Hiroshima Frozen Oysters 1kg (850g after thawing) are shucked Hiroshima-grown oysters frozen one by one, and the seller describes them as for cooking. The raw material origin is Hiroshima Prefecture and the place of processing is Onomichi, Hiroshima (the location of the processor); the product page lists them as separate items.
With frozen oysters, the size of each piece changes by grade (L, 2L, 3L) and how long they keep after thawing is hard to tell, so they can be hard to choose. For this product, this article organizes the publicly available product information and the Rakuten customer review entries into five points: quantity, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
As of the check on October 7, 2026, only size 3L was in stock on Yahoo! Shopping (2L and L were out of stock).
What We Confirmed
- Amount and a guideline for the number of servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product Name | 《冷凍》Hiroshima Frozen Oysters 1kg (850g after thawing) for cooking (written with the promotional wording about price, coupons and timing, and the strings of search keywords, removed from the Rakuten Ichiba product name) |
|---|---|
| Name | Hiroshima frozen oysters, for cooking, farmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Amount | All of L, 2L and 3L are listed as 1kg (850g after thawing). The number of pieces and the number of servings are not stated on the product page and are not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description |
| What Changes by Selection | Choose from sizes (L / 2L / 3L). The amount is 1kg for all of them; only the size of each piece changes. An image in the product description gives a guideline weight per piece of about 22g for L, about 29g for 2L and about 40g for 3L, and states that there may be some variation in size depending on the seasonSource: size selection field on the Rakuten Ichiba product page, image in the product description (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Storage Method | Keep frozen (store at −18°C or below)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page description |
| Best-Before Date | The seller states that products with at least 30 days remaining until the best-before date are delivered. How long it keeps after thawing is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description |
| Raw Material Origin | Hiroshima PrefectureSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description (“Origin” field) |
| Place of Processing | Onomichi, Hiroshima (the location of クニヒロ株式会社, listed on the product page as the processor)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page description (“Processor” field) |
| State / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Required) | The seller describes it as for cooking. The name is shown as “加熱調理用” (for cooking), and the page states that it must always be cooked before eatingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description |
| Thawing Method | The page advises thawing under running water or lukewarm water and cooking while half-thawed, with the center still frozen. It also cautions against thawing too far. It also advises rinsing the ice off the surface quickly under running water before cooking, and says soaking in sake reduces the odorSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page description, image in the product description (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Shipping | Described as frozen delivery (Cool Takkyubin). The guideline for dispatch is usually 2 to 4 business days (excluding shop holidays), and delivery to Hokkaido, the six Tohoku prefectures, Niigata, Okinawa and remote islands is stated to take 2 daysSource: same shop’s product page on Yahoo! Shopping (shipping information), Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 7, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | クニヒロ株式会社 (15-13 Higashi-Onomichi, Onomichi, Hiroshima) *The product page labels this “Processor”Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page description |
| Shop | クニヒロ Marine Box (Rakuten Ichiba) / クニヒロマリンボックス (Yahoo! Shopping) |
Prices change, so they are not listed. Please check the latest price and stock at the links above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, we could not find ingredient names or allergen labeling on the Rakuten Ichiba and Yahoo! Shopping product pages or in the images in the product description. This item is not confirmed.
This product is oysters themselves (shellfish). If you have an oyster or shellfish allergy, you cannot eat it. To check any other ingredients, additives or allergen labeling, please contact the shop before purchasing, or check the collective food labeling on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 7, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to Check | For This Product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount and Number of Servings | 1kg (850g after thawing) for all of L, 2L and 3L. The size of each piece changes by grade. The number of pieces and servings are not confirmed | Product page description, image in the product description |
| 2. Storage Method and Shelf Life | Keep frozen, −18°C or below. The seller states that products with at least 30 days until the best-before date are delivered. How long it keeps after thawing is not confirmed | Product page description |
| 3. Ingredients and Allergen Labeling | Not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Checked the Rakuten Ichiba and Yahoo! Shopping product pages |
| 4. Suitable as a Gift? | No mention of noshi, gift wrapping or message cards could be found; not confirmed | No relevant description found on the product page |
| 5. Review Trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.83 / 5 (2,883 reviews). Many reviewers praise the size of the pieces, how satisfying they are to eat, and being able to use them one at a time, while some posts point to odor or a fishy smell and to pieces being smaller than expected, and some mention feeling unwell after eating. What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026), all 6 of the 1★ reviews (January 2025 to March 2026) and all 17 of the 2★ reviews (March 2024 to August 2026), 83 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
On the Rakuten Ichiba product page, we could not find any mention of support for noshi, gift wrapping or message cards. All of these are not confirmed, and we do not word it as if they were supported. The Yahoo! Shopping product page shows “お届け日指定可” (delivery date can be specified). Whether a delivery date can be specified on Rakuten Ichiba is not confirmed.
If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following points with the shop before purchasing will help avoid misunderstandings.
- Whether noshi, wrapping and message cards are supported (not stated on the product page)
- Because it arrives frozen, whether you can specify a date and time when the recipient can receive it
- Whether the recipient has freezer space for 1kg
Among the reviews we read, some posts said the product was sent as a gift (3 of the 60 reviews in the default order). This is how the reviewers used it and does not show what the shop supports. Source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 7, 2026.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.83 / 5 | 2,883 | October 7, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 2,467 / 4★ 359 / 3★ 34 / 2★ 17 / 1★ 6 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed October 7, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026; all 60 are from the past two years), all 6 of the 1★ reviews (January 2025 to March 2026) and all 17 of the 2★ reviews (March 2024 to August 2026), 83 in total. Of the 23 reviews at 1★ and 2★ that we read, 22 were posted in the past two years. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Size and Satisfying Bite
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 37 mentioned that the pieces were large or satisfying to eat. There are posts saying that even 2L is plenty big, and posts from people who chose 3L and were surprised by the size. Many posts say they used them in hot pot or fried oysters.
Shrinkage After Cooking
7 of the 60 reviews in the default order said the oysters did not shrink much when cooked. On the other hand, 5 posts said they shrank, and 4 of those said they were still satisfied with the size even after shrinking.
Can Be Used One at a Time
8 of the 60 reviews in the default order said the oysters were frozen one by one and they could take out just the amount they needed.
No Odor Noticed
6 of the 60 reviews in the default order said they noticed no odor or fishy smell while cooking or eating.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Odor and Fishy Smell
Of the 23 reviews at 1★ and 2★, 10 (3 at 1★ and 7 at 2★; all posted in the past two years) said that an odor or fishy smell bothered them even after cooking. Some posts say that it may have been just their own batch.
How to check: The seller’s thawing and preparation guidance (rinse off the ice under running water, cook while half-thawed, soak in sake) is in the “Thawing Method” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Smaller Than Expected
Of the 23 reviews at 1★ and 2★, 4 (all posted in the past two years) mentioned that the pieces that arrived were smaller than expected, or that they became smaller when cooked. These include a post from someone who chose 3L.
How to check: The guideline weight per piece and the seller’s note that there may be some variation in size depending on the season are in the “What Changes by Selection” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Feeling Unwell After Eating
Of the 23 reviews at 1★ and 2★, 3 (1 at 1★ and 2 at 2★; all posted in the past two years) mentioned feeling unwell after eating. These are the reviewers’ own statements; this article has not confirmed the cause and does not evaluate them.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 7, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to use it in cooked dishes such as hot pot, fried dishes and stir-fries
- Want to take out and use only the amount needed (some reviews say they could use them one at a time)
- Care about the size of the pieces and a satisfying bite
- Have freezer space for 1kg
Who Should Be Careful
- Have an oyster or shellfish allergy (you cannot eat it; other ingredient labeling is also not confirmed)
- Want to eat it without cooking (the seller describes it as for cooking)
- Are sensitive to odors (some reviews point to an odor or fishy smell)
- Want to know clearly in advance how long it keeps after thawing (not confirmed)
- Want to use it as a gift on the premise of noshi or wrapping (no mention could be found)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 7, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
*As of the check on October 7, 2026, only size 3L was in stock on Yahoo! Shopping (2L and L were out of stock). Stock changes, so please check the size and stock at the link before purchasing.
Summary
- Frozen oysters for cooking; all of L, 2L and 3L are 1kg (850g after thawing). The number of pieces and servings are not confirmed, and the size of each piece changes by grade
- Store at −18°C or below. The seller states that products with at least 30 days until the best-before date are delivered, but how long it keeps after thawing is not confirmed
- Ingredient and allergen labeling could not be confirmed on the product page. Mentions of noshi and wrapping could not be confirmed either. People with an oyster or shellfish allergy cannot eat it
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on various retail sites and review sites. Product details such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 7, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “クニヒロ Marine Box” product page, same shop’s product page on Yahoo! Shopping, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments