This product is ikura shoyu-zuke (salmon roe marinated in soy sauce), 200g (1 pack), sold on Rakuten Ichiba by Salmon Senmonten Iwamatsu. The product name says it is from Hokkaido, and the place of origin of the ingredients in the product description is also shown as Hokkaido. In this article, we organize the amount, storage method and shelf life, ingredient labeling, ease of use as a gift, and the points where Rakuten Ichiba reviews were split between praise and criticism, based on the product page and publicly available reviews. Because the reviews we could read were posted long ago, we also note when they were posted.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and approximate number of servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it’s suitable as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Hokkaido-Produced Ikura Shoyu-zuke 200g (北海道産 いくら醤油漬け 200g)This is the product name shown on the Rakuten Ichiba product page, with the shipping notation and promotional words removed |
|---|---|
| Name | Ikura shoyu-zuke (salmon roe marinated in soy sauce)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description (accessed October 4, 2026) |
| Amount | 200g (1 pack. There is no size option; it is a single 200g item)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description. The shop describes it as enough for 3 bowls of ikura-don (salmon roe rice bowl) (no number of people is stated; the number of bowls is the shop’s own rough guideline) |
| Storage method | Keep frozen at −18°C or belowSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| Best-before date | Shown as 30 days. The product page does not state what the 30 days are counted from (manufacture date, shipping date, arrival date, etc.), so this is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| Country/place of origin of ingredients | HokkaidoSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description (place of origin of ingredients) |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed |
| Condition/How to eat (whether heating is needed) | Delivered frozen. We found no guidance from the shop on the product page about whether heating is needed or whether it can be eaten as isSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 4, 2026) |
| Thawing method | The listing advises thawing naturally in the refrigerator. It says that, depending on the temperature inside the refrigerator, it should ideally be moved to the refrigerator 3–6 hours before eatingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| Shelf life after thawing | Not confirmedWe found no statement on the product page. We also found no statement on whether it can be refrozen |
| Delivery | Yamato TA-Q-BIN (frozen delivery). The listing says a delivery time slot can be specifiedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmedThe product page lists only 有限会社岩松水産 (Nishi-ku, Niigata City, Niigata Prefecture) as the seller, and we found no statement of a manufacturer |
| Shop | Salmon Senmonten Iwamatsu (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The Rakuten Ichiba product description lists the ingredients as salmon roe (sake ikura), soy sauce, fermented rice seasoning, reduced starch syrup, salt, fermented wheat seasoning, seafood extract, fish sauce, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), and enzyme. For allergen labeling, it states that the ingredients include soy, wheat, and ikura (salmon roe) in part. Within the product page we could check, we found no statement that conflicts with this (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description, accessed October 4, 2026).
Nutrition facts are shown per 100g as energy 254kcal, protein 32.1g, fat 12.5g, carbohydrates 3.2g, and salt equivalent 2.2g. The listed values are described as estimates (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description, accessed October 4, 2026).
If you have a soy, wheat, or ikura (salmon roe) allergy, please check the labeling on the product page before purchasing, and check the food information label on the product again when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 4, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | For this product | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / servings | 200g (1 pack). The shop describes it as enough for 3 bowls of ikura-don. No number of people is stated | Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Keep frozen at −18°C or below; the best-before date is shown as 30 days. What the 30 days are counted from and the shelf life after thawing are not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| 3. Ingredient and allergen labeling | Labeled as containing soy, wheat, and ikura (salmon roe). The place of origin of ingredients is Hokkaido | Rakuten Ichiba product description |
| 4. Whether it’s suitable as a gift | Shown as noshi (gift wrapping label) not supported. We found no statement on wrapping, message cards, or a gift box, so these are not confirmed. We also found no gift-oriented guidance in the product description | Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 4, 2026) |
| 5. Trends in reviews | Rakuten Ichiba’s rating is 4.56/5 (1,010 reviews). Many comments praise the seasoning and how well it goes with rice and rice bowls, while some point out strong saltiness, small grains, and the smell or texture. We read 85 reviews in total: the first 57 in the “Standard” order (Rakuten’s default) (posted November 2009 to April 2017; latest April 2017), all 9 filtered to 1★ (January 2011 to August 2021), and all 19 filtered to 2★ (December 2009 to November 2016). The latest post we read is from August 2021, and none were posted in the last 2 years (since October 2024). This trend may not represent the product’s current state | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 4, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The Rakuten Ichiba product page data shows noshi as not supported. For wrapping, message cards, and a gift box, we found no statement on the product page, so these are not confirmed (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, accessed October 4, 2026).
The uses listed in the product description include home parties and entertaining guests, Christmas, New Year, ehomaki (sushi rolls eaten on Setsubun), chirashi-zushi for Hinamatsuri (the Doll Festival), and hand-rolled sushi. We found no gift-oriented guidance, such as for oseibo (year-end gift) or uchiiwai (return gift for a celebration), in the product description (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product description, accessed October 4, 2026).
The shop’s FAQ, linked from the inquiry section of the product page, says that single items other than boxed or wrapped sets arrive in a tray or bag, and recommends wrapped or boxed products for gifts. Whether this product counts as a boxed or wrapped set is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed. Note that the FAQ page shows no update date and mixes in notices dated 2018 to 2023, so whether this guidance is still the same today is not confirmed (Source: Salmon Senmonten Iwamatsu “FAQ”, accessed October 4, 2026).
- Since it arrives by frozen delivery, check a date and time when the recipient can receive it
- Whether the recipient has room in their freezer for 200g (1 pack)
Among the reviews we read, 2 of the 57 in the “Standard” order said they sent it to relatives as an oseibo (posted in 2010 and 2016. Source: Rakuten customer reviews, accessed October 4, 2026).
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. The rating figures reflect the time we viewed them and will change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Number of reviews | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (product page) | 4.56 / 5 | 1,010 reviews | October 4, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 693 / 4★ 223 / 3★ 66 / 2★ 19 / 1★ 9 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 4, 2026)
What we read: the first 57 reviews in the “Standard” order (Rakuten’s default) (posted November 2009 to April 2017; latest April 2017; all 4★ or 5★), plus all 9 filtered to 1★ (posted January 2011 to August 2021) and all 19 filtered to 2★ (posted December 2009 to November 2016), 85 in total. The latest post we read is from August 2021, and none were posted in the last 2 years (since October 2024). These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
The base is the 57 reviews in the Standard order. All were posted in 2017 or earlier.
Seasoning and how it goes with rice
About 40 of the 57 posts said it was tasty, the seasoning was just right, or it went well with rice or rice bowls. Some also wrote that they ate it as ikura-don or used it for hand-rolled sushi.
Amount
About 13 of the 57 posts said there was plenty in the pack or that they could make several bowls with it.
The 200g individual pack
About 4 of the 57 posts said that, since it comes in a 200g pack, it was convenient to thaw and use only as much as needed.
Grain uniformity and appearance
About 9 of the 57 posts said the grains were uniform, the skins were soft, or the color was pretty.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 4, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
The base is all 28 reviews we read filtered to 1★ and 2★. None were posted in the last 2 years (since October 2024); the latest is from August 2021, and most were posted in 2016 or earlier.
Strong saltiness
Around 6 of the 28 1★/2★ posts said the saltiness or flavor was strong or that it tasted salty (posted in 2015 or earlier). About 8 of the 57 posts in the “Standard” order also mention saltiness, but these include posts that took it favorably.
How to check: The salt equivalent and ingredients shown by the shop are in the “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling” section of this article.
Small grains
5 of the 28 1★/2★ posts said the grains were small or smaller than expected (posted 2011 to 2021). 2 of the 57 Standard-order posts also mention small grains, but both are written favorably.
Smell and texture
About 6 of the 28 1★/2★ posts pointed out a fishy or oily smell. About 9 pointed out the texture, such as a weak popping feel, stickiness, a gooey texture, crushed grains, or a dry feel; these include posts that mention both smell and texture. The smell comments were posted in 2016 or earlier, and the texture comments from 2009 to 2021.
How to check: The thawing method the seller recommends is summarized in the “Thawing method” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 4, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to thaw and use it one 200g pack at a time
- Are looking for pre-seasoned soy-marinated salmon roe
- Can set aside time to thaw it, following the guidance to thaw naturally in the refrigerator
- Can store it in a freezer
Who Should Be Careful
- Care about saltiness, grain size, smell, or texture (there are such comments, though mostly in older posts)
- Have a soy, wheat, or ikura (salmon roe) allergy
- Want to confirm in advance whether heating is needed, what the best-before date is counted from, the shelf life after thawing, or the manufacturer and place of processing (not confirmed)
- Want to send it as a gift with noshi (shown as noshi not supported)
- Want to check its condition through recent posts (the latest review we could read is from 2021)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 4, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- Ikura shoyu-zuke in a 200g (1 pack) size, with Hokkaido shown as the place of origin of the ingredients. Keep frozen at −18°C or below; the best-before date is shown as 30 days (what it is counted from is not confirmed)
- Labeled as containing soy, wheat, and ikura (salmon roe). Whether heating is needed, the manufacturer, the place of processing, and the shelf life after thawing are not confirmed, and noshi is shown as not supported
- Rakuten Ichiba’s rating is 4.56/5 (1,010 reviews). However, the latest review we could read is from 2021, and the last one in the Standard order is from 2017. There are comments praising the seasoning, and comments pointing out the saltiness, grains, smell, or texture
Related Pages
This article organizes information publicly available on each retailer’s site and review site. Product details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s own listing for the latest information.
Opinions about flavor and quality are summaries of third-party posts with their source noted, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 4, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Salmon Senmonten Iwamatsu” product page, Salmon Senmonten Iwamatsu “FAQ”, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments