Kanefuku Mentaiko 1kg (Ipponmono 3L) — Contents, Shelf Life & Reviews

Featured image. Product photo of Kanefuku Mentaiko 1kg Uncolored Ipponmono (3L): a black gift box with gold and red triangles on the left, and on the right a blue foam tray with whole mentaiko lined up in two rows. At the top is text the shop put in the image: "かねふく辛子明太子 無着色" and "3Lサイズ 1kg(一本物)"; the box reads "無着色", "からし明太子" and "かねふく"
Information as of 2026.10.02 PR
Product photo of Kanefuku Mentaiko 1kg Uncolored Ipponmono (3L): a black gift box with gold and red triangles on the left, and on the right a blue foam tray with whole mentaiko lined up in two rows. At the top is text the shop put in the image: "かねふく辛子明太子 無着色" and "3Lサイズ 1kg(一本物)"; the box reads "無着色", "からし明太子" and "かねふく"
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “かねふく公式 楽天市場店” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Because 1kg is a large amount, the product name alone makes it hard to tell how many servings it makes, what condition “ipponmono” refers to, and by when it should be eaten after thawing. Based on the product page of Kanefuku Official Rakuten Ichiba Store (かねふく公式 楽天市場店) and published reviews, this article organizes the information into five points: amount, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba View on Amazon Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and the specification (ipponmono / 3L)
  • Storage method and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product nameKanefuku Mentaiko 1kg Uncolored (無着色) Ipponmono (太っ腹 3L Size)
Name辛子めんたいこ (karashi mentaiko)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field (viewed October 2, 2026)
Amount1kg (ipponmono 3L). Product size: 27 × 18 × 6cm. We found no statement of how many servings it makes or how many pieces the 1kg contains (not confirmed)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field (viewed October 2, 2026)
Specification (ipponmono / 3L)This article covers the 3L ipponmono. We found no definition of “ipponmono” on the product page (not confirmed). Banners for products of other specifications from the same shop line the bottom of the product page, but they are not options on the same page. This is a different specification and a different product from the shop’s “wakeari (imperfect/irregular, sold at a discount) 2kg (namikiri)” covered in another article on this siteSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)
Reason for the discount (wakeari)The product name and catchphrase contain the word “wakeari,” but the reason for the wakeari is not stated on the product page (not confirmed)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)
Storage method−10°C or below. The page advises that you can also wrap the roe one piece at a time in plastic wrap, put the pieces in small bags, and store them in the freezerSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field / the portioned-storage guidance is from the product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us)
Best-before date3 months frozen (within about 8 days after thawing). Separately, the product description images advise eating thawed (previously frozen) roe within about 1 week regardless of the best-before date, so the wording differs by sourceSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field / the 1-week guidance is from the product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us)
Country of origin (raw materials)Walleye pollock ovaries: United States or RussiaSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, within the “Ingredients” entry (viewed October 2, 2026)
Place of processingHigashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture (Kanefuku Hakata No. 3 Factory, 1-9-22 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, “Manufacturing site” entry (viewed October 2, 2026)
Condition / how to eat (heating required?)We could not find any guidance on the product page about whether it can be eaten raw or needs heating (not confirmed)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 2, 2026)
Thawing methodThe page advises thawing slowly and naturally in a household refrigerator, using overnight as a guide. It also says that thawing too quickly crushes the grains because of the temperature difference and causes drip (liquid) to come outSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us)
Cautions after openingnot confirmed
ShippingThe page says it arrives in simple packaging with a black sleeve, inside a light-blue shipping bag. No shipping temperature range is stated (not confirmed)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us)
ManufacturerKanefuku Co., Ltd. (株式会社かねふく) (1-5-25 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, “Manufacturer” entry (viewed October 2, 2026)
ShopKanefuku Official Rakuten Ichiba Store (かねふく公式 楽天市場店) (Rakuten Ichiba)

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Explanatory image showing the contents and size of Kanefuku Mentaiko 1kg Uncolored Ipponmono (3L): a blue foam tray with mentaiko lined up in two rows, separated by green decorative leaves. Text the shop put in the image: "商品のサイズ", the dimensions "約27cm", "約18cm" and "約6cm", and "3L" on a green label on the tray
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “かねふく公式 楽天市場店” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

As far as we confirmed, the ingredients are labeled as: walleye pollock ovaries (United States or Russia), salt, brewed seasoning, fructose-glucose syrup, chili pepper / seasoning (amino acids, etc.), antioxidant (vitamin C), enzyme, color-developing agent (sodium nitrite), (contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin as part of the ingredients)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field (viewed October 2, 2026). “Uncolored” (無着色) in the product name is the shop’s label, and we found no coloring listed in the ingredients field.

Wheat is among the specified ingredients whose labeling is mandatory under Japan’s Food Labeling Act, and soybeans and gelatin are among the items for which labeling is recommended. If you have a relevant allergy, or want to check the additives used in processing (antioxidant, color-developing agent, etc.), please ask the seller before buying, or check the food information label on the product once it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

Point to checkFor this productSource
1. Amount & servings 1kg (ipponmono 3L). Number of servings and pieces: not confirmed Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field. No number of servings is stated
2. Storage & shelf life −10°C or below. 3 months frozen, within about 8 days after thawing (Product Details field). The product description images advise about 1 week after thawing Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field and product description images
3. Ingredients & allergen labeling Contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin. Ingredients include walleye pollock ovaries (United States or Russia) and others Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field
4. Suitable as a gift? Noshi (gift-wrapping label) wrapping is said to be available. Types of inscription, wrapping and message cards: not confirmed. The page says it is delivered in simple packaging Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us)
5. Review trends The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.6 / 5 (175 reviews). We read 70 (60 in the standard order and 10 at 1★ to 3★); these are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. The trends are summarized in the “What Public Reviews Say” section Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (viewed October 2, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

The Rakuten product description images include guidance, in effect, that the item can be used as a gift and that noshi (gift-wrapping label) wrapping is available (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images, October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us). On the other hand, because it arrives in simple packaging, it is described as suited to casual gifts for people you are close to, and it is not described as coming in a gift box. The simple packaging cuts materials to reduce household waste, and because it is only a simple lid placed on top, the page warns to watch for leaks. Support for noshi inscription types, wrapping, message cards and name printing is not found on the product page (not confirmed). The page advises specifying the desired delivery date and time in the cart. Words such as oseibo (year-end gift) and uchi-iwai (return gift) are lined up at the end of the product description, but they are a list of keywords and cannot be read as a promise of support. If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following points with the shop before buying makes misunderstandings less likely.

  • Whether it supports noshi inscription types (nothing on the product page)
  • Whether it supports wrapping and message cards (nothing on the product page)
  • Because it is a frozen product, whether you can specify a date and time the recipient can receive it
  • Whether the recipient has room in their freezer for 1kg
Explanatory image showing how Kanefuku Mentaiko 1kg Uncolored Ipponmono (3L) is delivered: on the left a drawing of the simple packaging with a black sleeve, and after a red arrow a light-blue shipping bag with a "送り状" label. Text the shop put in the image: "お届けについて", "【お届け時】", "簡易パッケージに黒スリーブをつけて、水色の発送袋に入れて、お届けいたします。" and "ご注文から2〜4営業日で出荷いたします。お届け希望日時がある場合は、カート内にて日時をご指定ください。"
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba “かねふく公式 楽天市場店” product page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. Rating figures are as of viewing and change afterward.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.6 / 5175October 2, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 121 / 4★ 44 / 3★ 5 / 2★ 4 / 1★ 1 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)

What we read: the first 60 reviews in the standard order (Rakuten’s default order) (posted October 2024 to October 2026; latest October 2026). We read the 1 review at 1★ and the 4 at 2★, and because 1★ and 2★ together number fewer than 10, we extended the reading to the 5 at 3★ (70 in total). The counts for each theme are approximate, with a margin of a few reviews depending on how they are counted. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

What Reviewers Praise

Size and satisfying volume

About 24 of the 60 reviews in the standard order mentioned the size or the satisfying volume of the ipponmono. Besides size, some reviews also describe the grains as firm.

Well received as a gift

About 20 reviews said, in effect, that they sent it as an oseibo, an ochugen (mid-year gift) or another gift and that the recipient was pleased.

Buying it again and again

About 10 reviews said, in effect, that they buy it repeatedly or always keep it in the freezer.

Grain definition and popping texture

Seven reviews mentioned how well the grains stand out or the popping texture. All of them were 4★ to 5★ reviews. On the other hand, one review each at 1★ and 3★ said the popping texture was lacking.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Variation in the size of 3L

About 7 reviews, counting the 60 in the standard order and the 9 at 2★ and 3★ together, said it was smaller than expected for a 3L or that the size differed from box to box (about 6 of them posted within the last two years).

How to check: The difference in specification is summarized in the “Specification (ipponmono / 3L)” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.

Frost and freezer burn

A total of 4 reviews — 3 of the 60 in the standard order and 1 of the 4 at 2★ — said that frost was on the product when it arrived or that it seemed freezer-burned (all posted within the last two years).

Mild spiciness and a coarse taste

3 of the 60 reviews in the standard order said it was mildly spicy or that the taste felt coarse compared with another product number (all posted within the last two years).

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Value the size and satisfying volume of the ipponmono
  • Want to portion it out, freeze it and use it little by little
  • Have room in the freezer for 1kg

Who Should Be Careful

  • Have an allergy to wheat, soybeans or gelatin
  • Mind the variation in the size of 3L (some reviews said it was smaller)
  • Want to check beforehand whether it can be eaten raw or needs heating (no guidance on the product page)
  • Want to use it as a gift that assumes noshi inscriptions or wrapping
Where to Buy

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. 1kg (ipponmono 3L). The number of servings, the number of pieces and the definition of “ipponmono” are not stated on the product page and are not confirmed
  2. Store at −10°C or below. 3 months frozen and within about 8 days after thawing (Product Details field), while the product description images advise about 1 week after thawing, so the wording differs by source
  3. Contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin. Noshi wrapping is said to be available, but the types of inscription are not confirmed, and it arrives in simple packaging

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on sales sites and review sites. Product information such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “かねふく公式 楽天市場店” product page and product description images, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC