (year-end gift) and Uchiiwai (thank-you gift) follow it, but we could not tell from the product page whether this is a list of inscription types you can choose. The product name also includes words that mean “gift”, but this is not a statement showing noshi inscription support.
- Noshi form: the page says it is a postcard-sized noshi card, requested when you go through the order procedure. You cannot choose between inner noshi and outer noshi, and with simple packaging, one card is placed inside the shipping cardboard box holding all items. It says it cannot be attached if you ask for it after placing the order
- Packaging: the packaging in the product description is simple packaging. The page says it arrives wrapped in a wood-grain eco tray, a special food-grade film, and similar materials, that the materials differ depending on the product and production situation, and that the packaging method cannot be specified. The shop’s guide image also describes a simple gift option (in a gift box), chosen when you order, saying that the box holds the simply packaged product, that it is not a folding box, and that products cannot be divided into separate gift boxes. However, this guide image is shared across the shop’s product pages, and whether this product’s purchase screen offers a gift box option is not confirmed. The page says packaging cannot be changed (for example, from simple packaging to another type)
- Message card: the message card field on the product page is not set. A guide image says two kinds are available, a Mother’s Day card and a Father’s Day card, and that free-form messages and name printing are not accepted
- Delivery date: the page says only the dates and times you can select in the delivery date field of the order procedure can be specified, and that requests written in the remarks field may not be accommodated. Orders without a specified date ship according to the shipping estimate on the product page, and when deliveries are concentrated, the page says an order may ship 1 to 4 days earlier than the estimate
- Changes after ordering: the page says that after ordering, the product, quantity, and expected delivery date cannot be changed, and the order cannot be canceled
- Because it arrives by frozen delivery (Yamato Transport), checking in advance whether the recipient can receive it at the date and time you specify, and whether they have room in the freezer for 800g, makes mix-ups less likely
Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, guide images for noshi, packaging, cards, and order notes (viewed October 8, 2026)
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and may change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.53 / 5 | 570 | October 8, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 388 / 4★ 130 / 3★ 31 / 2★ 9 / 1★ 12 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 8, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted March 2009 to June 2026; latest June 2026), plus all 12 reviews at 1★ and all 9 at 2★ when filtered, 21 in total (posted October 2010 to January 2024), 81 in total. We did not read the 3★ reviews. These are trends within the range we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. The counts were tallied by the person in charge and may be off by one or two.
What Reviewers Praise
Reactions as a gift (about 15 of 60)
About 15 of the 60 reviews in the default order wrote that they used it as a gift or that the recipient was pleased (about 6 of them posted within the last two years). The occasions include Oseibo (year-end gift), Onenga (New Year gift), and birthday celebrations. Noshi and packaging support are summarized in the “Suitable as a Gift?” section above.
Size and looks that do not seem like off-cuts (about 12 of 60)
About 12 of the 60 reviews wrote that the slices were larger than the off-cuts they expected and looked neat (about 4 of them posted within the last two years). The guide image on the product page also describes large-cut slices, but only buyers’ posts are counted here.
Tenderness and thin slices that are easy to eat (about 12 of 60)
About 12 of the 60 reviews wrote that it was tender, or that the thin slices were easy to eat (about 1 of them posted within the last two years). Some also wrote that the thin slices worked for shabu-shabu too. On the other hand, the shop says the cut it uses is not a cut with a melt-in-the-mouth tender texture, so impressions vary. Posts that say it was tough are summarized below under “What Reviewers Note”.
Satisfaction with the amount (about 10 of 60)
About 10 of the 60 reviews wrote that they were satisfied with the amount (about 2 of them posted within the last two years).
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 8, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
We read all 21 reviews at 1★ and 2★. They were posted from October 2010 to January 2024, and none were posted within the last two years (October 2024 onward); all are older. For each theme, we add the count out of the 21 reviews at 1★ and 2★.
Toughness and gristle
About 10 of the 21 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (0 of them posted within the last two years) said the meat was tough or the gristle bothered them. Among the 60 reviews in the default order, 1 post at 4★ (from 2017) also said it was tough.
How to check: The cuts and meat quality the shop explains are summarized in the “Cuts and meat quality (the shop’s guidance)” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Less than expected from A4 to A5
About 9 of the 21 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (0 of them posted within the last two years) wrote that the taste or meat quality was less than they expected from the A4 to A5 grades in the product name.
How to check: The grade the shop shows is summarized in the “Product name” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Amount of fat
About 4 of the 21 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (0 of them posted within the last two years) said there was a lot of fat. Among the 60 reviews in the default order, 2 posts at 4★ also said there was a lot of fat.
How to check: The cuts the shop explains are summarized in the “Cuts and meat quality (the shop’s guidance)” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 8, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Looking for Kuroge Wagyu off-cuts for sukiyaki or shabu-shabu in 800g
- Prefer it divided into 400g packs
- Have room in the freezer for 800g
- Considering a gift for which simple packaging and a postcard-sized noshi card are enough
Who Should Be Careful
- Have an allergy (because the labeling is not confirmed, you need to ask the seller or check the label on the product when it arrives)
- Want the toughness, the amount of fat, and the cuts to be consistent (the shop explains the cuts, but some reviews point out toughness and a lot of fat. We read 60 reviews in the default order and all 21 at 1★ and 2★, which may not reflect the product’s current condition)
- Want to check the grade, the number of servings, or the reason for “wakeari” (all not confirmed on the product page)
- Want to premise it on the thawing method, the shelf life after thawing, or giving it in a gift box (all not confirmed)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 8, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- 800g divided into 400g x 2 packs. The number of servings is not on the product page, and the reason for “wakeari” could not be confirmed on the product page
- Storage is stated as frozen (−18°C or below) for 30 days. The thawing method and the shelf life after thawing are not confirmed. For gifts, the page describes a postcard-sized noshi card and simple packaging
- Ingredient and allergen labeling could not be confirmed on the product page. In the reviews, reactions as a gift and the size and look of the slices were praised, while toughness and a lot of fat were raised as concerns (within the 60 reviews and all 21 at 1★ and 2★ we read, which may not reflect the product’s current condition)
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on Rakuten Ichiba product pages and Rakuten customer reviews. Product information such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 8, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “黒毛和牛卸問屋 肉のミートたまや” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments