This article covers the Koshihikari (Noto rice (能登米) / Ishikawa rice (石川米)) from 中橋商事 on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing for Hodatsushimizu Town, Ishikawa Prefecture. Because one listing mixes several options (place of production: Noto rice / Ishikawa rice; milling: white rice / wash-free rice; amount; frequency: one-time / regular delivery (定期便); shipping time; and harvest year: Reiwa 7 crop / Reiwa 8 crop), we do not fix on a single option and treat them as choices. We organized five points worth checking before you choose: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, whether it works as a gift, and reviews. Please check the harvest year and shipping time in the option fields on the listing before you donate.
What We Confirmed
- Amount and how many servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Noto rice / Ishikawa rice Koshihikari (Hodatsushimizu Town, Ishikawa, 中橋商事)The product name shown on the Rakuten listing is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here. For the “総合1位” (overall No. 1) in that product name and the “ランキング1位” (ranking No. 1) among the related words on the page, the organizer, category, and date could not be confirmed on the product page, so they are not confirmed. This article does not adopt any ranking claim. |
|---|---|
| Name | Rice (Noto rice Koshihikari / Ishikawa rice Koshihikari)Source: product specifications on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Amount | One-time: 2 gō (300g, Noto rice only) / 2kg / 5kg / 10kg (wash-free rice: 5kg × 2 bags) / 20kg (10kg × 2 bags) / 30kg (10kg × 3 bags). For regular delivery, the product description says 5kg every month, for 3 times (15kg total) / 6 times (30kg total) / 12 times (60kg total), but the option field also shows a 10kg regular delivery (see the “Available options” table below). No serving count is given: not confirmedSource: same as above |
| What changes depending on your choice | Six things: place of production, milling, amount, frequency, shipping time, and harvest year. There are restrictions on combinations (see the “Available options” table below). Which options can be chosen may change in the option fields on the listingSource: product specifications and option fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Donation amount | It differs by the place of production, milling, amount, and frequency you choose. This article does not list amounts, so please check the option fields on the listing before you donateSource: option fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Harvest year | Reiwa 7 crop and Reiwa 8 crop are both on the listing. In the option fields at the time we checked, the Reiwa 7 crop appeared for one-time 5kg and 10kg under the “2〜7営業日発送” (ships within 2–7 business days) optionSource: option fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Storage | The listing advises avoiding high temperature and humidity. A refrigerator is stated to be best; if it does not fit, a cool, dark place out of the sun. It also says that storing it in a room in direct sunlight or a hot room in summer can cause insects. There is also a note recommending storing it in a refrigerator at 15°C or below where possible after arrivalSource: product description on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Best-before date | 60 days from the milling date. The listing says the milling date (year, month, day) is printed on the product label. It also says rice has no use-by date, but long storage can cause quality loss or insects, so it should be eaten as soon as possibleSource: product specifications and product description on the listing |
| Country of origin | Ishikawa Prefecture (proportion used: single-ingredient rice). Noto rice is described as produced in the Noto region and Ishikawa rice as produced across Ishikawa PrefectureSource: product specifications and product description on the listing |
| Place of processing | The “reason it qualifies as a local product” (地場産品の理由) field on the listing states that brown rice produced in Ishikawa Prefecture is milled within Hodatsushimizu Town. The manufacturer and seller explains that it stores harvested rice in its own warehouse in Hodatsushimizu Town and mills it in-house to match ordersSource: local-product reason field and product description on the listing |
| Condition / how to eat (cooking required?) | It is milled rice, white rice (Ishikawa rice can also be chosen as wash-free rice). It is rice that is cooked before eating, but we found no cooking instructions: not confirmedSource: product specifications and product description on the listing |
| Delivery | Room temperature. The listing says you cannot specify a delivery date or time, and no advance notice is given. For the 2 gō (300g), 1 to 3 items are said to arrive by mail delivery (メール便), and 4 or more bundled by courier (宅急便). Shipping is limited to people who live outside Hodatsushimizu TownSource: product specifications and product description on the listing |
| Shipping time | For one-time orders, the listing says that choosing “2〜7営業日発送” (ships within 2–7 business days) means shipping in sequence within 2 to 7 business days, and choosing early, mid, or late month means shipping on the 1st–10th, 11th–20th, or 21st–end of the month respectively. The 2 gō (300g) ships in sequence in about 1 to 2 months. Regular delivery ships every month from the start month you choose. New-crop rice is scheduled to start from shipments in October or November, which may shift depending on the harvest. The option fields at the time we checked (October 5, 2026) are shown in the “Available options” table below. The listing also says the shipping time may change depending on the weather and harvest conditionsSource: product description and option fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | Manufacturing and sales are by 中橋商事株式会社. We found no address for the business: not confirmed. For the 2 gō (300g) mail delivery, the listing says the shipping arrangements are handled by 結デザイン有限会社Source: manufacturer/seller field and mail-delivery notice on the listing |
| Shop | Hodatsushimizu Town, Ishikawa (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
Donation amounts may differ by portal and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
Available options (listing description and option fields)
| Item | What the listing description and option fields show |
|---|---|
| Place of production | Noto rice Koshihikari (produced in the Noto region) / Ishikawa rice Koshihikari (produced across Ishikawa Prefecture) |
| Milling | White rice / wash-free rice. The listing says Noto rice is white rice only, and wash-free rice is Ishikawa rice only |
| Amount (one-time) | 2 gō (300g, Noto rice only), 2kg, 5kg, 10kg (wash-free rice: 5kg × 2 bags), 20kg (10kg × 2 bags), 30kg (10kg × 3 bags). In the option fields, 2kg appeared only under “2〜7営業日発送” (ships within 2–7 business days) |
| Frequency (regular delivery) | The product description says 5kg every month, for 3, 6, or 12 times. However, the option fields also show a 10kg regular delivery (3, 6, or 12 times) in addition to 5kg, which does not match the product description. Which one is currently offered cannot be confirmed from the listing |
| Shipping time | For one-time Reiwa 8 crop (5kg and 10kg): each ten-day period from late October to mid-January shipping, and “2〜7営業日発送” (ships within 2–7 business days). For 20kg and 30kg: “2〜7営業日発送” or “順次発送” (ships in sequence). Regular delivery: start months of early November, early December, and early January (as displayed at the time we checked) |
| Harvest year | Reiwa 8 crop / Reiwa 7 crop. The Reiwa 7 crop appeared for one-time 5kg and 10kg under the “2〜7営業日発送” (ships within 2–7 business days) option |
Source: product specifications, product description, and option fields on the listing (viewed October 5, 2026)
This article does not treat any single option as representative. The combinations shown in the option fields may change, so please check the harvest year, place of production, milling, amount, and shipping time on the listing before you donate.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The ingredient is single-ingredient rice from Ishikawa Prefecture. For both Noto rice and Ishikawa rice, the product specifications on the listing say Ishikawa Prefecture. Wash-free rice can be chosen only as Ishikawa rice.
Within what we could check, we could not find allergen labeling on the listing. This item is not confirmed. If you are concerned about allergies, contact the inquiry desk on the listing before you donate, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 5, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| What to check | For this gift | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Amount / servings | One-time ranges from 2 gō (300g) to 30kg. For regular delivery, the product description says 5kg every month (3, 6, or 12 times), and the option fields also show a 10kg regular delivery. You also choose the place of production, milling, frequency, and harvest year. No serving count is given | Product specifications and option fields on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Avoid high temperature and humidity; a refrigerator is said to be best. Best-before date is 60 days from the milling date. The milling date is printed on the product label | Product specifications and product description on the listing |
| 3. Ingredients / allergen labeling | Single-ingredient rice from Ishikawa Prefecture. Allergen labeling is not confirmed (not stated on the page) | Product specifications on the listing |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | Whether noshi (gift wrapping label), packaging, and message cards are available is not confirmed. Shipping is limited to people who live outside Hodatsushimizu Town | The listing (no entry for noshi, packaging, or message cards) |
| 5. Review trends | The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.82 / 5 (5,725 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2025 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), the 17 1★ reviews (posted November 2023 to March 2026), and the 20 2★ reviews (posted February 2023 to May 2026). The following reflects the trends in what we read and does not necessarily represent the current state of the product. The default 60 mention sweetness and texture often, while the 1★ and 2★ reviews stand out for dissatisfaction with taste and smell | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
We could not find on the listing any entry about whether noshi (gift wrapping label) is available and the types of inscription, packaging, message cards, or name printing (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 5, 2026).
- Noshi: whether it is available and the types of inscription are not confirmed
- Packaging / gift box: not confirmed
- Message card / name printing: not confirmed
- Recipient: the mail-delivery notice for the 2 gō (300g) says that when the donor and the recipient are different, the donor’s name is not written in the sender field of the address label. We found no statement on whether other options can be delivered to an address other than the donor’s (not confirmed). Shipping is said to be limited to people who live outside Hodatsushimizu Town
- Delivery: room temperature; the listing says you cannot specify a delivery date or time, and no advance notice is given
The listing says that if delivery fails because of the recipient’s circumstances, such as a long absence, resending and cancellation are not possible, and that cancelling a donation application or changing or returning the thank-you gift is not possible. If you plan to use it as a gift, check how noshi, packaging, and the delivery address are handled on the listing before you donate. Among the default 60 reviews, 1 reads as if the person applied for a family member’s parents’ home (this is a user’s post, not information from the listing).
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and change afterward. The following reflects the trends in what we read and does not necessarily represent the current state of the product.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.82 / 5 | 5,725 | October 5, 2026 |
Breakdown: 5★ 4,831 / 4★ 803 / 3★ 54 / 2★ 20 / 1★ 17 (as shown by Rakuten Ichiba; viewed October 5, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted November 2025 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), the 17 reviews filtered to 1★ (all 17 matching; posted November 2023 to March 2026), and the 20 reviews filtered to 2★ (all 20 matching; posted February 2023 to May 2026), 97 in total. Of the 37 1★ and 2★ reviews, 21 were posted in 2024 or earlier.
Overall, 5★ accounts for about 84% (4,831 of 5,725), and 1★ and 2★ together are 37 (about 0.6%). Of the default 60 we read, 52 were 5★ and 8 were 4★. The review section mixes posts about products with different harvest years, places of production, and options, and some posts do not match the options on the current listing. Many posts also mention motives for applying, such as supporting reconstruction; these are not counted in the viewpoint counts.
What Reviewers Praise
Taste and texture
19 of the default 60 reviews mentioned sweetness, chewiness or stickiness, fluffiness, distinct grains, or luster (9 on sweetness and 14 on texture or luster; some posts overlap). 16 posts chose wash-free rice, and all were 5★. Of these, 14 were written favorably about taste or texture.
Cold, next-day rice balls, frozen
6 of the default 60 reviews said, in essence, that it tasted good even when cold, tasted good as rice balls the next day, or stayed chewy even after freezing.
Items included in the package
15 of the default 60 reviews said they were glad that chili peppers to keep insects away (鷹の爪, 鬼の爪) were included. 4 posts also said a postcard, an introduction to the town, or a letter from the rice shop was included. These are user posts, and we found no mention of included items on the listing.
Speed of delivery
15 of the default 60 reviews said it arrived quickly after ordering, or that it was prompt.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
The counts here are out of the 37 reviews that combine 1★ and 2★. They are not a proportion of all 5,725 reviews.
Dissatisfaction with taste and smell
29 of the 37 1★ and 2★ reviews (13 of them posted within the last two years) described dryness, a taste or smell like old-crop rice, or not tasting good. 6 posts said it seemed like old-crop rice or asked whether it was old-crop rice. Of the 29 with taste complaints, 16 were posted before October 2024. On the other hand, 19 of the default 60 reviews mention sweetness or texture, so opinions are divided.
Long time since milling
4 of the 37 1★ and 2★ reviews (3 of them posted within the last two years) said they felt a long time had passed since milling.
How to check: the best-before date (60 days from the milling date) and the fact that the milling date is printed on the product label are summarized in the “Best-before date” row of “Basic Information” in this article.
Small grains, breakage, white grains
7 of the 37 1★ and 2★ reviews (1 of them posted within the last two years) said the grains were small, breakage was noticeable, or white grains were mixed in.
In addition, there were 2 posts saying insects had appeared in the rice, 2 posts about torn bags or rice leaking, and 1 post saying they thought they had chosen wash-free rice but received white rice. Because each count is small, they are not counted as viewpoints.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 5, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- People who want to choose the place of production (Noto rice / Ishikawa rice), milling (white rice / wash-free rice), and amount when applying
- People who want a monthly regular delivery (3, 6, or 12 times; 5kg, and the 10kg shown in the option fields)
- People who can receive room-temperature rice on the understanding that the delivery date and time cannot be specified
- People who can decide after checking the harvest year and shipping time in the option fields
Who Should Be Careful
- People who want to confirm the harvest year (Reiwa 7 crop / Reiwa 8 crop) before deciding (both appear in the option fields)
- People bothered by the 1★ and 2★ posts that voice dissatisfaction with taste (29 of the 37 we read)
- People concerned about allergies (labeling is not confirmed)
- People who want to give it as a gift with noshi (gift wrapping label), packaging, or a message card (not confirmed)
- People who want to know the number of servings before deciding (not stated)
Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 5, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- You choose the place of production (Noto rice / Ishikawa rice), milling (white rice / wash-free rice), amount (2 gō to 30kg), frequency (one-time / regular delivery), shipping time, and harvest year (Reiwa 7 crop / Reiwa 8 crop). The best-before date is stated as 60 days from the milling date, and the ingredient is single-ingredient rice from Ishikawa Prefecture
- Allergen labeling, cooking instructions, and noshi, packaging, and message cards are not confirmed. Check the harvest year and shipping time in the option fields on the listing
- In the default 60 reviews, many mention sweetness and texture, while in the 37 1★ and 2★ reviews we read, dissatisfaction with taste and smell (29) stands out
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listing pages and review sites. Thank-you gift details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 5, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “Hodatsushimizu Town, Ishikawa” listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments