Rice taste-comparison gifts differ from product to product in the number of varieties, the form of the wooden box and wrapping, how to store the rice, and noshi (gift wrapping label) support, so there are many points worth checking before you send one. This article organizes the published product information and review-site entries for 米問屋蔵之助’s “お米ギフト食べくらべ 2合パック16種 木箱入り” (rice gift taste-comparison set, 2-go packs, 16 varieties, wooden box; a go is a traditional Japanese unit for measuring rice) into five points: contents, storage, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and the breakdown of the 16 varieties
- Storage and milling date
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Suitability as a gift (noshi and wrapping)
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 米問屋蔵之助 お米ギフト食べくらべ 2合パック16種 木箱入り (米問屋蔵之助 Rice Gift Taste-Comparison Set, 2-go Packs, 16 Varieties, Wooden Box)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026). The product name shown on the Rakuten product page lists many occasion words such as return gift (uchi-iwai) and year-end gift (oseibo), as well as many variety names |
|---|---|
| Name (food-labeling category) | Milled rice (精米)Source: product specification field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Content volume | 300 g of white rice (2 go) × 16 varieties (16 pieces in total, 4,800 g total weight). This is the only specification, and the purchase field has no option for choosing brandsSource: Same as above |
| Options | Choose the color of the furoshiki (traditional wrapping cloth) from purple, wisteria (ふじ色), wasabi green (わさび色) and pinkSource: purchase field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Storage method | The page advises storing it in an airtight container in a cool, dark place to keep it freshSource: product specification field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Best-before date | Not confirmed |
| Milling date | The page states that milling is planned for the shipping date (it may be milled a few days earlier)Source: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Country of origin (ingredient) | The place of origin and crop year of each of the 16 varieties are in the table below. The page states that the glutinous rice is Reiwa 6 crop and the other 15 varieties are Reiwa 7 cropSource: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Place of processing | Not confirmed |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is needed) | Each pack is described as milled rice in a vacuum-sealed bag. We found no guidance on how to eat it, such as how to cook it, on the product pageSource: product specification field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Delivery | Delivery is by Yu-Pack (ゆうパック), and the page states that you can specify a preferred delivery time slot. The purchase field shows that it can ship within 1 to 3 business days of the orderSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Not confirmedThe seller is stated to be 米問屋蔵之助. We found no separate statement of the manufacturer or the miller |
| Shop | 米問屋蔵之助 (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices change, so none is shown here. Please check the link above for the latest price and stock.
Breakdown of the 16 Varieties
| Brand (銘柄) | Place of origin | Crop year |
|---|---|---|
| 魚沼産コシヒカリ | Uonuma, Niigata Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 奥出雲仁多米 (cultivar: コシヒカリ) | Nita District, Shimane Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 北海道ゆめぴりか | Hokkaido | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 銀の朏 (cultivar: いのちの壱) | Hida, Gifu Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 龍の瞳 (cultivar: いのちの壱) | Nagano Prefecture (shown as applying to shipments from 2025/11/1 to the present) | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 雪若丸 | Yamagata Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| いちほまれ | Fukui Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 青天の霹靂 | Aomori Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| ササニシキ | Miyagi Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 金色の風 | Iwate Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 熊本森のくまさん | Kumamoto Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 佐賀県産さがびより | Saga Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 山形県産つや姫 | Yamagata Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 新潟県産新之助 | Niigata Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| 静岡県産ミルキークイーン | Shizuoka Prefecture | Reiwa 7 crop |
| glutinous rice, もち米 (cultivar: ひよくもち) | Saga Prefecture | Reiwa 6 crop |
Source: description field of the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 14, 2026). The content volume of each brand is 300 g of white rice (2 go)
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, the product page does not show an ingredient list or allergen labeling. The name is shown as milled rice. Allergen labeling is not confirmed. If you are concerned about allergies, ask the shop before buying, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (アレルギー表示について) (viewed October 14, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to check | This product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Content volume and number of servings | 300 g of white rice (2 go) × 16 varieties, 4,800 g in total. The number of servings is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Stated to be stored in an airtight container in a cool, dark place. The best-before date is not confirmed. The milling date is stated to be planned for the shipping date | Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | The name is milled rice, and the place of origin is given for each of the 16 varieties. Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Checked on the Rakuten Ichiba product page |
| 4. Suitability as a gift | Noshi supported (the types of inscription are not confirmed). Comes in a wooden box, and the page states that a furoshiki wrap replaces wrapping paper | Rakuten Ichiba product page (including the purchase field) |
| 5. Trends in reviews | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.87 / 5 (113 reviews). We read 60 of them, and what can be seen from that number of reviews may not reflect the product’s current condition. The breakdown by theme is in the “What Public Reviews Say” section | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (viewed October 14, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The Rakuten Ichiba product page shows that noshi is supported (viewed October 14, 2026). However, we found no list of inscription types such as “御歳暮” (year-end gift) and “内祝” (return gift) on the product page. If you want to specify an inscription, checking with the shop before buying makes a mix-up less likely.
- Noshi: supported. The types of inscription are not confirmed
- Wrapping: comes in a wooden box. The purchase field has a choice of furoshiki color (purple / wisteria (ふじ色) / wasabi green (わさび色) / pink) and a confirmation item stating that a furoshiki wrap is used instead of wrapping paper
- Message card and name printing: we found no statement of support on the product page, so this is not confirmed
- Delivery: the page states that you can specify a preferred delivery time slot
Among the reviews we read, some posts said the set was used for occasions such as return gifts (uchi-iwai), return gifts for condolence offerings (香典返し), housewarming gifts (新築祝い) and oseibo. These are the buyers’ own accounts, and the shop does not state that it supports each of these occasions. There are also posts about sending it directly to the recipient and one post saying the sender’s name could be set to a name different from the buyer’s, but the latter remains the buyer’s account and we could not confirm a statement by the shop (source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 14, 2026).
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by theme. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and change afterwards.
| Site | Rating | Count | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.87 / 5 | 113 | October 14, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 101 / 4★ 10 / 3★ 1 / 2★ 1 / 1★ 0 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 14, 2026)
What we read: the first 58 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2024 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus 1 filtered to 2★ (April 2025) and 1 filtered to 3★ (December 2025), 60 in total. There were no 1★ reviews. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
Tasting 16 varieties in small amounts
Roughly 25 of the 60 reviews we read mentioned the number of brands, the fun of comparing them, or the inclusion of brands one does not usually see. Many posts are written as though the recipient was looking forward to comparing them.
Appearance of the furoshiki wrap
17 of the 60 reviews mentioned the color of the furoshiki, how it was wrapped, or the overall look. Some mentioned the colors wisteria, purple and pink.
Appearance of the wooden box (paulownia box)
About 10 of the 60 reviews mentioned how impressive the wooden box or paulownia box (桐箱) looked, or its high-end feel. Many wrote that, together with the furoshiki, it felt special.
The 2-go portions are just right
4 of the 60 reviews said the 2-go portions were just right, or that each could be eaten in one meal or one day. Two of them were examples of gifts to relatives living alone or as a couple.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 14, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Mistakes in noshi entries or selection
2 of the 60 reviews (one of them a 2★ review) mentioned a mix-up involving the noshi. One post said the kanji of a child’s name on the noshi was wrong on the item that reached the recipient. The other said the noshi option had been selected by mistake and the shop called to confirm, and it thanked the shop for how it handled this.
How to check: Noshi support and the fact that the types of inscription could not be confirmed are summarized in the “Suitable as a Gift?” section of this article.
Price increases and a sense that it is expensive
4 of the 60 reviews mentioned that the price had gone up compared with before, or that it felt expensive. All were impressions from buyers who had decided to buy it as a gift, and the ratings are 3 to 5 stars.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 14, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- You want to give rice that lets the recipient compare 16 varieties at 2 go each, without settling on a single brand
- You want to give it in a wooden box, in the form of a furoshiki wrap
- You are looking for rice to give as a year-end greeting or as oseibo (some reviews say they sent it as oseibo)
- You want to give relatives who live alone or as a couple small amounts at a time
Who Should Be Careful
- You want to choose the brands you give (the 16 varieties are fixed)
- You want to check the best-before date, manufacturer and allergen labeling before buying (not confirmed on the product page)
- You want to choose based on the types of noshi inscription, or on name printing or message card wording (not confirmed)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 14, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
There is an Amazon listing whose product name and specification wording are similar, but we could not confirm the seller shown and could not judge whether it is the same product from the same shop, so we have not added a link.
Summary
- 300 g of white rice (2 go) × 16 varieties, 4,800 g in total. It comes in a wooden box, and according to the purchase field a furoshiki wrap is used instead of wrapping paper
- Storage is described as keeping it in an airtight container in a cool, dark place. The best-before date could not be confirmed on the product page and is not confirmed
- Noshi is shown as supported. The types of inscription, name printing and allergen labeling could not be confirmed, so check with the shop before buying
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the sales sites and review sites. Product details such as content volume, storage method and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s current listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 14, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “米問屋蔵之助” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Amazon product page (used only to check the seller), Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments