
With Omi Gyu sukiyaki beef, the right pick varies by cut combination — such as rosu (loin), momo (round) and bara (short plate) — and by weight, so buyers often end up purchasing without knowing how many servings 1kg makes, or how thawing and shelf life work. In this article, we organized publicly available product information and review-site listings for Tokusen Omi Gyu Sukiyaki Beef, Loin, Momo & Bara, 1kg from Matsukiya, a Meiji-era Omi Gyu specialty shop (明治創業 近江牛の松喜屋), into five points: amount, storage method, ingredient labeling, gift suitability, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and how many servings it makes
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in publicly available reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product Name | Tokusen Omi Gyu Sukiyaki Beef 1kg, about 5–7 servings (Loin, Momo & Bara), FrozenSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
|---|---|
| Name | Tokusen Omi Gyu Sukiyaki Beef (about 5–7 servings), Loin, Momo & BaraSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Amount | 1kg. “About 5–7 servings” is the estimate given in the product name; no breakdown of the serving count is stated. The product description says vegetables and the like are not includedSource: as above |
| Cuts | Loin, momo and baraSource: as above |
| Storage Method | Store frozen at −15°C or belowSource: as above |
| Best-Before Date | About 120 days from the shipping dateSource: as above |
| Country of Origin | Shiga PrefectureSource: as above |
| Place of Processing | 株式会社松喜屋 (Otsu, Shiga) is shown as the processor. Whether there is a separate manufacturing site is not confirmedSource: as above |
| Condition / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Needed) | This is frozen beef sliced for sukiyaki. We could not find the seller’s guidance on the product page about whether it can be eaten raw or whether cooking is required. This item is not confirmed. |
| Thawing Method | Not stated on the product page, so not confirmed. How long it keeps after thawing is also not confirmed. |
| Shipping | Yamato Transport, frozen cool delivery. The box size is stated as 26.5 × 22.5 × 6.0cmSource: as above |
| Manufacturer | 株式会社松喜屋 / 14-17 Karahashi-cho, Otsu, Shiga, JapanSource: shown as “processor” on the Rakuten Ichiba page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Shop | Matsukiya, a Meiji-era Omi Gyu specialty shop (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices change, so none are listed here. Please check the latest price and stock at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, the Rakuten Ichiba product page shows no ingredient list, additives, or allergen labeling (only the name, country of origin, amount and the like are shown). This item is not confirmed.
Please ask the shop before buying, or be sure to check the labeling on the package that arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed October 14, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to Check | In This Product’s Case | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount and servings | 1kg (loin, momo and bara). “About 5–7 servings” is the estimate given in the product name; no breakdown of the serving count is stated. Vegetables and the like are not included | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Store frozen at −15°C or below. Best-before date is about 120 days from the shipping date. Thawing method is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | not confirmed (not stated on the product page). Ask the shop before buying, or be sure to check the label on the package that arrives | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| 4. Whether it works as a gift | Noshi (gift wrapping label) and gift wrapping are stated to be offered free of charge (as of the date checked: October 14, 2026; terms may change). Please check the purchase page for the type of noshi inscription, message card, and whether the box is a formal gift box | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten “Minna no Review” shows 232 reviews, average 4.66 (as listed on October 14, 2026). Among the reviews we read — the first 58 in the default sort order (posted December 2019 to July 2026, latest July 2026) and all 16 reviews rated ★1, ★2 and ★3 — many say the recipients were pleased or praise the tenderness of the meat, while some mention tough or sinewy meat and an uneven balance of fat and lean. This trend may not reflect the product’s current condition | Rakuten “Minna no Review” (review.rakuten.co.jp, viewed October 14, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The product page states that noshi (gift wrapping label) and gift wrapping are offered free of charge (as of the date checked: October 14, 2026; terms may change). The wrapping is stated to be the shop’s original wrapping paperSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page. Please check the purchase page for the type of noshi inscription (such as uchi-iwai or other celebratory wording), whether a message card is available, and whether the box is a formal gift box or a simple one. If you’re considering this as a gift, checking the following with the shop before buying can help avoid any mix-up:
- Whether the noshi inscription you want is available
- Whether a message card can be added
- Since it arrives by frozen delivery, whether you can specify a date and time the recipient can receive it
Among the reviews we read, many were posts from people who used it as a gift — for oseibo (year-end gifts), uchi-iwai (return gifts for congratulations), birthdays and the like (details in the next section, “What Public Reviews Say”).
