
Otofuke Town (音更町) in Hokkaido is the municipality you donate to for this thank-you gift, and the manufacturer of the 8 items in the set is stated as Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd. (よつ葉乳業株式会社). The listing explains, as the manufacturer’s product policy, that all the dairy ingredients in Yotsuba-brand products are from Hokkaido, but the origin of ingredients for each item and the location of the manufacturing plant are Not confirmed. The thank-you gift covered in this article, which you receive through furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program), is an assortment of 8 items in 8 kinds, including Yotsuba butters, 926g in total, delivered chilled. We have organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews say into 5 points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gifting and reviews. The feature we could confirm on the listing is that the set lets you compare 8 kinds, including 2 items described as sold only in Hokkaido.
At a Glance
Key points
- 8 items in 8 kinds, 926g in total. The set combines items of 125g, 113g, 150g and 100g, and 2 of them, 北海道よつ葉バター (Hokkaido Yotsuba Butter) and 北海道発酵バター (Hokkaido Fermented Butter), are described as sold only in Hokkaido
- It arrives chilled, and the best-before period is 180 days for all 8 items (not counting the date of manufacture). The listing says the items are delivered with about half or more of the best-before period remaining at the time of shipping
- Rakuten rating 4.81 (648 reviews). Viewed November 8, 2026
- Shipping is expected within 30 days of the donation being confirmed. The listing also says shipping may take longer
Watch out for
- The listing says you cannot choose a delivery date, and that it does not notify you of the shipping date in advance
- Of the 8 items, パンにおいしいよつ葉バターとひまわりオイル (Yotsuba butter with sunflower oil, for bread, 100g) is labeled not as butter but as “乳等を主要原料とする食品” (a food made mainly from milk and other dairy ingredients)
Suits: People who want to compare Yotsuba butters of different kinds, such as fermented, salted and for bread
The features are from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing of “北海道音更町” (viewed November 8, 2026). The rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed November 8, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Basic Information
- Product Name
- 「よつ葉」贅沢バターセット 8種類 合計926g (Yotsuba Luxury Butter Set, 8 Kinds, 926g in Total)
- Municipality / Provider
- Otofuke Town, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Manufacturer: Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd.
- Amount
- 8 items in 8 kinds, 926g in total (100g to 150g each)
- Storage
- The listing says to keep it in the refrigerator. The best-before period is 180 days for each item (not counting the date of manufacture)
- Allergen Labeling
- Milk (stated for the set as a whole; for each item, Not confirmed)
- Donation Amount
- Not stated, because it changes
- Shipping
- Expected within 30 days of the donation being confirmed, chilled delivery, no delivery date selection
- Noshi / Gifting
- Noshi (gift wrapping label) cannot be added (as shown on the listing). Gift boxes, gift wrapping and message cards are Not confirmed
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
The listing states milk for allergen labeling (stated for the set as a whole; labeling for each item is Not confirmed). If you have allergies, please contact the provider before applying for the donation, or be sure to check the label on the thank-you gift when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, viewed November 8, 2026).
See the transcription of the listing, sources and details of “Not confirmed” (17 items)
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
- Product Name
- 「よつ葉」贅沢バターセット 8種類 合計926g (Yotsuba Luxury Butter Set, 8 Kinds, 926g in Total) (Otofuke Town, Hokkaido, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search keywords. Here we show only the product name part.
- Amount
- 北海道よつ葉バター (Hokkaido Yotsuba Butter) 125g / 北海道発酵バター (Hokkaido Fermented Butter) 125g / よつ葉伝統造りバター (Yotsuba traditionally made butter) 113g / よつ葉発酵バター (Yotsuba Fermented Butter) 113g / よつ葉バター(加塩) (Yotsuba Butter, salted) 150g / パンにおいしいよつ葉バター (Yotsuba butter for bread) 100g / パンにおいしい発酵バター (fermented butter for bread) 100g / パンにおいしいよつ葉バターとひまわりオイル (Yotsuba butter with sunflower oil, for bread) 100g: 8 items in 8 kinds, 926g in total. Of these, the butter with sunflower oil is stated not as butter but as “乳等を主要原料とする食品” (a food made mainly from milk and other dairy ingredients). The number of servings is not stated and is Not confirmed. The listing says the package design may change without noticeSource: the product description and the set contents image on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Options
- There is no field to choose the contents; it is the one set aboveSource: the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Donation Amount
- Because the donation amount changes, it is not stated in this article
- Storage Method
- The listing says to keep it in the refrigerator. The shipping temperature is chilledSource: the product description on the listing
- Best-Before Date
- 180 days for all 8 items (in each case not counting the date of manufacture). The listing says the items delivered have about half or more of the best-before period remaining at the time of shippingSource: the product description on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- After Opening
- The listing says that once opened, the items should be eaten as soon as possible regardless of the best-before dateSource: the product description on the listing
- Ingredients
- Stated for the set as a whole: raw milk, salt, sunflower oil, buttermilk, whey protein. The ingredients of each item (such as whether salt is used) are Not confirmed. A product image explains that the butter with sunflower oil blends salted butter with sunflower oil and uses no emulsifiers, flavorings or coloringsSource: the product description and product images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Allergens
- Milk (stated for the set as a whole). Labeling for each item is Not confirmedSource: the product description on the listing
- Origin of Ingredients
- Labeling for each item is Not confirmed. As the manufacturer’s product policy, the listing explains that all the dairy ingredients in Yotsuba-brand products are from Hokkaido. A product image explains that よつ葉バター(加塩) (Yotsuba Butter, salted) uses 100% raw milk from Tokachi, Hokkaido as its dairy ingredientSource: the product description (features and commitments) and product images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Processing Location
- Not confirmed (we could not find the location of the manufacturing plant)
- Condition / How to Eat (Cooking Required?)
- These are butters and similar items delivered chilled. We could not find any guidance from the seller on whether cooking is required or how to eat them. Product images explain that the 3 items for bread were made so that a butter knife goes in easily even straight from the refrigerator, or so that they are smooth and easy to spreadSource: product images on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Delivery
- Chilled delivery. The listing says delivery on a specified date is not possible and that it does not notify you of the shipping date in advance. It asks you to let them know in advance when you apply if there are days you will be away or you plan to moveSource: the product description on the listing (notes)
- Shipping Time
- The listing shows that it is scheduled to ship within about 30 days of the donation being confirmed. It also says shipping may take longer. The shipping time shown may changeSource: the shipping display and product description on the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Noshi / Gifting
- Noshi cannot be added (as shown on the listing). We could not find any mention of gift boxes, gift wrapping or message cards, so they are Not confirmed. Whether the delivery address can be different from the donor’s is also Not confirmedSource: the listing (viewed November 8, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd. (よつ葉乳業株式会社). The address is Not confirmedSource: the product description on the listing
- Shop
- Otofuke Town, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.


What Public Reviews Say
We have organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The ratings are as of the date viewed and change afterwards. The following are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.81 / 5 | 648 | November 8, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 559 / ★4 67 / ★3 12 / ★2 8 / ★1 2 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed November 8, 2026)
Reviews read: the first 60 in the default sort order (posted December 2024 to November 2026, the latest in November 2026), all 2 ★1 reviews (posted February 2020 to July 2025) and all 8 ★2 reviews (posted February 2019 to April 2025), 70 in total. These are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
There are 10 ★1 and ★2 reviews in total, and 2 of them were posted in the last 2 years (since November 2024). The counts below are approximate, counted by reading the review text, and do not include reviews that are only about delivery or that say they have not eaten it yet.
What Reviewers Praise
Many kinds to compare (about 25 of 60)
About 25 of the first 60 reviews in the default sort order said there are many kinds, or that each tastes different and they could use them while comparing. Some reviews also say they apply for it every year.
Goes well with bread and toast (about 13)
About 13 of the 60 default reviews said they spread it on sliced bread, toast or scones. Some also wrote that they used it in bread dough or cooking (as the reviewers describe).
Includes items not seen in stores (6)
6 of the 60 default reviews said the set included items they do not see at supermarkets or stores where they live.
The 2 items in jars (4)
4 of the 60 default reviews said they especially liked the traditionally made butter and the fermented butter that come in jars.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
It takes time to arrive (about 7 of 60, and 3 of the 8 ★2 reviews)
About 7 of the first 60 reviews in the default sort order said they waited about 3 weeks to a month, and in some cases about 2 months, for it to arrive (all ★4 or ★5). 3 of the 8 ★2 reviews also mentioned the time it took to arrive; these were posted in 2019.
How to check: the current shipping estimate is summarized under “Shipping Time” in this article’s Basic Information.
Some items had a closer best-before date than expected (2)
2 of the 10 ★1 and ★2 reviews (posted in 2020 and 2021) said some items were close to their best-before date when they arrived. Among the 60 default reviews, one also said it differed by item but there were 3 to 4 months left.
How to check: the best-before period and what the listing says about the period remaining at delivery are summarized under “Best-Before Date” in this article’s Basic Information.
Packing (2)
2 of the 8 ★2 reviews (both from November 2022) said a container lid had come off, or that the items were scattered inside the box. Among the 60 default reviews, there are also reviews saying the packing was careful.
Reviews mentioning a voluntary recall by the manufacturer (3)
2 of the 10 ★1 and ★2 reviews (both posted in 2025; these are the only ★1 and ★2 reviews from the last 2 years) mentioned that there had previously been a voluntary recall by the manufacturer. Among the 60 default reviews, there is also 1 review (★5) saying the response to a contamination (混入) issue was courteous. The items, timing and reason of the recall are not stated on the listing and are Not confirmed in this article.
How to check: please check the notices on the official website of the manufacturer (Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd.) for the items and timing of the recall.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026)
Summary: Is This the One for You?
Deciding factors: You want to try many kinds of Yotsuba butter, and you want to use different ones for spreading on bread and for cooking. If these two are your conditions, this thank-you gift, which brings 8 items in 8 kinds, 926g in total, including fermented, salted and for-bread items, all at once, is a good fit.
- The Rakuten rating is 4.81 / 5 (648 reviews). Of the 70 reviews we read, many mentioned the number of kinds (about 25 of 60) and that it goes well with bread (about 13)
- The best-before period is 180 days for all 8 items (not counting the date of manufacture), and the listing says they are delivered with about half or more of the best-before period remaining
Other options: If you also want to receive cheese along with butter, see Kamishihoro Town Yotsuba Butter and Cheese Assortment, Set A (7 items: 2 butters and 5 cheeses).
This section is based on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing of “北海道音更町” and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 8, 2026). Review trends are within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that to receive the deduction for donations, you are in principle required to file a final tax return by March 15 of the year after you donate, and that if you file a final tax return, the income tax portion is deducted (refunded) from that year’s income tax and the resident tax portion is deducted from the following fiscal year’s resident tax. It explains that for salaried workers and others who do not need to file a final tax return, if the number of municipalities you donate to through furusato nozei is 5 or fewer, there is the One-Stop Exception (ワンストップ特例), under which you do not need to file a final tax return if you apply to each municipality you donated to, and that if you apply, no deduction is made from income tax and the full amount is deducted from the following fiscal year’s resident tax (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, viewed November 8, 2026). Deduction amounts and procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the ministry, your local municipality or the tax office.
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 8, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: November 8, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道音更町” (Otofuke Town, Hokkaido) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”

