King crab legs are shipped as a boiled, frozen product, so before buying it is hard to picture how much 800g actually is, or how soon you have to eat them once they are thawed. This article sets out what the Rakuten Ichiba product page and the publicly posted reviews say about the “King Crab Legs, legs only” sold by Gensen! Hokkaido Gourmet Kanisho (厳選!北海道グルメ かに匠) — you choose either 800g x 1 cluster or 800g x 2 clusters, where a “cluster” (kata, 肩) is the unit used for a set of king crab legs still joined at the shoulder. It is organised into five points: the amount included, storage and shelf life, ingredients and allergen labeling, whether it works as a gift, and what the reviews tend to say.
What We Confirmed
- How much is included, and whether the number of servings is stated
- Storage and shelf life, including after thawing
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift (noshi gift labels and wrapping)
- What the public reviews tend to say, and when those reviews were posted
Basic Information
| Product name | King Crab Legs, legs only, choice of 800g x 1 cluster / 800g x 2 clusters (1.6kg in total)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page of Gensen! Hokkaido Gourmet Kanisho (厳選!北海道グルメ かに匠), viewed 12 September 2026 |
|---|---|
| Product category name | Boiled king crab (boiled and frozen)Source: product description on the product page |
| Amount | Choice of 800g x 1 cluster, or 800g x 2 clusters (1.6kg in total). The weight is stated as the weight at the time of frozen shippingSource: product description and the purchase options on the product page (viewed 12 September 2026) |
| Servings | The product page does not state how many people it servesSource: product page, checked 12 September 2026 |
| Ingredients | King crab (product of Russia), saltSource: product description on the product page |
| Country of origin | Sea of Okhotsk (product of Russia)Source: product description on the product page |
| Allergen labeling | Not confirmed (we could not find the food information label on the product page) |
| Storage | Keep frozen at −18°C or belowSource: product description on the product page |
| Best-before | About one month in frozen storage. After thawing, the shop advises keeping it refrigerated and eating it within three daysSource: product description on the product page |
| How to eat | Let it thaw naturally and eat as it is. The page also gives examples such as crab steak, salad and tempuraSource: product description on the product page |
| Broken legs | The product description states that this is a “wakeari” (imperfect/irregular) item and that broken legs may be included. At the same time, the catchphrase on the same page says the opposite — that it is “not wakeari” — so the wording on the page is not consistentSource: product description and catchphrase on the product page (viewed 12 September 2026) |
| Delivery | Frozen delivery. The page states that an additional shipping charge applies for Okinawa Prefecture (checked 12 September 2026)Source: product page and the notes in the purchase area |
| Included items | The page states that cooking instructions are enclosed, and that nothing showing the price, such as an invoice, is includedSource: product description on the product page |
| Manufacturer | O.E.C. Co., Ltd. (Nemuro, Hokkaido)Source: product description on the product page |
| Shop | Gensen! Hokkaido Gourmet Kanisho (厳選!北海道グルメ かに匠), Rakuten Ichiba |
Prices, shipping charges and stock change, so they are not listed here. Please check the current display at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredients given in the product description are two: king crab (product of Russia) and salt. However, within what we could check, the product page does not show the contents of the food information label (allergen labeling, including additives). This item is not confirmed.
This product is crab itself, so people with a shellfish allergy cannot eat it. Crab is one of the ingredients that must be declared under Japan’s Food Labeling Act. If someone in your household has a shellfish allergy, or if you want to check the additives used in processing, ask the shop before buying or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About allergen labeling” (Japanese)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / servings | You choose 800g x 1 cluster or 800g x 2 clusters (1.6kg in total) in the purchase area. The number of servings is not stated | Product description and purchase options on the product page (viewed 12 September 2026) |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Keep frozen at −18°C or below. About one month in frozen storage. After thawing, the shop advises refrigerating and eating within three days | Product description on the product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | Ingredients are king crab and salt. The food information label (additives and allergen labeling) is not confirmed | Product description on the product page, checked |
| 4. Whether it works as a gift | The Rakuten gift field shows that noshi gift labels are available. We could not find any statement about the types of inscription, wrapping, message cards or a gift box | Gift field on the product page (viewed 12 September 2026) |
| 5. What the reviews say | The Rakuten rating is 3.98 / 5 from 3,767 reviews. Some posts praise the volume, while others point out that it tastes salty, or that individual pieces vary | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), viewed 12 September 2026 |
Suitable as a Gift?
The gift field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page showed that noshi (gift wrapping label) is available (checked 12 September 2026). However, we could not find any statement about the types of inscription on the noshi (such as oseibo year-end gift, ochugen mid-year gift, uchi-iwai return gift, or plain), gift wrapping or a gift box, message cards, or having a name printed. If you want to specify the inscription, check with the shop before ordering.
If you are considering it as a gift, here is what we could and could not confirm from the product page.
- Noshi: shown as available. The types of inscription are not confirmed
- Gift wrapping, gift box, message card and name printing: we could not find any statement
- The page states that nothing showing the price, such as an invoice, is enclosed
- It arrives by frozen delivery, so checking whether you can specify a delivery date and time the recipient can accept makes a missed delivery less likely
- For delivery to Okinawa Prefecture, the page states that an additional shipping charge applies (checked 12 September 2026)
- The product description states that broken legs may be included, so it may not suit a recipient for whom appearance matters
What Public Reviews Say
The following summarises the ratings and posts published on Rakuten Ichiba. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and change afterwards.
| Site | Rating | Number of reviews | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”, product page) | 3.98 / 5 | 3,767 | 12 September 2026 |
The breakdown by star rating is 1,656 five-star, 1,155 four-star, 471 three-star, 204 two-star and 281 one-star reviews. The trends below summarise the first 30 reviews read in the order sorted by “most helpful”.
One thing to keep in mind: many of the posts shown at the top of the “most helpful” order date from around 2007 to 2015, and the most recent post was from December 2024 (as of 12 September 2026). Because older posts come to the top in this sort order, they do not necessarily reflect the product as it is now.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), viewed 12 September 2026
What Reviewers Praise
Posts about the amount and the contents stand out: that there is plenty of it and it is filling, and that the legs are well filled with meat. Some posts say that legs only makes it easy to eat, and that it worked for a wide range of dishes such as grilled crab and crab steak.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), viewed 12 September 2026, first 30 posts in “most helpful” order
What Reviewers Note
Several posts point out that it tasted salty, and some say they soaked the crab to draw out the salt before eating. There are also posts saying that broken legs, or pieces that were not well filled with meat, were mixed in, and posts saying it was smaller than expected. Low ratings (one and two stars) come to 485 in total, so impressions vary.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), viewed 12 September 2026, first 30 posts in “most helpful” order, and the star breakdown
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- You want to eat legs only, in quantity
- You want a boiled product you can thaw and eat as it is
- You also want to cook it — grilled crab, crab steak, tempura
- You want to adjust the amount by choosing 1 cluster or 2 clusters
- You have room in your freezer for 800g (or 1.6kg in total)
Who Should Be Careful
- You have a shellfish allergy (this product is crab itself, so you cannot eat it; the food information label is also not confirmed)
- You want to keep salt down (several posts say it tasted salty and that they had to draw out the salt)
- You want to avoid broken legs and variation in how well the legs are filled (posts report broken legs and poorly filled pieces mixed in, and the product description also states that broken legs may be included)
- You want to know the number of servings before you buy (it is not stated)
- You want to specify the noshi inscription or the wrapping (noshi is shown as available, but we could not confirm the types)
- You want it delivered to Okinawa Prefecture (the page states that an additional shipping charge applies)
- You cannot finish it soon after thawing (the shop advises eating it within three days of thawing)
You choose between 800g x 1 cluster and 800g x 2 clusters (1.6kg in total) in the purchase area at the link. Prices, stock, shipping charges and delivery dates change. The information in this article is as of 12 September 2026. Please always check the display at the link before buying.
Links in this article include affiliate advertising. Editorial Policy
Summary
- You choose between 800g x 1 cluster and 800g x 2 clusters (1.6kg in total). The number of servings is not stated, so you have to judge the amount by weight
- Keep it at −18°C or below; about one month in frozen storage. After thawing, the shop advises eating it within three days, so choose an amount you can finish
- Several reviews point out that it is salty, and that broken legs and variation in how well the legs are filled occur. The food information label (allergen labeling) has not been confirmed, so ask the shop about anything relating to shellfish allergy
Related Pages
This article organises information published on the selling site. Product information such as the amount included, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s display for the latest information.
Assessments of taste and quality are summaries of third-party posts with the source given, and are not Ochinity’s own assessment. How we write our articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of 12 September 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba product page of Gensen! Hokkaido Gourmet Kanisho, Rakuten customer reviews for the same product, Rakuten Web Service (product information API)

