Buying crab online means checking many things product by product: raw or boiled, the difference between gross weight and the amount of meat, how much work thawing takes, whether a noshi (gift wrapping label) is available, and more, so it can be a hard purchase to decide. From the 16 single-product articles Ochinity has published, this article lines up candidates by use and rearranges what each product page states onto the same yardsticks (condition and raw-consumption labeling, gross weight and net weight, the number of servings stated by the seller, and price range). Place names such as “Echizen,” “Sapporo,” and “Hokkaido” in the candidates’ shop and product names are shop names or product names, not an indication of where the ingredients come from. Items not stated in the single-product articles are shown as “—” or “not confirmed” rather than filled in by guesswork.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising).
The order is not a ranking. Whether a commission is paid has no effect on how candidates were chosen or ordered.
Not Sure Where to Start?
The serving guidelines below are grouped only by what the seller states on the product page. This is not a ranking. Products for which the seller gives no serving guideline are not included in this table.
| Servings | Raw snow crab (portions / pre-cut) | Boiled king crab | Hot pot sets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 people | Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Portions (500g) / Masuyone Cut 600g | Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs (around 1kg; “wakeari” means an imperfect or irregular item sold at a discount) | — |
| 4 people | Kouragumi Cut 1kg / Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Portions (1kg) | Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs (around 2kg) | Sapporo Kani Honke Kani-Suki Set (kani-suki: a sukiyaki-style crab hot pot) / Kassai Hokkaido Seafood Hot Pot Set |
| 6 or more people | Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Portions (2kg) | Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs (around 3kg) | — |
Quick Comparison Table
This table rearranges the basic information of the 16 single-product articles published on Ochinity onto the same yardsticks. “—” marks an item that could not be confirmed in the single-product article. Raw-consumption labeling is shown in three categories based on the seller’s labeling (the seller states it can be eaten raw / check the label on the delivered product / for cooking). Boiled products are already cooked, so they fall outside these categories. This page does not judge whether a product can be eaten raw.
| Product | Condition / raw-consumption labeling | Contents (gross weight / net weight) | Servings (per the seller) | Price range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kamasho Kani-Shabu Portions | Raw, frozen (portions) / check the label on the delivered product | About 1kg in 2 bags (15 pieces × 2 bags, 30 pieces total). The seller notes it shrinks when thawed. No separate gross and net weights stated | — (not stated) | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Morigen Shoten Full Portions 1kg | Raw, frozen (shelled portions) / the seller states it can be eaten raw | 500g × 2 packs = 1kg in total (a single 500g pack is also available). No separate gross and net weights stated | — (not specified) | 5,000–20,000 yen |
| Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Portions | Raw, frozen (full portions, shelled) / the seller states it can be eaten raw | Choose from 500g / 1kg / 1.5kg / 2kg / 3kg. No separate gross and net weights stated | 500g = about 1–2 servings / 1kg = about 3–4 servings / 2kg = about 6–8 servings / 3kg = about 9–10 servings / 1.5kg = not confirmed | From 5,000 yen |
| Masuyone Cut 600g | Raw, pre-cut / check the label on the delivered product (the seller’s wording is not “can be eaten raw”) | 600g in total / gross weight 800g | 2–3 servings | — (no price range registered) |
| Kouragumi Cut 1kg | Raw, pre-cut (no shoulder meat) / the seller states it can be eaten raw | 1kg / gross weight 1.3kg (the gross weight includes a film of ice) | About 4 servings | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g | Boiled, frozen / not applicable (already cooked) | 800g × 1 cluster, or 800g × 2 clusters (1.6kg in total). Weight at the time of frozen shipping. (A “cluster” is the whole set of legs joined at the shoulder) | — (not stated) | 5,000–20,000 yen |
| YAMATO Cut King Crab 1kg | Boiled, pre-cut, frozen / not applicable (already cooked) | 1,000g (in a gift box) plus 90g of crab hot pot soy-sauce soup. The seller notes the net weight can shrink by around 10% after thawing | — (not confirmed) | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Shima no Hito King Crab Legs 800g | Boiled, shell-on, frozen / not applicable (already cooked) | Around 800g (1 cluster). Whether the weight includes the shell is not confirmed | — (not confirmed) | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Kitauroko King Crab Legs | Boiled, frozen, shell-on legs / not applicable (already cooked) | Choose from “1.0kg or more × 1 cluster,” “500g × 2 clusters,” and “pre-cut 800g.” No separate gross and net weights stated | — (not stated) | 5,000–20,000 yen |
| Shioso Cut 600g | Varies by option (options whose name in the purchase box says “生食” [for raw consumption] are described by the seller as edible raw; options labeled “ボイル” [boiled] are already cooked and not applicable). Check the label on the delivered product | 600g / gross weight 750g (the only weight option is 600g) | — (not stated) | 5,000–10,000 yen |
| Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg | Raw, frozen, pre-cut / the seller states it can be eaten raw | About 1.2kg (frozen) / gross weight about 1.4kg | About 2–3 servings | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster | Raw, frozen (shoulder-leg, 1 cluster) / no labeling (no information on whether it can be eaten raw or how to heat it was found; not assigned to any of the 3 categories) | Gross weight about 1.8kg / net weight 1.6kg | The shop’s three-level guideline: 4–6 servings / 3–4 servings / about 2–3 servings | — (no price range registered) |
| Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs | Boiled, frozen, shell-on / not applicable (already cooked) | Choose from around 1kg (1–2 clusters) / around 2kg / around 3kg / around 4kg. Whether the film of ice is included in the contents is not confirmed | Around 1kg ≈ 2 people / around 2kg ≈ 4 people / around 3kg ≈ 6 people / around 4kg ≈ 8 people (the shop’s guideline) | From 10,000 yen |
| Kamasho Wakeari Portions | Raw, frozen (shelled portions) / no labeling (no information on eating raw or heating was found; not assigned to any of the 3 categories) | 1 bag = gross weight 1kg (contents 800g), or gross weight 500g × 2 packs. 2-bag and 3-bag sets can also be chosen | — (not confirmed) | From 10,000 yen |
| Sapporo Kani Honke Kani-Suki Set | Raw snow crab plus broth (not cooked) / only simmering in a hot pot is described; not assigned to any of the 3 categories | About 500g of raw snow crab × 2 plus 300ml of kani-suki broth × 2 (vegetables are not included). No separate gross and net weights stated | 4–5 servings (as written in the product name) | 10,000–20,000 yen |
| Kassai Hokkaido Seafood Hot Pot Set | Frozen seafood hot pot set / no labeling (no information on eating raw or heating was found; not assigned to any of the 3 categories) | Total contents 1,200g (an assortment of crab, sweet shrimp, scallop, autumn salmon, tsumire fish balls, soup, and more) | 3–4 servings | 5,000–10,000 yen |
Price ranges use the same five levels as the filter search (based on Rakuten Ichiba tax-included prices, excluding shipping); individual product prices are not listed. For products whose range changes by option, the range spans all selectable options. Price ranges confirmed on: October 4, 2026 (Rakuten Ichiba, tax included, shipping excluded). Prices change, so please check each shop for the latest price. To search by budget: ¥5,000–10,000 / ¥10,000–20,000 / ¥20,000 and up (filter search). Single-product article information obtained: September 5 – October 2, 2026 / continued availability confirmed: October 4, 2026.
How to Choose
Choosing by How You Eat It (Raw vs. Boiled)
The candidates in this article include products frozen raw (portions, pre-cut, shoulder-legs) and frozen boiled (already cooked) products. Among the raw ones, some are described by the seller as edible raw, some are described as ones to check against the label on the delivered product, some are described only as ones to simmer in a hot pot, and some have no description at all. All of these are the sellers’ own labels, and the columns of the comparison table repeat them as the sellers wrote them. Source: the “condition / how to eat” row of each single-product article (as stated on the product page)
Quantity and Servings (Gross Weight vs. Net Weight)
Few products state both gross weight and net weight. Examples are Masuyone Cut 600g (gross weight 800g / 600g in total), Kouragumi Cut 1kg (gross weight 1.3kg / 1kg, including a film of ice), Shioso Cut 600g (gross weight 750g / 600g), Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg (about 1.4kg / about 1.2kg), Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster (about 1.8kg / 1.6kg), and Kamasho Wakeari Portions (gross weight 1kg / contents 800g). For shell-on legs, some products do not say whether the weight includes the shell. Few sellers give a serving guideline, and the range varies (Masuyone Cut 600g: 600g is 2–3 servings; Kouragumi Cut 1kg: 1kg is about 4 servings; Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Portions: 1kg is 3–4 servings; Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs: around 1kg is 2 people). Source: the “contents” and “servings” rows of each single-product article (as stated on the product page)
Thawing and Storage
Thawing methods and times differ by product. The sellers describe thawing under running water (Kamasho Kani-Shabu Portions: 10–30 minutes; Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster: 5–10 minutes; Sapporo Kani Honke Kani-Suki Set: 30–40 minutes), thawing in the refrigerator (Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs), and eating as is after natural thawing (Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g), among others. Sapporo Kani Honke Kani-Suki Set and Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg advise against thawing naturally. Storage is mostly frozen at −18°C or below, and the guideline for a home freezer ranges from about 1 month (Morigen Shoten Full Portions 1kg, Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g, Shima no Hito King Crab Legs 800g, and YAMATO Cut King Crab 1kg) to 1–2 months (Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster). After thawing, the guidance varies from the same day in the refrigerator (Kouragumi Cut 1kg and Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg) to within 3 days (Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g). Source: the “storage method / best-before date” and “thawing method” rows of each single-product article (as stated on the product page)
Noshi and Delivery Date/Time When Giving a Gift
Many candidates show that noshi is supported, but the only one whose inscription types are confirmed in its single-product article is Kitauroko King Crab Legs (Oseibo [year-end gift], Oiwai [congratulations], Uchi-iwai [return gift for a family celebration], Ochugen [mid-year gift], and plain). Masuyone Cut 600g and Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg are described as not allowing noshi settings or delivery-time specification when ordered with “Asuraku” (Rakuten’s next-day shipping service). Whether a gift box or message card is available also differs by product, so compare the candidate cards with the product page before you buy. Source: the “suitability as a gift” section of each single-product article (as stated on the product page)
Candidates by Use
If You Want Kani-Shabu (Crab Shabu-Shabu): Raw Portions
Kamasho Raw Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Portions (about 1kg)
- Raw, frozen. Raw-consumption labeling: check the label on the delivered product (the seller advises checking the conditions for eating it raw on the label of the delivered product)
- About 1kg in 2 bags (15 pieces × 2 bags, 30 pieces total). The seller notes it shrinks when thawed. No serving count stated
- Noshi supported (Rakuten’s gift field, checked September 11, 2026); comes in a simple gift box. Types of inscription could not be confirmed. Keep frozen at −18°C or below
The product page lets you choose an option. This article covers the “5Lサイズ 計30本(15本×2)” option (5L size, 30 pieces in total, 15 × 2).
Morigen Shoten Raw Snow Crab Full Portions 1kg
- Raw, frozen shelled portions. Raw-consumption labeling: the seller states it can be eaten raw
- 500g × 2 packs (1kg in total). You choose from three options per 1kg: 40 / 24 / 26 pieces. No serving count specified
- Noshi supported (name inscription on the noshi available; checked September 11, 2026). Types of inscription and wrapping could not be confirmed. Frozen delivery
*The Amazon link goes to the same store’s item in different specifications (Amazon: 1kg (20 pieces × 2); each piece count is a separate listing and no 500g option was found, while Rakuten Ichiba offers 500g or 1kg). The amount and contents in this article are based on the Rakuten Ichiba item. Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.
Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Honzuwaigani (Snow Crab) Portions
- Raw, frozen full portions (shelled). Raw-consumption labeling: the seller states it can be eaten raw
- Choose from 500g to 3kg. The seller’s serving guideline is 500g = about 1–2 servings, 1kg = about 3–4 servings, 2kg = about 6–8 servings, 3kg = about 9–10 servings
- Noshi (wrapping paper) is supported. Wrapping such as a gift box is not available; simple packaging only. Storage method and best-before date: not confirmed
If You Want Less Shelling Work (Raw, Pre-Cut)
Echizen Kani Toiya Masuyone Cut Raw Snow Crab 600g
- Raw, pre-cut. Raw-consumption labeling: check the label on the delivered product. The seller’s guidance is to eat it as is after thawing, which is not wording of “can be eaten raw”
- 600g in total (gross weight 800g). The seller’s guideline is 2–3 servings
- Noshi supported (Rakuten’s gift field, checked September 11, 2026). If ordered with Asuraku, noshi settings and delivery-time specification are not available. Frozen delivery
Echizen Kani Shokunin Kouragumi Cut Raw Snow Crab 1kg (no shoulder meat)
- Raw, pre-cut (no shoulder meat). Raw-consumption labeling: the seller states it can be eaten raw
- 1kg (gross weight 1.3kg, including a film of ice). The seller’s guideline is about 4 servings
- Noshi supported (Rakuten’s gift field). The listing says a dedicated gift box and an instruction sheet on how to eat it are enclosed. Types of inscription could not be confirmed. Frozen delivery
If You Want to Eat It Right After Thawing (Boiled)
Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g × 1 or 2 clusters
- Boiled (frozen). Outside the raw-consumption categories
- 800g × 1 cluster, or 800g × 2 clusters (1.6kg in total). Weight at the time of frozen shipping; broken legs may be included. No serving count stated
- Noshi supported (Rakuten’s gift field). Inscription, gift box, and card could not be confirmed. Frozen delivery (the listing mentions a separate shipping fee for Okinawa)
*The Amazon link goes to the same store’s item in different specifications (Amazon: only 800g × 2 clusters (about 1.6kg), while Rakuten Ichiba lets you choose 1 or 2 clusters). The amount and contents in this article are based on the Rakuten Ichiba item. Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.
Umi no Sachi nanoni YAMATO Cut King Crab 1kg
- Frozen, boiled, pre-cut. Outside the raw-consumption categories
- 1,000g (in a gift box) plus 90g of crab hot pot soy-sauce soup. The seller notes the weight can shrink by around 10% from the net weight after thawing
- Noshi supported; comes in a gift box. Name inscription on the noshi is available; message card: not confirmed. Frozen delivery (Kuroneko Yamato or Sagawa Express; cannot be selected)
*The Amazon link goes to the same store’s item in different specifications (Amazon: a boiled 1kg “タラバ蟹脚” (king crab legs) that is not pre-cut). The amount and contents in this article are based on the Rakuten Ichiba item. Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.
Shima no Hito King Crab Legs about 800g (1 cluster)
- Boiled, shell-on (frozen). Outside the raw-consumption categories
- Around 800g (1 cluster). Whether the weight includes the shell is not confirmed. Some pieces may be attached legs, broken legs, or shells with dark spots
- Noshi supported; name inscription on the noshi, message card, and free-form message supported (Rakuten’s gift field). Types of inscription and gift box: not confirmed
If It’s a Gift (Gift Box and Noshi Confirmed on the Product Page)
Kani no Kitauroko King Crab Legs in a Gift Box
- Boiled, frozen, shell-on legs. Outside the raw-consumption categories
- You choose from “1.0kg or more × 1 cluster,” “500g × 2 clusters,” and “pre-cut 800g.” This article focuses on the 1.0kg-or-more × 1 cluster option. Legs that have come apart (ashi-hazure) may be included
- Comes in a gift box. Name-printed noshi, company-name noshi, and message noshi are supported. Inscriptions: Oseibo (year-end gift), Oiwai (congratulations), Uchi-iwai (return gift for a family celebration), Ochugen (mid-year gift), and plain (checked September 11, 2026)
The product page lets you choose the quantity. This article mainly covers the “1.0kg以上×1肩入” option (1.0kg or more × 1 cluster).
Minato Dining Shioso Snow Crab, Pre-Cut, 600g
- Varies by option in the purchase box. For options whose name says “生食” (for raw consumption), the seller states it can be eaten raw; options labeled “ボイル” (boiled) are already cooked (not applicable)
- 600g (gross weight 750g). The only weight option is 600g. No serving count stated
- Noshi supported (Rakuten’s gift field). Arrives in a dedicated gift box, and gift-specification options are available. Inscription and card could not be confirmed. Frozen delivery
This article covers all four options in the purchase box: “生食” (for raw consumption) / “ボイル” (boiled) / “生食・ギフト仕様” (for raw consumption, gift specification) / “ボイル・ギフト仕様” (boiled, gift specification). The only weight option is 600g.
Echizen Kani Toiya Masuyone Cut Raw Honzuwaigani (Snow Crab) about 1.2kg
- Raw, frozen, pre-cut. Raw-consumption labeling: the seller states it can be eaten raw (in the shop’s wording, “for raw consumption”)
- About 1.2kg (frozen; gross weight about 1.4kg). The seller’s guideline is about 2–3 servings
- Noshi supported (Rakuten). If ordered with Asuraku, noshi settings and delivery-time specification are not available. Comes with a gift box and an instruction sheet on how to eat it
On Rakuten Ichiba, the page lets you choose from 8 options. This article covers “3 特大カット生本ずわい蟹 2-3人前” (3: extra-large pre-cut raw honzuwaigani, 2–3 servings). Amazon has a single-item page for this quantity. On Yahoo! Shopping, the page lets you choose between raw and boiled, so please choose raw.
If You Care About Large Groups and Quantity
Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster (8L)
- Raw, frozen shoulder-leg, 1 cluster. No information on whether it can be eaten raw or how to heat it was found (not confirmed)
- Gross weight about 1.8kg / net weight 1.6kg. The seller’s guideline has three levels: 4–6 servings / 3–4 servings / about 2–3 servings
- Only the words “gift supported.” Noshi, gift box, and card: not confirmed. Kuroneko Yamato frozen delivery
Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Wakeari King Crab Legs (boiled, 1–4kg)
- Boiled, frozen, shell-on wakeari item (legs that came off at the base or broke at a joint). Outside the raw-consumption categories
- Choose from around 1kg to around 4kg. The seller’s serving guideline is around 1kg ≈ 2 people to around 4kg ≈ 8 people. The frozen weight and number of pieces cannot be specified
- The shop says noshi is supported (apply on the order page). Depending on the option, available inscriptions are limited. Wrapping is not available. Frozen delivery (not deliverable to Okinawa, remote islands, and some areas)
Kamasho Wakeari Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Portions
- Raw, frozen shelled portions (wakeari). No information on eating raw or heating was found (not confirmed). The reason for the wakeari is also not confirmed
- 1 bag = gross weight 1kg (contents 800g), or gross weight 500g × 2 packs. 2-bag (2kg in total) and 3-bag (3kg in total) sets can also be chosen. No serving guideline found
- No mention of gift support such as noshi, gift box, or card was found (not confirmed)
If You Want a Hot Pot Set (With Broth, Assortments)
Sapporo Kani Honke Snow Crab Kani-Suki Set (4–5 servings)
- Raw snow crab (not cooked). Only simmering in a hot pot is described
- About 500g of raw snow crab × 2 plus 300ml of kani-suki broth × 2. Vegetables are not included. The product name says “4–5 servings”
- Noshi supported; addressee writing on the noshi and message card supported. Types of inscription and gift box: not confirmed. Cool delivery (frozen)
Kassai Hokkaido Hokkaido Seafood Hot Pot Set
- Frozen seafood hot pot set. No information on eating raw or heating was found
- Total contents 1,200g (170g raw red snow crab claws, 150g sweet shrimp, 100g raw scallops, 200g autumn salmon, 1 red snow crab shell, 2 kinds of tsumire fish balls, and crab hot pot soup). The product page’s serving guideline is 3–4 servings
- Noshi supported (name inscription on the noshi available; Rakuten’s gift field). No message card is mentioned. Types of inscription and gift box: not confirmed. Frozen delivery (Cool delivery, Yamato Transport)
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the difference between raw crab and boiled crab?
- Raw crab is frozen without having been cooked; boiled crab is frozen after being cooked. For the boiled Kanisho King Crab Legs 800g, the seller advises eating it as is after natural thawing. For raw products, the thawing method and how to eat it are described differently by product, so check the candidate cards and the product page. Source: the “condition / how to eat” and “thawing method” rows of each single-product article
- How many servings should I buy?
- Only products for which the seller gives a serving guideline are listed in the comparison table; for the others the entry is “—.” Gross weight can include shell or a film of ice, so it differs from the amount of actual meat (net weight). Source: the “contents” and “servings” rows of each single-product article
- How should I thaw it?
- The seller’s guidance differs by product. Some products are to be thawed under running water, some in the refrigerator, and some are described as eating as is after natural thawing; Sapporo Kani Honke Kani-Suki Set and Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg advise against thawing naturally. See “How to Choose” and each product page for details. Source: the “thawing method” row of each single-product article
- Which ones can be eaten raw?
- This page does not judge whether a product can be eaten raw. The “condition / raw-consumption labeling” column of the comparison table copies each seller’s labeling and sorts it into three categories: “the seller states it can be eaten raw,” “check the label on the delivered product,” and “for cooking.” Products with no description, and products for which only simmering in a hot pot is described, are not assigned to any of the three. Please check the product page before buying, and the label on the product when it arrives. Source: the “condition / how to eat” row of each single-product article
- How long can I keep it after it arrives?
- Most need to be kept frozen (−18°C or below), and the guideline for a home freezer ranges by product from about 1 month to 1–2 months. For the best-before date, some are printed on the product, and some sellers say they ship products with 60 or more days remaining, counting the shipping day. After thawing, the guidance varies, from the same day in the refrigerator to within 3 days. Source: the “storage method / best-before date” row of each single-product article
- Can I add a noshi?
- Many products show that noshi is supported, but the only one whose inscription types are confirmed is Kitauroko King Crab Legs. Some products (Masuyone Cut 600g and Masuyone Cut about 1.2kg) do not allow noshi settings or delivery-time specification when ordered with Asuraku. Source: the “suitability as a gift” section of each single-product article
What We Confirmed and What We Could Not Confirm
- What we confirmed: The 16 candidates are transcribed from the single-product articles published on Ochinity. On Rakuten Ichiba, we confirmed on October 3, 2026 that all 16 products were found and none showed a sold-out label (stock by option is not visible).
- What we could not confirm: Some products have no serving guideline, and some do not state gross weight and net weight separately. Inscription types were confirmed for only one product.
- Whether a product can be eaten raw is transcribed from the seller’s labeling and is not judged on this page. Products with no description are marked “no labeling.”
- Price ranges are shown as “—” for Masuyone Cut 600g and Kaisen Kanidokoro Raw King Crab Shoulder-Leg, 1 Cluster because none is registered for them. Prices, stock, and shipping fees change, so please check each shop before buying.
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on various retail sites and the contents of the single-product articles published on Ochinity. Product details such as contents, storage method, ingredients, and shipping fees are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
The order does not indicate any ranking. This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: September 5 – October 2, 2026 / Sources: 16 single-product articles on Ochinity, Rakuten Ichiba product pages


Comments