“Echizen” in the name of the shop featured in this article is part of the shop’s name and is not where the shrimp come from (the country of origin of the ingredient is stated as one of Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh or Indonesia). With frozen ebi fry (breaded shrimp for deep-frying), it is easy to choose without really knowing the size of each piece or which kind of shrimp will arrive. This article organizes the published product information and review-site posts for Kouragumi’s Wild-Caught Ebi Fry (8 pieces) into five points: contents, storage method, ingredient labeling, gift suitability, and reviews.
*The Amazon product name describes the kind of shrimp differently from this article. This article is based on the Rakuten Ichiba item. Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and the kind of shrimp that arrives
- Storage method and best-before date as stated
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it’s suitable as a gift
- Trends in published reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Kouragumi Wild-Caught Ebi Fry, 8 Pieces (甲羅組 天然えびフライ 8尾入) (our own label combining the shop’s short name and the Rakuten Ichiba product name; promotional wording has been removed) |
|---|---|
| Name | We could not find a “name” field on the product page; this is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 3, 2026) |
| Amount | 8 pieces. We could not find the size or weight of each piece, the total weight including the coating, or the net weight of the shrimp on the product page; these are not confirmedSource: same as above |
| Kind of Shrimp That Arrives | Stated as one of 4 kinds: banana shrimp from Papua New Guinea, flower shrimp from Sri Lanka, brown shrimp from Bangladesh, or white shrimp from Indonesia. We could not find any option on the product page to choose which one arrivesSource: product description on the product page (ingredient names) |
| Storage Method | Frozen (−18°C or below). There is no separate storage field; this is stated in the best-before date fieldSource: product description on the product page |
| Best-Before Date | Stated as 1 month frozen at −18°C or below. We could not find when this period starts (date of manufacture or date of shipment); this is not confirmedSource: product description on the product page |
| Country of Origin | Shrimp: one of Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh or Indonesia. Shrimp is the only ingredient whose origin is given in the ingredient namesSource: product description on the product page (ingredient names) |
| Place of Processing | Not confirmed (Denshoku Co., Ltd. (株式会社伝食) [Tsuruga, Fukui Prefecture] is listed as the seller, but this is not stated as the place of processing)Source: product description on the product page |
| Condition / How to Eat (Is Heating Required?) | Described as already cleaned and coated, to be deep-fried before eating. Instructions say to take out only as many as you will eat from the bag and fry them in oil at 170–175°C for about 3–4 minutes. We could not find any guidance on whether it can be eaten rawSource: product description on the product page |
| Thawing Method | We could not find any thawing instructionsSource: product description on the product page |
| Delivery | Cool TA-Q-BIN (frozen) by Yamato Transport. Instructions say to specify a delivery date from 4 days after ordering up to within 30 days, and the page also states it supports “Asuraku” (Rakuten’s next-day shipping service). Please check the link for the shortest delivery timeSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 3, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (Denshoku Co., Ltd. is listed as the seller, but whether it is the manufacturer or processor is not stated)Source: product description on the product page |
| Shop | Echizen Kani Shokunin Kouragumi (DENSHOKU) (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices change frequently and are not listed here. Please check the link above for the latest price and availability.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredient names on the product page are listed as: shrimp (one of banana shrimp from Papua New Guinea, flower shrimp from Sri Lanka, brown shrimp from Bangladesh, or white shrimp from Indonesia), coating (bread crumbs, powdered egg, wheat flour, sugar, edible oils and fats, salt, starch, food protein [as written: 食物性たん白]) / modified starch, calcined shell calcium, seasoning (amino acids), baking powder, spice extract. For allergens, it is labeled as containing shrimp, wheat, egg and soybean in part. We found no inconsistencies in this labeling within the product page.
This product contains shrimp, so people with a shrimp or crustacean allergy cannot eat it. If you are concerned about your own allergies, please contact the seller before buying or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed October 3, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | For this product | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Contents and how many people it serves | 8 pieces. The size and weight of each piece and the total weight are not confirmed. We could not find how many servings it makes | Product description on the product page |
| 2. Storage method and how long it keeps | Stated as 1 month frozen at −18°C or below. When this period starts is not confirmed | Product description on the product page |
| 3. Ingredient and allergen labeling | Labeled as containing shrimp, wheat, egg and soybean. The shrimp is one of 4 kinds and cannot be chosen. People with a shrimp or crustacean allergy cannot eat it | Product description on the product page (ingredient names) |
| 4. Whether it’s suitable as a gift | Shown as supporting noshi (gift wrapping label). Because of simplified packaging, instructions say only “strip sticker” noshi (outer noshi) is available. The types of inscription (on noshi) are not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page (noshi field and guidance image) |
| 5. Trends in reviews | Rated 4.73/5 on Rakuten Ichiba (598 reviews). We read the first 60 in the default order plus all 5 two-star and all 24 three-star reviews (89 in total), which may not reflect the product’s current condition. Trends are summarized below in “What Public Reviews Say” | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (viewed October 3, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The Rakuten Ichiba product page shows that noshi is supported (viewed October 3, 2026). A guidance image on the product page says that, because the shop strives for simplified packaging, all noshi are “strip sticker” noshi (outer noshi); that Buddhist-style noshi (butsu-noshi) cannot be attached; and that even for an order of several items to a single delivery address, noshi is basically attached to only one item. We could not check the types of inscription on the noshi; this is not confirmed. We could not find any mention of gift wrapping or message card support on the product page.
If you are considering this as a gift, checking the following before you buy can help avoid misunderstandings.
- The types of inscription on the noshi (not stated on the product page)
- Since it arrives by frozen delivery, a date and time when the recipient can receive it
- Whether the recipient has freezer space for the 8-piece pack
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. The rating figures reflect the time we viewed the page and will change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Count | Viewed on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.73 / 5 | 598 | October 3, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 471 / 4★ 98 / 3★ 24 / 2★ 5 / 1★ 0 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 3, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2024 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus all 5 filtered to 2★ (posted May 2018 to November 2025) and all 24 filtered to 3★ (posted July 2017 to April 2026), 89 in total. There were 0 one-star reviews. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Springy shrimp with firm flesh
About 28 of the 60 reviews in the default order (the count is approximate) mentioned the springy texture of the shrimp or that the flesh is firm (4★ and 5★). Some also wrote, in effect, that the texture was like ebi fry made at home from fresh shrimp.
Thin coating
About 13 of the 60 reviews in the default order wrote that the coating is thin or seems homemade (4★ and 5★). Some also wrote that they felt the coating was not hard compared with frozen products from other shops.
Bento-friendly size and convenience
About 13 of the 60 reviews in the default order wrote that the size is easy to put in a bento lunch box (4★ and 5★). These include reviews mentioning the convenience of only needing to fry them.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 3, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Smaller than expected
About 14 of the 60 reviews in the default order wrote that they are small or on the small side (all posted within the last 2 years, including 4★ and 5★ reviews). 3 of all 5 two-star reviews (2 of them within the last 2 years) and 12 of all 24 three-star reviews (3 of them within the last 2 years) said the same. Some highly rated reviews also said, in effect, that they are smallish but taste good. There were also reviews saying, in effect, that you need to fry a lot of them to serve at the dinner table.
How to check: whether the size or weight of each piece is stated is summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Some still have the vein
There were 2 reviews, 1 each among the 2★ and 3★ reviews, saying some still had the vein (digestive tract) in them (posted in May 2018 and February 2024; 0 within the last 2 years). We found no similar comments among the 60 reviews in the default order.
Felt there was too much coating or that it seemed cheap
There were 3 reviews in total, 2 among the 2★ and 1 among the 3★ reviews, saying they felt there was too much coating or that it seemed cheap (all posted in 2022 or earlier; 0 within the last 2 years). Among the 60 reviews in the default order, about 13 felt the coating was thin.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 3, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Looking for frozen ebi fry that is already cleaned and coated, ready to deep-fry
- Want to take out only as many as you will eat from the bag and cook them (as the instructions describe)
- Have freezer space for the 8-piece pack
- Looking for a product shown as supporting noshi
Who Should Be Careful
- Have an allergy to shrimp or crustaceans, or to wheat, egg or soybean
- Want to know the size of each piece in advance (this is not confirmed, and many reviews say they are small)
- Want to choose which kind of shrimp arrives (it is one of 4 kinds and cannot be chosen)
- Want to check in advance when the best-before period starts or the types of inscription on the noshi (both not confirmed)
- Find it hard to arrange a time to receive deliveries
Price, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates change. This article’s information is current as of October 3, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing before you buy.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
*The Amazon product name describes the kind of shrimp differently from this article. This article is based on the Rakuten Ichiba item. Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.
Summary
- 8 pieces. The size and weight of each piece and the total weight are not confirmed, and many reviews say they are small. The shrimp that arrives is one of 4 kinds and cannot be chosen
- Storage is stated as 1 month frozen at −18°C or below. When this period starts is not confirmed. It is described as a product to be deep-fried before eating
- Labeled as containing shrimp, wheat, egg and soybean. People with a shrimp or crustacean allergy cannot eat it. Instructions say only “strip sticker” noshi (outer noshi) is available, and the types of inscription are not confirmed
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on sales sites and review sites. Product details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Evaluations of taste and quality are summaries of third-party posts with sources noted; they are not Ochinity’s own evaluations. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 3, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Echizen Kani Shokunin Kouragumi” product page, Amazon.co.jp product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments