
Kamishihoro Town (上士幌町) in Hokkaido is the municipality you donate to for this thank-you gift, and the seven items in the set are butters and cheeses made by Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd. (よつ葉乳業株式会社, based in Otofuke Town, Hokkaido). The ingredient lists say the raw milk in the butter, the cream cheese and the Camembert is from Hokkaido, and that the ingredients of the other items are made in Hokkaido. This thank-you gift, which you receive through furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program), comes in five sets to choose from, and this article covers 【A】バター・チーズAセット (Butter and Cheese Set A). We have organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews say in this order: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gifting and reviews. The feature we could confirm on the listing is that the set lets you try two butters and five cheeses a little at a time.
At a Glance
Key points
- Seven items, two butters and five cheeses, 650g in total. They are Yotsuba butter 125g, butter with sunflower oil 100g, cream cheese and cheese paste 100g each, Camembert 90g, Cheddar cheese blend 90g and smoked cheese 45g
- It arrives by chilled delivery, and the best-before period is 120 to 270 days from the date of manufacture, refrigerated, according to the listing. The number of days differs by item
- Rakuten rating 4.79 (507 reviews). Viewed October 22, 2026. The rating covers all five sets, A to E, together
- You can choose from five sets, A to E. The same listing also has the cheese-only 【D】チーズセット (Cheese Set, 10 items) and the 10-item 【E】10点満喫セット (10-Item Set)
Watch out for
- Each item is 45 to 125g, so the set is made up of smaller sizes
- Noshi (gift wrapping label) cannot be added (as stated on the listing). The listing says it ships within about 60 days of payment, and there is no field to choose the delivery month or date
Suits: People who want to compare Yotsuba butters and cheeses a little at a time. People who want to stock up on spreads for bread all at once
The features are from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 22, 2026). The rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed October 22, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Basic Information
- Product Name
- Yotsuba Butter and Cheese Assortment, 【A】バター・チーズAセット (Butter and Cheese Set A)
- Municipality / Provider
- Kamishihoro Town, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Manufacturer: Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd. (よつ葉乳業(株)); Provider: (株)カーチ
- Amount
- 7 items, 650g in total
- Contents
- 2 butters, 5 cheeses
- Options
- Five sets, 【A】 to 【E】
- Storage
- The listing says to keep it refrigerated, and that the best-before period is 120 to 270 days from the date of manufacture
- Allergen Labeling
- The labeling field is Not confirmed (all 7 items contain milk as an ingredient)
- Donation Amount
- Varies by the set you choose (not stated in this article)
- Shipping
- Chilled delivery, within about 60 days of payment
- Noshi / Gifting
- Noshi not available
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
This thank-you gift is an assortment of butter and cheese, and the ingredient lists of all 7 items include raw milk, butter or natural cheese (it contains milk). We could not find an allergen labeling field on the listing. If you have allergies, please ask the provider before applying to donate, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, viewed October 22, 2026).
See the transcription of the listing, sources and details of “Not confirmed” (17 items)
This list transcribes what the listing says. However, “Not confirmed” and our own notes are Ochinity’s wording.
- Product Name
- Yotsuba Butter and Cheese Assortment, 【A】バター・チーズAセット (Butter and Cheese Set A) (Kamishihoro Town, Hokkaido, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search keywords. Here we show the name of the thank-you gift and the name of the set. The name of the thank-you gift on the listing is よつ葉 バターやチーズの詰め合わせ (Yotsuba butter and cheese assortment)
- Amount
- 7 items, 650g in total. The butters are 北海道よつ葉バター[北海道限定品] (Hokkaido Yotsuba Butter, a Hokkaido-only item) 125g and パンにおいしいよつ葉バターとひまわりオイル (Yotsuba butter with sunflower oil, for bread) 100g. The cheeses are 北海道十勝 クリームチーズ (Hokkaido Tokachi cream cheese) 100g, 北海道十勝 チーズペースト (Hokkaido Tokachi cheese paste) 100g, 北海道十勝 カマンベール (Hokkaido Tokachi Camembert) 90g, 北海道十勝 ひとくちチーズ仕立て〜チェダーチーズブレンド〜 (Hokkaido Tokachi bite-size cheese, Cheddar cheese blend) 90g and 北海道十勝 スモークチーズ (Hokkaido Tokachi smoked cheese) 45g. The number of servings is not stated and is Not confirmedSource: the product description and set selection field on the listing (viewed October 22, 2026)
- Options
- 【A】バター・チーズAセット (Butter and Cheese Set A, 7 items, 650g)
【B】バター・チーズBセット (Butter and Cheese Set B, 7 items, 665g)
【C】バター・チーズCセット (Butter and Cheese Set C, 8 items, 620g)
【D】チーズセット (Cheese Set, 10 items, 675g)
【E】10点満喫セット (10-Item Set, 10 items, 895g)
This article summarizes the contents of 【A】Source: the set selection field on the listing (viewed October 22, 2026) - Donation Amount
- It differs depending on the set you choose. Because the amount changes, it is not stated in this articleSource: the set selection field on the listing (viewed October 22, 2026)
- Storage Method
- The listing says refrigeratedSource: the product description on the listing (storage method field)
- Best-Before Date
- The listing says, from the date of manufacture and refrigerated, 270 days for the bite-size cheese (Cheddar cheese blend), 180 days for the Yotsuba butter, the butter with sunflower oil, the Camembert and the cheese paste, 179 days for the smoked cheese, and 120 days for the cream cheese. The listing says that because the production cycle is relatively long, depending on when it ships, it may arrive with a relatively short time left before the best-before dateSource: the product description on the listing (best-before date field, viewed October 22, 2026)
- After Opening
- The listing says that once opened, it should be eaten as soon as possible regardless of the best-before dateSource: the product description on the listing (best-before date field)
- Ingredients
- Yotsuba butter: raw milk (from Hokkaido), salt
Butter with sunflower oil: butter (made in Hokkaido), sunflower oil (made in Japan), buttermilk (made in Hokkaido), whey protein, salt
Cream cheese: raw milk (from Hokkaido), buttermilk (made in Hokkaido), salt
Cheese paste: natural cheese (made in Hokkaido), butter (made in Hokkaido), skim milk powder (made in Hokkaido) / emulsifier
Camembert: raw milk (from Hokkaido), salt
Cheddar cheese blend: natural cheese (made in Hokkaido), butter (made in Hokkaido) / emulsifier
Smoked cheese: natural cheese (made in Hokkaido) / emulsifierSource: the product description on the listing (ingredients field, viewed October 22, 2026) - Allergen Labeling
- We could not find an allergen labeling field on the listing, so it is Not confirmed. The ingredient lists of all 7 items include raw milk, butter or natural cheeseSource: the product description on the listing (ingredients field)
- Origin of Ingredients
- In the ingredient lists, the raw milk in the Yotsuba butter, the cream cheese and the Camembert is stated as from Hokkaido. The other ingredients are stated by where they were made, such as butter (made in Hokkaido) and natural cheese (made in Hokkaido)Source: the product description on the listing (ingredients field)
- Processing Location
- Not confirmed. The manufacturer’s address is stated as Otofuke Town, Kato District, Hokkaido (北海道河東郡音更町)Source: the product description on the listing (manufacturer field)
- Condition / How to Eat (Cooking Required?)
- These are chilled butters and cheeses. We could not find any guidance on whether cooking is requiredSource: the product description on the listing
- Delivery
- The listing says chilled delivery. The storage method field says leaving it at the door or in a delivery box is not possible. The listing says you can choose a time slot from 8–12, 14–16, 16–18, 18–20 and 19–21. The listing says it cannot be sent to some island areas, such as parts of the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Village. The listing says you can note any long absence when delivery should be avoided at the time of applyingSource: the product description on the listing (delivery method and storage method fields, special notes)
- Shipping Time
- The listing says all five sets ship within about 60 days of payment. When viewed on October 22, 2026, there was no field to choose the delivery month or dateSource: the set selection field on the listing (viewed October 22, 2026)
- Noshi / Gifting
- The listing says gift services such as noshi are not available. It says that if you have it sent separately as a gift, it will be shipped so that the recipient cannot tell it is from furusato nozei. Gift boxes or other wrapping and message cards are Not confirmedSource: the special notes on the listing (viewed October 22, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- Yotsuba Milk Products Co., Ltd. (よつ葉乳業(株), Otofuke Town, Kato District, Hokkaido). (株)カーチ (Kamishihoro Town, Kato District, Hokkaido) is listed as the provider of the thank-you giftSource: the product description on the listing (the manufacturer field and the field after it)
- Shop
- Kamishihoro Town, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.


What Public Reviews Say
We have organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The ratings are as of the date viewed and change afterwards. The following are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.79 / 5 | 507 | October 22, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 424 / ★4 67 / ★3 12 / ★2 2 / ★1 2 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 22, 2026)
Reviews read: the first 60 in the default sort order (posted November 2024 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), all 2 ★1 reviews (posted December 2021 to March 2026), all 2 ★2 reviews (posted November 2022 to September 2023) and all 12 ★3 reviews (posted November 2018 to November 2024), 76 in total. These are trends within the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The reviews for all five sets, A to E, are shown together. Of the 60 default reviews, 21 are about 【A】, and the rest are about Sets B to E. Some reviews are about sets with earlier contents. For the contents, we have summarized what the current listing says in this article’s Basic Information. The counts below are approximate, counted by reading the review text, and do not include reviews that are only about delivery or the shop’s service.
What Reviewers Praise
You can try many kinds a little at a time (about 19 of 60)
About 19 of the first 60 reviews in the default sort order said they enjoyed the variety of butters and cheeses, or that they could try items they would not normally pick up. Some reviews also mentioned how the assortment looked when they opened it.
Easy to use on bread and at breakfast (about 9)
About 9 of the 60 default reviews said they had it with bread, bagels or scones, or that they use the butter every morning. Some reviews named the butter with sunflower oil, the cheese paste or the cream cheese (reviewers’ own descriptions).
Repeat applications (about 20)
About 20 of the 60 default reviews said they had applied again, or that they apply every year.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 22, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Small amounts (7)
7 reviews in total said each item was small or that they wished there were a little more: 4 of the first 60 in the default sort order and 3 of the 16 ★1 to ★3 reviews. All 4 of those among the 60 default reviews were ★4 or ★5.
How to check: the amount of each item is summarized under “Amount” in this article’s “Basic Information.”
Shorter time to the best-before date than expected on arrival (6)
6 reviews in total said there were only a few days left before the best-before date when it arrived: 1 of the 60 default reviews and 5 of the 16 ★1 to ★3 reviews. 4 of those 5 ★1 to ★3 reviews were posted before 2023.
How to check: the best-before period of each item, and the listing’s note that it may arrive with a short time left, are summarized under “Best-Before Date” in this article’s “Basic Information.”
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 22, 2026)
Summary: Is This the One for You?
Deciding factors: You want to try Yotsuba butters and cheeses a little at a time, and you can receive chilled delivery at home. If these two are your conditions, this Set A, with two butters and five cheeses in one, is a good fit.
- The Rakuten rating is 4.79 / 5 (507 reviews). Among the 76 reviews we read, many mentioned being able to try many kinds (about 19 of 60) and repeat applications (about 20)
- It includes 北海道よつ葉バター[北海道限定品] (Hokkaido Yotsuba Butter, a Hokkaido-only item), the butter with sunflower oil, the cheese paste and the cream cheese, so one box covers spreads for bread
Other options: If cheese alone is enough, 【D】チーズセット (Cheese Set, 10 items, 675g) on the same listing; if you want more items, 【E】10点満喫セット (10-Item Set, 10 items, 895g).
This section is based on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 22, 2026). Review trends are within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that if you file a final tax return, the income tax portion is deducted from that year’s income tax and the resident tax portion from the following fiscal year’s resident tax. It explains that if you apply for the One-Stop Exception (ワンストップ特例), the full deduction is taken from the following fiscal year’s resident tax (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, viewed October 22, 2026). Deduction amounts and procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the ministry, your local municipality or the tax office.
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 22, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 22, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道上士幌町” (Kamishihoro Town, Hokkaido) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”

