Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g (Omihachiman City Furusato Nozei Gift) — Contents & Reviews

Product photo showing thin slices of beef being dipped with chopsticks into a pot of hot water, marbled beef slices spread on a plate, a small bowl of brown dipping sauce and condiments on the left, and ingredients that look like tofu and green onions in the pot behind (Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g). Text the shop placed in the image: “おうみぎゅう” and “近江牛” (Omi Gyu)
Information as of 2026.10.06 PR
Product photo showing thin slices of beef being dipped with chopsticks into a pot of hot water, marbled beef slices spread on a plate, a small bowl of brown dipping sauce and condiments on the left, and ingredients that look like tofu and green onions in the pot behind (Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g). Text the shop placed in the image: “おうみぎゅう” and “近江牛” (Omi Gyu)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “Shiga Prefecture Omihachiman City” furusato nozei gift listing. This image is a serving suggestion. The pot, dipping sauce, condiments, tofu, green onions and other ingredients shown are not included with the product.

“Omihachiman City” (近江八幡市, Shiga) is the municipality that accepts the donation for this thank-you gift; it does not indicate where the beef is processed (the place of processing is not confirmed). This article covers one gift: Sennaritei’s (千成亭) Omi Gyu shoulder loin for shabu-shabu, 500g. The listing has no size or option selector; it is a single 500g option, and the listing states that it arrives frozen. Because it is hard to tell how many servings it makes, how long it keeps, and how to read the grade labeling, we organized the Rakuten Furusato Nozei (a portal for furusato nozei, the hometown tax donation program) listing and its reviews into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and how many servings
  • Storage method and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product nameSennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g (Omihachiman City, Shiga, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten listing is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here. The displayed product name includes the words “4等級以上” (grade 4 or higher), “A4” and “A5” (see the “Grade stated by the shop” row below).
NameOmi Gyu shoulder loin shabu-shabu (近江牛肩ロースしゃぶしゃぶ)Source: product description on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
AmountShoulder loin 500g (sliced). A guidance image on the listing shows approx. 2–3 servings (the shop’s own labeling)Source: product description and guidance image on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
What changes depending on your choiceThere is no size or option selector; it is a single 500g optionSource: option display on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
CutShoulder loinSource: product description on the listing
Grade stated by the shopThe product name shows “4等級以上” (grade 4 or higher), “A4” and “A5”. The product description says that only heifers that have not calved, grade 4 or higher, are handled, and a guidance image also says grade 4 or higher will be delivered (the shop’s own labeling). Whether each cut is A4, A5, or another grade is not stated: not confirmed. We also found no mention of who assigned the grade or when: not confirmed. This is the shop’s own labeling, not a fact Ochinity has verifiedSource: product name, product description and guidance image on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Donation amountThe amount changes, so it is not given in this article. Please check it on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listingSource: the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
StorageFrozen. The listing says to put it in the freezer promptly after it arrives. The storage temperature is not confirmedSource: product description and guidance image on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Best-before dateThe “消費期限” (use-by date) field of the product description gives 30 days when frozen. The date from which the 30 days are counted is not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Thawing methodThe listing says to move it from the freezer to the refrigerator the day before cooking and thaw it for 1 to 1.5 days. The steps say to take it out of the refrigerator 30 minutes before cooking to bring it to room temperature, and not to thaw it at room temperature or refreeze itSource: guidance image (thawing method) on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Precautions after openingWe found no mention on the listing of how long it keeps after thawing or of precautions after opening: not confirmed
Country of originBeef (Shiga Prefecture)Source: ingredients field of the product description on the listing
Place of processingNot confirmed
Condition / how to eat (cooking required?)It arrives frozen and sliced. The listing presents it as being for shabu-shabu. We found no guidance on whether cooking is required or whether it can be eaten rawSource: product name and product description on the listing
DeliveryFrozen delivery is stated. The listing says that a delivery date cannot be specified. It also says that cancellation of the donation, changes of the gift and returns are not possible, and that it will not be resent if it could not be received for reasons on the recipient’s side. It also states that the gift cannot be sent to people whose resident registration is in Omihachiman City. For frozen items, reports of defects cannot be handled once 7 days or more have passed since the shipping dateSource: product description (precautions) and guidance image on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Shipping timeThe listing says the shipping date is an estimate and not a guarantee. For applications from September to February, it says delays of one month or more, or an inability to deliver, may occur due to busy periods and other circumstances. No specific shipping date is given: not confirmedSource: product description (delivery time) on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
ManufacturerNot confirmed (the provider field lists 千成亭八幡堀店 [Sennaritei Hachimanbori store]. Whether it is the manufacturer or processor, and its location, are not confirmed)Source: product description on the listing
ShopOmihachiman City, Shiga (近江八幡市) (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)

Donation amounts differ by portal and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Product photo showing marbled thin slices of beef shoulder loin packed in a plain-wood box with a decorative leaf, and a white gift box with “千成亭” printed on it at the lower right (Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g). Text the shop placed in the image: “しゃぶしゃぶ用肩ロース 500g” (shoulder loin for shabu-shabu, 500g), “(約2〜3人前)” (approx. 2–3 servings), “冷凍便でお届けします” (delivered by frozen delivery), “お召し上がりの前に冷蔵庫で保存してください。近江牛ならではの旨味を是非お楽しみください。” (Please store it in the refrigerator before eating. Please enjoy the umami unique to Omi Gyu.), “消費期限:冷凍 30日” (use-by: frozen, 30 days)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “Shiga Prefecture Omihachiman City” furusato nozei gift listing. This image is a serving suggestion. The decorative leaf shown is not included with the product. The shop states “写真は全てイメージです。記載内容以外の食材や薬味、容器等は含まれません” (all photos are images; ingredients, condiments, containers and the like other than those described are not included), so whether the wooden box and gift box actually arrive is not confirmed. The “冷蔵庫で保存” (store in the refrigerator) text in the image sits alongside “冷凍 30日” (frozen, 30 days) in the same image, and which one is correct as the storage method is not confirmed (follow the listing’s frozen storage guidance). The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

The ingredients field lists beef (Shiga Prefecture), and the allergen field lists beef. We found no inconsistency within the listing. We did not cross-check the business operator’s official website, so labeling other than that on the listing is not confirmed.

If you are concerned about allergies, ask the business operator before donating, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 6, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before You Donate

What to checkFor this giftBasis
1. Amount / servings A single option: shoulder loin 500g (sliced). A guidance image shows approx. 2–3 servings (the shop’s own labeling) Product description and guidance image on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing
2. Storage method and shelf life Frozen. The “消費期限” (use-by date) field gives 30 days when frozen. Thaw in the refrigerator for 1 to 1.5 days. How long it keeps after thawing and precautions after opening are not confirmed Product description and guidance image on the listing
3. Ingredients / allergen labeling Ingredients: beef (Shiga Prefecture). Allergen field: beef Product description on the listing
4. Suitable as a gift? No mention of noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping, or message cards was found, and the listing says a delivery date cannot be specified Product description and guidance image on the listing
5. Review trends Rated 4.84/5 on Rakuten Ichiba (182 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2018 to January 2026; latest January 2026) and all 4 of the 2★ and 3★ reviews. The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. Many reviews mention tenderness, the mouthfeel of the fat, and repeat orders, while some posts say it was not as good as expected Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

We found no mention on the listing of support for noshi, wrapping, or message cards. The product name shown on the Rakuten listing includes the words “ギフト” (gift) and “プレゼント” (present), but we treat these as separate from any mention of noshi or wrapping and do not state in this article that they are supported (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 6, 2026). If you plan to use it as a gift, please check the following before you donate.

  • Noshi: no mention found, so not confirmed (inscription types are also not confirmed)
  • Wrapping / gift box: no mention found, so not confirmed
  • Message card / name printing: no mention found, so not confirmed
  • Delivery date: the listing says a date cannot be specified (it also shows that writing a request in the remarks field cannot be accommodated)
  • Delivery address: furusato nozei thank-you gifts are delivered to the address in the donor’s application. We found no mention of whether it can be delivered to an address other than the donor’s (not confirmed). The listing says it cannot be sent to people whose resident registration is in Omihachiman City

Among the reviews we read, there was 1 post saying the recipient was pleased when it was used as a gift (Source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 6, 2026). Because it arrives frozen, no mention of noshi or wrapping was found, and a delivery date cannot be specified, please check how it is delivered on the listing if you plan to use it as a gift.

Product photo showing thin slices of beef being dipped with chopsticks into the water of a pot with a chimney, beef slices piled on a plate, shiitake mushrooms and carrots behind the pot, a small bowl of beige and brown dipping sauces on the right, and green onions in the pot (Sennaritei Omi Gyu Shoulder Loin Shabu-Shabu 500g). Text the shop placed in the image: “近江牛の本場” (home of Omi Gyu), “近江八幡市” (Omihachiman City), “500g”, “2〜3人前” (2–3 servings), “近江牛” (Omi Gyu), “しゃぶしゃぶ用:肩ロース” (for shabu-shabu: shoulder loin), “冷凍便” (frozen delivery)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “Shiga Prefecture Omihachiman City” furusato nozei gift listing. This image is a serving suggestion. The pot, dipping sauce, condiments, shiitake mushrooms, carrots and green onions shown are not included with the product. “近江八幡市” (Omihachiman City) in the image is the name of the municipality that accepts the donation and does not indicate the place of processing. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change. The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”, product page)4.84 / 5182October 6, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 158 / 4★ 20 / 3★ 3 / 2★ 1 / 1★ 0 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 6, 2026)

What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2018 to January 2026; latest January 2026), plus the only 2★ review (posted January 2023) and all 3 of the 3★ reviews (posted April 2021 to January 2026), 64 in total. There are no 1★ reviews. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

With only 4 reviews at 2★ and 3★ combined, the counts alone do not show how strong a trend is. The counts below are approximate figures from our reading, and exclude posts that are only about delivery, procedures, or the municipality’s handling. One post can fall under more than one topic.

What Reviewers Praise

Tenderness and mouthfeel

About 19 of the 60 reviews in the default order said it was tender or seemed to melt in the mouth (about 5 of them posted within the last two years).

Sweetness of the fat and not feeling heavy

About 14 of the 60 reviews mentioned the sweetness of the fat or marbling, or said that despite the fat it was not cloying or heavy (about 3 of them posted within the last two years).

Repeat orders

About 26 of the 60 reviews said the reviewer orders every year or has chosen it over several years (about 14 of them posted within the last two years).

Also usable for sukiyaki and other dishes

About 14 of the 60 reviews said they also used the meat that arrived as shabu-shabu meat for sukiyaki (about 6 of them posted within the last two years; reviewers’ own accounts).

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Not as good as expected / ordinary

2 of the 4 reviews at 2★ and 3★ said it was not as good as expected or was ordinary (none posted within the last two years). Many of the 60 reviews in the default order praise the tenderness and sweetness of the fat, so impressions of the same product are divided.

Small amount

1 to 2 of the 60 reviews in the default order said 500g was not enough or that they wanted a little more (approximate figure from visual reading; none posted within the last two years).

How to check: the amount and the serving count shown in the guidance image are summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Uneven cutting and thickness

2 of the 4 reviews at 2★ and 3★ said the slices were somewhat thick for shabu-shabu or were cut unevenly (none posted within the last two years). We found no guidance on slice thickness on the listing (not confirmed).

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • People looking for 500g of sliced shoulder loin for shabu-shabu as a thank-you gift from Omihachiman City, Shiga
  • People who can follow the guidance to thaw it in the refrigerator for 1 to 1.5 days
  • People who want to plan the amount for one meal using the approx. 2–3 servings shown in the guidance image as a guide

Who Should Be Careful

  • People who want to confirm the grade (A4 or A5) of each cut (the grade of each cut is not stated: not confirmed)
  • People who want to specify a delivery date (the listing says it cannot be specified)
  • People who want to give it with noshi or wrapping (no mention found)
  • People who need to fix the shipping time (the date is an estimate, and the listing mentions possible delays)
  • People whose resident registration is in Omihachiman City (the listing says it cannot be sent)
Where to Donate

Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 6, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. A single option of shoulder loin 500g (sliced), with approx. 2–3 servings shown in a guidance image. It is stored frozen; the “消費期限” (use-by date) field gives 30 days when frozen, and the listing says to thaw it in the refrigerator for 1 to 1.5 days
  2. The product name and a guidance image show grade 4 or higher, A4 and A5, but the grade of each cut is not stated. The shipping date is an estimate, and the listing says a delivery date cannot be specified. The ingredients field lists beef (Shiga Prefecture), and the allergen field lists beef
  3. Many reviews mention tenderness, the mouthfeel of the fat, and repeat orders, while 2 of the 4 reviews at 2★ and 3★ said it was not as good as expected

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 6, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “滋賀県近江八幡市” (Omihachiman City, Shiga) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC