
This article covers a thank-you gift offered through furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program) by Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture. Kesennuma City is the municipality that accepts the donation and the place name listed on the product page as the place of processing; it is not where the raw ingredient comes from (the country of origin of the raw ingredient is listed as Russia). Boiled king crab legs come with many size and shipping-time options, and the donation amount changes with the size, so they can be hard to choose between. For the boiled king crab legs (本タラバガニ脚 ボイル済) offered by 株式会社カネダイ (Kanedai Co., Ltd.), this article organizes the product page and Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) into five points: contents, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and approximate number of servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Suitable as a gift?
- Trends in publicly available reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 本 タラバガニ 脚 ボイル済 選べるサイズ 極太 5Lサイズ/6Lサイズ/7Lサイズ 1kg〜1.5kg (boiled king crab legs, selectable size, extra-thick, size 5L / 6L / 7L, 1kg–1.5kg)Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei product page (accessed October 2, 2026). This is the product name on the page with the search keywords and the municipality’s management number removed |
|---|---|
| Name | Boiled king crab, legs (ボイルたらばがに(脚))Source: ingredients field and product name on the product page |
| Contents | Size 5L: gross weight about 1kg (net weight about 800g) / Size 6L: gross weight about 1.3kg (net weight about 1,050g) / Size 7L: gross weight about 1.5kg (net weight about 1.1kg). The number of servings is not confirmed. For size 6L, because individual crabs vary a lot in size, the legs are weighed and packed by weight, so the box may hold fewer legs than one “cluster” (kata, the unit for king crab legs: the whole group of legs attached to one shoulder of the crab), or may include broken pieces added to adjust the weight, according to the product pageSource: product description on the product page |
| What changes depending on your selection | Size (5L, 6L, 7L) and shipping time. The product page describes the contents as one cluster of king crab leg meat (about one cluster for 6L) from a crab that, as a whole crab, would be equivalent to 3kg for 5L, 4kg for 6L, and 4.5kg for 7L. The 6L is described as a loose-leg type with slits cut in itSource: product description on the product page |
| Storage method | Frozen (keep frozen). The storage temperature is not confirmedSource: delivery method and best-before date fields on the product page |
| Best-before date | Within 3 months of shipment (keep frozen)Source: best-before date field on the product page |
| Country of origin | RussiaSource: ingredients field on the product page |
| Place of processing | Kesennuma City (listed as the place of processing (place of manufacture))Source: ingredients field on the product page |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is required) | Described as boiled; the product page describes eating it after thawing as is, or grilledSource: product description on the product page |
| Thawing method | Not confirmed (the product page does not state a thawing method. Shelf life after thawing is also not confirmed) |
| Delivery | Frozen. Shipped in order (from as early as 3 days to about 2 months after payment is confirmed; a delivery date cannot be specified; the page notes it may take another 1–2 months if applications are concentrated) / If you specify a shipping time, choose from October, the first half of November, the second half of November, early December, mid-December, or late December. The product description text also mentions shipping in September, but there is no September option on the application screen. Delivery is not possible to some remote islands and areas where Cool (refrigerated/frozen) delivery is not availableSource: product description and shipping-time selection field on the product page |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (the product page lists 株式会社カネダイ (Kanedai Co., Ltd.) as the business operator, but does not state who manufactured or processed it)Source: business operator field on the product page |
| Shop | Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
| Donation amount | Size 5L: ¥29,500 / Size 6L: ¥40,500 / Size 7L: ¥40,500 (Rakuten Furusato Nozei. Same amount regardless of the shipping-time option. As of October 2, 2026)Source: quantity and shipping-time selection fields on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
According to the product page, the ingredients are “ボイルたらばがに(ロシア産)/調味料(アミノ酸)” (boiled king crab (from Russia) / seasoning (amino acids)), and the allergen labeling (specified ingredient) is “かに” (crab). No inconsistency in the labeling was found within the product page.
Crab is one of the specified ingredients that must be declared under Japan’s Food Labeling Act. Because this thank-you gift is crab itself, people with a shellfish allergy cannot eat it. If you are concerned about other allergies or want to check additives used in processing, ask the providing business before you apply for the donation, or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| Item to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Contents and number of servings | 5L: gross weight about 1kg (net about 800g) / 6L: about 1.3kg (net about 1,050g) / 7L: about 1.5kg (net about 1.1kg). The number of servings is not confirmed | Product description on the product page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Keep frozen; best-before date is within 3 months of shipment. The thawing method and shelf life after thawing are not confirmed | Best-before date and delivery method fields on the product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | Boiled king crab (from Russia) / seasoning (amino acids). The allergen labeling is crab | Ingredients and allergen labeling fields on the product page (no inconsistency) |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | No guidance on support for noshi (gift wrapping label), gift wrapping, or message cards could be found. A delivery date cannot be specified | Statements on the product page |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) rating is 4.55/5 (1,615 reviews). Within the 113 reviews read — the first 60 in the default sort order (posted October 3, 2024 to September 30, 2026; most recent September 30, 2026) plus those filtered to 1★ and 2★ — many comments praise the size, how full the meat is, and the taste, while some also point out saltiness and how well the meat is packed. This is a trend within the range read and may not reflect the product’s current condition | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026; 113 reviews read) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The product page does not show any guidance on support for noshi inscriptions, gift wrapping, message cards, or name printing. The product name and keyword fields list gift-related words, but these are search keywords placed in a row, not text explaining that noshi or wrapping are supported. If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following before you apply for the donation helps avoid mix-ups.
- Whether noshi and wrapping are supported (not stated on the product page)
- The page says a delivery date cannot be specified (the shipping time is chosen by month)
- If there are days you will be away, the page says to write this in the remarks field when applying, or to contact the inquiry desk within 3 days after applying
- If delivery fails because of the recipient’s circumstances, such as a long absence, the page says redelivery and cancellation are not possible
- Whether you have enough freezer space for a frozen item with a gross weight of 1kg–1.5kg

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The rating figures are as of the time of viewing and change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Count | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (product page) | 4.55 / 5 | 1,615 reviews | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 1,140 / 4★ 339 / 3★ 69 / 2★ 23 / 1★ 44 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 3, 2024 to September 30, 2026; latest September 30, 2026), plus 30 filtered to 1★ (posted November 13, 2023 to March 4, 2026) and 23 filtered to 2★ (all of them; posted November 17, 2021 to January 20, 2026), 113 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Size and thickness
About 36 of the first 60 reviews in the default order mentioned the size or thickness of the legs that arrived. All were 4★–5★ posts, and many describe being surprised by the size on arrival. Separately, about 8 posts said it was so large that fitting it in the freezer took some effort.
How full and thick the meat is
About 16 of the 60 mentioned that the meat is well packed or thick. All were 4★–5★ posts.
Taste and satisfaction
About 33 of the 60 praised the taste or how satisfying it was to eat. In addition, about 22 posts said they applied for it again or want to repeat it (these two counts may overlap).
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Saltiness
17 of the 53 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (12 of them posted within the last 2 years) mentioned that it was too salty. There are also 4 among the first 60 in the default order.
How well the meat is packed / texture
About 21 of the 53 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (9 of them posted within the last 2 years) voiced dissatisfaction with how well the meat was packed or its texture, such as being hollow, dry, or watery. Among the first 60 in the default order there are 3. The 2★ reviews also include posts from 2021.
How to check: The difference between gross weight and net weight is summarized in the “Contents” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Blandness after thawing
4 of the 53 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (all 4 posted within the last 2 years) said the flavor seemed to have drained out after going through thawing or salt-removal steps. There are also about 4 among the first 60 in the default order.
How to check: The fact that the product page does not state a thawing method is written in the “Thawing method” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Those who want to choose the size (5L, 6L, 7L) and shipping time themselves
- Those who want to eat boiled king crab legs after thawing, as is or grilled
- Those with enough freezer space for a frozen item with a gross weight of 1kg–1.5kg
- Those who want to compare donation amounts by size
Who Should Be Careful
- Those with a shellfish allergy (it contains crab)
- Those who want to check the thawing method and shelf life after thawing in advance (not stated on the product page)
- Those who care about individual variation in saltiness or how well the meat is packed (pointed out in reviews)
- Those who want to specify a delivery date (stated as not possible)
Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- There are three sizes, 5L, 6L, and 7L, with gross weights of about 1kg, about 1.3kg, and about 1.5kg. The number of servings is not stated, so allow freezer space for the gross weight
- Keep frozen; the best-before date is within 3 months of shipment. The thawing method and shelf life after thawing could not be confirmed on the product page
- The allergen labeling is crab. Reviews often praise the size and how full the meat is, while some point out saltiness and how well the meat is packed
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the application and review sites. Product information such as contents, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the providing business’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture” product page, Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments