“Otaru Kitaichi” is the seller’s trade name, and “Otaru” and “Hokkaido” in the product and shop name refer to the seller’s location, not the origin of the ingredients (the raw-material origin and processing location are not confirmed). With a frozen osechi (traditional Japanese New Year’s food), it can be hard to tell what’s inside or when to start thawing it, so questions like “how many people does it serve and how much food is that” and “will thawing finish before the best-before date” naturally come up. This article organizes the publicly available product information and review-site listings for Otaru Kitaichi’s Seafood Osechi “Kotobuki” (7.5-sun single-tier box, 20 dishes, serves 2) into five points: contents, storage method, ingredient labeling, gift suitability, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and how many people it serves
- Storage method and best-before date
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it’s suitable as a gift
- Trends in published reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Otaru Kitaichi Seafood Osechi “Kotobuki,” 7.5-Sun Single-Tier Box, 20 Dishes, Serves 2 |
|---|---|
| Name | Seafood Osechi “Kotobuki”Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026) |
| Amount | A 7.5-sun single-tier box with 20 dishes, serving 2 (about 25.7×19.6×5.3cm; comes with 2 pairs of New Year’s chopsticks (iwaibashi), a furoshiki (a traditional Japanese wrapping cloth), a printed dish list, and a thawing-instructions leaflet)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026). “Serves 2” is the shop’s guideline figure, and we could not find a breakdown by person or the amount (in grams) of each dish on the product page. |
| Storage Method | Keep frozen at -18°C or belowSource: same as above |
| Best-Before Date | Best before January 31, 2027Source: same as above |
| Raw Material Origin | Not confirmed |
| Place of Processing | Not confirmed |
| Condition / How to Eat (Whether Heating Is Needed) | It is delivered frozen, and instructions say to thaw it before eatingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026). Whether heating is required is not stated by the seller and is not confirmed. |
| Thawing Method | Instructions say to allow about 20-24 hours to thaw in the refrigeratorSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026). Instructions also say not to refreeze it. |
| Delivery | Delivered by frozen parcel service. It cannot be shipped combined with other itemsSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026). On the same shop’s Yahoo! Shopping page, the shipping-status field shows “expected to be in stock around late December 2026” (this is not an explicit shipping date or delivery date)Source: Yahoo! Shopping store page (confirmed September 28, 2026). The Rakuten Ichiba product page only offers a dropdown in the cart to choose a preferred delivery date, and does not state an expected shipping start date. |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (the page lists only “Seller: 小樽きたいち株式会社 (Otaru Kitaichi Co., Ltd.)”; it does not separately state a manufacturer or processor)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026) |
| Shop | Otaru Kitaichi Osechi Specialty Shop (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, neither the Rakuten Ichiba product page nor the Yahoo! Shopping product page shows a list of ingredient names, additives, or allergen labeling. We also could not find a dedicated official online shop for this store, and there was no other source we could check. This item is not confirmed.
Because a seafood osechi packs many ingredients into a single tiered box, it may contain several of the specific raw materials that Japan’s Food Labeling Act requires to be declared, such as shrimp, crab, salmon roe, salmon, and squid. If you have an allergy to crustaceans, fish roe, or similar items, please contact the seller before buying, or be sure to check the food label on the enclosed dish list or the collective labeling sticker when the product arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed September 28, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | For this product | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Contents and how many people it serves | A 7.5-sun single-tier box, 20 dishes, serves 2 (“serves 2” is the shop’s guideline figure) | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026) |
| 2. Storage method and best-before date | Keep frozen at -18°C or below. Best before January 31, 2027 | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026) |
| 3. Ingredient and allergen labeling | Not confirmed (not listed on either marketplace’s page) | Checked both the Rakuten Ichiba and Yahoo! Shopping product pages |
| 4. Whether it’s suitable as a gift | Whether noshi or gift wrapping is offered is not confirmed. Only a furoshiki wrapping cloth is listed as included | Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed September 28, 2026) |
| 5. Trends in reviews | 569 Rakuten reviews, average 4.21 / 5. We checked the reviews shown at the top in the default sort order (the number we read is not confirmed). Posts span from September 17, 2025 to April 8, 2026, with the most recent posted April 8, 2026. Because this is a cumulative total across multiple osechi seasons, it may not reflect the product’s current state. Many reviews say it’s delicious and looks impressive, while some note it feels watery after thawing. | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed September 28, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
Whether the product page supports noshi, packaging (gift box, simple gift box, or gift wrapping), message cards, or name printing is not confirmed. There is a heading labeled “About Wrapping,” but we could not find specific details shown under itSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (confirmed September 28, 2026). The page does note that a furoshiki is includedSource: same as above.
If you’re considering this as a gift, confirming the following with the seller before buying can help avoid misunderstandings.
- Whether noshi, packaging, message cards, or name printing are supported (not stated on the product page)
- Since it arrives by frozen parcel delivery, whether the recipient can specify a date and time to receive it
- The Yahoo! Shopping page shows “expected to be in stock around late December 2026,” which is not an explicit shipping or delivery date, so whether the timing will fit your year-end/New Year plans
What Public Reviews Say
The following organizes what we found by actually reading the Rakuten Ichiba review page (we checked the reviews shown at the top in the default sort order; the number we read is not confirmed). The rating figures reflect the time we viewed the page and will change afterward. *Note: these reviews are a cumulative total across multiple osechi seasons, so this trend may not reflect the product’s current state.
| Site | Rating | Count | Viewed on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.21 / 5 | 569 | September 28, 2026 |
Posts span from September 17, 2025 to April 8, 2026, with the most recent posted on April 8, 2026.
What Reviewers Praise
Comments saying it’s delicious and looks impressively lavish stand out. Some reviews say the amount was just right for 2 servings, and others say the quality felt good for the price.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed September 28, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Some reviews note that it felt watery after thawing, and others say they wished for a bit more food. There are also reviews mentioning that some ingredients had shifted or been damaged during delivery, and comments about the quality of the tiered box.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed September 28, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to prepare a seafood osechi without the effort
- Looking for an amount that’s just right for 2 servings
- Want something frozen that will keep until the end of the year
- Want it wrapped in a furoshiki
Who Should Be Careful
- Care about ingredient and allergen labeling (not confirmed, so you’ll need to contact the seller)
- Care about gift-related support such as noshi or packaging (not confirmed)
- Are concerned about wateriness after thawing or shifting during delivery (noted in reviews)
- Want to pin down the shipping start date early (not stated on the Rakuten page)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is September 28, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- A 7.5-sun single-tier box with 20 dishes, a volume for 2 servings. Since it’s delivered frozen, plan your thawing timing so it’s ready before the best-before date (January 31, 2027)
- Keep it frozen at -18°C or below. The Rakuten product page does not state a shipping timeframe; the Yahoo! Shopping page shows “expected to be in stock around late December 2026” (not an explicit shipping date)
- We could not confirm ingredient/allergen labeling or the type of noshi on the product page. If this matters to you, check with the seller before buying
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on the seller’s and review sites. Product details such as the amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: September 28, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Otaru Kitaichi Osechi Specialty Shop” product page, Yahoo! Shopping’s same-shop page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments