
With unagi kabayaki (grilled eel glazed with a sweet soy-based sauce), even a single shop may offer several options by size, box, and whether kimosui (eel liver soup) is included, so it can be hard to tell how many fillets you get and how to store them once they arrive. In this article, we organized five points about Minato Dining Shioso (港ダイニングしおそう)’s Domestic Unagi Kabayaki (large size, approx. 165g × 2) — quantity, storage method, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews — based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and publicly available reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Quantity and how many people it serves
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredient and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 港ダイニングしおそう Domestic Unagi Kabayaki, Large Size, about 165g × 2 fillets (kimosui optional) |
|---|---|
| Product type | Unagi kabayakiSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 10, 2026) |
| Quantity | Unagi kabayaki approx. 165g × 2 fillets (2 sets of included sauce 10g and included sansho pepper 0.2g)Source: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Options | Size: large (about 165g × 2) / trial size (about 125g × 2) / 3-type set (whole fillet, half-cut, chopped) Packaging: gift box / furoshiki (wrapping cloth) gift (paid option) / regular box (trial size) Kimosui: none / 1 packet / 2 packets (paid options)Source: order options and information images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page. This article covers the large size (about 165g × 2) |
| Storage | Store at −18°C or belowSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Best-before date | Printed on the bottom of the outer box (the number of days is not stated on the product page: not confirmed)Source: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Origin of ingredients | Eel from Kagoshima Prefecture and Miyazaki Prefecture (country of origin: Japan)Source: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed |
| Condition / how to eat (heating required?) | The page states that it has been heated before freezing and should be heated before eatingSource: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Thawing method | Not confirmed (we could not find instructions for thawing or warming on the product page) |
| Shipping | Frozen delivery. The page states that orders placed by 12:00 noon ship the same day (excluding non-business days)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 10, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmed (seller: 株式会社しおそう商店)Source: product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| Shop’s track-record display | Rakuten SHOP OF THE YEAR 2024, Seafood Genre Award (an award given to the shop)This is a track record the shop displays in an information image on the product page. It is not an award for the product |
| Shop | 港ダイニングしおそう (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
The product description explains that eel from southern Kyushu is first grilled plain (shirayaki), then grilled over charcoal and steamed, and then dipped in sauce and grilled again, repeating the sauce-and-grill step four times in total.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredients section of the product page lists soy sauce, mirin (sweet rice seasoning), sugar, and starch for the unagi kabayaki, and states that some ingredients contain wheat and soybeans. The included sauce is also listed as containing wheat and soybeans in some of its ingredients, and the ingredient of the included sansho pepper is sansho (China).
If you choose kimosui, the “うなぎのきも” (eel liver) included is listed as eel liver (Japan) and seasoning (amino acids), and the “きもすいの素” (soup base) as fu (wheat gluten, contains wheat), powdered soy sauce (contains wheat and soybeans), bonito extract (contains wheat), and other items, all in the same ingredients section. Because what arrives changes depending on whether you add kimosui, if you have allergies, be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed October 10, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| Item to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Quantity and servings | The large size is unagi kabayaki approx. 165g × 2 fillets. How many people it serves is not confirmed | Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page. No number of servings is stated |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Store at −18°C or below. The best-before date is printed on the bottom of the outer box; the number of days is not confirmed. The page asks you to store it in the freezer after delivery and not to refreeze it after thawing, as the flavor will be impaired | Product description and information images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 3. Ingredient and allergen labeling | Some ingredients contain wheat and soybeans. The kimosui (liver and soup base) also includes ingredients containing wheat and soybeans | Product description on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 4. Suitability as a gift | The large size comes in a gift box. Furoshiki gift wrapping (paid option) and noshi (gift wrapping label) can be selected. The types of noshi inscription and message cards are not confirmed | Order options and information images on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 5. Review trends | Rated 4.56 / 5 on Rakuten Ichiba (1,864 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026), 30 reviews filtered to 1★ (July 2024 to October 2026; latest October 2026), and 17 reviews filtered to 2★ (July 2021 to August 2026; latest August 2026), 107 in total. Many posts mention size, tender flesh, and the reactions of gift recipients, while some mention odor, tough skin or flesh, and delivery dates. These trends may not reflect the product’s current condition | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 10, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The page states that the large size is shipped in a gift box, containing about 165g × 2 unagi kabayaki, 2 packets of kabayaki sauce with sansho pepper, and 1 sheet of serving instructions and recipes. The trial size comes in a regular box, and there is no information about gift wrapping for it.
- Furoshiki gift: the product in its gift box is wrapped in a furoshiki cloth, double-packed (paid option). The page asks you to be sure to specify the delivery date and time on the order confirmation screen when you choose it
- Noshi: you can choose noshi in the order options. An information image shows where the shipping label goes if you choose noshi (strip sticker). The types of inscription are not confirmed
- Shipping label: normally it is attached directly to the gift box. If, for example, you want it delivered to your own address and then hand it over in person, the page asks you to say so in the request field when ordering
- Message cards / name printing: we could not confirm these on the product page
- Delivery: frozen delivery
Of the 60 reviews we read in the default order, 33 mentioned the reactions of people who received it as a gift for occasions such as Mother’s Day or Father’s Day (source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 10, 2026).

What Public Reviews Say
We organized Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. Rating figures are as of the time of viewing and will change. These reviews cover the whole product page and include posts from people who chose options other than the large size.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.56 / 5 | 1,864 | October 10, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 1,337 / 4★ 376 / 3★ 70 / 2★ 18 / 1★ 63 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 10, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order, plus 47 reviews in total filtered to 1★ and 2★ (the order and posting periods are given in “Five Things to Check Before Buying” above). The 60 reviews in the default order include purchases around Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, ochugen (summer gift season), and Doyo no Ushi no Hi (the midsummer day traditionally for eating eel). These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Size and heartiness
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 19 mentioned that the fillets were large, thick, or filling. All were posted within the last two years. On the other hand, one post described the size as average and one as on the small side.
Plump, tender flesh
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 10 said the flesh was plump or tender.
Gift recipients’ reactions
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 33 said the recipient was pleased with the gift. Many of these relay what the recipient said, so they should be read separately from impressions of people who ate it themselves.
Repeat purchases
Of the 60 reviews in the default order, 13 said they buy it every year or repeatedly.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 10, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Fishy or off odor
Of the 47 reviews we read as 1★ and 2★, 17 (8 of them posted within the last two years) mentioned a fishy, muddy, or other off odor.
Tough skin or flesh
Of the 47 1★ and 2★ reviews, 13 (3 within the last two years) said the skin or flesh was tough, rubbery, or had an unpleasant texture.
Late delivery / not arriving on the specified date
Of the 47 1★ and 2★ reviews, 9 (5 within the last two years) mentioned late delivery, not arriving on the specified date, or arriving half-thawed. These include both cases caused by the delivery company and cases involving the shop’s handling.
How to check: information on specifying the delivery date and time is summarized in the “Suitable as a Gift?” section of this article.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 10, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- People who want two kabayaki fillets of about 165g each, delivered frozen
- People who want to give it in a gift box or as a furoshiki gift
- People who want to choose whether to add kimosui when ordering
Who Should Be Careful
- People with a wheat or soybean allergy (check the label on the product when it arrives)
- People who want to know the number of days until the best-before date or how to thaw and warm it in advance (not confirmed on the product page)
- People giving it as a gift that must arrive on a set date (you need to check how to specify the delivery date and time)
This article is based on the large size (about 165g × 2). In the order options you can also choose the trial size or 3-type set, the packaging, and whether to add kimosui.
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 10, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The large size is unagi kabayaki approx. 165g × 2 fillets. The product page does not state how many people it serves
- Store at −18°C or below. The best-before date is printed on the bottom of the outer box and the number of days is not confirmed. We also could not confirm how to thaw or warm it on the product page
- Some ingredients contain wheat and soybeans. Adding kimosui adds more ingredients, so check the label when it arrives
- For gifts, you can choose a gift box, a furoshiki gift (paid option), and noshi. For the furoshiki gift, the page asks you to specify the delivery date and time
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on various retail and review sites. Product details such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Award history, rankings, and other track-record claims are as stated by the shop on its product page; Ochinity has not independently evaluated them. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 10, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “港ダイニングしおそう” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments