
Hida Gyu Karubi Yakiniku Mega Portion 1kg is beef for yakiniku (Japanese grilled meat), sold on Rakuten Ichiba by 昭和31年創業 飛騨牛 肉のひぐち as 2 packs of 500g (1kg in total); the product page’s catchphrase says it serves 4 to 5 people. You can choose chilled or frozen delivery, but the shop basically recommends frozen delivery. The thawing method and allergen labeling are not stated on the product page and are not confirmed. This article organizes what the Rakuten Ichiba product page and Rakuten customer reviews say into five points: quantity, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Quantity and a guideline for servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Hida Gyu Beef Karubi Yakiniku 500g×2 Mega Portion 1kg in TotalThe product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search terms and limited-time bonus notices. Only the product-name part is shown here. |
|---|---|
| Name | Hida Gyu KarubiSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| Quantity | 500g×2 (1kg in total). The product page’s catchphrase says it serves 4 to 5 people. The amount per person is not statedSource: same as above |
| Choices that change what arrives | Chilled delivery or frozen delivery. The product description says you can choose chilled or frozen delivery (except in some areas). An information image says that because this is a cut prone to discoloration, frozen delivery is basically recommended, and strongly recommended in hot seasons. It also says that in areas where chilled delivery takes 2 or more days to arrive, and for delivery on the day after the shop’s closed days, an order for chilled delivery is changed to frozen delivery and you are notified by emailSource: product description and information images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| Cut | The product name says Karubi. An information image explains that craftspeople trim off excess fat by hand and leave an appropriate amount of marbling. The breakdown of cuts in each pack is Not confirmed. Some reviews say there was a lot of fat (see the reviews section)Source: product name and information images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 8, 2026) |
| Storage | Chilled at 4°C or below; frozen at −18°C or belowSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Best-before date | 4 days chilled, 30 days frozen. The product page does not state from when the days are countedSource: same as above |
| Origin of ingredients | Beef (Hida Gyu) / Gifu PrefectureSource: same as above |
| Place of processing | Kani City, Gifu Prefecture (location of the processor, manufacturer, and seller)Source: same as above |
| Condition / how to eat (cooking required?) | The cooking method field says to eat it cooked. We found no guidance on eating it rawSource: same as above |
| Thawing method | Not confirmed (how long it keeps after thawing is also not stated on the product page) |
| After opening | Not confirmed |
| Delivery | Yamato Transport Cool TA-Q-BIN. Choose chilled or frozen delivery (except in some areas). Frozen delivery if combined with a chilled item. Packed in a cardboard boxSource: same as above |
| Manufacturer | 株式会社ネオプライムヒグチ (Neo Prime Higuchi Co., Ltd.; processor, manufacturer, and seller; 1236-1 Hiromi, Kani City, Gifu Prefecture)Source: same as above |
| Shop | 昭和31年創業 飛騨牛 肉のひぐち (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredient is listed as beef (Hida Gyu). Within what we could check, we found no separate allergen labeling field on the product page. This item is Not confirmed.
If you have allergy concerns, please be sure to check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 8, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Quantity and number of servings | 500g×2 (1kg in total). The catchphrase says it serves 4 to 5 people. The amount per person is not stated | Product description and catchphrase on the product page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Chilled at 4°C or below for 4 days; frozen at −18°C or below for 30 days. You can choose chilled or frozen delivery, but the shop basically recommends frozen delivery. Thawing method: Not confirmed | Product description and information images on the product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | The ingredient is beef (Hida Gyu). The allergen labeling field: Not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Product description on the product page |
| 4. Suitable as a gift | The shop’s introduction mentions noshi (gift wrapping label), furoshiki (wrapping cloth), and message cards, but whether they apply to this product is Not confirmed. The types of inscriptions and gift boxes are also Not confirmed | Product description on the product page (the shop’s introduction) |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten Ichiba’s rating is 4.35 out of 5 (1,039 reviews). We read the first 59 reviews in the default order (posted March 2014–September 2026, latest September 2026) and 30 each filtered to 1★ and 2★. The following are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product. Many comments mention tenderness and the amount, while many 1★ and 2★ reviews point out a lot of fat, toughness, and sinew | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 8, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The product description on the product page mentions a service where the shop prints the message card text, various kinds of noshi (gift wrapping label), and furoshiki (wrapping cloth). However, these appear in the shop’s overall introduction, and it is not stated whether they apply to this product. The gift field on the product page (noshi, wrapping, message card) has no entry for this product. The product description lists words such as ochugen (mid-year gift) and oseibo (year-end gift), but these are words listed in the shop’s introduction, not a statement about the types of noshi inscriptions (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, viewed October 8, 2026).
- Types of noshi inscriptions: not stated. Not confirmed
- Gift box, simple gift box, gift wrapping: not stated. The packaging is stated to be a cardboard box. Not confirmed
- Message card and name printing: mentioned in the shop’s introduction, but whether they apply to this product is Not confirmed
- Delivery: Yamato Transport Cool TA-Q-BIN. You can choose chilled or frozen delivery, but even if you choose chilled delivery, it may be changed to frozen delivery depending on conditions. Please check on the purchase field of the product page whether you can specify a delivery date and time
Among the reviews we read, 8 of the first 59 reviews in the default order said they used it as a gift for occasions such as ochugen (mid-year gift), a birthday, or a trip home during Obon (summer holidays) and that it was well received (Source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 8, 2026).

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by topic. Rating figures are as of the time of viewing and change afterward. The following are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.35 / 5 | 1,039 | October 8, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 632 / ★4 259 / ★3 68 / ★2 44 / ★1 36 (as displayed on Rakuten Ichiba, accessed October 8, 2026)
What we read: the first 59 reviews in the default order (posted March 2014–September 2026, latest September 2026), plus 30 reviews filtered to ★1 (36 matched; posted August 2014–February 2024) and 30 reviews filtered to ★2 (44 matched; posted April 2015–December 2024), 119 in total. These are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.
The 59 reviews in the default order include old posts going back to 2014. The ★1 and ★2 reviews are mostly old posts; in the last two years (October 2024 onward) there were 0 ★1 reviews and 1 ★2 review. The counts are the number of posts we counted by topic after reading them.
What Reviewers Praise
Tenderness
13 of the 59 reviews in the default order said it was tender or seemed to melt in the mouth (9 of them posted in the last two years). Many of them mentioned eating it at a family barbecue or yakiniku meal.
Satisfaction with amount and price
8 of the 59 reviews in the default order said the amount was large or that it was worth the price (4 of them in the last two years). Some also mentioned that it arrives as 2 packs of 500g.
Use as a gift or treat
8 of the 59 reviews in the default order said they sent it for occasions such as ochugen (mid-year gift), a birthday, or Obon and that it was well received (6 of them in the last two years).
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 8, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
A lot of fat
25 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews said there was a lot of fat, or that some packs were almost all white fat (1 of them posted in the last two years). 3 of the 59 reviews in the default order also mention it (all posted before the last two years). The shop explains in an information image that craftspeople trim off excess fat by hand, which differs from what these reviews point out. We cannot judge in this article which is closer to the actual state.
How to check: the shop’s explanation and the point that the breakdown of cuts in each pack is Not confirmed are summarized in the “Cut” row of this article’s “Basic Information.”
Toughness and sinew
26 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews said the meat was tough or had a lot of sinew and was hard to bite through (1 of them posted in the last two years). 2 of the 59 reviews in the default order also mention it (1 of them in the last two years).
Differences from pack to pack
9 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews said the condition of the meat differed from pack to pack, or that it looked different from the product photo (0 of them posted in the last two years).
How to check: the breakdown of cuts in each pack is Not confirmed, as stated in the “Cut” row of this article’s “Basic Information.”
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 8, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to get beef for yakiniku in 2 packs of 500g (1kg in total) all at once
- Want to choose chilled or frozen delivery (the shop basically recommends frozen delivery)
- Want enough for a family or group yakiniku or barbecue (the catchphrase says 4 to 5 people)
Who Should Be Careful
- Concerned about the amount of fat (reviews point out a lot of fat, and the breakdown of cuts in each pack is Not confirmed)
- Concerned about toughness or sinew (reviews point it out)
- Want to confirm the thawing method or allergen labeling before buying (Not confirmed)
- Want to give it as a gift with a noshi inscription or a gift box (support for this product is Not confirmed)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 8, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The quantity is 2 packs of 500g (1kg in total), and the catchphrase says 4 to 5 people. The breakdown of cuts in each pack is not confirmed
- Storage is 4 days at 4°C or below chilled, or 30 days at −18°C or below frozen. You can choose chilled or frozen delivery, but the shop basically recommends frozen delivery. The thawing method and allergen labeling are not confirmed
- Reviews include comments on tenderness, amount, and use as a gift, while many ★1 and ★2 reviews point out a lot of fat, toughness, and sinew. The shop’s explanation about fat differs from what the reviews point out
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on various retail sites and review sites. Product details such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 8, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “昭和31年創業 飛騨牛 肉のひぐち” product page (including information images), Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments