This article covers Kanefuku’s wakeari (imperfect/irregular, sold at a discount) mentaiko, 2kg, uncolored (Namikiri). In the shop’s product description images, namikiri is described as a mix of small kireko (pieces whose skin tore during manufacturing) and bara-ko (roe grains only). Because 2kg is a large amount, the product name alone makes it hard to tell how many servings it makes, by when it should be eaten, and what proportion is kireko and bara-ko. Based on the product page of Kanefuku Official Rakuten Ichiba Store (かねふく公式 楽天市場店) and published reviews, this article organizes the information into five points: amount, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and the reason for the wakeari (namikiri)
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Kanefuku Mentaiko Wakeari 2kg Uncolored (無着色) (Namikiri) |
|---|---|
| Name | 辛子めんたいこ (karashi mentaiko)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field; Yahoo! Shopping product page (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Amount | 2kg (namikiri). Product size: 31 × 22 × 6cmSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Reason for the discount (wakeari) | Namikiri is described as a mix of small kireko (pieces whose skin tore during manufacturing) and bara-ko (roe grains only). The page also says the item is delivered in simple packaging because of its large volume, and that the simple packaging cuts materials to reduce household waste. The proportion of kireko and bara-ko is not stated and is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images and description text (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us) |
| Storage method | −10°C or below. The guideline for frozen storage is about 3 months, and the page advises wrapping the roe one piece at a time in plastic wrap, putting the pieces in small bags, and storing them in the freezerSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field / the storage guidance is from the product description images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us) |
| Best-before date | 3 months frozen (8 days refrigerated after thawing). Separately, the product description images advise eating thawed (previously frozen) roe within about 1 week regardless of the best-before date, so the wording differs by sourceSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field; Yahoo! Shopping product page “best-before guideline” field / the 1-week guidance is from the product description images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us) |
| Country of origin (raw materials) | Walleye pollock ovaries: United States or RussiaSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, within the “Ingredients” entry (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Place of processing | Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture (Kanefuku Hakata No. 3 Factory, 1-9-22 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, “Manufacturing site” entry (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Condition / how to eat (heating required?) | We could not find any guidance on whether heating is required on the product page (not confirmed). The product description images include guidance, in effect, that it can be eaten as is and also used in arranged recipesSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us) |
| Thawing method | The page advises thawing slowly and naturally in a household refrigerator, using overnight as a guide. It also says that thawing too quickly crushes the grains because of the temperature difference and causes drip (liquid) to come outSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page, product description images (October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us) |
| Shipping | not confirmed |
| Manufacturer | Kanefuku Co., Ltd. (株式会社かねふく) (1-5-25 Higashihama, Higashi-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field, “Manufacturer” entry (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| Shop | Kanefuku Official Rakuten Ichiba Store (かねふく公式 楽天市場店) (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
As far as we confirmed, the ingredients are labeled as: walleye pollock ovaries (United States or Russia), salt, brewed seasoning, fructose-glucose syrup, chili pepper / seasoning (amino acids, etc.), antioxidant (vitamin C), enzyme, color-developing agent (sodium nitrite), (contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin as part of the ingredients)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field; Yahoo! Shopping product page (viewed October 2, 2026; the two are identical). “Uncolored” (無着色) in the product name is the shop’s label, and we found no coloring listed in the ingredients field.
Wheat is among the specified ingredients whose labeling is mandatory under Japan’s Food Labeling Act, and soybeans and gelatin are among the items for which labeling is recommended. If you have a relevant allergy, or want to check the additives used in processing (antioxidant, color-developing agent, etc.), please ask the seller before buying, or check the food information label on the product once it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 2, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| Point to check | For this product | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount & servings | 2kg (namikiri). A mix of kireko and bara-ko; the proportion is not stated | Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field and product description images. No number of servings is stated |
| 2. Storage & shelf life | −10°C or below. 3 months frozen, 8 days refrigerated after thawing (Product Details field). The product description images advise about 1 week after thawing | Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field and product description images |
| 3. Ingredients & allergen labeling | Contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin. Ingredients include walleye pollock ovaries (United States or Russia) and others | Rakuten Ichiba product page “Product Details” field; Yahoo! Shopping product page (identical) |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | No noshi (gift-wrapping label), wrapping or message card is shown in the “Gift” field, so support for these is not confirmed. The page says it is delivered in simple packaging because of its large volume | Rakuten Ichiba product page “Gift” field and description text (viewed October 2, 2026) |
| 5. Review trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.7 / 5 (166 reviews). We read 67 (59 in the standard order and 8 at 2★ and 3★); these are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. The trends are summarized in the “What Public Reviews Say” section | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (viewed October 2, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The “Gift” field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page shows no support for noshi, wrapping or message cards (Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page “Gift” field, October 2, 2026; viewed and recorded by us). The description text says the item is delivered in simple packaging because of its large volume. Some product description images also recommend it for home use. Support for noshi, written inscriptions, gift boxes and message cards is not confirmed, so this article does not judge whether it suits gift-giving. If you are considering it as a gift, checking the following points with the shop before buying makes misunderstandings less likely.
- Whether it supports noshi and wrapping (nothing is shown in the “Gift” field of the product page)
- Because it arrives frozen, whether you can specify a date and time the recipient can receive it
- Whether the recipient has room in their freezer for 2kg
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. Rating figures are as of viewing and change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.7 / 5 | 166 | October 2, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 126 / 4★ 32 / 3★ 6 / 2★ 2 / 1★ 0 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 2, 2026)
What we read: 59 reviews in the standard order (Rakuten’s default order) (posted October 2024 to September 2026; latest September 2026). There were 0 reviews at 1★; we read the 2 at 2★ and the 6 at 3★ (because 1★ and 2★ together number fewer than 10, we extended the reading to 3★). These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
An amount you can portion out and finish
14 of the 59 reviews in the standard order said that even at 2kg, they portioned it, froze it and used it little by little. The writing centers on not being overwhelmed by the large amount.
Easy to use in cooking
13 reviews said the shape of the kireko and bara-ko makes them easy to use in dishes such as pasta, rice balls and tamagoyaki (rolled omelet).
Grain texture
7 reviews mentioned the grainy, popping texture. All of them were 5★ reviews.
Level of spiciness
6 reviews said it had a mild kick and a moderate level of spiciness.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Few kireko
3 of the 59 reviews in the standard order and 2 of the 6 reviews at 3★ said that although it was described as namikiri, it was almost all bara-ko with few kireko (5 in total, 4 of them posted within the last two years). The proportion of kireko and bara-ko is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed.
How to check: The explanation of namikiri is summarized in the “Reason for the discount (wakeari)” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Portioning a frozen block
4 of the 59 reviews in the standard order said it arrived as a frozen block and took effort to portion out (all 4 posted within the last two years).
How to check: The thawing guideline is summarized in the “Thawing method” row of this article’s “Basic Information” section.
Variation in spiciness and taste
3 of the 59 reviews in the standard order said that the spiciness or taste differed from purchase to purchase, such as being spicier or milder than the previous time (all 3 posted within the last two years).
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 2, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to use a mix of kireko and bara-ko in cooking
- Want to portion it out, freeze it and use it little by little
- Have room in the freezer for 2kg
Who Should Be Careful
- Have an allergy to wheat, soybeans or gelatin
- Want to check the proportion of kireko and bara-ko beforehand (not stated on the product page)
- Mind that the shelf life after thawing differs by source (8 days refrigerated / about 1 week)
- Want to use it as a gift that assumes noshi or wrapping
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 2, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- 2kg (namikiri). The shop describes it as a mix of small kireko whose skin tore and bara-ko; the proportion is not stated and is not confirmed
- Store at −10°C or below. 3 months frozen and 8 days refrigerated after thawing (Product Details field), while the product description images advise about 1 week after thawing, so the wording differs by source
- Contains wheat, soybeans and gelatin. Support for noshi and wrapping is not shown in the “Gift” field and is not confirmed, and the page says it is delivered in simple packaging
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on sales sites and review sites. Product information such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 2, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “かねふく公式 楽天市場店” product page and product description images, Yahoo! Shopping “かねふく公式 Yahoo!ショッピング店” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments