
Shiga-grown fukubukuro (lucky-bag set) rice, 10kg (2 x 5kg bags), is sold in a format where one of the 17 varieties listed on the product page arrives, and you cannot choose the variety before buying. For the fukubukuro rice from Kimura Shoten (木村商店; the shop name on Rakuten Ichiba is “Omi no Kuni kara Kimura Shoten” (近江の国から木村商店)), this article organizes the publicly available product information and review-site content into five points: content volume, storage method, ingredient labeling, gift suitability and reviews. Among the reviews we read, we found none that clearly came from someone who had eaten a Reiwa 8 crop bag.
What We Confirmed
- Content volume and how the variety that arrives is decided
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Kimura Shoten Shiga-Grown Fukubukuro Rice 10kg (2 x 5kg bags)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
|---|---|
| Name (food-labeling category) | Milled riceSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Content volume | 10kg (2 x 5kg bags)Source: Same as above |
| What changes depending on your choice | You cannot choose the variety, and the variety that arrives is not fixed at the time of purchase. The page states that one variety out of the 17 listed on the product page arrives: Koshihikari, Kinuhikari, Akitakomachi, Hitomebore, Milky Queen, Yumegokochi, Nihonbare, Hinohikari, Hikari Shinseiki, Akinouta, Kinumusume, Midoriyutaka, Nikomaru, Hanaechizen, Mizukagami, Akidawara and Nijinokirameki. We found no statement of the allocation rate for each variety. The page states that the variety name is printed on the front or back of the bag, that splitting into smaller portions and individual requests are not accepted, that even when you buy several units the same variety may be included depending on stock, and that the bag design may changeSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Storage method | Not confirmedWe found no statement in the description field of the product page |
| Best-before date | Stated as 15 days to less than 30 days from the manufacturing dateSource: product specification field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026). We found no statement of the storage method |
| Milling date | The page states that it is printed on the front of the bag or at the bottom of the backSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Country of origin (ingredient) | Brown rice (single-ingredient rice), grown in Shiga Prefecture. The crop year is stated as Reiwa 8, and the inspection grade as 1st and 2nd grade rice (1・2等米)Source: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is needed) | It is milled rice (white rice). We found no guidance from the seller on how to cook it on the product pageSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Delivery | The delivery method, such as the carrier and temperature zone, is not confirmed. Delivery to Hokkaido, Okinawa and other remote islands is stated as not availableSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Stated as Kimura Co., Ltd. (有限会社キムラ). The seller is the same company (Hikone, Shiga Prefecture)Source: product specification field and description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Shop | Omi no Kuni kara Kimura Shoten (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The name is milled rice, and the ingredient is stated as brown rice (single-ingredient rice, grown in Shiga Prefecture). We found no allergen labeling in the description field of the product page, so it is not confirmed. The page states that the food labeling is on the front or back of the bag, so if allergies are a concern, please check the shop’s listing before buying, and also check the label on the bag when it arrives.
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | This product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Content volume / servings | 10kg (2 x 5kg bags). One variety out of 17 arrives, and you cannot choose it. The number of servings is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | The storage method is not confirmed. The best-before date is stated in the product specification field as 15 days to less than 30 days from the manufacturing date. The page states that the milling date is printed on the front of the bag or at the bottom of the back | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | The name is milled rice, and the ingredient is brown rice (single-ingredient rice, grown in Shiga Prefecture). Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Rakuten Ichiba product page checked |
| 4. Whether it works as a gift | Support for noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping and message cards could not be confirmed. Specifying the variety and splitting into smaller portions are stated as not available | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 5. Review trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.47 / 5 (12,554 reviews). We read 119 of them, and what shows in that number of reviews may not reflect the product’s current condition. We found no post that clearly came from someone who had eaten a Reiwa 8 crop bag among the reviews we read. The breakdown by point is in the “What Public Reviews Say” section | Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
We could not confirm support for noshi (gift wrapping label) on the Rakuten Ichiba product page. We also found no statement on wrapping, message cards or name printing (accessed October 2, 2026). The gift section of the product page was not set up either. In addition, the page states that specifying the variety that arrives and splitting into smaller portions are not accepted.
- Noshi: support could not be confirmed (not stated on the product page)
- Wrapping, message cards, name printing: not stated
- Specifying the variety, splitting into smaller portions: stated as not available
Among the reviews we read, 3 posts said the writer sends rice to family, but that does not show that the shop supports gift orders (Source: Rakuten Minna no Review, accessed October 2, 2026). This article is written on the assumption that the rice is for eating at home.

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by point. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and will change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Count | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Minna no Review (product page) | 4.47 / 5 | 12,554 reviews | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 8,191 / 4★ 2,981 / 3★ 779 / 2★ 282 / 1★ 321 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
What we read: the first 59 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2024 to July 2026; latest July 2026), plus 30 filtered to 1★ (posted July 2022 to August 2026) and 30 filtered to 2★ (posted August 2022 to January 2026), 119 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. We found no post that clearly came from someone who had eaten a Reiwa 8 crop bag among the reviews we read.
What Reviewers Praise
Taste, sweetness and shine
About 40 of the 59 reviews in the default order said, in effect, that the rice tastes good, has sweetness, or cooks up with a shine. They were mostly 5★ and 4★ reviews, posted between October 2024 and July 2026. They are written regardless of the variety that arrived, but how taste is perceived varies from person to person.
Looking forward to which variety arrives
About 16 reviews said, in effect, that they look forward to seeing which variety arrives. All were 5★ or 4★, posted between October 2024 and July 2026. The product page also states that the variety cannot be chosen and is printed on the bag.
Mentions of price, repeat purchases
About 20 reviews referred to the price of rice in positive terms or said they buy it repeatedly. They were 5★ and 4★ reviews, posted between October 2024 and April 2026.
Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026). The counts are approximate, from matching phrases in the posts we read, and one post may touch on several points
What Reviewers Note
Taste and smell when Hanaechizen arrived
About 7 of the 60 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups (all posted within the last two years, between September 2025 and August 2026) said, in effect, that Hanaechizen arrived and they were bothered by its smell, or found it dry or lacking in stickiness. These are concentrated in recent posts. On the other hand, among the 59 in the default order, 2 posts wrote favorably after Hanaechizen arrived, so impressions are divided.
How to check: the fact that you cannot choose the variety is summarized in the “What changes depending on your choice” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Black grains, broken grains, foreign matter
About 30 of the 60 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups mentioned black grains, broken grains, spotted grains, or foreign matter such as small stones and insects. Of these, about 2 were posted within the last two years, and most were from 2023 or earlier. 2 of the 59 in the default order also said they were bothered by black grains.
Both bags are the same variety, so it feels less like a lucky bag
About 8 of the 60 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups (about 2 of them within the last two years) said, in effect, that both bags were the same variety and it felt less like a lucky bag. About 5 of the 59 in the default order said the same. The product page states that even when you buy several units, the same variety may be included depending on stock.
How to check: the product page’s guidance is summarized in the “What changes depending on your choice” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026). The 1★ and 2★ counts are the breakdown of the 30 reviews filtered for each, and many of the posts are old. The counts are approximate, from matching phrases, and one post may touch on several points
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Not particular about the variety, and want to buy Shiga-grown white rice in bulk as 2 x 5kg bags
- Want to enjoy finding out which variety arrives
- Want to check the label on the arriving bag (variety name, milling date) before using it
Who Should Be Careful
- Want to specify the variety, or want a different variety in each of the 2 bags (it cannot be chosen, and the same variety may be included, as stated)
- Want to check reviews of a Reiwa 8 crop bag before buying (none found among those we read)
- Want to send it as a gift with noshi or wrapping (support could not be confirmed)
- Want to check the storage method and allergen labeling before buying (not confirmed on the product page; the best-before date is stated in the product specification field)
- Want to deliver to Hokkaido, Okinawa or remote islands (stated as not available)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- 10kg (2 x 5kg bags), in a format where one of the 17 varieties listed on the product page arrives. The variety cannot be chosen, and the page states that even when you buy several units the same variety may be included
- The most prominent point of concern in the reviews is how Hanaechizen was received when it arrived (about 7 of the 60 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups, all within the last two years). Black grains and broken grains were pointed out often, but the posts are mostly old. We found no post that clearly came from someone who had eaten a Reiwa 8 crop bag. These are trends within the 119 reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition
- The storage method and allergen labeling are not confirmed on the product page. The best-before date is stated in the product specification field as 15 days to less than 30 days from the manufacturing date, the manufacturer as Kimura Co., Ltd. (有限会社キムラ), and the milling date is explained as being on the bag’s label
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the sales sites and review sites. Product details such as content volume, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s current listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Omi no Kuni kara Kimura Shoten” product page, Rakuten Minna no Review, Amazon product page (used only to check the specs)


Comments