
Yumepirika grown by Matsuoka-san of Marukichi Kayano Shoten is listed under the product name “10kg (2 x 5kg bags),” but the content field reads “brown rice 10kg / milled rice 9kg to 9.5kg,” and you choose the milling level (brown rice, white rice, 7-bu milled, 5-bu milled) and the bag type in the order field. This article organizes the publicly available product information and review-site content into five points: content volume, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gift suitability and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Content volume, and how to choose the milling level and bag type
- Crop year, milling date and storage method
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Yumepirika Grown by Matsuoka-san 10kg (2 x 5kg bags), Reiwa 8 crop, Grown in Yoshikuni, Rankoshi Town, Hokkaido, Brown Rice / White Rice / Partially Milled Rice, Rankoshi Rice, Freshness-Preserving Pack Available |
|---|---|
| Name (food-labeling category) | Brown rice / milled rice (product name: Yumepirika; ratio used: single-ingredient rice)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Content volume | Brown rice 10kg / milled rice 9kg to 9.5kg. The order field shows 5kg x 2 bags for brown rice, 4.5kg x 2 bags for white rice, 4.65kg x 2 bags for 7-bu milled rice and 4.75kg x 2 bags for 5-bu milled rice. The “10kg (2 x 5kg bags)” in the product name is the amount for brown rice; white rice and partially milled rice are shown as less than 10kg. The number of servings is not confirmedSource: Same as above |
| What changes depending on your choice | In the order field you combine a milling level (brown rice, white rice, 7-bu milled, 5-bu milled) with a bag type (2 regular packs / 1 regular pack + 1 freshness-preserving pack / 2 freshness-preserving packs / 4 freshness-preserving packs (2.5kg size)). 16 options are shownSource: Same as above |
| Crop year and milling date | The crop year is Reiwa 8. The milling date is stated as the shipping date or the day before it (how brown rice is handled is not stated that we could find). The product name shown on the Rakuten Ichiba product page includes “new crop,” but the harvest time and the start date of new-crop shipping are not stated on the product page and are not confirmed. The number of days from order to shipping is also not confirmedSource: Same as above |
| Storage method | The page advises keeping the rice out of direct sunlight in a cool place. For long storage, or to hold back insects and mold, it advises moving the rice to an airtight container and storing it in the refrigerator, or using the paid freshness-preserving pack. It states that with the regular pack, returns and exchanges are not possible even if insects or mold appear in unopened rice. As a guide to how long the rice keeps, an image in the product description gives about 2 to 3 weeks in summer and about 1 to 2 months in winter. No best-before date is shown, so it is not confirmedSource: Same as above |
| Best-before date | Not confirmed (no date was shown) |
| Country of origin (ingredient) | Grown in Yoshikuni, Rankoshi Town, Hokkaido (Reiwa 8 crop, single-ingredient rice). The producer field of the product description gives 松岡弥生Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed (no statement on where the rice is milled was found) |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is needed) | Sold as brown rice or milled rice (white rice, 7-bu milled, 5-bu milled). We found no cooking instructions within what we checked on the product page. An image in the product description says the rice stays soft and chewy even when cold, so it suits rice balls and takikomi gohan (seasoned mixed rice)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Delivery | The page states that it ships by Sagawa Express (to Okinawa and remote islands, by Japan Post or Yamato Transport, and you cannot choose). Counting from the shipping date, delivery is shown as the next day for Hokkaido, two days later for Tohoku and Kanto, three days later for Shinetsu, Tokai, Hokuriku and Kansai, and four days later for Chugoku, Shikoku and KyushuSource: Same as above |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (no statement distinguishing the manufacturer or miller was found. Marukichi Kayano Shoten (5-15 Shinonome-cho, Chitose, Hokkaido) is shown as the seller)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Shop | Marukichi Kayano Shoten Hokkaido (丸吉 茅野商店 北海道) (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The name on the product page is brown rice / milled rice, the product name is Yumepirika, and the ratio used is stated as single-ingredient rice. We found no allergen labeling within what we checked, so this item is not confirmed. If allergies are a concern, please ask the shop before buying, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | This product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Content volume / servings | Brown rice 10kg / milled rice 9kg to 9.5kg. The 10kg in the product name is the amount for brown rice; white rice is shown as 2 x 4.5kg bags. The number of servings is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Keep in a cool place; for long storage, an airtight container in the refrigerator or the freshness-preserving pack is advised. An image in the product description gives a storage guide (summer 2 to 3 weeks, winter 1 to 2 months). The best-before date is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | Brown rice / milled rice, single-ingredient rice. Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Rakuten Ichiba product page checked |
| 4. Whether it works as a gift | Noshi (gift wrapping label) and wrapping are marked as supported. The types of noshi inscription and the form of wrapping are not confirmed | Gift section of the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 5. Review trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.79 / 5 (1,502 reviews). We read 74 of them, and what shows in that number of reviews may not reflect the product’s current condition. The breakdown by point is in the “What Public Reviews Say” section | Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The gift section of the Rakuten Ichiba product page marks noshi (gift wrapping label) and wrapping as supported. We found no statement on message cards or name printing (accessed October 2, 2026). However, we found no list of the noshi inscription options (such as uchi-iwai or Respect for the Aged Day), so the types of inscription are not confirmed. Words such as uchi-iwai, Respect for the Aged Day and oseibo appear in the keyword and occasion field, but they are only listed as keywords and cannot be read as showing which inscriptions are supported. An image in the product description shows “paid optional wrapping available,” so wrapping is offered as a paid option. Whether it is a gift box or simple wrapping is not confirmed.
If you are considering it as a gift, it helps to ask the shop about the following before buying, to avoid a mix-up.
- Types of noshi inscription (not stated on the product page)
- Form of wrapping (gift box or simple wrapping; not stated on the product page)
- Whether message cards and name printing are possible (not stated on the product page)
- Whether you can specify the delivery date (we found no statement; delivery takes from the day after shipping to 4 days after, depending on the region)

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by point. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and will change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Count | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Minna no Review (product page) | 4.79 / 5 | 1,502 reviews | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 1,248 / 4★ 212 / 3★ 28 / 2★ 7 / 1★ 7 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted March 2012 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus 7 each filtered to 1★ and 2★ (posted May 2012 to March 2025), 74 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Taste (chewy texture, shine, sweetness, taste when cold)
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 22 praised the chewy texture, shine, sweetness or taste when cold. 7 of them were posted within the last two years.
Repeat purchases and yearly buying
27 of the 60 reviews in the default order said, in effect, that the reviewer buys again or buys every year, the most of any point. 13 of them were posted within the last two years, and some mention family or parents.
Choice of bags and splitting into smaller portions
16 of the 60 reviews in the default order said it helped that you can choose the bag type in the order field and divide the rice into 2.5kg portions for storage. 3 of them were posted within the last two years.
Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Taste or texture different from expectations
7 of the 14 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups (3 at 1★ and 4 at 2★) said, in effect, that the rice was different from what they expected, such as dry, or weak in sweetness or chewiness. All 7 were posted in December 2023 or earlier, and none within the last two years. The 60 reviews in the default order also include 3 with the same gist.
How to check: the crop year of the product covered in this article is in the “Crop year and milling date” row of “Basic Information.”
Reservations and sell-outs make it hard to buy
11 of the 60 reviews in the default order mentioned reservations or sell-outs in the new-crop season and the difficulty of buying again. 4 of them were posted within the last two years. All of them mentioned this within 4★ or 5★ reviews.
Condition of the bag and impression of the amount
5 of the 14 reviews in the 1★ and 2★ groups (2 at 1★ and 3 at 2★) mentioned a bag that did not feel properly vacuum-sealed, no zip closure, or a light bag that made the amount feel small. 1 of them (2★) was posted within the last two years.
How to check: content volume and storage method are summarized in the “Content volume” and “Storage method” rows of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed October 2, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to choose rice with a stated place of origin (Yoshikuni, Rankoshi Town, Hokkaido) and producer
- Want a chewy texture, strong stickiness and sweetness that spreads as you chew (the shop’s description)
- Want to choose the milling level (brown rice, white rice, 7-bu milled, 5-bu milled) when buying
- Want to choose the bag type and store the rice in 2.5kg portions
Who Should Be Careful
- Want to receive the full 10kg as is (the 10kg in the product name is for brown rice; white rice is shown as 2 x 4.5kg bags, for example)
- Plan to store the rice for a long time in a regular pack (the page states that returns and exchanges are not possible even if insects or mold appear)
- Want to know the harvest time, the start date of new-crop shipping or the best-before date before buying (not stated on the product page, so not confirmed)
- Want to choose the noshi inscription or the type of wrapping (not confirmed, so ask the shop)
- Want to confirm allergen labeling (not confirmed, so ask the shop)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The content field reads brown rice 10kg / milled rice 9kg to 9.5kg, and the 10kg in the product name is the amount for brown rice. The order field shows white rice as 2 x 4.5kg bags, 7-bu milled as 2 x 4.65kg bags and 5-bu milled as 2 x 4.75kg bags
- You choose a combination of milling level and bag type (16 options) in the order field. For storage, the page advises a cool place, an airtight container in the refrigerator, or the freshness-preserving pack, and states that with the regular pack, returns and exchanges are not possible even if insects or mold appear
- Noshi and wrapping are marked as supported. The harvest time, best-before date, noshi inscription types, form of wrapping and allergen labeling are not confirmed, so ask the shop before buying if you need them
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the sales sites and review sites. Product details such as content volume, storage method and milling date may change. Please check the seller’s current listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Marukichi Kayano Shoten Hokkaido” product page, Rakuten Minna no Review, Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments