When ordering ikura (salmon roe) and kazunoko (herring roe) online, it is easier to decide by three points: how much arrives at once, whether it is divided into portions, and how to thaw it and how long it keeps. The candidates are 2 soy-marinated ikura products, 1 uni-ikura bowl set (sea urchin and salmon roe), 1 seasoned kazunoko product and 1 kazunoko matsumae-zuke (a Hokkaido-style pickled dish made with herring roe, kelp, and squid). If you can’t decide, start with the 3 products below and pick the closest one. The candidates are the 5 single-product articles published on Ochinity, and we confirmed on October 31, 2026 that each Rakuten Ichiba product page shows the item as on sale. The information on each product page is lined up on the same yardsticks.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising).
The order is not a ranking. Whether a commission is paid has no effect on how candidates were chosen or ordered.
If You Can’t Decide, Start with These 3
To try a smaller amount (soy-marinated ikura, frozen)
Frozen200g × 1 packSoy-marinated
The text in the image was added by the shop.
Soy-marinated ikura (salmon roe) arrives as one 200g pack. The shop says it makes 3 bowls of ikura-don (rice bowl topped with salmon roe).
Good to know: There is no choice of size; it is a single 200g pack only, and it is not divided into smaller portions. For natural thawing in the refrigerator, the page advises moving it to the refrigerator 3–6 hours before eating. The best-before date is shown as 30 days, but which date it counts from has not been confirmed. No guidance on whether it can be eaten as it is was found on the product page. Noshi (gift wrapping label) is shown as “対応なし” (not available).
To portion it into one-serving packs for a bowl (uni-ikura bowl set, frozen)
Uni-Ikura Bowl Set, 4 Servings (まぐろ処 一条)
Frozen340g total (4 packs)4 servings is the shop’s wording
The text in the image was added by the shop.
Two 100g packs of uni (sea urchin) and two 70g packs of soy-marinated ikura arrive. They are one-serving packs, and the shop says you can also eat just the uni or just the ikura.
Good to know: The page advises thawing naturally in the refrigerator over 3–5 hours. It advises against thawing with heat, because the quality drops. The best-before date is described as 1 month in the freezer recommended, and the same day once thawed. The shop says it can be eaten as it is after natural thawing. Some reviews say it is not enough for 4 bowls. Noshi and message card options are indicated.
To use kazunoko in separate portions (seasoned kazunoko, frozen)
Seasoned Kazunoko “Honchan” 450g (ますよね)
Frozen450g (150g × 3 bags)Seasoned
The text in the image was added by the shop.
Seasoned kazunoko (herring roe) arrives divided into 3 bags of 150g. The product name includes “塩抜き不要” (no desalting needed) and “そのまま食べれる” (can be eaten as it is) (the retailer’s wording).
Good to know: The best-before date is written as within 1 month when frozen (1 week recommended) and within 3 days when refrigerated. It advises thawing only the amount you will eat, but no thawing procedure was found. The total is 450g. Some reviews say the grains are small. Noshi support is indicated, but the types of inscription have not been confirmed.
Before it arrivesAll 5 products arrive frozen. It helps to check your freezer space and the thawing time first. Thawing times are described as 3–5 hours for the uni-ikura bowl set, 3–6 hours for Iwamatsu’s ikura and 5–8 hours for Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke.
Quick Comparison of 5 Products
Shaded rows are the 3 products above. Details on ingredients and noshi are in the single-product articles linked from each product name. Within each type, products are listed in the Japanese syllabary (gojūon) order of the product name. Servings are the shop’s wording.
| Product | Amount / servings | What differs |
|---|---|---|
| Ikura (soy-marinated, uni-ikura bowl set) | ||
| Soy-Marinated Ikura 200g (岩松) | 200g (1 pack). 3 bowls of ikura-don is the shop’s wording | Only one size, no portioning. Natural thawing in the refrigerator is advised. Best-before date shown as 30 days. Noshi shown as not available |
| Soy-Marinated Ikura 500g (築地の王様) | 500g. Number of servings not stated | One size. No mention of portioning, and no thawing method was found. Noshi support and a gift box are mentioned |
| Uni-Ikura Bowl Set, 4 Servings (まぐろ処 一条) | Uni 100g × 2, soy-marinated ikura 70g × 2 (340g total). 4 servings is the shop’s wording | One-serving packs. Natural thawing in the refrigerator over 3–5 hours is advised. Noshi and message card indicated |
| Kazunoko (seasoned, matsumae-zuke) | ||
| Seasoned Kazunoko “Honchan” 450g (ますよね) | 450g (150g × 3 bags). Number of servings not stated | Divided into 3 bags of 150g. “塩抜き不要” (no desalting needed) appears in the product name. Best-before date is written as within 1 month frozen (1 week recommended), within 3 days refrigerated |
| Kazunoko Matsumae-zuke 500g (釜庄) | 500g × 1. 500g × 2, × 4 and × 6 can also be chosen. Number of servings not stated | No mention of portioning was found. Natural thawing in the refrigerator over 5–8 hours is advised. Described as shipping items with 60 days or more left, counting the shipping date |
The information date of each single-product article is stated in that article / Checked that the single-product articles are published and that Rakuten Ichiba shows the items as on sale: October 31, 2026.
How to Choose Without Regrets
1. Check how it is divided into portions
- Divided into one-serving portions: the uni-ikura bowl set (uni 100g × 2 and ikura 70g × 2; the shop says you can also eat just the uni or just the ikura) and the seasoned kazunoko (150g × 3 bags).
- Arrives as one pack: Iwamatsu’s ikura (200g; no choice of size) and Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke (500g; 2, 4 and 6 packs can also be chosen, but no mention of portioning was found).
- No mention of portioning was found: Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura (500g; some reviews say it came divided into 2 packs).
If you can’t use it all at once, it is easier to start with products in divided packs, or with the smaller 200g one.Source: the “Contents” and “Options” rows of each single-product article
2. Check how to thaw it
- Natural thawing in the refrigerator is advised: the uni-ikura bowl set (3–5 hours; it advises against thawing with heat), Iwamatsu’s ikura (move it to the refrigerator 3–6 hours before eating) and Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke (5–8 hours; the page says it cannot be refrozen).
- Thaw only the amount you will eat: the seasoned kazunoko (no thawing procedure or time was found).
- No thawing method was found: Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura.
Thawing times change with the season and the temperature. Please also check the label on the item you receive and the shop’s guidance.Source: the “Thawing method” row of each single-product article
3. Check how long it keeps frozen
- Described or shown as about 1 month frozen: the uni-ikura bowl set (1 month in the freezer recommended; the same day once thawed), Iwamatsu’s ikura (shown as 30 days; the starting date has not been confirmed) and the seasoned kazunoko (1 month frozen, 1 week recommended; within 3 days refrigerated).
- Counted from the shipping date: Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke (described as shipping items with 60 days or more left, counting the shipping date).
- Check on the packaging: Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura (the best-before date is on the packaging; the number of days has not been confirmed).
The date the shelf life starts counting from differs by product. Don’t compare by the numbers alone; check the label on the item when it arrives.Source: the “Storage method” and “Best-before date” rows of each single-product article
4. Check the uses and how to eat it in the shop’s guidance
- Guidance on using it in a rice bowl is given: the uni-ikura bowl set (described as about 4 bowls; the shop says it can be eaten as it is after natural thawing) and Iwamatsu’s ikura (the shop says it makes 3 bowls of ikura-don).
- To cut down on desalting: the seasoned kazunoko (the product name includes “塩抜き不要” (no desalting needed) and “そのまま食べれる” (can be eaten as it is)).
- In larger amounts for osechi (New Year dishes) or as a side with drinks: Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke (you can choose from 500g × 1; no guidance on whether it needs heating was found).
- Can also be a gift: Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura (noshi support and a gift box are mentioned; the seller’s guidance on whether it can be eaten as it is and on thawing was not found).
Whether it can be eaten as it is should be checked against the seller’s guidance and the label on the item when it arrives.Source: the “State / how to eat (whether cooking is required)” and “Noshi / gifts” rows of each single-product article
Frequently Asked Questions
- Which ones come divided into portions?
- The uni-ikura bowl set comes in one-serving packs, and the seasoned kazunoko comes in 3 bags of 150g. Iwamatsu’s ikura is one 200g pack, and Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke is one 500g pack. For Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura, no mention of portioning was found.
- Are thawing instructions given?
- The uni-ikura bowl set is advised to be thawed in the refrigerator over 3–5 hours, Iwamatsu’s ikura to be moved to the refrigerator 3–6 hours before eating, and Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke to be thawed in the refrigerator over 5–8 hours. For the seasoned kazunoko, it is advised to thaw only the amount you will eat, but no procedure was found. For Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura, no thawing method was found.
- Can they be used as gifts?
- Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura mentions noshi support for ochugen (mid-year gifts), oseibo (year-end gifts) and so on, and a gift box. The uni-ikura bowl set indicates noshi and a message card. The seasoned kazunoko and Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke indicate noshi support, but the types of inscription have not been confirmed. Iwamatsu’s ikura shows noshi as not available.
- Is there allergy labeling?
- For Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura, the label says some of the ingredients contain soybeans and wheat. For Iwamatsu’s ikura, it says soybeans, wheat and ikura. For the uni-ikura bowl set, it says wheat and soybeans are contained in the soy-processed ikura and the soy sauce. For the seasoned kazunoko, it says wheat, soybeans and mackerel, and for Kamasho’s matsumae-zuke, wheat, squid, mackerel and soybeans. Ikura and kazunoko are fish roe products. They are not suitable for people who are allergic to fish roe. If you have allergies, ask the seller before buying, or be sure to check the label on the item when it arrives.
Summary: Which One Fits You?

To try a smaller 200g
View This ProductView on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed
To make a bowl from one-serving packs
Uni-Ikura Bowl Set, 4 Servings (まぐろ処 一条)
View This ProductView on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed
To use kazunoko in 3 bags of 150g
Seasoned Kazunoko “Honchan” 450g (ますよね)
View This ProductView on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed
Prices and stock change. Please check the latest price at each button’s link.
What We Checked and What We Could Not Confirm
- What we checked: we confirmed on October 31, 2026 that single-product articles for all 5 products are published, and that each Rakuten Ichiba product page shows the item as on sale (no sold-out indication). The table is transcribed from the descriptions in each single-product article (information dates October 2026).
- What we could not confirm: for Tsukiji no Ousama’s ikura, the thawing method and whether it is divided into portions; for Iwamatsu’s ikura, the date the best-before period counts from; and for the seasoned kazunoko, the thawing procedure are not found on the product pages. For many products, how long they keep after thawing and the types of inscription on the noshi have not been confirmed.
- Prices, stock, shipping fees and noshi options change, so please check each shop before buying.
This article organizes information published on various retail sites and the contents of the single-product articles published on Ochinity. Product details such as contents, storage method, ingredients, and shipping fees are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
The order does not indicate any ranking. This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: stated in each single-product article (October 2026) / Publication status of the single-product articles checked: October 31, 2026 / Sources: 5 single-product articles on Ochinity, Rakuten Ichiba product pages

