
This article covers a thank-you gift offered through furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program) by Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture. Kesennuma City is the municipality that accepts the donation and the place name listed on the product page as the place of processing; it is not where the raw ingredient comes from (the country of origin of the raw ingredient is listed as Canada, the United States, and Russia). Leg-meat portions made from shelled raw snow crab come with a choice of about 1kg or about 500g and of shipping times, and the donation amount changes with the size, so they can be hard to choose between. For the raw snow crab leg-meat portions (生本ずわいがに 棒肉ポーション) offered by 株式会社カネダイ (Kanedai Co., Ltd.), this article organizes the product page and Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) into five points: contents, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and approximate number of servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
- Suitable as a Gift?
- Trends in publicly available reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 年内発送受付 生本ずわいがに 棒肉 ポーション 選べる 約1kg / 約500g 発送月 (accepting orders for shipment within the year; raw snow crab leg-meat portions, selectable, about 1kg / about 500g, shipping month)Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei product page (accessed October 2, 2026). This is the product name on the page with the search keywords and the municipality’s management number removed |
|---|---|
| Name | Not confirmed (the product page has no name field) |
| Contents | Two sizes to choose from: gross weight about 1kg (40–60 pieces, net weight about 760g) / gross weight about 500g (net weight about 380g). The number of servings is not confirmed. The product description text also mentions 20–30 pieces, which does not match the piece count for the 1kg size (40–60). Please check the piece count in the field for the size you chooseSource: contents field and product description on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| What changes depending on your selection | Size (about 1kg, about 500g) and shipping time. The donation amount changes with the size (see the “Donation amount” row below)Source: size and shipping-time selection fields on the product page |
| Storage method | Frozen (keep frozen). The storage temperature is not confirmedSource: best-before date field on the product page |
| Best-before date | Within 3 months of shipment (keep frozen). Meanwhile, the providing business explains that raw snow crab can undergo blackening (discoloration caused by oxidation) over time; although this does not affect quality, it can progress even when frozen, so it recommends eating within 2 weeks, depending on how it is stored. It also advises eating the crab early regardless of the best-before date, because the temperature of a home freezer is not constantSource: best-before date field and product description on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Country of origin of the raw ingredient | Canada, the United States, RussiaSource: ingredient origin field on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Place of processing | Kesennuma City (listed as the place of manufacture and processing). The product page states that the main steps, such as processing the shelled meat, are carried out within Kesennuma City, so the item qualifies as a locally produced productSource: manufacturing and processing location and local-product reason fields on the product page |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is required) | It is raw snow crab. The product description says it can be eaten just by thawing, and suggests ways to eat it such as kani-shabu (crab shabu-shabu), steaming, grilling, butter-grilling, and tempura. The catchphrase and product description carry a statement by the shop that it can be eaten as sashimi (this is the shop’s statement; Ochinity does not recommend eating it raw). The product page does not clearly state whether heating is required, so this is not confirmedSource: catchphrase and product description on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Thawing method | Not stated in the product description text, but a guidance image on the product page explains: just before eating, rinse the ice glaze off the surface under running water, then let it thaw naturally for 2–3 hours in the refrigerator or for about 30 minutes at room temperature (20–25°C), eat it right after thawing, and avoid refreezing. Precautions after opening are not confirmedSource: thawing-method guidance image on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Delivery | Frozen (Cool delivery). The shipping time is selectable: earliest shipping (from the next business day up to within 3 business days after payment is confirmed) / shipped in order (from as early as 3 days to about 2 months; a delivery date cannot be specified; the page notes it may take another 1–2 months if applications are concentrated) / specified month (October, the first half of November, the second half of November, early December, mid-December, or late December). The product description text also mentions shipping in September, but there is no September option on the application screen. Delivery is not possible to some remote islands and areas where Cool (refrigerated/frozen) delivery is not availableSource: product description and shipping-time selection field on the product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (the product page lists 株式会社カネダイ (Kanedai Co., Ltd.) as the business operator, but does not state whether it is the manufacturer, processor, or provider, nor its location. The product description has a passage in which Kanedai introduces itself as importing and processing shelled crab meat)Source: business operator field and product description on the product page |
| Shop | Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
| Donation amount | About 1kg: ¥29,000 / about 500g: ¥16,000 (Rakuten Furusato Nozei. Same amount regardless of the shipping-time option. As of October 2, 2026)Source: size and shipping-time selection fields on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei product page (accessed October 2, 2026) |
Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
According to the product page, the ingredients are “ずわいがに/レモン果汁、調味料(アミノ酸)、酸化防止剤(亜硫酸塩)” (snow crab / lemon juice, seasoning (amino acids), antioxidant (sulfites)). The product page includes a note that the antioxidant labeling may change depending on the raw materials used. The allergen labeling (specified ingredient) is “かに” (crab) only. The ingredients list shows an antioxidant (sulfites) while the allergen field shows only “かに” (crab), but no inconsistency in the labeling was found within the product page. The product page lists the country of origin of the raw ingredient (Canada, the United States, Russia) and the place of manufacture and processing (Kesennuma City) separately.
Crab is one of the specified ingredients that must be declared under Japan’s Food Labeling Act. Because this thank-you gift is crab itself, people with a shellfish allergy cannot eat it. If you are concerned about other allergies or want to check additives such as antioxidants, ask the providing business before you apply for the donation, or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| Item to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Contents and number of servings | Gross weight about 1kg (40–60 pieces, net about 760g) / gross weight about 500g (net about 380g). The number of servings is not confirmed | Contents field and product description on the product page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Keep frozen; best-before date is within 3 months of shipment. The providing business recommends eating within 2 weeks because blackening may progress. The thawing method is given in a guidance image on the product page | Best-before date field, product description, and guidance image on the product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | snow crab / lemon juice, seasoning (amino acids), antioxidant (sulfites). The country of origin of the raw ingredient is Canada, the United States, and Russia; Kesennuma City is the place of processing. The allergen labeling is “かに” (crab) only | Ingredients and allergen labeling fields on the product page (no inconsistency) |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | No guidance on support for noshi (gift wrapping label), gift wrapping, or message cards could be found. A delivery date cannot be specified | Statements on the product page |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) rating is 4.52/5 (2,031 reviews). Within the 114 reviews read — the 59 in the default sort order (posted November 24, 2024 to September 19, 2026; most recent September 19, 2026) plus those filtered to 1★ and 2★ — many comments praise that there is no shell and it is easy to eat, the taste, and the size of the meat, while some also point out a weak taste, difficulty eating it raw, and small meat or small amounts. This is a trend within the range read and may not reflect the product’s current condition | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026; 114 reviews read) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The product page does not show any guidance on support for noshi inscriptions, gift wrapping, message cards, or name printing. The product name and keyword fields list gift-related words, but these are search keywords placed in a row, not text explaining that noshi or wrapping are supported. If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following before you apply for the donation helps avoid mix-ups.
- Whether noshi and wrapping are supported (not stated on the product page)
- The page says a delivery date cannot be specified (the shipping time is chosen by month)
- If there are days you will be away, the page says to write this in the remarks field when applying, or to contact the inquiry desk within 3 days after applying
- If delivery fails because of the recipient’s circumstances, such as a long absence, the page says redelivery and cancellation are not possible
- If the thank-you gift arrives damaged, the page says to contact them with photos within 2 days of receipt, and that returns and exchanges are not possible after 3 or more days
- Whether you have enough freezer space for a frozen item with a gross weight of about 1kg

What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The rating figures are as of the time of viewing and change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Count | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (product page) | 4.52 / 5 | 2,031 reviews | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 1,369 / 4★ 486 / 3★ 95 / 2★ 25 / 1★ 56 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
What we read: the 59 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 24, 2024 to September 19, 2026; latest September 19, 2026), plus 30 filtered to 1★ (out of 56 in total; posted December 15, 2023 to January 25, 2026) and 25 filtered to 2★ (all of them; posted February 5, 2022 to March 1, 2026), 114 in total. The 59 in the default order were all 4★–5★ posts. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
No shell, easy to eat
About 17 of the 59 reviews in the default order mentioned that it is easy to eat because there is no shell, or convenient because it can be used right after thawing. All were 4★–5★ posts, and some wrote that it was easy for children to eat as well.
Taste, sweetness, and ways to eat it
About 43 of the 59 praised the taste or deliciousness, and about 5 posts mentioned sweetness. About 21 posts also mentioned how they ate it, naming shabu-shabu, hot pot, sashimi, and grilling.
Size of the meat and satisfying bite
About 16 of the 59 mentioned that the meat is large or satisfying to eat. All were 4★–5★ posts.
Applying every year or repeatedly
About 20 of the 59 wrote that they apply every year or want to apply again.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Weak or watery taste
About 13 of the 55 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (about 10 of them posted within the last 2 years) said it had no taste, a weak umami, or was watery. This hardly appears among the 59 in the default order.
How to check: The thawing method is summarized in the “Thawing method” row of “Basic Information” in this article (it comes from a guidance image, not from the product description text).
Fishy smell, hard to eat raw
About 12 of the 55 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (about 8 of them posted within the last 2 years) said it smelled fishy or was hard to eat raw. There is also 1 among the 59 in the default order.
How to check: The shop’s statement and the guidance on whether heating is required are summarized in the “Condition / how to eat (whether heating is required)” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Small meat or small amount
About 15 of the 55 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (about 6 of them posted within the last 2 years) said the meat was small or thin, or the amount was small. These include comments that there were fewer pieces than stated. There are also 3 among the 59 in the default order.
How to check: The difference between gross weight and net weight and the range in piece count are summarized in the “Contents” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 2, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Those who want to choose between about 1kg and about 500g, and the shipping time, themselves
- Those who want to eat it as kani-shabu or grilled, without the trouble of removing shells
- Those who want to compare donation amounts by size
- Those with enough freezer space for a gross weight of about 1kg
Who Should Be Careful
- Those with a shellfish allergy (it contains crab)
- Those who want to specify a delivery date (stated as not possible)
- Those who want to confirm in advance whether heating is required (no clear guidance on the product page)
- Those who care about variation in piece count, size of the meat, or taste (pointed out in reviews)
Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- There are two sizes, with gross weights of about 1kg and about 500g. The number of servings is not stated, so allow freezer space for the gross weight
- Keep frozen; the best-before date is within 3 months of shipment, but the providing business recommends eating within 2 weeks. The country of origin of the raw ingredient is Canada, the United States, and Russia, and Kesennuma City is the place of processing
- The allergen labeling is “かに” (crab) only, while the ingredients list shows an antioxidant (sulfites). Reviews often praise ease of eating and taste, while some point out a weak taste and the amount
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the application and review sites. Product information such as contents, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the providing business’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “Kesennuma City, Miyagi Prefecture” product page, Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments