Sold by 越前かに問屋「ますよね」 of Tsuruga, Fukui Prefecture, this is 3kg of boiled whole snow crab from Canada (listed as 4 extra-large 750g crabs). It is a frozen product that has already been boiled in salted water, and the shop describes it as 5–7 servings. Based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and reviews, this article organizes the amount, storage, ingredients, gifting, and reviews. Its three features are that the crabs arrive whole, that the shop says you can enjoy the kani miso (crab tomalley) too, and that it has a large number of reviews.
At a Glance
Key points
- 3kg of boiled crabs that arrive whole. The 3kg is the frozen weight, and the shop describes it as 5–7 servings. Of the Ochinity crab articles in which the cut or type could be confirmed (3 items, as of October 18, 2026), all are legs or pre-cut portions, and this is the only one that arrives whole (weak point: the number of crabs is labeled inconsistently)
- Whole crab that the shop says lets you enjoy even the kani miso (crab tomalley). This is what the shop’s product page says. In the reviews as well, about 17 of the first 60 in Rakuten’s default order mentioned how good the kani miso was (a trend within what we read; it may not represent the current state of the product)
- Rakuten rating 4.53 (5,630 reviews). Viewed October 18, 2026; it may not represent the current state of the product. The review count is higher than those of the other 4 products whose ratings we could confirm (727 to 5,179 reviews)
- Can be stored frozen, and described as ready to eat after thawing. It says frozen storage is within 1 month (within 1 week recommended) and refrigerated storage is within 2 days
Watch out for
- The number of crabs is labeled inconsistently. The product name says 4, the caption in an image on the product page says around 5, and the reviews we read report 5–7 crabs. Taking the product name’s 750g×4 as the baseline, the number of crabs you receive cannot be stated definitively
- In the reviews, some voices said the meat fill and the amount of miso vary from one crab to another. Posts from the year-end period in particular tend to describe variation in quality
- Allergen labeling and the handling of noshi paper (gift wrapping label) and wrapping are not stated on the product page and are not confirmed
Suits: People who want to gather 5–7 people around a whole crab, and people who also want to enjoy the kani miso
Scope of comparison: the crab articles currently featured on Ochinity (as of October 18, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. The features are from the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 18, 2026). Ratings and review counts are as shown on Rakuten (viewed October 18, 2026).
How It Compares with Other Crab Articles
The 5 crab product articles featured on Ochinity (including this article; as of October 18, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are as shown on Rakuten, and the fewer the reviews, the more easily the figure moves. This article is listed first.
| Product | Total amount | Form / cut | Rakuten rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| ますよね Boiled Whole Snow CrabThis article | 3kg | Whole crab, boiled | 4.535,630 reviews |
| Select Seafood Gift | 0.5–2.1kgvaries by option | Raw cut / full portions | 4.5727 reviews |
| Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set | 1kg or 2kg | Not confirmed | 4.255,179 reviews |
| Wakeari King Crab Legs (Kitaguni kara no Okurimono) | 1–4kg4 options | King crab legs | 4.394,337 reviews |
| 築地魚星 Boiled Snow Crab Legs 2kg | 2kg | Snow crab legs, boiled | 4.69874 reviews |
The product names link to each product’s article. The total amount of Select Seafood Gift is the range of values across the options you can choose.
- The 3 items whose cut or type could be confirmed (as of October 18, 2026) are all legs or pre-cut portions. This is the only one that arrives whole (weak point: the number of crabs is labeled inconsistently)
- The total amount of 3kg is more than the 3 items that go up to 2.1kg (Select Seafood Gift, the Kani-Shabu Set, and 築地魚星). The Wakeari King Crab Legs can be chosen up to 4kg
- The Rakuten rating of 4.53 is lower than 築地魚星’s 4.69 (874 reviews) and higher than the 4.25 to 4.5 of the other 3 items (its 5,630 reviews are the most)
Basic Information
- Product Name
- Snow Crab, Whole, Boiled, Mega Portion 3kg (4 extra-large 750g crabs)
- Seller
- 有限会社増米商店 (Tsuruga, Fukui Prefecture) / 越前かに問屋「ますよね」
- Contents
- About 3kg (listed as 4 extra-large 750g crabs). It is the frozen weight, and the page says the weight decreases after thawing
- Servings Guide
- 5–7 servings (the shop’s labeling)
- Origin
- Canada
- Condition
- Frozen, already boiled in salted water
- Storage
- Frozen: within 1 month (1 week recommended); refrigerated: within 2 days
- Allergen Labeling
- Not confirmed. Because the product uses crab as its ingredient, people with a shellfish (crustacean) allergy cannot eat it
- Noshi / Gifts
- It says the noshi paper (gift wrapping label) setting cannot be used (wrapping and message cards: not confirmed)
This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
Allergen labeling is not stated on the product page. If you have an allergy, please ask the seller before buying, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, accessed October 18, 2026).
See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (14 items)
This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
- Product Name
- ズワイガニ姿 ボイル メガ盛り3kg(特大750g×4匹入) (Snow Crab, Whole, Boiled, Mega Portion 3kg, 4 extra-large 750g crabs)The product name shown on the Rakuten Ichiba page is a long string with many search-oriented words. Only the product-name part is shown here.
- Contents
- It says whole snow crab (boiled) and salt, 4 extra-large crabs of 750g each, about 3kg in total (5–7 servings). It is the frozen weight, and the weight decreases slightly after thawingSource: product contents on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 18, 2026)
- Number of Crabs
- The product name and product contents say 4 crabs. On the other hand, the caption in an image on the product page says around 5, so the labeling is inconsistent. Many of the reviews we read wrote 5–7 crabs, and 6 was seen most often. The number of crabs cannot be stated definitivelySource: Rakuten Ichiba product page and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 18, 2026)
- Ingredients
- Snow crab (whole, boiled), saltSource: product contents on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Storage / Best-Before Date
- Frozen: within 1 month (1 week recommended), stored at −18℃ or below; refrigerated: within 2 days. It says that a home freezer is warmer than a commercial one and the quality may deteriorate, so it advises eating the crab as early as possibleSource: best-before field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Thawing
- A guide image on the product page shows a procedure of rinsing off the film of ice on the surface and thawing the crab naturally with the shell facing down so the kani miso (crab tomalley) does not flow out. As a guide, it gives about 6–8 hours at a room temperature of 20 degrees, or about 1 day in the refrigeratorSource: guide image on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 18, 2026)
- Country of Origin of Ingredients
- It says CanadaSource: product contents on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Place of Processing
- It is not stated in the product description and is not confirmed. A guide image on the product page states that it is made at an affiliated factory in CanadaSource: guide image on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Condition / How to Eat (Is Heating Required?)
- It is already boiled in salted water, and described as ready to eat after thawing. No other guidance on whether heating is required was foundSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page and guide images
- Missing Pieces
- The product description says it is sold as a regular product, but the little finger (the smallest leg at the very bottom) or part of a leg tip may be missing. A guide image on the product page labels it as a grade with broken legs and scratchesSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page and guide images
- Delivery
- It arrives frozen. There is a notice for “あす楽” (Asuraku, Rakuten’s next-day shipping service), and orders placed by 11:00 are eligible (not applicable to Hokkaido, Kyushu, Okinawa and some remote islands)Source: description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Manufacturer
- The seller is stated as 有限会社増米商店. Whether the manufacturer is a different party, and its location, are not stated in the product description and are not confirmedSource: product contents on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
- Noshi / Wrapping
- For orders using “あす楽” (Asuraku, Rakuten’s next-day shipping service), it says that specifying a delivery time and the noshi paper (gift wrapping label) setting cannot be used. Wrapping and message cards are not confirmed. The product name contains a gift-related word, but what is supported is not statedSource: description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 18, 2026)
- Shop
- 越前かに問屋「ますよね」 (Rakuten Ichiba)
What Public Reviews Say
This organizes the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and change afterward. What follows are trends within what we read, and they may not represent the current state of the product.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”; product page) | 4.53 / 5 | 5,630 | October 18, 2026 |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
Rating breakdown: 5★ 3,874 / 4★ 1,213 / 3★ 325 / 2★ 101 / 1★ 117 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 18, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2008 to October 2026; latest October 2026), 30 of the 1★ reviews (posted June 2023 to January 2026), and 30 of the 2★ reviews (posted January 2014 to October 2026), 120 in total. All 60 in the default order were 4★ or 5★. These are trends within what we read and may not represent the current state of the product.
The counts below are approximate figures counted from reading the text, and they may contain overlaps or omissions. They do not include posts that were only about delivery or the shop’s service.
What Reviewers Praise
Size and bulk (about 20 of 60)
About 20 of the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order said the crab was an impressive size or satisfyingly substantial. Some also write that they buy it every year for New Year or as a gift.
Good kani miso (crab tomalley) (about 17)
About 17 of the first 60 in the default order said there was plenty of kani miso and it was delicious.
Meat is packed in (about 17)
About 17 of the first 60 in the default order said the meat was packed in or well filled.
Saltiness and sweetness (about 14)
About 14 of the first 60 in the default order said the saltiness was just right, or that it was sweet and juicy.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 18, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Little meat, small size, dryness (about 30 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews)
About 30 of the 60 reviews, 1★ and 2★ combined, said there was little meat, the crab was small, or it was dry. Among the 10 1★ reviews from the last two years (since October 2024), the posts from the year-end period of November 2025 to January 2026 prominently report young crabs, discoloration, odor, and broken legs.
Odor, dirt, sliminess (about 15)
About 15 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews said they noticed an odor, that there was dirt or sliminess, or that it smelled like chemicals.
How to check: The thawing guide and storage notes are collected in the details of “Basic Information” in this article.
Little miso, poor color (about 14)
About 14 of the 60 1★ and 2★ reviews said there was little kani miso or that the color was darkened.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 18, 2026)
Summary: Is This the One for You?
Why choose it: If your conditions are to gather around a whole crab and to receive 3kg at once, then among the Ochinity crab articles in which the cut or type could be confirmed (3 items, as of October 18, 2026), this is the only one that arrives whole at 3kg (weak points: the number of crabs is labeled inconsistently, and some year-end reviews describe variation in quality).
- The Rakuten rating is 4.53 / 5 (5,630 reviews). In what we read, there were many voices about size (about 20 of the first 60 in the default order) and about kani miso and packed meat (about 17 each)
- It arrives frozen and already boiled in salted water. The page advises eating it within 1 month (1 week recommended) when frozen
Other options: If you want just the legs at 2kg, 築地魚星 Boiled Snow Crab Legs 2kg (rating 4.69, 874 reviews). If you want to choose the amount up to 4kg, Wakeari King Crab Legs (Kitaguni kara no Okurimono).
This section is based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and the Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 18, 2026). The reviews are trends within what we read and may not represent the current state of the product.
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 18, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Want to compare with other crab?
17 Recommended Crabs to Order Online — Choosing for Shabu-Shabu, Boiled, and Gifts →A quick comparison table of 17 products by raw or boiled, snow crab or king crab, and servings.
This article organizes information published on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and review sites. Product information such as the amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. For the latest information, please check what the product page shows.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 18, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan “About Allergen Labeling”

