Higashikushira Town, Kagoshima Prefecture is the local government you donate to for this thank-you gift under furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program). The ingredient labeling on the listing says the unagi (eel) is from Kagoshima Prefecture. The provider is 株式会社アクアおおすみ, and the provider’s location is not confirmed. The item covered here, “Kagoshima Prefecture Higashikushira Town Aqua Osumi Domestic Unagi Kabayaki, Headless” (鹿児島県東串良町 アクアおおすみ 国産うなぎ蒲焼 無頭), is a thank-you gift for which you choose 2, 4 or 6 frozen unagi kabayaki (eel grilled with a sweet soy glaze) fillets when you apply. We organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews state into five points: contents, shelf life, ingredient labeling, shipping timing and reviews. The features we could confirm on the listing are three: the unagi is flash-frozen and vacuum-packed after grilling, sauce and sansho pepper come with it according to the number of fillets, and you can choose the shipping month for 4 and 6 fillets.
At a Glance
Key points
- You can choose 2 fillets (about 300g in total), 4 fillets (about 600g) or 6 fillets (about 900g). Sauce and sansho pepper come with it according to the number of fillets, according to the listing (chopped unagi is not included with 2 fillets, according to the listing)
- Delivered frozen, with a best-before date of 180 days from the manufacture date, according to the listing. It is flash-frozen and vacuum-packed after grilling, and the listing says you warm it, for example in a hot-water bath (yusen), to eat it (the listing also says the best-before date may be shorter during busy seasons because it is processed in advance)
- Rated 4.72 on Rakuten (4,798 reviews). Viewed November 7, 2026. Within what we read, comments on the plump, soft meat, the size and ordering again stood out
- You can choose the shipping month. The shipping month is chosen on the listing page. For 4 and 6 fillets, early November was sold out when viewed on November 7, 2026, and early December, early January and early February could be chosen; 2 fillets ship within 10 business days
Watch out for
- Bones: the listing says that, owing to the nature of unagi, it is difficult to remove the bones completely. In reviews too, 5 of the 9 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read from the last two years (November 2024 onward) mentioned bones
- Arrival timing: the listing says shipping may be delayed depending on the donation situation, and that November to February is a busy season when delivery can take longer. It also says a delivery date cannot be specified
Suits: People who want to choose 2, 4 or 6 fillets and receive them frozen, and, with 4 fillets or more, people who want to choose the shipping month on the listing page (some months may be sold out)
The features and shipping guidance come from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed November 7, 2026). The rating is Rakuten’s display (viewed November 7, 2026) and does not necessarily represent the current condition of the product.
Compared with the 4 Furusato Nozei Unagi Kabayaki Gifts on Ochinity
The 4 furusato nozei unagi kabayaki gifts featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026). Each value is as of the information date of its own article and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are Rakuten’s display; the fewer the reviews, the more easily the figure moves. The table is ordered by product name in Japanese syllabary (gojūon) order, with this article placed first.
| Product | Total (g) | Choose shipping month | Rakuten rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Higashikushira Town Aqua Osumi Unagi Kabayaki, Headlessthis article | About 300/about 600/about 900 | Yes | 4.724,798 reviews |
| Kyushu Unagi Kabayaki (4 Fillets) + Chopped Unagi Kabayaki (1 Bag)Miyazaki City | 810 or more | Yes | 4.814,982 reviews |
| Domestic Unagi Whole Kabayaki, 3–5 FilletsOsaki Town | 495 or more/660/800 | Not confirmed | 4.651,323 reviews |
| 山田水産 Kirishima Unagi KabayakiShibushi City | 320/480/640/800 | Not confirmed | 4.723,233 reviews |
Product names link to each product’s article. The total is the sum for each number of fillets, written as in each article (“or more”, “about”). “Not confirmed” means the options for the shipping month could not be confirmed on that article’s listing.
- The total comes in three sizes: about 300g, about 600g and about 900g. The 4 furusato nozei unagi kabayaki gifts featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026) also include sizes of 810g or more (Miyazaki City), 800g or more (Osaki Town) and 800g (Shibushi City)
- Of the 4 furusato nozei unagi kabayaki gifts featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), those confirmed to let you choose the shipping month are this gift and Kyushu Unagi Kabayaki (4 Fillets) + Chopped Unagi Kabayaki (1 Bag) (Miyazaki City) (the other 2 are not confirmed)
Basic Information
- Product name
- Kagoshima Prefecture Higashikushira Town Aqua Osumi Domestic Unagi Kabayaki, Headless (鹿児島県東串良町 アクアおおすみ 国産うなぎ蒲焼 無頭)
- Donation recipient / provider
- Higashikushira Town, Kagoshima Prefecture (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Provider: 株式会社アクアおおすみ
- Amount
- 2 fillets (about 300g in total) / 4 fillets (about 600g) / 6 fillets (about 900g). Sauce and sansho pepper come with it according to the number of fillets
- What you can choose
- Number of fillets (2, 4 or 6) / shipping month (for 4 and 6 fillets, chosen on the listing page and some months may be sold out; 2 fillets ship within 10 business days)
- Storage
- Frozen, according to the listing
- Best-before date
- 180 days from the manufacture date, according to the listing
- Allergen labeling
- The listing states soybean and wheat
- Donation amount
- Changes with the number of fillets and shipping timing you choose. Check the listing
- Shipping
- Frozen. The listing says a delivery date cannot be specified
- Noshi / gifting
- Noshi (gift wrapping label), inscription, wrapping and message card are not confirmed
This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
The ingredients include soy sauce (containing wheat and soybean), and the allergen labeling states soybean and wheat. If you have allergies, be sure to ask the provider before you apply for the donation, or check the label on the gift when it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, viewed November 7, 2026).
See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (17 items)
This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
- Product name
- Kagoshima Prefecture Higashikushira Town Aqua Osumi Domestic Unagi Kabayaki, Headless (furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten listing is a long string of search keywords. Only the product-name part is shown here. In the product specifications on the listing, the product name is given as “東串良町のうなぎ蒲焼(無頭)”.
- Amount
- The listing gives about 300g in total for 2 fillets, about 600g for 4 fillets and about 900g for 6 fillets. It says the kabayaki sauce and sansho pepper come with it according to the number of fillets. It says chopped unagi (kizami unagi) is not included with 2 fillets. It also says the size of each fillet may vary somewhat. The number of servings is not stated: not confirmedSource: product description on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- What you can choose
- Number of fillets: 2 / 4 / 6
Shipping timing: for 4 and 6 fillets, chosen on the listing page (early November was sold out when viewed; early December / early January / early February could be chosen); for 2 fillets, shipped within 10 business days (the listing says shipping within 10 business days is not offered for the other options)Source: options and product description on the listing (viewed November 7, 2026). - Donation amount
- Differs depending on the number of fillets and shipping timing you choose. The amount can change, so it is not given in this article. Please check it on the Rakuten listingSource: options on the listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- Ingredients / allergen labeling
- Unagi (from Kagoshima Prefecture), soy sauce (contains wheat and soybean), sugar, glucose-fructose syrup, mirin, starch syrup / caramel color, alcohol, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), thickener (modified starch, thickening polysaccharides). The allergen labeling states soybean and wheat. No inconsistencies were found within the pageSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- Storage method
- Frozen, according to the listing. The storage temperature is not confirmedSource: product description on the listing (best-before date and delivery method fields)
- Best-before date
- 180 days from the manufacture date when frozen, according to the listing. The listing says the best-before date may be shorter in busy seasons (Doyo no Ushi no Hi, the year-end and New Year period, etc.) because the unagi is processed in advanceSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- How to thaw
- No thawing steps were found on the listing: not confirmed. The shelf life after thawing is also not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
- Notes after opening
- The listing says that, owing to the nature of unagi, it is difficult to remove the bones completely, and that the size of the bones differs depending on the individual eel. It also says the unagi is grilled carefully and processed so that bones are not noticeableSource: product description on the listing (notes)
- Raw-material origin
- Unagi: stated as from Kagoshima Prefecture in the ingredient namesSource: product description on the listing
- Place of processing
- not confirmed. The “local product” reason field on the listing says the processing is done outside the town, but that much of the raw material was produced in the town. The location of the processing site is not statedSource: product description on the listing
- Condition / how to eat (whether heating is required)
- The listing explains that, because the unagi is flash-frozen and vacuum-packed after grilling, it can be eaten by warming it, for example in a hot-water bath. The warming steps and time are not confirmed. No guidance on whether it can be eaten raw was foundSource: product description on the listing
- Delivery
- Arrives by frozen delivery. The listing says a delivery date cannot be specified, and that if there are days you are away or cannot receive it, you should get in touch with your order number and name. It also says no advance confirmation email is sent before shipping, and that it cannot be re-sent if the recipient is away or otherwise unable to receive itSource: product description on the listing (shipping and receiving)
- Shipping time
- The listing says shipping may be delayed depending on the donation situation, and that when applications are concentrated, or during busy seasons including long holidays and the year-end and New Year period (November to February), delivery can take longer. The shipping-month options are as of the viewing date and may changeSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- Noshi / gifting
- No fields for noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping or a message card were found in the gift-related section of the listing: not confirmedSource: listing (viewed November 7, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- The listing names 株式会社アクアおおすみ as the provider. Whether it is the manufacturer or processor, and the provider’s location, are not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
- Shop
- Higashikushira Town, Kagoshima Prefecture (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the time of viewing and may change afterward. The following are trends within what we read, and may not reflect the product’s current condition. Posts about 2, 4 and 6 fillets are mixed together.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Customer Reviews (product page) | 4.72 / 5 | 4,798 reviews | November 7, 2026 |
Breakdown: ★5 3,717 / ★4 914 / ★3 103 / ★2 29 / ★1 35 (Rakuten Ichiba display; viewed November 7, 2026)
Range read: the first 59 reviews in the default order (posted November 2024 to November 2026; latest November 7, 2026), 30 of the 35 ★1 reviews (posted September 2022 to August 2026), all 29 of the ★2 reviews (posted July 2021 to November 2025), 118 in total. One review in the default order read as describing a different product, so it was not counted. Of the 30 ★1 reviews, 6 were posted within the last two years (November 2024 onward), and so were 3 of the 29 ★2 reviews. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The counts below are approximate figures from our reading of the text, and do not include posts that were only about delivery or the store’s handling.
What Reviewers Praise
Plump, soft meat (about 15 of the 59 in the default order)
About 15 of the 59 reviews in the default order said the meat was plump and soft.
Size and volume (about 12)
About 12 of the 59 reviews in the default order said it was large, generous in volume or thick-cut.
Ordering again (about 20)
About 20 of the 59 reviews in the default order said they had ordered again or order every year.
Sent as a gift or for ochugen (about 6)
About 6 of the 59 reviews in the default order said they sent it to their parents or used it for ochugen (mid-year gift).
Source: Rakuten Customer Reviews (viewed November 7, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Many bones / large bones (12 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
12 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read (10 ★1 and 2 ★2) said there were many bones, there were large bones, or that a bone got stuck in the throat. Limited to the last two years (November 2024 onward), 5 of the 9 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read (3 ★1 and 2 ★2) mentioned bones, which stands out most among the concerns. Among the 59 reviews in the default order, one ★5 review said there were a few small bones but it was satisfied. On the other hand, there is also a ★4 review saying the bones were not noticeable.
How to check: the listing’s guidance on bones is summarized in the “Notes after opening” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Tough skin or meat / strong chewiness (about 19 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
About 19 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read (8 ★1 and 11 ★2) said the skin or meat was tough or had a strong chew. All were posted by May 2024, and none of the ★1 and ★2 reviews from the last two years say this.
Small or thin meat (about 13 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews)
About 13 of the 59 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read said the size was small or the meat was thin. One was posted within the last two years.
How to check: the total amount, and the listing’s note that the size of each fillet varies, are summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten Customer Reviews (viewed November 7, 2026)
Summary: Is This Thank-You Gift the One for You?
Why choose it: You want to choose 2, 4 or 6 fillets, and, with 4 fillets or more, you want to choose the shipping month on the listing page (some months may be sold out). If those two are your conditions, this thank-you gift meets them (weak points: reviews mention bones, and the listing says shipping may be delayed depending on the donation situation).
- Rakuten’s rating is 4.72 / 5 (4,798 reviews). Among the 59 reviews we read in the default order, many mentioned plump meat (about 15), size (about 12) and ordering again (about 20)
- Delivered frozen, with a best-before date of 180 days from the manufacture date, according to the listing. The totals are about 300g (2 fillets), about 600g (4 fillets) and about 900g (6 fillets)
- On bones, the listing says it is difficult to remove them completely, and the ★1 and ★2 reviews from the last two years also frequently mention bones
Other options: If you would rather choose within 3 to 5 fillets, Kagoshima Prefecture Osaki Town Domestic Unagi Whole Kabayaki, 3–5 Fillets (total 495g or more to 800g or more). If you would rather have 4 fillets plus 1 bag of chopped unagi, with sauce and sansho pepper, totaling 810g or more, Kyushu Unagi Kabayaki (4 Fillets) + Chopped Unagi Kabayaki (1 Bag), Total 810g or More (Miyazaki City, Miyazaki Prefecture).
The basis for this section is the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten Customer Reviews (viewed November 7, 2026). These are trends in the reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The page of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that the deduction is applied to the income tax of the year in which furusato nozei is made and to the resident tax of the following fiscal year (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: About Tax Deductions”, viewed October 7, 2026). The deduction amount and procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the Ministry, your local government, or the tax office.
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 7, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article summarizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Product information such as quantity, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: November 7, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “Higashikushira Town, Kagoshima” listing, Rakuten Customer Reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan “About Allergen Labeling”

