Oki Iwagaki Haruka Rock Oysters, About 2kg — Contents, Shelf Life & Reviews

Featured image for Oki Iwagaki Haruka Rock Oysters, about 2kg. On the left: the kicker "Mail-Order Gourmet Comparison," the title "Oki Iwagaki Haruka" / "About 2kg (10-12 Pieces)," and the subhead "Shimakaze Seikatsu (島風生活。楽天市場店) | Frozen In-Shell Raw Iwagaki (Seafood)." On the right, the shop's product photo of in-shell iwagaki (rock oysters), with two opened oysters showing the meat and green sprigs placed among them. There is no text in the photo
Information as of 2026.09.25 PR
Photo of in-shell iwagaki (rock oysters) with two opened oysters showing the meat and green sprigs placed among them. Product page image for Oki Iwagaki Haruka, about 2kg (10-12 pieces)
Image: From the product page of Rakuten Ichiba “Shimakaze Seikatsu (島風生活。楽天市場店)”

“Oki Iwagaki Haruka” is a frozen, in-shell raw iwagaki (rock oyster) product whose product description gives the harvest area (place of origin) as Hobomi Bay in Ama Town, Oki, Shimane Prefecture (島根県隠岐海士町保々見湾). “Oki” in the title and product name is a place name referring to the area where this harvest area is located and does not indicate any superiority in quality. “Tabegoro Size” (食べごろサイズ, roughly “good-to-eat size”) in the product name is likewise a grade name the shop has assigned and does not indicate any ranking or superiority in quality. With frozen in-shell oysters, it’s natural to wonder how many are in the box, how to thaw them, and by when they should be eaten. In this article, we’ve organized the publicly available product information and review-site listings for Iwagaki Haruka, about 2kg (10-12 pieces), sold by Shimakaze Seikatsu on Rakuten Ichiba, into five points: contents, storage and how to eat, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Contents and included items
  • Storage method, use-by date, and how to eat
  • Ingredient and allergen labeling
  • Whether it’s suitable as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name[Direct from Oki Island] Iwagaki Haruka, Tabegoro Size, about 2kg, 10-12 pieces (【隠岐島直送】いわがき春香 食べごろサイズ 約2kg10~12個). “Tabegoro Size” is a grade name the shop has assigned and does not indicate any ranking or superiority in qualitySource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)
NameFrozen raw iwagaki (rock oysters), for raw consumption (冷凍生いわがき(生食用))Source: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)
Contents2kg (Small size × 10-12 pieces). “Small size” is a grade name the shop has assigned and does not indicate any ranking or superiority in quality. The product description also mentions an included cocktail sauce (35g)Source: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page. The sales page (LP) images list cocktail sauce (35g × 1 pack), an oyster knife, and work gloves as contentsSource: Sales page (LP) images within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)
Part usedIn the shell (frozen whole)Source: Sales page (LP) images within the Rakuten Ichiba product page
StorageKeep frozen at -18°C or below (both the oysters and the cocktail sauce)Source: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
Best-before dateFor the oysters, the “use-by date” field states within 30 days of the shipping date. For the cocktail sauce, the “best-before date” field states within 90 days of the dispatch dateSource: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)
Country/region of originHarvest area: Hobomi Bay, Ama Town, Oki, Shimane PrefectureSource: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
Place of processingThe “processor name” field in the product description lists Furusato Ama Co., Ltd. (株式会社ふるさと海士), 1524-1 Fukui, Ama Town, Oki District, Shimane PrefectureSource: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
State / how to eat (whether cooking is required)The name is shown as “frozen raw iwagaki (for raw consumption).” It is frozen whole in the shell, and the sales page describes thawing it in water and then opening the shell to eatSource: Product description and sales page (LP) images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026). We could not find any guidance from the seller on how to cook it. Please check the purchase page for precautions regarding raw consumption
Thawing methodThe sales page (LP) images show two different times: 45 minutes in the heading of the thawing section, and 30 minutes in water in a subheading of the same sectionSource: Sales page (LP) images within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026). How long it keeps after thawing is not confirmed
ShippingWhether it ships at a frozen temperature (frozen delivery) is not stated, so this is not confirmed. The sales page (LP) images state that the product can be delivered at any time of yearSource: Sales page (LP) images within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026). Please check the purchase page for the estimated time until dispatch
ManufacturerFurusato Ama Co., Ltd., 1524-1 Fukui, Ama Town, Oki District, Shimane Prefecture. For the oysters it is listed in the “processor name” field, and for the cocktail sauce in the “manufacturer” fieldSource: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page
ShopShimakaze Seikatsu (島風生活。楽天市場店) on Rakuten Ichiba

The sales page (LP) states, according to the shop, that the product was featured in a special section of the magazine Fujin Gaho (婦人画報), September 2020 issue. This feature dates from 2020 and is not the latest, and it does not indicate any superiority in qualitySource: Sales page (LP) within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)。

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

The oysters’ name is listed as frozen raw iwagaki (for raw consumption), and the place of origin (harvest area) as Hobomi Bay, Ama Town, Oki, Shimane Prefecture. The ingredients of the included cocktail sauce are listed as tomato ketchup, fresh lemon, horseradish, Tabasco, white pepper, salt / citric acid, V.CSource: Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026)。

Within what we could check, the product page does not show allergen labeling for either the oysters or the cocktail sauce. This item is not confirmed. Oysters (kaki) are a type of shellfish. If you have allergy concerns, ask the shop before buying, and always check the label on the product you receive, both when purchasing and on delivery.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed September 25, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

What to checkFor this productBasis
1. Contents and included items 2kg (Small size × 10-12 pieces). The sales page (LP) images also list cocktail sauce (35g × 1 pack), an oyster knife, and work gloves as contents. Please check the purchase page for how many servings it makes Product description and sales page (LP) images on the product page
2. Storage and how to eat Keep frozen at -18°C or below; use-by date within 30 days of the shipping date. The name is frozen raw iwagaki (for raw consumption), and the sales page (LP) images give two thawing times: 45 minutes and 30 minutes in water Product description and sales page (LP) images on the product page
3. Ingredient and allergen labeling Ingredients of the cocktail sauce are listed. Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not shown on the page) Product description on the product page
4. Whether it’s suitable as a gift The Rakuten gift section shows nothing, while the sales page (LP) images state that wrapping and noshi (gift wrapping label) are available, so the two listings conflict. Please check the purchase page for the types of noshi inscription and packaging Gift section of the Rakuten product page and sales page (LP) images
5. Trends in reviews The Rakuten Minna no Review rating is 4.69/5 (631 reviews, accessed September 25, 2026). We read about 30 reviews on the first page under the default sort order (standard). Posts ranged from 2022 to September 2026 (most recent: September 19, 2026), and this sort order may not reflect the product’s current state. Many comments praised the size and richness of the meat, how easy the shells were to open, and the included sauce, while some mentioned saltiness, thawing time, and the freezer space it takes up Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed September 25, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

The gift section on the Rakuten Ichiba product page shows no information on noshi, wrapping, or message cardsSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026). On the other hand, the sales page (LP) images state that wrapping and noshi are available and that names can be printed on the noshi, that gift cards are available, and that documents showing prices, such as delivery slips, are not included in the packageSource: Sales page (LP) images within the Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed September 25, 2026), so the two listings conflict. The types of noshi inscription and the type of packaging, such as a gift box, are not stated, so please check the purchase page.

  • Whether noshi, wrapping, and gift cards can be specified when ordering (please check the purchase page)
  • Since it is about 2kg of frozen in-shell oysters, whether the recipient has room in their freezer
  • Whether you can specify a delivery date and time the recipient can receive it

What Public Reviews Say

Below is a summary of the ratings and review content publicly posted on Rakuten Ichiba. The rating figures are as of the time we checked and will change afterward. The Rakuten Minna no Review rating is 4.69/5 (631 reviews, accessed September 25, 2026). We read about 30 reviews on the first page under the default sort order (standard). This sort order may not reflect the product’s current state.

What Reviewers Praise

Many comments say that even at the Tabegoro Size the meat was large and satisfying, or that the oysters were rich and creamy and did not seem frozen. Many also mention that the included knife and gloves and the instructions with photos made the shells easy to open, that the included cocktail sauce went well with them, and that they are repeat buyers.

Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed September 25, 2026, summarized)

What Reviewers Note

Some reviewers noted a salty taste (others said it was not noticeable after rinsing), that thawing took time, such as about 1 hour in cold water, that the product takes up a lot of freezer space, or that the price has gone up. Other comments said 5 of 12 oysters were on the small side, or that the knife and gloves were not included; to the latter, the shop replied that “not needed” had been selected when ordering.

Source: Rakuten Minna no Review (accessed September 25, 2026, summarized)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Looking for frozen in-shell iwagaki whose name is labeled “for raw consumption”
  • Want to open 10-12 oysters from the shell and eat them at home
  • Prefer a product that comes with cocktail sauce, a knife, and gloves

Who Should Be Careful

  • Have a shellfish allergy (allergen labeling is not confirmed, so ask before buying)
  • Don’t have room in the freezer for about 2kg of in-shell oysters
  • Want to check precautions on raw consumption and the estimated dispatch time before choosing (please check the purchase page)
  • Want to specify gift details such as noshi inscription or packaging (please check the purchase page)
Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba (Shimakaze Seikatsu) Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is September 25, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
Availability of the same product on Yahoo! Shopping and Amazon has not been confirmed, so this article treats it as not confirmed.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. Frozen in-shell iwagaki, 2kg (Small size × 10-12 pieces), named frozen raw iwagaki (for raw consumption). The sales page (LP) images also list cocktail sauce (35g × 1 pack), an oyster knife, and work gloves as contents
  2. Keep frozen at -18°C or below; use-by date within 30 days of the shipping date. The sales page (LP) images give two thawing times: 45 minutes and 30 minutes in water
  3. Allergen labeling could not be confirmed on the product page. Please check the purchase page for precautions regarding raw consumption, the estimated dispatch time, and the types of noshi

Related Pages

This article organizes information publicly available on each retailer’s site. Product details such as contents, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: September 25, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Shimakaze Seikatsu (島風生活。楽天市場店)” product page and sales page (LP), Rakuten Minna no Review, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC