Genkai Town (玄海町) in Saga Prefecture is the municipality you donate to for this thank-you gift. The description on the listing says Saga beef (佐賀牛) is delivered from 中山牧場 (Nakayama Farm) in Genkai Town, Saga (we did not find a dedicated field for the origin of ingredients). The thank-you gift covered in this article, “佐賀牛 赤身 スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用” (Saga Beef Akami Slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki and shabu-shabu), is a frozen thank-you gift of Saga beef momo (round) or ude (shoulder clod) for which you choose sukiyaki slices or yakiniku (Japanese-style grilled meat) cuts, an amount from 400g to 2.4kg, and the delivery time when you apply through furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program). We have organized what the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and reviews say under five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gifting and reviews. The features we could confirm on the listing are three: two uses for the akami (the red-meat cut, as opposed to marbled), six amounts, and a choice of delivery month and subscription.
At a Glance
Key points
- Saga beef akami (momo or ude), with a choice of sukiyaki slices or yakiniku cuts. You cannot choose which of the two parts you receive
- Six amounts from 400g to 2.4kg (combinations of 400g and 600g packs). Among the 11 Wagyu sukiyaki furusato nozei thank-you gifts featured on Ochinity (as of October 21, 2026), the largest amount you can receive at once, 2.4kg, is the most, tied with the marbled shoulder loin from the same Genkai Town
- You can choose “最速配送” (fastest delivery) or a delivery month (November to April), and sukiyaki slices also come as a subscription (3, 6 or 12 deliveries). The delivery months you can choose are November to March for sukiyaki slices and November to April for yakiniku cuts (viewed October 21, 2026)
- The Rakuten rating of 4.4 (425 reviews) is the second lowest among the same 11 items (viewed October 21, 2026)
Watch out for
- The listing says wrapping and noshi (gift wrapping label) are not available, and delivery dates cannot be specified
- If you choose by rating, the same 11 items include Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin for Shabu-Shabu 500g (4.84, 182 reviews), among others
Suits: People who want akami for sukiyaki and shabu-shabu or for yakiniku, choosing the amount and the month it arrives
Scope of comparison: the 11 Wagyu sukiyaki furusato nozei thank-you gifts featured on Ochinity (as of October 21, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. The features are from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 21, 2026). The rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed October 21, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Compared with 11 Similar Wagyu Sukiyaki Gifts
The 11 Wagyu furusato nozei thank-you gifts for sukiyaki and shabu-shabu featured on Ochinity (as of October 21, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are as shown on Rakuten; the fewer the reviews, the more easily the figure can move. The table is sorted in Japanese syllabary (gojūon) order by product name, with this article first.
| Product | Total Amount | Part / Type | Rakuten Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saga Beef Akami SlicesThis article, Genkai Town, subscription available | 400g–2.4kg6 options | Sukiyaki / yakinikumomo or ude | 4.4425 reviews |
| Omi Gyu Loin, Momo & Bara for SukiyakiOmihachiman City | 500g–1kg | Loin / bara / momo | 4.72613 reviews |
| Kyoto Tamba Kuroge Wagyu Slices, Choice of CutKameoka City | 500g–1.1kg | Marbled / akami / tasting set | 4.76332 reviews |
| Saga Beef Marbled Shoulder Loin SlicesGenkai Town, subscription available | 400g–2.4kg | Yakiniku / sukiyaki slices | 4.291146 reviews |
| Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin for Shabu-ShabuOmihachiman City | 500g | Shoulder loin | 4.84182 reviews |
| Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin for SukiyakiOmihachiman City | 500g, 1kg | Not confirmed | 4.81704 reviews |
| Omi Gyu Sukiyaki with a Choice of Delivery MonthRyuo Town, subscription available | 450g, 470g | No part specified on the listing | 4.77428 reviews |
| Hida Gyu Shoulder Loin for Sukiyaki & Shabu-ShabuTakayama City | 500g | Shoulder loin | 4.6134 reviews |
| Matsukiya Omi Beef for Sukiyaki & Shabu-ShabuOtsu City | 300g–1.1kg | Loin / momo / shoulder | 4.78125 reviews |
| Miyazaki Beef, Choose Your Cut & Part | 500g–2kg | Akami & marbled / akami only | 4.656693 reviews |
| “Wakeari” Hida Gyu Akami SlicesHida City | 300g, 500g | Momo / kata (shoulder) | 4.892 reviews |
Click a product name to go to that thank-you gift’s article. “Subscription available” is written only where we could confirm it in the article.
- The largest amount you can receive at once, 2.4kg, is the most among the 11 Wagyu sukiyaki furusato nozei thank-you gifts featured on Ochinity (as of October 21, 2026), tied with the marbled shoulder loin from the same Genkai Town
- The Rakuten rating of 4.4 is the second lowest among the same 11 items (it has 425 reviews, fewer than the items with 6693, 1146, 704, 613 and 428 reviews)
Basic Information
- Product Name
- 佐賀牛 赤身 スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga Beef Akami Slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki and shabu-shabu)
- Municipality / Provider
- Genkai Town, Saga (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Shipping provider: 株式会社 中山牧場
- Part
- Saga beef momo or ude (you cannot choose which)
- Use
- Sukiyaki (slices) / yakiniku
- Amount
- 400g / 600g / 800g / 1.2kg / 1.8kg / 2.4kg
- Delivery
- Fastest delivery, or a delivery month from November to April
- Subscription
- Sukiyaki slices, 600g or 1.2kg, 3, 6 or 12 deliveries
- Storage
- Frozen. Best-before: about 2 months frozen from the processing date
- Allergen Labeling
- Beef
- Donation amount
- Varies with what you choose. Not stated in this article
- Shipping
- Fastest delivery is within 2 weeks at the earliest after payment. Delivery dates cannot be specified
- Noshi / Gifting
- The listing says wrapping and noshi are not available
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
For allergen labeling, the listing says beef. If you have allergies, please ask the provider before applying to donate, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, viewed October 21, 2026).
See the transcription of the listing, sources and details of “Not confirmed” (16 items)
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
- Product Name
- 佐賀牛 赤身 スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Genkai Town, Saga, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search keywords. Here we show only the part that is the product name.
- Type of Food
- 佐賀牛赤身スライス・焼肉 (Saga beef akami slices / yakiniku; the name field on the listing)Source: thank-you gift details on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Amount
- 400g (400g × 1 pack, labeled “お試し” (trial size)) / 600g (600g × 1 pack) / 800g (400g × 2 packs) / 1.2kg (600g × 2 packs) / 1.8kg (600g × 3 packs) / 2.4kg (600g × 4 packs). The number of servings is not stated and is Not confirmedSource: thank-you gift details on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Part
- The listing says it is Saga beef momo or ude. There is no field for choosing which part you receiveSource: thank-you gift details and selection field on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Options
- Use: sukiyaki (slices) / yakiniku
Amount: the six above
Delivery: fastest delivery / delivery month (November to March for sukiyaki slices, November to April for yakiniku cuts)
Subscription: sukiyaki slices, 600g or 1.2kg, 3, 6 or 12 deliveries. There is no subscription option for yakiniku cutsSource: selection field on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026) - Donation amount
- It differs by the combination of use, amount and delivery. Because the amount changes, it is not stated in this articleSource: selection field on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Storage Method
- Frozen (the shipping temperature range is given as frozen). The storage temperature figure is Not confirmedSource: thank-you gift details on the listing
- Best-Before Date
- The listing says about 2 months frozen from the processing date. It says items with a best-before date of 1 month or more are shippedSource: thank-you gift details on the listing
- Thawing
- We did not find this on the listing, so it is Not confirmed
- After Opening
- How long it keeps after thawing and notes after opening were not found on the listing and are Not confirmed
- Origin of Ingredients
- We did not find a dedicated field on the listing. The thank-you gift description says Saga beef is delivered from 中山牧場 in Genkai Town, Saga (as shown on the listing)Source: thank-you gift description on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Processing Location
- Not confirmed
- Condition / How to Eat (Cooking Required?)
- Arrives frozen. The thank-you gift description says it is delivered prepared for shabu-shabu and sukiyaki (slices) or for yakiniku. We did not find any guidance on whether it needs to be cooked or whether it can be eaten rawSource: thank-you gift description on the listing
- Delivery
- Frozen delivery. The listing says delivery dates cannot be specified. It says that if the package was delivered while you were out, you should contact the delivery company directly for redelivery, and that if the delivery company’s holding period (1 week from shipment) passes, it cannot be resent or otherwise handled. It says to write in the remarks field if you will be away for a long timeSource: notes on the listing
- Shipping Time
- The listing says fastest delivery ships within 2 weeks at the earliest after payment (excluding Golden Week, Obon, the New Year holidays, weekends and public holidays; it says donations made in December may be delivered in turn from January onward). For a delivery month, it is delivered between the 1st and the last day of the chosen month, and the listing says January deliveries start from mid-January onward. A subscription is delivered between the 1st and the last day of each month, starting the month after payment (the January delivery from mid-January onward). The shipping time shown may changeSource: delivery information on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- The shipping provider field on the listing gives 株式会社 中山牧場. Its role, such as manufacturer or processor, and its address are Not confirmedSource: shipping provider field on the listing
- Noshi / Gifting
- The notes say wrapping and noshi are not available (no noshi). The related keywords field on the same listing includes words such as noshi, gift box and delivery date specification, but because this does not match the notes, this article follows the notes. We did not find any mention of message cards or name printing, so these are Not confirmed. The listing says that with fastest delivery, you cannot cancel or change the delivery address after applyingSource: notes, related keywords field and information images on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
- Shop
- Genkai Town, Saga (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)
Donation amounts may differ by portal and by the use, amount and delivery you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
What Public Reviews Say
We have organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. Ratings are as of the date viewed and change afterward. The following are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.4 / 5 | 425 | October 21, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 306 / ★4 55 / ★3 17 / ★2 20 / ★1 27 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 21, 2026)
Reviews read: the first 60 in the default sort order (posted November 2025 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), all 27 ★1 reviews (posted January 2021 to December 2025, the latest in December 2025) and all 20 ★2 reviews (posted January 2021 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), 107 in total. These are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Of the 60 default-order reviews, we did not count 8 that did not mention taste or quality, for example because the reviewer had not eaten it yet, so the base is 52. The same review section also includes posts about sizes that are not among the current options. Of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews, 3 were posted in the last 2 years (October 2024 or later), and the rest were posted earlier (2021 to 2024). Because we cannot tell whether old low ratings reflect the product’s current condition, we have not judged whether it has improved or worsened. The counts below are approximate, based on reading the review text, and exclude reviews only about delivery or shop service.
What Reviewers Praise
Used for sukiyaki or shabu-shabu (about 29 of 52)
About 29 of the 52 default-order reviews said they used it for sukiyaki or shabu-shabu. Many wrote that they applied for it in time for the year-end or the New Year.
Tender (about 8 of 52)
About 8 of the 52 default-order reviews said it was tender (all posted in the last 2 years).
Fat that is not too heavy (about 8 of 52)
About 8 of the 52 default-order reviews commented on taste or texture, saying that even as akami it had just the right amount of fat and was not too heavy.
Repeat applications (about 21 of 52)
About 21 of the 52 default-order reviews said they apply for it every year or have applied for it many times.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Tough or hard to bite through (about 22 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
About 22 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews said it was tough, hard to bite through or dry. Of those, 2 were posted in the last 2 years. On the other hand, about 8 of the 52 default-order reviews said it was tender, so opinions are divided.
How to check: the part you receive (momo or ude; you cannot choose which) is summarized under “Part” in this article’s “Basic Information.”
A lot of fat (about 18 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
About 18 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews said there was a lot of fat, or that fatty parts were folded in on the underside of the pack. All of them were posted before the last 2 years (2021 to 2024); none of the reviews from the last 2 years said so.
Slice thickness (about 7 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
About 7 of the 47 ★1 and ★2 reviews said the slices felt too thick for sukiyaki or shabu-shabu, or too thin. Of those, 1 was posted in the last 2 years.
How to check: the use options (sukiyaki (slices) or yakiniku) are summarized under “Options” in this article’s “Basic Information.”
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026)
Summary: Is This the One for You?
Deciding factors: You want akami rather than marbled beef, for sukiyaki and shabu-shabu or for yakiniku, and you want to choose the month it arrives and the amount. If these two are your conditions, this thank-you gift fits (weak points: you cannot choose between momo and ude, and its Rakuten rating of 4.4 (425 reviews) is the second lowest among the same 11 items).
- You can choose from six amounts from 400g to 2.4kg, and delivery months start in November (until April for yakiniku cuts and until March for sukiyaki slices). Sukiyaki slices also come as a subscription of 3, 6 or 12 deliveries
- In the 52 default-order reviews we read, many mentioned using it for sukiyaki or shabu-shabu (about 29) and repeat applications (about 21). Most of the ★1 and ★2 comments about toughness or fat were posted before the last 2 years
- The listing says wrapping and noshi are not available, and delivery dates cannot be specified
Other options: If you want marbled beef rather than akami, see Saga Beef Marbled Shoulder Loin Slices (400g–2.4kg, Rakuten rating 4.29 / 1,146 reviews) from the same 中山牧場 in Genkai Town. If you want to choose a combination of akami and marbled parts, or even the cut, see Miyazaki Beef, Choose Your Cut & Part (500g–2kg, 4.65 / 6,693 reviews).
This section is based on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026), and the scope of comparison is the 11 Wagyu sukiyaki furusato nozei thank-you gifts featured on Ochinity (as of October 21, 2026). Review trends are within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that the deduction is taken from income tax for the year in which you make the furusato nozei donation, and from resident tax for the following fiscal year (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, viewed October 21, 2026). Deduction amounts and procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the ministry, your local municipality or the tax office.
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 21, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you apply.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 21, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “佐賀県玄海町” (Genkai Town, Saga) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”

