コスモ食品 Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat (ごろっとお肉) — Contents & Reviews

Featured image for the コスモ食品 Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat (ごろっとお肉のバターチキンカレー) article. Photo of butter chicken curry on a black plate beside yellow rice on a wooden table (a serving example; the rice is not included). Text the shop placed in the image: “ギュッと溶け込む鶏肉の旨味” (a meat-flavor claim), “ごろっとチキンのバターチキンカレーをお楽しみください!” and “Butter chicken curry with large chicken Please enjoy!”
Information as of 2026.11.04 PR
Photo of コスモ食品 Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat (ごろっとお肉のバターチキンカレー) served on a black plate with yellow rice, a serving example; the rice is not included. Text the shop placed in the image: “ギュッと溶け込む鶏肉の旨味” (a meat-flavor claim), “ごろっとチキンのバターチキンカレーをお楽しみください!” and “Butter chicken curry with large chicken Please enjoy!”
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “コスモ食品 楽天市場店” product page. This is a serving example; the rice is not included in the product.

This retort butter chicken curry, コスモ食品’s “ごろっとお肉のバターチキンカレー” (Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat), is sold as a set of 3 or 10 pouches of 200g each. The ingredient field lists chicken (produced in Japan), it can be stored at room temperature, and an image on the product page explains how to heat it by putting the pouch in boiling water as it is. Some points, such as the number of days of the best-before date and whether it can be heated in a microwave, cannot be known from the product page alone, so this article organizes what the Rakuten Ichiba product page and Rakuten reviews state into five points: quantity, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. Its strengths are that you can choose 3 or 10 pouches of 200g each, and that the shop states it is finished mild (甘口) so that children can eat it.

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: Not confirmed to carry the same product Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

At a Glance

Key points

  1. You can choose 3 pouches (600g) or 10 pouches (2,000g) of 200g each. Among the 6 retort curry products featured on Ochinity (as of November 4, 2026), of the 5 whose total amount could be confirmed, this is the only one where 2,000g can be chosen
  2. The ingredient field lists chicken (produced in Japan). An explanatory image from the shop states that 60g of domestic chicken (国産鶏) is used, and an image of the new package also shows “南部どり” (Nanbu-dori) (the wording differs within the same product page)
  3. Store at room temperature; the page explains heating the pouch as it is in boiling water for 5 to 7 minutes
  4. Rakuten rating 4.66 (583 reviews). Viewed November 4, 2026. This is the highest figure among the 6 retort curry products featured on Ochinity (as of November 4, 2026) (the review count is lower than for the products with 2,932, 1,557, 854 and 633 reviews)

Watch out for

  • The best-before date is described as “to be shown separately on the product label,” so the number of days cannot be known from the product page
  • No explanation of whether it can be heated in a microwave is found on the product page
  • No description of gift support (noshi, wrapping, message cards) is found

Suits: People who want to have 3 or 10 pouches of room-temperature butter chicken curry retort on hand. The shop states that it is finished mild so that children can eat it

Contents, storage, ingredients and how to eat are from the Rakuten Ichiba product page and the explanatory images on it (viewed November 4, 2026), and the rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed November 4, 2026); neither necessarily reflects the product’s current condition. We read 95 reviews for this article. The comparison covers the 6 retort curry products featured on Ochinity (as of November 4, 2026).

Compared with 6 Similar Retort Curry Products

The 6 retort curry products featured on Ochinity (as of November 4, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are Rakuten Ichiba’s display (we read 95 reviews of this product) and do not necessarily reflect the current condition of a product. Values move more easily the fewer reviews there are. The table lists this article first, followed by the other products in Japanese syllabary (gojūon) order of product name.

ProductTotal AmountTypeRakuten Rating
コスモ食品 Butter Chicken CurryThis article · 3 or 10 pouches of 200g600gor 2,000gButter chicken curry4.66583 reviews
Awaji Island Onion and Awaji Beef Curry 200g×3 (Medium Hot)600gMedium hot4.622,932 reviews
北国 (Kitaguni) Whole Chicken Leg Soup Curry, 4-Serving Set1,200gChicken leg soup curry4.44145 reviews
ゴーゴーカレー (Go Go Curry) Choose-Your-Own Set, 5 Meals685gor 775gMedium hot / Hot / Mild4.481,557 reviews
Sapporo Kiwami Soup Curry 2-Serving Set600gChicken / Braised pork belly4.55633 reviews
ニシキヤキッチン Curry Tasting Trial SetNot confirmedTasting set of 8 kinds (including butter chicken curry)4.65854 reviews

Product names link to each product’s article. ニシキヤキッチン is a set where you choose from 2 to 6 meals; its total amount is not stated in the article and is not confirmed.

  • Among the 5 products whose total amount could be confirmed, this is the only one where 2,000g can be chosen. The other 4 reach 1,200g at most (weak point: the total amount of ニシキヤキッチン is not confirmed)
  • Rakuten’s rating of 4.66 is the highest of the 6 products, but the difference from the 4.65 (854 reviews) of ニシキヤキッチン is 0.01, and the review count is lower than for the products with 2,932, 1,557, 854 and 633 reviews

Basic Information

Product name
ごろっとお肉の バターチキンカレー (Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat) (コスモ食品 Rakuten Ichiba store)
Contents
200g per pouch. The 3-pouch set is 600g and the 10-pouch set is 2,000g
Choices
3個セット (3-pouch set) / 10個セット (10-pouch set)
Storage
Described as stored at room temperature, away from direct sunlight (the number of days of the best-before date is not confirmed)
How to eat
Described as boiling the pouch as it is in hot water for 5 to 7 minutes. An explanation for microwave heating is not confirmed
Country of origin of ingredients
The chicken is produced in Japan (as shown in the ingredient field). The origin of the other ingredients is not confirmed
Allergen labeling
Some ingredients are labeled as containing wheat, milk, apples, beef, pork, and chicken
Price
Prices are not listed here because they change
Delivery
Estimated to ship within 3 business days. Mailbox delivery (ポスト投函) is described (the applicable specifications are not confirmed)
Noshi / gifts
No indication that noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping or message cards are supported
Wakeari
The product name contains “訳あり” (wakeari, a Japanese shopping label meaning “with a reason”), but the reason is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed

This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

The labeling states that some of the ingredients contain wheat, milk, apples, beef, pork, and chicken. We found no statement in the product information field that contradicts this. If you are concerned about allergies, please ask the seller before buying, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, accessed November 4, 2026).

See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (17 items)

This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name
ごろっとお肉の バターチキンカレー (Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat) (コスモ食品 Rakuten Ichiba store)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string with many specification and search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here. Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Type of food
CurrySource: product information field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Contents
A retort of 200g per pouch. The 3-pouch set is 200g×3 for 600g, and the 10-pouch set is 200g×10 for 2,000g. An image on the product page showed that the new package carries the wording “1人前(200g)” (1 serving (200g)). The shop’s statement of how many people the 3-pouch and 10-pouch sets serve is not confirmedSource: product information field and images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Choices
Number of pouches: 3-pouch set / 10-pouch set (the specifications covered in this article). For both, the estimated shipping time is described as within 3 business daysSource: specification selection field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Storage method
Store at room temperature, away from direct sunlightSource: product information field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
Best-before date
Not confirmed (the product information field says “to be shown separately on the product label,” and no number of days or period is found. The manufacturer code is described as shown to the right of the best-before date)Source: product information field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
Ingredients and allergen labeling
Butter chicken curry: chicken (produced in Japan), processed tomato products, sautéed onion, apple puree, curry roux, fermented milk, beef extract, coconut cream, butter, sugar, cream, chicken extract, pork extract, yeast extract, spices, meat extract, curry powder, salt, grated garlic / caramel color. The labeling states that some of the ingredients contain wheat, milk, apples, beef, pork, and chicken. An image of the old package on the product page shows a different ingredient list, and the back-of-package labeling of the new package is not found on the product page. This article uses the wording in the product information field. The nutrition facts are not confirmedSource: product information field and images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Country of origin of ingredients
The ingredient field shows the chicken as produced in Japan. An explanatory image from the shop states that 60g of domestic chicken (国産鶏) is used, and images such as that of the new package also show “南部どり” (Nanbu-dori). The product page does not explain how 国産鶏 and 南部どり relate, and both are the shop’s statements. The origin of the other ingredients is not confirmedSource: product information field and images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Place of processing
Not confirmed (no place of processing is found on the product page)
Condition / how to eat (whether cooking is required)
It is described to put the retort pouch into boiling water without opening it and boil it for 5 to 7 minutes. The page also notes that the pouch gets hot, so take care not to burn yourself. It is explained as a food to be eaten heated, and no statement that it can be eaten at room temperature is found. An explanation for microwave heating is not confirmed. The shop’s images also show serving ideas: doria (rice gratin), baked curry, curry udon (adding milk and mentsuyu noodle soup base), and “くまさんカレー” (literally “little bear curry”)Source: explanatory images on the product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Shop’s statements (taste and method)
The shop’s explanatory images state that it uses Hokkaido-produced butter, is finished mild so that children can eat it, uses no seasoning such as amino acids as an additive, and is made by a flame-grilling method (the grilling step takes about 2 hours). All of these are the shop’s statements and have not been verified by OchinitySource: explanatory images on the product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Package
The shop states that the design changed to a new one from May 1, 2026, and that the taste and quality of the contents are the same. Some reviews also mention the old and new packagesSource: images on the product page, Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 4, 2026)
Delivery
The estimated shipping time is within 3 business days. Whether it ships by room-temperature delivery is not confirmed. An image on the product page states that for mailbox delivery (ポスト投函), cash on delivery and specifying a delivery date and time are not available, and it cannot be bundled with other products. Which specifications this applies to is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page, images on the product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Noshi / gifts
According to the Rakuten Ichiba product page information, there is no indication that noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping or message cards are supported. No description of gift support is foundSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Wakeari
The product name contains the word “訳あり” (wakeari, a Japanese shopping label meaning “with a reason”), but the reason is not stated on the product page and is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 4, 2026)
Manufacturer
The “manufacturer or seller” in the product information field is stated as コスモ食品株式会社 (Omorikita, Ota Ward, Tokyo). On the other hand, the company profile in Rakuten’s store information gives the location of コスモ食品株式会社 as Hirosaki, Aomori Prefecture. Both are the shop’s statements, and the reason for the difference is not confirmed. Which is the manufacturer and which is the seller is also not confirmedSource: product information field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page, Rakuten Ichiba store information (viewed November 4, 2026)
Shop
コスモ食品 楽天市場店 (Rakuten Ichiba)Source: Rakuten Ichiba

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Image of a baked curry (yaki-curry) made with コスモ食品 Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat: a photo of rice in a white baking dish topped with curry, egg and cheese, plus recipe steps (drop an egg on the rice, pour curry and add cheese and breadcrumbs, heat in a toaster oven for about 8 minutes). Text the shop placed in the image: “Recipe 2 焼きカレー” and “Arrange for Doria!”. The rice, egg, cheese and breadcrumbs are not included
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “コスモ食品 楽天市場店” product page. This is a serving suggestion shown by the shop; the rice, egg, cheese and breadcrumbs are not included in the product.
Image of creamy curry udon made with コスモ食品 Butter Chicken Curry with Chunky Meat: a photo of udon with chicken pieces in a black bowl, plus recipe steps (warm the udon, simmer leftover curry with milk and mentsuyu, add the noodles and simmer about 30 seconds). Text the shop placed in the image: “Recipe 3 クリーミーカレーうどん” and “Arrange for Omelette rice!”. The udon, milk and mentsuyu are not included
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “コスモ食品 楽天市場店” product page. This is a serving suggestion shown by the shop; the udon, milk and mentsuyu are not included in the product.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by aspect. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change afterward. The following are trends within the range we read and do not necessarily reflect the product’s current condition.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.66 / 5583November 4, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5 stars 431 / 4 stars 117 / 3 stars 28 / 2 stars 5 / 1 star 2 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed November 4, 2026)

Range read: the first 60 reviews in the default sort order (posted December 2025 to November 2026, with the latest in November 2026), all 2 one-star reviews (posted June to September 2025), all 5 two-star reviews (posted November 2022 to August 2025), and all 28 three-star reviews (posted November 2022 to September 2026), 95 in total. This is the trend within the range we read and does not necessarily reflect the product’s current condition.

The counts are approximate figures based on reading the text, and posts that only concern delivery or shop service are not included. About 20 of the 60 posts in the default order said they bought it again.

What Reviewers Praise

The chicken is large and tender (about 19 of the 60 in the default order)

About 19 posts said the chicken pieces are large, chunky, or tender. The posts were from February to November 2026, and 5 stars were the most common.

Mild spiciness that is easy to eat (about 6 of the 60 in the default order)

About 6 posts wrote that the spiciness is mild and easy for children and seniors to eat. On the other hand, some posts found the spiciness or spices lacking, so impressions are divided.

A light, thin sauce (3 of the 60 in the default order, 3 of the 28 three-star reviews)

3 of the 60 posts in the default order and 3 of the 28 three-star posts described the sauce as thin and closer to a soup. Most of these posts were from February to June 2026.

Easy to keep on hand as a stock (about 6 of the 60 in the default order)

About 6 posts said they keep it on hand, or bought it as an emergency food or stock.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 4, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Too sweet / too mild (about 15 of the 35 posts at 1, 2 and 3 stars combined)

Posts that found it sweet and lacking the flavor expected of butter chicken numbered 1 of the 2 one-star posts, 2 of the 5 two-star posts, and about 12 of the 28 three-star posts. About 9 of these were from the last 2 years.

How to check: the shop states that it is finished mild so that children can eat it. This is summarized in the “Shop’s statements (taste and method)” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Different from the taste at an Indian restaurant (about 7 of the 35 posts at 1 to 3 stars combined)

About 7 posts felt it differs from the butter chicken curry eaten at an Indian restaurant and is closer to an ordinary retort curry. About 2 of these were from the last 2 years.

How to check: the explanation of the mild finish and the flame-grilling method is summarized in the “Shop’s statements (taste and method)” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Spiciness and spices are lacking (about 5 of the 88 posts in the default order of 60 and the 28 three-star reviews combined)

About 5 posts felt that the spiciness or spices were lacking. About 3 of these were from the last 2 years. Most were 3-star posts, and there was also 1 among the 4-star posts.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 4, 2026)

Summary: Is This the One for You?

Why choose it: You want to have a room-temperature butter chicken curry retort, which the shop states is finished mild, on hand in a larger quantity of 3 or 10 pouches (2,000g). If that is your condition, this product, where you can choose 3 or 10 pouches of 200g each, fits. Among the 6 retort curry products featured on Ochinity (as of November 4, 2026), of the 5 whose total amount could be confirmed, this is the only one where 2,000g can be chosen (weak points: the number of days of the best-before date and whether it can be heated in a microwave cannot be known from the product page, and no description of gift support is found).

  1. Rakuten’s rating is 4.66 / 5 (583 reviews). Among the 95 reviews we read, many mention the size and tenderness of the chicken (about 19 of the 60 in the default order), and about 15 of the 35 posts at 1 to 3 stars said it was too sweet
  2. The ingredient field lists chicken (produced in Japan), and the allergen labeling is stated as wheat, milk, apples, beef, pork, and chicken. How to eat is described as boiling the pouch as it is in hot water for 5 to 7 minutes

Other options: If you want to line up 3 medium-hot servings labeled with onion and beef from Awaji Island, there is Awaji Island Onion and Awaji Beef Curry 200g×3 (Medium Hot) (600g, Rakuten 4.62). If you want to compare 8 kinds including butter chicken curry, there is ニシキヤキッチン Curry Tasting Trial Set (Rakuten 4.65).

This section is based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page, the explanatory images on the product page, and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 4, 2026). The reviews are trends within the range read and do not necessarily reflect the product’s current condition.

Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba (コスモ食品 楽天市場店) Amazon: Not confirmed to carry the same product Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 4, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

This article organizes information published on sales sites and review sites. Product information such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change, and this article reflects the content as of the information-as-of date.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: November 4, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “コスモ食品 楽天市場店” product page (including explanatory images on the product page), Rakuten Ichiba store information, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

予算・贈り先・日持ちから、ほかの品も探せます

条件を選んで探す →

可按预算、送礼对象、保质期查找更多美食

按条件查找 →
Let's share this post !
  • Copied the URL !
  • Copied the URL !

Author of this article

We organize mail-order gourmet foods from across Japan using the product information published by sellers and the voices of people who bought them. Rather than our own tasting impressions, we focus on giving you the facts you need to choose. Read our editorial policy

TOC