Karashi mentaiko (chili-seasoned pollock roe) is sold under names that vary by shop — kireko (pieces that have broken apart), barako (loose, separated roe), ippon-mono (whole, uncut sacs), and more — for different sizes and shapes, so it can be hard to tell from the product name alone how many grams or pieces you will get, or how long it keeps. This article organizes the publicly available product page information for “Futoppara Mentaiko 700g,” sold by Kanefuku’s official Rakuten Ichiba store, into five points: amount, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Amount, and roughly how big each piece is
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it’s suitable as a gift
- Trends in published reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the "not confirmed" labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product Name | Kanefuku Futoppara Mentaiko 700g |
|---|---|
| Name | Karashi mentaiko (辛子めんたいこ)Source: Rakuten itemCaption “Ingredients” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| Amount | 700g (350g × 2 bags, 3–4 whole pieces per bag × 2 bags). Each piece is roughly 15cm and 100gSource: Rakuten itemCaption “Amount” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Amount” field / the approximate size per piece is from the Kanefuku official site’s product description text (viewed September 17, 2026) Note that the size grade is labeled differently depending on the source: the Kanefuku official site’s product page text uses “3L size,” while the Rakuten Ichiba product name uses “2L–3L size.” According to a column article on the Kanefuku official site, sizes follow the shop’s own S–JB grading, and the seasoning is the same across all sizesSource: Kanefuku official site product page text / Rakuten Ichiba product name display / Kanefuku official site column, “How Big Is Mentaiko? Explaining Sizes and Differences” (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| Storage Method | Keep frozen, −10°C or belowSource: Rakuten itemCaption “Storage Method” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Storage Method” field (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| Best-Before Date | About 3 months frozen. About 8 days refrigerated after thawingSource: Rakuten itemCaption “Best-Before Date” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Best-Before Date Guide” field (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| Country of origin (raw material) | Walleye pollock roe: United States or RussiaSource: notation within Rakuten itemCaption “Ingredients” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Ingredients” field (viewed September 17, 2026). The specific fishing waters are not confirmed. |
| Place of Processing | Hakata No. 3 Plant (1-9-22 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture)Source: Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Place of Manufacture” field (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| State / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Required) | The product page does not include guidance on whether cooking is required (not confirmed) |
| Thawing Method | The shop advises thawing naturally in the refrigerator, allowing about one nightSource: Rakuten product page’s product description image (September 21, 2026, viewed and recorded by us) |
| Delivery | Cool frozen delivery (Sagawa Express)Source: Rakuten product page, "Shipping Information" field (shown after expanding "View more product specifications"; viewed and recorded by us on September 20, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Kanefuku Co., Ltd. (1-5-25 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture)Source: Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Manufacturer” field (viewed September 17, 2026) |
| Shop | Kanefuku Official Store (Rakuten Ichiba)Source: Rakuten API shopName (measured September 17, 2026) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the latest price and stock at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, the ingredients are listed as: “walleye pollock roe (U.S. or Russia), brewed seasoning, salt, fructose-glucose syrup, chili pepper, base seasoning / seasoning (amino acids, etc.), antioxidant (vitamin C), thickening polysaccharides, enzyme, color-fixing agent (sodium nitrite), (contains wheat, soy, and gelatin in part)”Source: Rakuten itemCaption “Ingredients” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Ingredients” field (viewed September 17, 2026; the two match). The page explicitly states that wheat, soy, and gelatin are included as specified allergensSource: Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Specified Allergens” field (viewed September 17, 2026).
Wheat is one of the items whose labeling is mandatory under Japan’s Food Labeling Act, and soy and gelatin are among the items whose labeling is recommended. If you have a related allergy, or want to check the additives used in processing (such as antioxidants or color-fixing agents), please contact the shop before purchasing, or check the food information label on the item you receive.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed September 17, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| Item to Check | For This Product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / Servings | 700g (350g × 2 bags, each piece roughly 15cm and 100g). The size grade is labeled “3L size” or “2L–3L size” depending on the source | Rakuten itemCaption “Amount” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Amount” field; same column article. No stated number of servings |
| 2. Storage Method and Shelf Life | Keep frozen, −10°C or below. About 3 months frozen; about 8 days refrigerated after thawing | Rakuten itemCaption “Storage Method” / “Best-Before Date” fields; Kanefuku official site product page “Storage Method” / “Best-Before Date Guide” fields |
| 3. Ingredients and Allergen Labeling | Contains wheat, soy, and gelatin as specified allergens. Ingredients include walleye pollock roe (U.S. or Russia), among others | Rakuten itemCaption “Ingredients” field; Kanefuku official site product page “Details” table, “Ingredients” / “Specified Allergens” fields. Both sources match |
| 4. Suitable as a Gift? | Noshi (a Japanese gift-wrapping label) service, name printing on the noshi, and gift wrapping are all available. According to the shop, the product comes in a gift box; the standard wrapping is simple wrapping, with a band of wrapping paper around each product before it is boxed, and the standard noshi is a sticker-type strip. The inscriptions shown are oseibo (year-end gift), ochugen (mid-year gift), magokoro komete (with sincere thanks), orei (thank-you), plain (sunoshi), and one for Buddhist services. Other inscriptions (such as uchi-iwai) and message-card availability are not confirmed | Rakuten product page: “Gift” section, product specifications “packaging method” field, and product description image “About wrapping and noshi” (September 21, 2026, viewed and recorded by us). Inscriptions other than those shown and message-card availability are not stated |
| 5. Review Trends | Rakuten Ichiba rating: 4.75 / 5 (296 reviews). Many comments about the size and satisfaction as a gift | Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi review page (viewed September 17, 2026; the first 20 reviews on page 1 checked) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The gift section of the Rakuten product page clearly states that noshi service, name printing on the noshi, and gift wrapping are all available. The product specifications list the packaging method as a gift box for gifting. The product description image explains that wrapping and noshi are added only when requested with the order; the wrapping is simple wrapping, with a band of wrapping paper around each product before it is boxed; the standard noshi is a sticker-type strip; and customers who want a full-size noshi or one with a name should say so. The inscriptions shown are oseibo (year-end gift), ochugen (mid-year gift), magokoro komete (with sincere thanks), orei (thank-you), plain (sunoshi), and one for Buddhist services (Source: Rakuten product page “Gift” section, product specifications, and product description image “About wrapping and noshi,” September 21, 2026, viewed and recorded by us). However, whether other inscriptions (such as uchi-iwai (return gift)) are available and whether a message card is available are not stated and remain not confirmed. If you are considering this as a gift, confirming the following with the shop before purchase can help avoid misunderstandings.
- Whether inscriptions other than those shown (such as uchi-iwai) are available, and how to request a full-size noshi or one with a name (name printing on the noshi is available)
- Whether you can choose between simple packaging and a gift box
- Delivery is by cool frozen delivery (Sagawa Express). Please check at checkout whether the recipient can specify a receiving date and time
Several reviews mention buying this as a gift for ochugen, oseibo, kaiki-uchiiwai (a return gift for recovery from illness), Father’s Day, and similar occasions (Source: Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi review page, viewed September 17, 2026).
What Public Reviews Say
Below is a summary of what is shown on the publicly available review page. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed the page and may change afterward. The review page includes a note stating that “for products with multiple variations in size, color, or quantity, all variations are shown together in one product’s reviews, and the overall rating is calculated across them,” so the rating may combine other variations within the same “Futoppara Mentaiko 700g” line.
| Site | Rating | Number of Reviews | Date Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi (review page) | 4.75 / 5 | 296 | September 17, 2026 |
What Reviewers Praise
Many reviews mention the size, satisfaction as a gift, the good texture of the roe (a pleasant pop as you bite into it), and the convenience of the two 350g bags. Several reviewers also say they bought it as a gift for ochugen, oseibo, kaiki-uchiiwai, Father’s Day, and similar occasions.
Source: Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi review page (the first 20 reviews on page 1, apparently sorted newest first; viewed September 17, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Some reviews say the pieces are large enough that individual wrapping would be even better, and others mention that the contents cannot be seen from outside the packaging. Of the 20 reviews we checked this time, only 1 had a rating of 3 stars or below.
Source: Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi review page (viewed September 17, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want it noshi-wrapped as a gift
- Want to use it in the two 350g bags, a bit at a time
- Looking for a larger size of mentaiko
- Have freezer space to store it
Who Should Be Careful
- Have a wheat, soy, or gelatin allergy
- Want to confirm the noshi inscription type and packaging format before ordering as a gift
- Want to check the difference between the size labels (“3L size” and “2L–3L size”) with the shop before buying
- Want to confirm in advance whether the receiving date and time can be adjusted, since delivery is by cool frozen delivery (Sagawa Express)
Price, stock, shipping fee, and delivery date are subject to change. This article’s information is current as of September 17, 2026. Please always check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article’s links may include affiliate advertising. Editorial Policy
Summary
- 700g (350g × 2 bags, each piece roughly 15cm and 100g). Kanefuku’s official site labels the size grade “3L size,” while the Rakuten Ichiba product name uses “2L–3L size” — check with the shop before buying if this matters to you
- Keep frozen at −10°C or below. The shop’s guidance suggests about 3 months frozen, and about 8 days refrigerated after thawing
- Contains wheat, soy, and gelatin as specified allergens. If you have a related allergy, or want details on the noshi service, contact the shop before purchasing
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on the seller’s site. Details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s page for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: September 17, 2026 / Sources: Kanefuku official site product page; Kanefuku official site column, “How Big Is Mentaiko? Explaining Sizes and Differences”; Rakuten Ichiba “Kanefuku Official Store” product page; Rakuten Ichiba Product Price Navi review page; Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling”

