
The furusato nozei thank-you gift “近江牛 ロース・モモ・バラ すき焼き用” (Omi Gyu loin, momo [round], and bara [short plate] for sukiyaki), from Omihachiman City, Shiga Prefecture, is sukiyaki beef delivered chilled by the provider, 休暇村近江八幡 村のお肉屋さん. You can choose the amount from 500g, 800g, or 1kg. The listing shows two different use-by date statements: “出荷日より5日” (5 days from the shipping date) and “発送日から3日” (3 days from the dispatch date). This article organizes the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and review descriptions into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and public reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and how many servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 近江牛 ロース・モモ・バラ すき焼き用 500g/800g/1kg (Omi Gyu loin, momo, and bara for sukiyaki, 500g / 800g / 1kg; Omihachiman, Shiga, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten listing is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here. |
|---|---|
| Name | 近江牛 すき焼き ロース・バラ・モモ (Omi Gyu sukiyaki, loin / bara / momo)Source: product details on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Amount | Choose from 500g, 800g, or 1kg. The listing does not state the number of servings or the number of slices or packs, so these are not confirmedSource: product details and amount selection field on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| What changes depending on your choice | Amount (500g / 800g / 1kg)Source: selection field on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Cuts | The listing states three cuts: loin, bara (short plate), and momo (round). The share and number of slices for each cut are not confirmed. The listing explains that shape, color, and the amount of fat may be uneven because of individual differences between cattle and differences between cuts, and that bara is a cut with a lot of fatSource: product details on the listing |
| Donation amount | 500g: 18,000 yen / 800g: 30,000 yen / 1kg: 35,000 yen (selection field on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, as of October 7, 2026). Please check the current donation amount at the link aboveSource: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Storage method | It arrives chilled. We found no storage temperature, so it is not confirmed. We also found no guidance on whether you may freeze it at home, so this is not confirmedSource: product details on the listing (delivery method field) |
| Best-before date | As the use-by date, the product details field states 5 days from the shipping date (出荷日). On the other hand, the notes on the same page state that the use-by date for chilled thank-you gifts is short, at 3 days from the dispatch date (発送日). Because the two statements do not match, we cannot settle on either one. Please check with the provider before applyingSource: product details (use-by date field) and notes on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Thawing method | We found no guidance on a thawing method; it is not confirmed. How long it keeps after thawing is also not confirmedSource: product details on the listing |
| Origin of raw materials | The ingredient listed is beef. We found no field for the origin of the raw material on the listing. The municipality that receives the donation for this thank-you gift is Omihachiman City, Shiga PrefectureSource: listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Place of processing | The field explaining why the item qualifies as a local product on the listing states that the main manufacturing and processing steps are carried out within Omihachiman CitySource: product details on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Condition / how to eat (cooking required?) | It arrives chilled. The product name and product details say it is for sukiyaki. We found no guidance that states whether cooking is required, so this is not confirmed. We also found no guidance on whether it can be eaten rawSource: product name and product details on the listing |
| Delivery | The listing says it is delivered chilled. It says that if the package cannot be received, it will be switched to frozen delivery. It says that in some areas, such as remote islands, where delivery takes 3 days or more from shipment, it may be shipped frozen. It also says that if the package is not received by 2 days after the shipping date, it will be switched to frozen storage and delivered to maintain quality, and that if you specify a receiving date and time yourself after shipment, it will be delivered chilled as is. The shipping time is within about 2 weeks after payment is confirmed (the listing says this is a guideline, not a guarantee). It says that for applications from September to February, delivery may be delayed by a month or more or become impossible because of the busy season, weather, and other factors. Whether you can specify the shipping month or delivery date is not confirmed, as we found no mention on the listingSource: product details (delivery method and delivery time fields) and notes on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | The only name on the listing is the provider, 休暇村近江八幡 村のお肉屋さん. Whether it is the manufacturer or the processor, and its address, are not confirmedSource: product details on the listing (provider field) |
| Shop | 滋賀県近江八幡市 (Omihachiman City, Shiga Prefecture; Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
In the product details on the listing, the ingredient is listed as beef, and the allergen field also lists beef. We found no inconsistency in the labeling (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 7, 2026). The nutrition facts field shows figures, but we found no statement of the amount they are based on (per how many grams), so this is not confirmed.
The full text of the food labeling is not confirmed. If you are concerned about allergies, be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 7, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| Item to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / servings | Choose from 500g, 800g, or 1kg. Three cuts: loin, bara, and momo. The number of servings is not stated | Product details and selection field on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Arrives chilled. There are two use-by date statements: 5 days from the shipping date and 3 days from the dispatch date (they do not match; check with the provider before applying). Storage temperature, thawing method, and shelf life after thawing are not confirmed | Product details and notes on the listing |
| 3. Ingredients / allergen labeling | Beef for both the ingredient and the allergen labeling. The manufacturer is not confirmed | Product details on the listing |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | We found no mention of noshi, wrapping, or message cards; not confirmed | Product information on the listing |
| 5. Review trends | Rated 4.72/5 on Rakuten Ichiba (613 reviews). We read 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2024 to September 2026; latest September 2026), all 13 of the 1★ reviews, and all 8 of the 2★ reviews (81 in total). The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. Many reviewers mention tenderness, the sweetness of the fat, and comparing the three cuts. As points of concern, some reviews mention the short use-by date of a chilled item, the amount of fat, and variation between cuts | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
On the product information of the listing, we could not confirm whether noshi (a decorative gift wrapper), wrapping, or message cards are available. The product name includes words such as gift and present, but we found no statement showing that noshi or wrapping is available (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 7, 2026). The product details say they hope you will enjoy it as a reward for yourself or for someone who has worked hard.
- Noshi: whether it is available, and the types of wording, are not confirmed
- Wrapping / gift box: not confirmed
- Message card / name printing: not confirmed
- Delivery: arrives chilled, and the two use-by date statements do not match (5 days from the shipping date / 3 days from the dispatch date). The shipping time is within about 2 weeks after payment is confirmed, and the listing says this is not a guarantee. Whether you can specify the shipping month or delivery date is not confirmed
If you plan to use it as a gift, before applying please check noshi, wrapping, how delivery to another address is handled, and the use-by date statements on the listing and with the provider. Among the reviews we read, one said the reviewer sent it to their parents’ home (Source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 7, 2026).

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by topic. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and change afterward. The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.72 / 5 | 613 | October 7, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 508 / 4★ 71 / 3★ 13 / 2★ 8 / 1★ 13 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 7, 2026)
What we read: 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2024 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus all 13 of the 1★ reviews (October 2020 to June 2025) and all 8 of the 2★ reviews (November 2020 to June 2025), 81 in total. They include posts written before the reviewer had eaten it. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Tenderness and melt-in-the-mouth texture
About 16 of the 60 reviews in the default order said the meat was tender or melted in the mouth (about 16 of these were posted in the last 2 years).
Sweetness of the fat and marbling
About 12 of the 60 reviews in the default order said the fat was sweet, not heavy, or that the marbling was beautiful (about 12 of these were posted in the last 2 years).
Comparing the three cuts
About 4 of the 60 reviews in the default order said that loin, bara, and momo were layered together and that they enjoyed the difference in flavor.
Freshness of a chilled delivery
About 6 of the 60 reviews in the default order said it arrived chilled and fresh, or that the color was beautiful.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Short use-by date for a chilled item
About 7 of the 81 reviews we read said it does not keep long chilled, that they had to deal with it right away on the day it arrived, or that they wished a frozen option were available (about 4 in the default order, and about 3 of the 21 1★ and 2★ reviews; about 5 of these were posted in the last 2 years). One 1★ review says the delivery date could not be specified, so it arrived on a Sunday night with few days left before the deadline.
How to check: the two use-by date statements are summarized under “Best-before date” in the Basic Information section of this article.
Amount of fat and variation between cuts
About 7 of the 81 reviews we read said there was a lot of fat or that the share of cuts (bara and momo) varied (about 1 in the default order, and about 6 of the 21 1★ and 2★ reviews; about 1 of these was posted in the last 2 years).
How to check: the listing’s notes on cuts and fat are summarized under “Cuts” in the Basic Information section of this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026). The counts are approximate, tallied by reading the posts for each topic.
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- People looking for beef for sukiyaki
- People who want to choose the amount from 500g, 800g, or 1kg
- People who want to try the three cuts: loin, bara, and momo
- People who can use a chilled thank-you gift soon after it arrives
Who Should Be Careful
- People who want to confirm the use-by date before deciding (there are two statements, 5 days from the shipping date and 3 days from the dispatch date, so checking with the provider is needed)
- People who want to know before applying how many servings it makes, the share of each cut, the storage temperature, the thawing method, and the shelf life after thawing (not confirmed)
- Some reviews mention that cuts with a lot of fat are mixed in
- The shipping time is within about 2 weeks and is not guaranteed, and the listing says that from September to February delivery may be delayed by a month or more
- People who want to give it as a gift with noshi or wrapping (noshi and wrapping are not confirmed)
Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 7, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- Choose the amount from 500g, 800g, or 1kg, and it includes three cuts: loin, bara, and momo. It arrives chilled, and there are two use-by date statements: 5 days from the shipping date and 3 days from the dispatch date. Check with the provider before applying
- The number of servings, the share of each cut, storage temperature, thawing method, shelf life after thawing, manufacturer, and noshi, wrapping, and message cards are not confirmed
- In reviews, many mention tenderness, the sweetness of the fat, and comparing the three cuts, while some mention the short use-by date of a chilled item, the amount of fat, and variation between cuts (trends within what we read, which may not reflect the product’s current condition)
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 7, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “滋賀県近江八幡市” (Omihachiman, Shiga) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments