Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set — Contents & Reviews

A black plate holding half-cut snow crab leg meat and claws, with the shell halved; a pot with crab in it sits behind. Product photo of the Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set. Text the shop placed in the image reads: the "北国からの贈り物" logo, "26th" with "蟹通販" (crab mail order), "ランキング1位 リピート多数!" (Ranking No. 1, many repeat buyers), "本ズワイガニ" (true snow crab) and "選べる 1kg・2kg" (choose 1kg or 2kg). Below the photo: "*Awards and rankings shown are the seller's own claims."
Information as of 2026.10.02 PR
A black plate holding half-cut snow crab leg meat and claws, with the shell halved; a pot with crab in it sits behind. Product photo of the Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set. Text the shop placed in the image reads: the "北国からの贈り物" logo, "26th" with "蟹通販" (crab mail order), "ランキング1位 リピート多数!" (Ranking No. 1, many repeat buyers), "本ズワイガニ" (true snow crab) and "選べる 1kg・2kg" (choose 1kg or 2kg).
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “北国からの贈り物” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it. “本ズワイガニ” in the image is the shop’s own label; this article does not identify the crab species.

A snow crab kani-shabu set with the shell cut in half can be hard to judge from the product page alone: which of 1kg or 2kg serves how many people, and by when it should be eaten. This article organizes the Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set (ズワイガニ かにしゃぶセット) from Kitaguni kara no Okurimono (北国からの贈り物) under five points, based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (including the images in the product description) and the Rakuten customer reviews: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. Within what we could check, the product page does not state the storage method, best-before date, ingredients or allergen labeling.

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and approximate number of servings
  • Storage and shelf life
  • Ingredient and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product Nameズワイガニ かにしゃぶ セット 1kg 2kg カット済み 生食可 ハーフカット (Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set, 1kg or 2kg, cut, “raw-edible”, half-cut). This is the first part of the product name shown on the Rakuten Ichiba page; a long run of search-oriented words follows it. “生食可” (“raw-edible”) in the product name is the shop’s wording, and Ochinity does not guarantee that it can be eaten rawSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)
Nameズワイガニ (snow crab), as written in the product name. The name field of a food information label was not found on the product page, so it is not confirmed. The product page is not consistent in how it names the crab: the product description text says 本ズワイガニ (honzuwaigani), while an image in the product description shows 紅ズワイ蟹 (red snow crab). Ochinity does not specify which kind it isSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page and product description images (viewed October 2, 2026)
AmountChoose from about 1kg (3–4 servings) or about 2kg (6–8 servings). “Servings” is the shop’s own guideline wording, and the breakdown behind those numbers (amount per person) was not found on the product page. What the 1kg or 2kg weight includes (for example, whether the ice glaze on the surface is counted) is not confirmedSource: “Product information” field of the Rakuten Ichiba product description (viewed October 2, 2026)
What You Receive Depends on the OptionAbout 1kg: about 7–10 leg meat pieces (棒肉); about 3–5 each of claws (爪) and claw bases (爪下); about 10–20 shoulder meat pieces (肩肉). About 2kg: about 14–20 leg meat pieces; about 6–10 each of claws and claw bases; about 20–40 shoulder meat pieces. The page notes that individual pieces vary and asks buyers to accept this when orderingSource: same as above
Storage MethodNot confirmed (no storage temperature or storage instructions were found)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description and its images (viewed October 2, 2026)
Best-Before DateNot confirmedSource: same as above
Country of OriginListed as USA, Canada and Russia together (which origin you will receive is not stated). The page says an antioxidant is used to maintain quality, but the type is not confirmedSource: “Origin” field and notes of the Rakuten Ichiba product description (viewed October 2, 2026)
Place of ProcessingNot confirmed
Condition / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Needed)The page says it is a frozen product that arrives half-cut, with the shell half removed. An answer in the FAQ of the product description says it is managed at a freshness suitable for eating raw and can be eaten as sashimi as it isSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description (viewed October 2, 2026)
ThawingThe page says it can be thawed in its bag under running water, and that you should thaw it just before eating to prevent drying. An image in the product description explains two methods: putting it in a thick plastic bag and placing it under cold running water, and a quicker method of soaking it for 1 minute in warm salt water (30g of salt dissolved in 1L of 40°C water), wiping off the moisture, and leaving it in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes. The same image warns that it turns black if left after thawingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description and its images (viewed October 2, 2026)
DeliveryFrozen delivery. Orders placed by 13:00 at the earliest ship the same day (excluding weekends, holidays and the year-end and New Year holidays). The page says delivery dates differ by regionSource: “Delivery method” and “Delivery date” fields of the Rakuten Ichiba product description (viewed October 2, 2026)
ManufacturerNot confirmed
ShopKitaguni kara no Okurimono (北国からの贈り物) (Rakuten Ichiba). The seller is Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Co., Ltd. (株式会社 北国からの贈り物)Source: Rakuten Ichiba shop information page (viewed October 2, 2026)

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Cut snow crab leg meat, claws and shoulder meat on a black plate; a pot at the lower right holds tofu, napa cabbage and a crab leg. Product photo of the Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set. Text the shop placed in the image reads, in Japanese: "濃厚な甘みと旨み" (rich sweetness and umami) and a paragraph saying that cut true snow crab with a soft texture and refined flavor is delivered, that it is recommended for kani-shabu and crab hot pot, and that after thawing it can also be eaten as sashimi.
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “北国からの贈り物” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it. The image is a serving example; tofu and napa cabbage are not included with the product. “本ズワイ蟹” in the image is the shop’s own label; this article does not identify the crab species.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

Within what we could check, the product page does not show an ingredient list, additives, or allergen labeling. This item is not confirmed.

Crab is one of the ingredients that must be declared under Japan’s Food Labeling Act. If you have a shellfish allergy, or want to check additives used in processing (such as antioxidants), ask the shop before buying or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

What to checkThis productBasis
1. Amount / number of servings Choose from about 1kg (3–4 servings) or about 2kg (6–8 servings). What the weight includes is not confirmed “Product information” field of the product description
2. Storage and shelf life Not confirmed (arrives by frozen delivery; the page says to thaw just before eating and that it turns black if left after thawing) No storage method or date was found in the product description or its images
3. Ingredient and allergen labeling Not confirmed (the page says an antioxidant is used, but the type is not confirmed) Product page and product description images checked
4. Suitability as a gift The shop’s shopping guide says noshi can be requested on the order page, but some products cannot be accommodated, and whether this product is covered is not confirmed. It says gift wrapping is not accepted. No message card was found. Because it arrives frozen, you need to check that the recipient can receive it Shop’s shopping guide within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)
5. Review trends The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.25 / 5 (5,179 reviews). We read 118 in total, which may not reflect the product’s current condition Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

The shop’s shopping guide within the product page says that noshi (gift wrapping label) can be requested from the order page, but that some products cannot be accommodated, so buyers should check each product page. Whether this product supports noshi is not confirmed. It says gift wrapping (packaging) is not accepted. No message card was found. The product description lists gift occasions such as oseibo (year-end gift), uchi-iwai (return gift) and birthdays, but this is the shop’s own appeal, and the types of noshi inscription are not confirmed (source: Rakuten Ichiba shop shopping guide and product description, viewed October 2, 2026). If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following before buying makes mix-ups less likely.

  • Whether this product supports noshi (the page says some products cannot be accommodated, and whether this one can is not confirmed; gift wrapping [packaging] is stated as not accepted)
  • Whether a delivery date and time can be specified (the page says date and time can be specified, but some products cannot be accommodated; whether this one can is not confirmed; delivery dates are stated to differ by region)
  • Because it arrives frozen, whether the recipient can receive it on that day, and whether they have 1–2kg of freezer space

Among the reviews we read, there were also posts saying a delivery date and time could be specified. These are individual experiences and may not be the same now (source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 2, 2026).

Cooking examples for the Kitaguni kara no Okurimono Snow Crab Kani-Shabu Set: at the top, crab leg meat held in chopsticks and dipped into a pot of hot water for kani-shabu; at the bottom, crab zosui (rice porridge) with egg and green onion in a spoon. Text the shop placed in the image reads, in Japanese: "かに本来の旨み" (the crab's own flavor) with "かにしゃぶ" (kani-shabu), and "鍋の〆に最適" (ideal to finish a hot pot) with "かに雑炊" (crab zosui).
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “北国からの贈り物” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it. The image is a serving example; the rice, egg and green onion in the zosui are not included with the product.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and change afterward.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.25 / 55,179 reviewsOctober 2, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 2,763 / 4★ 1,481 / 3★ 564 / 2★ 207 / 1★ 164 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)

What we read: the first 59 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted December 2007 to July 2026; latest July 2026), plus 30 filtered to 1★ (posted December 2009 to January 2022) and 29 filtered to 2★ (posted January 2011 to January 2024), 118 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

What Reviewers Praise

Large, substantial meat and plenty of it

About 25 of the 59 reviews in the default order (about 20 of them posted within the last two years) say the meat was large and substantial, or that the amount was plenty. Some describe using 2kg for a hot pot for about 10 relatives.

Taste and how it was eaten

About 20 of the 59 reviews (about 14 of them posted within the last two years) say the meat had a sweetness and that they ate it as sashimi, shabu-shabu, zosui rice porridge and so on.

Easy to eat with the shell cut

6 of the 59 reviews (all posted within the last two years) say that with the shell cut it was easy to eat and left little shell waste.

Reactions to it as a gift

About 23 of the 59 reviews (about 22 of them posted within the last two years) say it was sent as an oseibo, birthday or celebration gift and that the recipient was pleased. The recipients’ reactions are written as relayed by the reviewers.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

The 1★ and 2★ posts we read are mostly old, and none were posted within the last two years (the latest is January 2024). For this reason, recent complaint trends are not confirmed.

Many hard-to-eat parts and little meat

About 22 of the 59 reviews filtered to 1★ and 2★ say there were many hard-to-eat parts such as shoulder meat and little meat, or that the amount was smaller than expected. None of them were posted within the last two years, and the posts range from 2010 to 2024.

How to check: the approximate piece counts of leg meat, claws and shoulder meat are summarized in the “What You Receive Depends on the Option” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Taste and freshness (saltiness, weak flavor, fishy smell, blackening)

About 13 of the 59 reviews filtered to 1★ and 2★ say it was salty, weak in flavor, fishy, or that the meat had turned dark. None were posted within the last two years, and they are mostly from 2009 to 2020.

How to check: the shop’s guidance that it turns black if left after thawing is included in the “Thawing” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Origin labeling

3 of the 59 reviews filtered to 1★ and 2★ say they bought it thinking it was from Hokkaido, but it turned out to be from the USA or elsewhere. None were posted within the last two years; they are from 2013 and 2014.

How to check: the origin is listed in the “Country of Origin” row of “Basic Information” in this article, as written in the product description (USA, Canada and Russia).

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Those who want crab with the shell already half removed, for less effort
  • Those who want to use it in the ways the shop suggests (sashimi, shabu-shabu, hot pot and so on)
  • Those who want to choose about 1kg (3–4 servings) or about 2kg (6–8 servings) to fit the number of people
  • Those who can plan to thaw it just before eating

Who Should Be Careful

  • Those with a shellfish allergy (the labeling is not confirmed, so ask the shop)
  • Those who need the storage method, best-before date and ingredients beforehand (not found on the product page)
  • Those who care about the origin (listed as USA, Canada and Russia together)
  • Those who want to give it as a gift on the premise of noshi or wrapping
Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba (Kitaguni kara no Okurimono) Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. You can choose about 1kg (3–4 servings) or about 2kg (6–8 servings). The product description gives approximate piece counts of leg meat, claws and shoulder meat, but what the weight includes is not confirmed
  2. The storage method, best-before date, ingredients and allergen labeling could not be confirmed on the product page. The page says to thaw just before eating. If you have a shellfish allergy, check with the shop before buying
  3. The origin is listed as USA, Canada and Russia together. The product page is not consistent in how it names the kind of crab, and Ochinity does not specify it

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on various sales sites and review sites. Product information such as amount, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s latest labeling.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “北国からの贈り物” product page (including product description images), Rakuten Ichiba “北国からの贈り物” shop information page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC