Saga Beef Marbled Shoulder Loin Slices (Genkai Town Furusato Nozei Gift) — Contents & Reviews

Product photo of a heap of Saga beef marbled shoulder loin for yakiniku on a round black plate, garnished with green leaves. 佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki, and shabu-shabu; Genkai Town furusato nozei thank-you gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “佐賀牛” (Saga beef), “全国の黒毛和牛の中でもトップレベルの品質” (top-level quality among Kuroge Wagyu nationwide). Below: “*Awards and rankings shown are the seller's own claims.”
Information as of 2026.10.05 PR
Product photo of a heap of Saga beef marbled shoulder loin for yakiniku on a round black plate, garnished with green leaves. 佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki, and shabu-shabu; Genkai Town furusato nozei thank-you gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “佐賀牛” (Saga beef), “全国の黒毛和牛の中でもトップレベルの品質” (top-level quality among Kuroge Wagyu nationwide).
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it. This image is a serving example. The plate and the garnish leaves are not included with the product.

Genkai Town (玄海町), Saga Prefecture, is the municipality that receives the donation for this thank-you gift, and “Saga beef” (佐賀牛) in the product name is a brand designation. There is no dedicated field for the country of origin of the raw material on the listing, so it is not confirmed. The thank-you gift covered in this article, “佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用” (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki, and shabu-shabu), is a frozen thank-you gift for which you choose the use (for yakiniku or for sukiyaki), the amount, and the delivery method when you apply. Using the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (a portal for furusato nozei, the hometown tax donation program) and its reviews, we organized five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and how many servings
  • Storage method and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices for yakiniku, sukiyaki, and shabu-shabu; Genkai Town, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten listing is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here.
Name佐賀牛霜降りスライス・焼肉(肩ロース) (Saga beef marbled slices / yakiniku, shoulder loin)Source: thank-you gift details on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 5, 2026)
Amount400g (400g × 1 pack, labeled “お試し” [trial])/600g (600g × 1 pack)/800g (400g × 2 packs)/1.2kg (600g × 2 packs)/1.8kg (600g × 3 packs)/2.4kg (600g × 4 packs). The number of servings is not stated and is not confirmedSource: same as above
What changes depending on your choiceWhat arrives changes depending on the combination of use (for yakiniku / sukiyaki slices), amount, and delivery method (fastest delivery / monthly delivery / subscription). The subscription is available only for the 600g and 1.2kg sukiyaki slices, with 3, 6, or 12 deliveries. There is no subscription option for the yakiniku cut. As of October 7, 2026, the months you can choose for monthly delivery are October to April for the yakiniku cut and October to March for the sukiyaki slicesSource: selection fields and product description on the listing (viewed October 7, 2026)
Donation amountIt differs by the combination of use, amount, and delivery method. Because amounts change, we do not list them in this article. Please check the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listingSource: selection fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026)
Storage methodFrozen (the delivery temperature range is listed as frozen). The storage temperature figure is not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Best-before dateListed as about 2 months frozen from the processing date. The listing says items with at least 1 month remaining before the best-before date are shippedSource: product description on the listing
Thawing methodWe found no mention on the listing or in its information images; not confirmed
After openingShelf life after thawing and precautions after opening were not found on the listing and are not confirmed
Origin of raw materialsWe found no dedicated field on the listing; not confirmed. An information image explains, as one of the conditions for Saga beef regarding where the cattle are raised, that it is Kuroge Wagyu raised within the jurisdiction of the JA Group Saga (the shop’s statement)Source: information image on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026)
Place of processingNot confirmed
Condition / how to eat (cooking required?)Arrives frozen. The product description says you can choose the shoulder loin for shabu-shabu and sukiyaki (slices) or for yakiniku. We found no guidance on whether cooking is required or whether it can be eaten rawSource: product description on the listing
DeliveryFrozen delivery. The listing says delivery dates cannot be specified. If a delivery is made while you are away, the listing asks you to contact the delivery company directly for redelivery, and says that if the delivery company’s holding period (1 week from shipment) passes, it cannot resend or otherwise respondSource: notes on the listing
Shipping timeFor fastest delivery, the listing says delivery is within 2 weeks at the earliest after payment (excluding Golden Week, Obon, the year-end and New Year holidays, and weekends and public holidays; it notes that donations made in December may be delivered in turn from January onward). Monthly delivery is made between the 1st and the end of the chosen month, and January deliveries start from mid-January. The subscription is delivered between the 1st and the end of each month, starting the month after payment. Shipping times shown may changeSource: product description on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026)
ManufacturerThe shipping business field on the listing shows 株式会社 中山牧場 (Nakayama Farm Co., Ltd.). Whether it is the manufacturer, processor, or seller, and its address, are not confirmedSource: shipping business field on the listing
Shop佐賀県玄海町 (Genkai Town, Saga Prefecture; Rakuten Furusato Nozei)

Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Information image showing packs of sliced Saga beef lined up by the six amounts: 400g, 600g, 800g, 1.2kg, 1.8kg, and 2.4kg (600g and 1.2kg are marked as available by subscription, and a table of total amounts for 3, 6, and 12 subscription deliveries is included). 佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices; Genkai Town furusato nozei thank-you gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “内容量 回数 切り方をお選びいただけます!” (choose the amount, number of deliveries, and cut!), “欲しい分だけ選べる!6種類の容量” (choose just the amount you want! 6 sizes), “400g”, “600g”, “800g”, “1.2kg”, “1.8kg”, “2.4kg”, “定期便あり” (subscription available), “1度の寄附で何度も楽しめる!6種類の定期便” (enjoy many times with one donation! 6 subscription types), “600g/1.2kgは定期便も選べます!(スライスのみ)” (600g/1.2kg also available by subscription! slices only), “3回定期便 計1.8kg” (3 deliveries, 1.8kg total), “6回定期便 計3.6kg” (6 deliveries, 3.6kg total), “12回定期便 計7.2kg” (12 deliveries, 7.2kg total), “3回定期便 計3.6kg” (3 deliveries, 3.6kg total), “6回定期便 計7.2kg” (6 deliveries, 7.2kg total), “12回定期便 計14.4kg” (12 deliveries, 14.4kg total).
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

The only ingredient listed is beef. The allergen field also lists beef, and we found no inconsistency within the listing.

If you are concerned about allergies, contact the provider before applying for the donation, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 5, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before You Donate

Item to checkFor this productBasis
1. Amount / servings Choose from six amounts from 400g to 2.4kg, and choose the use: yakiniku or sukiyaki slices. The number of servings is not stated Product description and selection fields on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing
2. Storage and shelf life Frozen. The best-before date is listed as about 2 months frozen from the processing date. Thawing method, shelf life after thawing, and precautions after opening are not confirmed Product description on the listing
3. Ingredients / allergen labeling Beef. The allergen labeling is also beef, consistent within the listing Product description and allergen field on the listing
4. Suitable as a gift? The listing says wrapping and noshi are not available, and delivery dates cannot be specified. Message cards are not confirmed Notes on the listing
5. Review trends Rated 4.29/5 on Rakuten Ichiba (1,146 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026), 30 of the 1★ reviews (96 in total; posted September 2023 to May 2026; latest May 2026), and 30 of the 2★ reviews (55 in total; posted January 2023 to September 2026; latest September 2026). The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. Some reviewers mention tenderness and the sweetness of the fat, while 1★ and 2★ reviews frequently point out toughness and sinew Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

The notes on the listing say that wrapping and noshi (a decorative gift wrapper) are not available. The related-keywords field on the same listing includes terms such as noshi, gift box, and delivery date specification, but because these do not match the notes, this article follows the notes (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 5, 2026).

  • Noshi: the listing says it is not available
  • Wrapping / gift box: the listing says wrapping is not available
  • Message card / name printing: no mention found; not confirmed
  • Delivery date specification: the listing says it is not accepted
  • Delivery address: for furusato nozei thank-you gifts, the delivery address is based on the donor’s application information. We found no mention of whether it can be delivered to an address other than the donor’s (not confirmed). For fastest delivery, the listing says cancellations and changes to the delivery address are not possible after applying

Since noshi, wrapping, and delivery date specification are all unavailable, if you plan to use it as a gift, please check how it is delivered on the listing before applying.

Information image with, on the left, a tray pack of sliced meat and a photo of meat in a shabu-shabu pot, and on the right, a tray pack of thick-cut meat and a photo of meat grilling on a net. 佐賀牛 霜降り(肩ロース) スライス 焼肉 すき焼き しゃぶしゃぶ用 (Saga beef marbled shoulder loin slices; Genkai Town furusato nozei thank-you gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “色々な料理を楽しめます!” (enjoy a variety of dishes!), “2種類の切り方” (2 types of cut), “スライス” (slices), “しゃぶしゃぶ すき焼きがオススメ!” (recommended for shabu-shabu and sukiyaki!), “厚切り” (thick cut), “焼肉がオススメ!” (recommended for yakiniku!).
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it. This image is a serving example. The pot, vegetables, condiments, stove, and grilling net are not included with the product. The meat on the grilling net is shown while being cooked.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by topic. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and change afterward. The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.29 / 51,146October 5, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 792 / 4★ 142 / 3★ 61 / 2★ 55 / 1★ 96 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 5, 2026)

What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026), plus 30 of the 1★ reviews (96 in total; posted September 2023 to May 2026; latest May 2026) and 30 of the 2★ reviews (55 in total; posted January 2023 to September 2026; latest September 2026), 120 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

There are 151 1★ and 2★ reviews in total, of which we read 60. Of the 60 we read, 18 were posted in the last 2 years (October 2024 or later), and most of the rest were posted in 2023. Because we cannot tell whether old low ratings reflect the product’s current condition, we have not judged whether it has improved or worsened.

What Reviewers Praise

Tenderness and melt-in-the-mouth texture

About 18 of the first 60 reviews in the default order said the meat was tender or had a texture that seemed to melt in the mouth (all posted in the last 2 years).

Sweetness of the fat and the look of the marbling

About 8 reviews mentioned the sweetness of the fat or that it was not heavy, and about 16 mentioned the marbling or how the marbled meat looked. Reviews that mention both are counted in both.

Satisfaction with the amount

About 10 of the first 60 reviews mentioned the amount or feeling satisfied. Most of them said they used it for sukiyaki.

Repeat applications

About 22 of the first 60 reviews said they apply every year or that this was their second or later application.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Toughness and sinew

About 41 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews said the meat was tough, had a lot of sinew, or was hard to bite through (about 21 1★ and about 20 2★; about 11 of these were posted in the last 2 years). On the other hand, about 18 of the 60 reviews in the default order said it was tender, so opinions on the same product are divided.

We found no information about sinew or toughness on the listing (not confirmed).

Amount of fat

About 19 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews said there was a lot of fat or that it was greasy (about 10 1★ and about 9 2★; about 9 of these were posted in the last 2 years).

We found no information about the amount of fat on the listing (not confirmed).

Thickness of the meat and difference from its appearance

Among the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews, about 11 said the meat was thick and did not feel suited to sukiyaki or shabu-shabu (about 4 of these posted in the last 2 years), and about 13 said it looked different from the product photos or the marbling shown (about 5 of these posted in the last 2 years).

How to check: the options for use (yakiniku / sukiyaki slices) and amount are summarized under “What changes depending on your choice” in the Basic Information section of this article.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • People looking for a frozen thank-you gift where you choose the use (yakiniku or sukiyaki) and the amount
  • People looking for a subscription that delivers sukiyaki slices every month (600g or 1.2kg; 3, 6, or 12 deliveries)
  • People who are fine with a thank-you gift delivered frozen (the thawing method is not confirmed, so also check the instructions with the product when it arrives)

Who Should Be Careful

  • People concerned about tough meat, sinew, or a lot of fat (frequently pointed out in 1★ and 2★ reviews)
  • People who want to know the thawing method or shelf life after thawing in advance (not confirmed)
  • People who need noshi, wrapping, or a specified delivery date (the listing says these are not available)
  • People who want to know how many servings it makes before deciding (not stated)
Where to Donate

Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 5, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. Choose from six amounts from 400g to 2.4kg, and choose the use: yakiniku or sukiyaki slices. It is stored frozen, and the best-before date is listed as about 2 months frozen from the processing date
  2. Thawing method, shelf life after thawing, and precautions after opening are not confirmed. The listing says wrapping and noshi are not available and delivery dates cannot be specified
  3. In reviews, some mention tenderness and the sweetness of the fat, while about 41 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews mention toughness or sinew, so opinions on the same product are divided

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 5, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “佐賀県玄海町” (Genkai Town, Saga) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC