Ozu Town (Kumamoto Prefecture) is the local government that receives the donation for this furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program) thank-you gift, and the origin of the pork is stated as Kumamoto Prefecture (including Ozu Town). The listing explains that pigs raised and slaughtered in Ozu Town are combined with pork from neighboring municipalities and shipped as Kumamoto-produced pork. The gift covered in this article, 熊本うまかポーク切り落としセット (熊本うまかポーク Off-Cuts Set), is a frozen thank-you gift centered on “wakeari” (a Japanese shopping label for items sold with a stated reason) pork off-cuts; you apply by choosing a combination with ground pork and slices and a total amount, and subscription options are on the same page. In this article we organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews state into five points: contents, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. The features we could confirm on the listing are three: the total amount can be chosen from 1.8kg to 7.2kg, the meat comes divided into vacuum packs of about 300g each, and off-cuts can be combined with ground pork.
At a Glance
Key Points
- Choose a total amount of 1.8kg, 3.6kg, 5.4kg or 7.2kg (for off-cuts only, or off-cuts and ground pork). A comparison of total amounts with other gifts is in the table “Compared with 9 Pork Gifts with Matching Comparison Values”
- Divided into vacuum packs of about 300g each. The listing says the packaging does not use trays and you can thaw only what you need
- Choose from 5 combinations of off-cuts, ground pork and slices. Combinations that include slices are available only as a 3.6kg total
- Rakuten rating 4.61 (2,573 reviews). Viewed November 8, 2026
Points to Note
- These are wakeari off-cuts, and the listing says size and the amount of lean meat and fat vary even within the same pack. You cannot choose the cut
- For a one-time application, the option is named “scheduled to ship within 30 days (excluding weekends and holidays)”. Two ★1 posts on November 3 and 5, 2026 said they applied with this option and had not received the gift for more than a month. This article cannot tell you the arrival date
- You cannot choose the delivery month (option fields as of November 8, 2026). If you want to receive it at a set time, Tahara Pork, 3 Cuts in Small Packs (Tahara City) lets you choose the delivery time
Good for: people who want to receive pork off-cuts and ground pork together in amounts of several kilograms and use about 300g at a time
The comparison covers 9 of the pork thank-you gifts Ochinity covers whose comparison values are matched (as of November 8, 2026). Each value is as of the information-as-of date of its article and may differ from the current contents. The features come from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed November 8, 2026). The rating is Rakuten’s display (viewed November 8, 2026) and does not necessarily represent the current condition of the product.
Compared with 9 Pork Gifts with Matching Comparison Values
Of the pork articles Ochinity covers, the 9 furusato nozei thank-you gifts whose comparison values are matched (as of November 8, 2026). Other pork articles are not included in the table because their comparison values are not matched. Each value is as of the information-as-of date of its article and may differ from the current contents. Ratings are Rakuten’s display; the fewer the reviews, the more the number tends to move.
| Product | Total Amount | Kinds & Cuts | Rakuten Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| 熊本うまかポーク Off-Cuts & Ground PorkThis article · Ozu Town · subscription available | 1.8–7.2kg | Off-cuts, ground pork, slices | 4.612,573 reviews |
| Kurobuta Shoulder Loin for Shabu-shabu 1kgIbusuki City | 1kg | Shoulder loin | 4.8168 reviews |
| Tahara Pork for Shabu-shabu, 3 Cuts in Small PacksTahara City · subscription available | 600g / 1.2kg | Loin, shoulder loin, belly | 4.89134 reviews |
| Okinawa Agu Pork Shabu-shabu Taste-Comparison SetNanjo City | 1.2kg / 2.8kg | Loin, belly, ude (shoulder), momo (leg) | 4.4388 reviews |
| Kagoshima Pork Loin for Shabu-shabuMinamisatsuma City | 1.5kg / 2kg | Loin | 4.77115 reviews |
| ミヤチク Pork Variety SetMiyazaki City · subscription available | 2.1–4.5kg | 8 kinds incl. slices, off-cuts and hamburger steaks | 4.7412,998 reviews |
| Sweet Pork, Pork Leg for Shabu-shabuMiyakonojo City | 3kg / 5kg | Momo (leg) | 4.74125 reviews |
| Kai Seiniku Pork Belly for Shabu-shabu 300g × 5 PacksHyuga City | 1.5kg | Belly | 4.6893 reviews |
| Miyazaki Pork VarietyKushima City | 2.1–4.1kg | 5 kinds incl. off-cuts, shabu-shabu, tonkatsu and ground pork | 4.726,691 reviews |
Click a product name to go to its article. The cut for Kai Seiniku is as written in its product name. “Subscription available” is shown only where we could confirm it in the article.
- This gift’s total amount can be chosen from 1.8–7.2kg. The total amounts of the other 8 gifts are as shown in the “Total Amount” column of the table
- In the table, a gift that includes both off-cuts and ground pork is also found in Kushima City’s Miyazaki Pork Variety (2.1–4.1kg)
- This gift’s Rakuten rating is 4.61 (2,573 reviews). The ratings and review counts of the other products in the table are as of the information-as-of date of each article
Basic Information
- Product name
- 熊本うまかポーク切り落としセット (熊本うまかポーク Off-Cuts Set: off-cuts, ground pork, slices)
- Donation recipient / provider
- Ozu Town, Kumamoto (熊本県大津町, Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Provider’s company name: not confirmed
- Amount
- Total 1.8kg / 3.6kg / 5.4kg / 7.2kg (combinations that include slices: 3.6kg only)
- Per pack
- About 300g (vacuum pack)
- Subscription
- 2, 3 or 6 deliveries (shipping starts the month after you apply)
- Storage
- Frozen at -18°C or below (best-before date printed on the package)
- Allergen labeling
- Not confirmed
- Donation amount
- Varies with the combination, total amount and number of deliveries you choose. Check the listing
- Shipping
- One-time option: scheduled to ship within 30 days (excluding weekends and holidays). There are reports of delays (see details below)
- Noshi / gifts
- No mention of noshi (gift wrapping label) or wrapping. The product name includes “simple packaging”
This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
The listing does not state ingredients or allergen labeling. If you have allergies, please contact the provider before applying for the donation, or be sure to check the label on the thank-you gift when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, accessed November 8, 2026).
See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (16 items)
This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
- Product name
- 熊本うまかポーク切り落としセット (Ozu Town, Kumamoto; furusato nozei)This is the heading of the product information in the product description. The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long notation with many search terms. Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Type of food
- PorkSource: product description on the listing (name field)
- Amount
- Delivered as the total amount of the combination you choose; the listing images say each pack is a vacuum pack of about 300g. The breakdown of off-cuts, ground pork and slices for each combination, and the number of servings, are not confirmedSource: option fields and images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Options
- Off-cuts only: 1.8kg / 3.6kg / 5.4kg / 7.2kg
Off-cuts and ground pork: 1.8kg / 3.6kg / 5.4kg / 7.2kg
Off-cuts and slices: 3.6kg
Slices only: 3.6kg
Off-cuts, ground pork and slices: 3.6kg
Frequency: one-time / subscription of 2, 3 or 6 deliveries (the subscription options show the total as “合計◯kg” (◯kg in total); whether this is the amount per delivery or the total for all deliveries is not confirmed)
The amount field in the product description also lists 1.8kg, 5.4kg, 7.2kg and other sizes for slices only, but in the option fields we checked on November 8, 2026, combinations including slices were available only as 3.6kg. Please check the total amount of slices on the listing pageSource: option fields and product description on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026) - Donation amount
- Differs depending on the combination, total amount and number of deliveries you choose. Because the amount changes, it is not stated in this article. Please check the Rakuten listingSource: option fields on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Storage method
- Frozen at -18°C or belowSource: product description on the listing
- Best-before date
- The listing says it is printed on the package. The number of days is not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
- Thawing
- The listing images say you can thaw only what you need. Thawing instructions and how long it keeps after thawing are not confirmedSource: images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Raw-material origin
- Stated as produced in Kumamoto Prefecture (including Ozu Town). The listing explains that after being raised and slaughtered in the town, the pigs are combined with pork from neighboring municipalities and shipped as Kumamoto-produced porkSource: product description on the listing (origin field and the reason it qualifies under the local-product standard)
- Place of processing
- Not confirmed. The listing images say the meat is manufactured and processed at the company’s own factory, but no address was foundSource: images on the listing
- Condition / how to eat (is heating needed?)
- Delivered as frozen raw pork (off-cuts, ground pork, slices). No guidance on whether heating is needed or whether it can be eaten raw was found. The cooking examples shown in the listing images, such as stir-fries and gyoza, are dishes cooked with heatSource: product description and images on the listing
- Reason for “wakeari”
- The listing says these are off-cuts uneven in grade, shape and cut, so size and the amount of lean meat, fat and marbling vary even within the same packSource: images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Delivery
- Frozen delivery. The listing says the packaging is vacuum packs without trays, that it arrives in either a flat package or a thicker package, and that this cannot be chosen. It also says the donation application cannot be canceled and the thank-you gift cannot be changed or returnedSource: product description and images on the listing
- Shipping time
- As of November 8, 2026, the one-time option is named “scheduled to ship within 30 days (excluding weekends and holidays)”, and the shipping estimate field shows “scheduled to ship within 30 business days (excluding weekends and holidays)”. Subscriptions are shown as shipping from the month after you apply. Two ★1 reviews posted on November 3 and 5, 2026 said they applied with the within-30-days option and had not received the gift for more than a month, so there are cases where shipping is later than displayed. The past shipping times that remain in the listing images differ from the current options. The listing says the donation receipt and the one-stop exception application form arrive separately from the thank-you gift about one month after payment is confirmedSource: option fields and images on the listing, Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- The company name of the manufacturer or provider was not found on the listing and is not confirmed. The listing images say the operating company of くまもと風土 sources the pork, processes it at its own meat-processing factory and delivers it (the operating company’s name is not stated)Source: product description and images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Shop
- 熊本県大津町 (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)
- Noshi / gifts
- Whether noshi, wrapping or message cards are available could not be confirmed because no mention was found on the listing. The product name includes “simple packaging”Source: listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
Donation amounts may differ by portal and by the amount you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by viewpoint. Rating figures are as of the time viewed and change afterward. The following are tendencies within the range we read and do not necessarily represent the current condition of the product.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.61 / 5 | 2,573 | November 8, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 1,912 / ★4 485 / ★3 68 / ★2 50 / ★1 58 (as displayed on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed November 8, 2026)
Range read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted November 2025 to November 2026; latest November 2026), the newest 30 of the 58 ★1 reviews (posted October 2023 to November 2026) and the newest 30 of the 50 ★2 reviews (posted September 2023 to October 2026), 120 in total. This is a tendency within the range we read and does not necessarily represent the current condition of the product.
★1 and ★2 together make up about 4% of all reviews, but we read more of them to pick up points of concern. The counts below are approximate numbers we counted by reading the review text, and do not include posts only about delivery or shop handling.
What Reviewers Praise
Easy-to-use small vacuum packs (30 or more of 60)
30 or more of the 60 reviews in the default order said that, with the vacuum packs of about 300g each, you can take out only what you need.
Large amount / frozen stock (about 10)
About 10 of the 60 default-order reviews said the amount is large and can be kept in the freezer.
Tender / little unpleasant smell (about 10)
About 10 of the 60 default-order reviews said the meat was tender or that they did not notice an unpleasant smell.
Combinations that include ground pork (3)
3 of the 60 default-order reviews said that receiving ground pork as well widened the range of dishes they could make.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Some packs are fatty (about 16 of 60 ★1/★2)
About 16 of the 60 ★1/★2 reviews we read said some packs had a lot of fat or that fat was packed together inside (about 10 of these within the last two years). Among the 60 default-order reviews, 2 ★4 posts also mentioned the amount of fat.
How to check: the reason for “wakeari” given by the seller is summarized under “Reason for ‘wakeari’” in the detailed list of this article’s “Basic Information”.
Unpleasant smell (about 12)
About 12 of the 60 ★1/★2 reviews said an unpleasant smell bothered them (about 5 of these within the last two years). Opinions are divided compared with the praised point of tenderness and little smell.
Dry or tough (about 9), drip leaking when thawing (about 9)
About 9 each of the 60 ★1/★2 reviews said the meat was dry or tough, and that meat juices leaked from the bag when thawing (within the last two years, about 4 and about 2 respectively).
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026)
Summary: Is This Thank-You Gift the One for You?
Deciding factor: you want to receive pork off-cuts and ground pork together, in an amount of 5kg or more. If these two are your conditions, this gift lets you choose 5.4kg or 7.2kg with the off-cuts and ground pork combination (weak point: you cannot choose the cut, and the amount of fat varies from pack to pack).
- Vacuum packs of about 300g each; 30 or more of the 60 default-order reviews we read mentioned how easy the small packs are to use
- The Rakuten rating is 4.61/5 (2,573 reviews). In the ★1/★2 posts, comments about the amount of fat (about 16 of 60) and unpleasant smell (about 12) stood out
- One-time shipping is shown as scheduled within 30 days (excluding weekends and holidays), but two posts in November 2026 said the gift had not arrived for more than a month, so there are cases of shipping later than displayed
Other options: if you want to choose shabu-shabu cuts and also decide the delivery time, Tahara Pork for Shabu-shabu, 3 Cuts in Small Packs, Tahara City; if you want cuts for tonkatsu and more in addition to off-cuts and ground pork, Miyazaki Pork Variety, Kushima City (2.1–4.1kg).
This section is based on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026); the comparison is based on the table above (as of November 8, 2026). These are review tendencies within the range we read and do not necessarily represent the current condition of the product.
The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that to receive the deduction for donations, in principle you need to file a final tax return by March 15 of the year after the donation; if you file, the income-tax portion is deducted (refunded) from your income tax for that year and the resident-tax portion is deducted from your resident tax for the following fiscal year. It also explains that salaried workers and others who do not need to file a final tax return, and who donate to 5 or fewer local governments, can use the one-stop exception (ワンストップ特例), under which no final tax return is needed if they apply to each local government they donated to; in that case no deduction is made from income tax and the full amount is deducted from the resident tax for the following fiscal year (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, accessed November 8, 2026). The deduction amount and procedures differ by person, so please check with the ministry, your local government or the tax office.
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 8, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article organizes information published on the furusato nozei listing and review sites. Information on the thank-you gift such as the amount, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: November 8, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “熊本県大津町” listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan “About Allergen Labeling,” Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”