What Public Reviews Say
The following organizes the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by point of view. Rating figures are as of the viewing date and may change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten “Minna no Review” (product page) | 4.66 / 5 | 232 | October 14, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 181 / ★4 35 / ★3 7 / ★2 5 / ★1 4 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed October 14, 2026)
Reviews read: the first 58 in the default sort order (posted December 2019 to July 2026, latest July 2026), all 4 rated ★1 (February 2020 to December 2023), all 5 rated ★2 (December 2019 to March 2024), and all 7 rated ★3 (December 2019 to January 2026), 74 in total. This is a trend within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Recipients were pleased
About 30 of the first 58 reviews in the default sort order said they bought it as a gift — for year-end, return-gift, birthday and similar occasions — and the recipients were pleased (about 18 of them posted within the last two years). Many describe getting a message or comment back from the recipient.
Tender meat
About 16 of the same 58 reviews said the meat felt tender (about 8 within the last two years). Many describe eating it as sukiyaki.
The 1kg amount
About 5 of the same 58 reviews said 1kg was plenty (about 3 within the last two years).
Source: Rakuten “Minna no Review” (viewed October 14, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Uneven fat and lean, and which cuts are included
About 6 of the 16 reviews — the 9 rated ★1 and ★2 plus the 7 rated ★3 — mentioned feeling there was a lot of fat, that it was all lean, or that the cuts differed from those in the listed photo. None were posted within the last two years.
How to check: The cuts included in the product are summarized in the “Cuts” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Tough or sinewy meat
About 5 of the same 16 reviews mentioned meat that felt tough, or sinewy and hard to bite through (1 within the last two years).
Not portioned, hard to separate when frozen
3 reviews said the 1kg is not portioned, so it was hard to separate while frozen, or that they wished it came in smaller portions because they wanted to use it in parts. None were posted within the last two years. On the other hand, there was also a review saying there is a sheet in between, so it could be split in half partway through thawing.
Source: Rakuten “Minna no Review” (viewed October 14, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Those who want to enjoy three cuts — loin, momo and bara — together in sukiyaki
- Those looking for a sizable amount of around 5–7 servings
- Those looking for a gift that comes with noshi and gift wrapping
- Those with 1kg of room in the freezer
Who Should Be Careful
- Those who want to check the ingredients and allergen labeling themselves before buying
- Those who want to confirm the seller’s guidance on thawing and whether cooking is required before preparing it
- Those who care about the ratio of fat to lean and which cuts are included (reviews are divided)
- Those who want to confirm the type of noshi inscription and whether the box is a formal gift box beforehand
- Those who find it hard to arrange the recipient’s schedule, such as specifying a delivery date and time
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 14, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The amount is 1kg (loin, momo and bara). “About 5–7 servings” is the estimate given in the product name; no breakdown of the serving count is stated
- Store frozen at −15°C or below; the best-before date is about 120 days from the shipping date. The thawing method could not be confirmed on the product page
- The ingredients, allergen labeling and whether cooking is required could not be confirmed on the product page. Ask the shop before buying, or be sure to check the label on the package that arrives
Related Pages
We also cover another product from the same shop: Tokujō Omi Gyu Sukiyaki Beef, Momo & Bara, 1kg (amount 1kg; cuts are momo and bara). The Tokusen in this article has three cuts — loin, momo and bara — so it is a separate product with a different combination of cuts.
This article organizes information published on the seller’s and review sites. Product details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s current listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summaries of third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 14, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Matsukiya, a Meiji-era Omi Gyu specialty shop” product page, Rakuten “Minna no Review”, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments