This is kinetsuki (pounded) noshi-mochi, a flattened pounded rice cake made with Miyakogane mochi rice grown in Miyagi Prefecture, sold by 米問屋蔵之助 of Kasugai City, Aichi Prefecture. Two bags of cut mochi (about 400g, 6 pieces each) arrive as about 800g in all, and each bag is scored into 6 pieces. It arrives by mail delivery (meru-bin), and specifying a delivery date and time, cash on delivery, noshi (gift wrapping label) and gift wrapping are not available (product name and checkout screen). Based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and reviews, we organized the amount, shelf life, ingredients, gifting and reviews. Its feature is that, as the shop explains, it is scored so you can break it apart without a knife.
At a Glance
Key points
- About 400g (6 pieces) × 2 bags, about 800g in all. Each bag is scored into 6 pieces, and the shop says no knife is needed
- Store in an airtight container in a cool, dark place; the best-before date is less than 15 days from the manufacturing date. This is the wording in the product specification field
- Rakuten rating 4.6 (284 reviews). Viewed November 5, 2026
- It arrives by mail delivery (meru-bin); specifying a delivery date and time, cash on delivery, noshi and gift wrapping are not available. This is from the product name and the checkout screen
Watch out for
- Noshi, gift wrapping and message cards are not available (checkout screen display). If you are thinking of giving it as a gift, please check this point
- The ingredients are written in three ways on the product page (mochi rice, water, rice flour / Miyakogane mochi, water / domestic mochi rice, water). Which field each wording comes from is listed in the details under Basic Information
Suits: people who want to try scored kinetsuki mochi at home, in the roughly 800g size the shop describes as a trial item
The features are from the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 5, 2026). The rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed November 5, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Compared with 3 Similar Mochi Products
Among the 3 mochi products featured on Ochinity (as of November 5, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are Rakuten Ichiba’s display; note that the number of reviews differs. The table is ordered with this article first, followed by the others in order of article name.
| Product | Total Amount | Type | Rakuten Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kinetsuki Noshi Mochi, about 800gThis article · scored · mail delivery | 800g | Cut mochi (6 pieces × 2 bags) | 4.6284 reviews |
| 伊富貴 Kinetsuki Mochi 2kgWhite, 40 small rounds | 2000g | White small round mochi (maru-mochi), 1 kind | 4.79683 reviews |
| 渡英商店 Outlet MochiSlab mochi, itamochi | 670g | Slab mochi, 1 kind | 4.752676 reviews |
Product names link to each product’s article.
- The total amount is 800g. Among the 3 mochi products featured on Ochinity (as of November 5, 2026), that is less than 伊富貴’s 2000g and more than 渡英商店’s 670g
- The Rakuten rating of 4.6 (284 reviews) is lower than 伊富貴’s 4.79 (683 reviews) and 渡英商店’s 4.75 (2676 reviews) among the same 3 mochi products (as of November 5, 2026)
Basic Information
- Product Name
- 米問屋蔵之助 Kinetsuki Noshi Mochi, about 800g (scored)
- Amount
- About 400g (6 pieces + α) × 2 bags = about 800g
- Type
- Cut mochi (1 bag is scored into 6 pieces)
- Storage
- Airtight container, cool and dark place. Best-before date is less than 15 days from the manufacturing date (as stated in the product specification field)
- Ingredients
- Written in 3 ways within the product page (listed with their sources in the details)
- Allergen Labeling
- Not confirmed
- Price
- Not stated because it changes
- Shipping
- Mail delivery (meru-bin). Specifying a delivery date and time and cash on delivery are not available. Year-end order deadline: Not confirmed
- Noshi / Gift
- Noshi (gift wrapping label), gift wrapping and message cards are shown as not available
This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
There is no allergen labeling on the product page. If you have an allergy, ask the seller before buying, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives (Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, link, viewed November 5, 2026).
See the transcribed details, sources and “Not confirmed” items (17 items)
This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
- Product Name
- 米問屋蔵之助 Kinetsuki Noshi Mochi, about 800g (scored)The product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search keywords. Only the product-name part is shown here.
- Amount
- About 400g (6 pieces + α) × 2 bags. The product specification field shows total count 2, total weight 800g, weight per item 400g and pieces per item 6. A note on the product image says the design of the rice bag you receive may differ. The number of servings is Not confirmedSource: product description, specification field and images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Choices
- There is no size selection field. It is one kind, about 800gSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Ingredients
- The wording differs within the product page. The product specification field says “mochi rice, water, rice flour”, the product image (the shop’s notice) says “Miyakogane mochi, water”, and the product description says “domestic mochi rice, water” (Reiwa 7 harvest, i.e. 2025). The presence of rice flour and other points do not match, and which wording is correct is Not confirmedSource: product specification field, product image and product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Allergen Labeling
- Not confirmed (no entry is found on the product page)
- Storage Method
- The product specification field says to keep it in an airtight container in a cool, dark place to preserve freshnessSource: product specification field (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Best-Before Date
- The product specification field says it is less than 15 days from the manufacturing dateSource: product specification field (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Thawing Method
- No guidance as a frozen product is found, and whether it can be frozen and how to thaw it are Not confirmed
- After Opening
- No guidance on how long it keeps or how to store it after opening is found on the product page, and it is Not confirmed
- Country of Origin of Ingredients
- The shop’s guidance image says it uses Miyakogane mochi rice grown in Miyagi Prefecture. The place of origin (prefecture) in the product specification field is also Miyagi, and the product description says domestic mochi riceSource: product image, specification field and product description (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Processing Location
- Not confirmed. The shop information lists the location of a rice-milling plant in Seto City, Aichi Prefecture, but does not say it is where the mochi is madeSource: shop information on the product page
- Condition / How to Eat (Cooking Required?)
- The uses listed are New Year, ozōni (New Year soup with mochi), oshiruko (sweet red bean soup with mochi), zenzai (sweet red bean soup) and grilled mochi. Whether cooking is needed, the steps and the cooking time are not found on the product pageSource: product description and images (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Shipping
- The product name shows that it ships by mail delivery (meru-bin) and that specifying a delivery date and time and cash on delivery are not available. The checkout screen says that, because it is mail delivery, gift wrapping and message requests cannot be accommodatedSource: product name and checkout screen options (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Shipping Time
- The product image says the pounding is planned for the shipping day (it may be done a few days earlier). The shop page overall says it aims to ship within 2 business days of order confirmation. The year-end order deadline and the first shipping date are Not confirmed. The display may changeSource: product image and shop page (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Manufacturer
- The product specification field says both the manufacturer and the seller are 米問屋蔵之助. The shop information says it is operated by 株式会社こめこめ, located in Kasugai City, Aichi PrefectureSource: product specification field and shop information (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Noshi / Gift
- The Rakuten gift field shows no noshi support. The checkout screen says that, because it is mail delivery, gift wrapping and message requests cannot be accommodated. “Noshi” in the product name “noshi-mochi” is the name of a type of mochi (a flattened rice cake), not the noshi gift wrapping paperSource: gift field on the product page and checkout screen (viewed November 5, 2026)
- Shop
- 米問屋蔵之助 on Rakuten Ichiba (Aichi Prefecture)
Prices are not stated here because they change. Please check the latest price and stock at the link above.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and change afterward. What follows are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
| Site | Rating | Number of Reviews | Date Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.6 / 5 | 284 | November 5, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 208 / 4★ 48 / 3★ 20 / 2★ 5 / 1★ 3 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed November 5, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted January 2014 to October 2026, latest October 2026), all 3 reviews rated 1★ (posted March 2016 to September 2018), all 5 reviews rated 2★ (posted November 2014 to January 2023) and all 20 reviews rated 3★ (posted March 2014 to January 2026), 88 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
The 1★ to 3★ reviews total 28, so the number alone cannot show how strong a trend is. The counts below come from reading the text and are approximate; they do not include posts only about a mismatch in delivery or quantity.
What Reviewers Praise
Stretch, chew and softness (about 24 of 60)
About 24 of the 60 reviews in the default order say it stretches well, has a good chew, or is soft and chewy. Some posts also describe a texture close to mochi pounded at home.
Rice flavor, aroma and sweetness (about 11)
About 11 of the 60 in the default order say the rice has a sweetness, or that the aroma when grilled is good.
Breaks apart by hand along the scoring (about 11)
About 11 of the 60 in the default order say that because it is scored into 6 pieces it breaks apart without a knife, and that each piece is a good size.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Each piece or the amount is small (about 6, among the first 60 in the default order and the 20 rated 3★)
About 2 of the 60 in the default order and about 4 of the 20 rated 3★ say each piece is small or that they wish it were bigger. One post also says small trimmed end pieces were included.
How to check: the amount is summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Rice flavor feels weak (about 5, among the 5 rated 2★ and the 20 rated 3★)
About 2 of the 5 rated 2★ and about 3 of the 20 rated 3★ say the rice flavor felt weak. These were posts written as a matter of taste.
Mold after opening and water droplets in the bag (about 3, among the first 60 in the default order and the 20 rated 3★)
About 2 of the 60 in the default order and about 1 of the 20 rated 3★ say mold appeared after opening, or that there were water droplets inside the bag.
How to check: the storage method and best-before date are summarized in the “Storage” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026)
Summary: Is This the One for You?
Why choose it: you want to try scored kinetsuki mochi at home from around 800g, and you want to receive it by mail delivery. If those two are your conditions, this product is a candidate.
- The Rakuten rating is 4.6 / 5 (284 reviews). Among the 88 reviews we read, the most common mention was stretch, chew and softness (about 24 of the first 60)
- Each bag is scored into 6 pieces, and about 11 of the first 60 reviews say it breaks apart by hand along the scoring
- On the other hand, about 6 reviews among the first 60 and the 20 rated 3★ say each piece is small
Other options: if you want 2kg in one go, 伊富貴 Kinetsuki Mochi 2kg (White, 40 Small Rounds); if you prefer slab mochi, 渡英商店 Outlet Mochi (Slab Mochi, Itamochi) 670g.
The basis for this section is the Rakuten Ichiba product page and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026). These are trends in the reviews within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 5, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
This article organizes information published on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and review site. Product details such as amount, storage method and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the product page for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: November 5, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

