With a set of three 1.8L bottles (isshobin) of imo shochu (sweet potato shochu), if you choose without knowing which brand each bottle is, how long it keeps after opening, and how far noshi (gift wrapping label) and wrapping are available for gifts, you often end up checking only after it arrives. In this article, we organized the published product information and review-site listings for the Hombo Shuzo (本坊酒造) Imo Shochu 1.8L × 3 Bottle Set in terms of quantity, the three brands, shelf life, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
Drinking by anyone under 20 is prohibited by law in Japan. Please follow the laws of your country or region. Drinking during pregnancy or while breastfeeding may affect the development of the fetus or infant. Please also do not drink before or while driving.
What We Confirmed
- Quantity and the differences between the three brands
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product Name | Hombo Shuzo Imo Shochu 1.8L × 3 Bottle Set (1800ml × 3 bottles) |
|---|---|
| Product Type | Authentic shochu (honkaku shochu, sweet potato) setSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) (viewed October 4, 2026) |
| Quantity | 1800ml × 3 bottles (5400ml in total). Comes in the brewery’s own boxSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Alcohol Content | 25% for all three bottlesSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Options That Change What Arrives | Only one set, with the three brands fixed (no options for size, etc.). The brands are listed in the table belowSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Storage Method | Not confirmed |
| Best-Before Date | No best-before field is shown. According to the shop, it keeps for about 3 months after openingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Raw Material Origin | Sweet potatoes (from Kagoshima Prefecture), rice koji (Japanese rice)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Place of Processing | Not confirmed |
| State / How to Enjoy | An alcoholic drink you open and drink (authentic shochu). We could not find guidance on how to drink it in the product description, so this is not confirmed |
| Delivery | The arrival date can be specified up to 60 days after ordering. If not specified, it ships as soon as possible. Delivery temperature (ambient / chilled) is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Manufacturer | 本坊酒造株式会社 (Hombo Shuzo Co., Ltd.)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| Shop | 本坊酒造 公式通販【楽天市場店】 (Rakuten Ichiba) |
Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.
The Three Brands
This rearranges what is shown in the Rakuten Ichiba product description. The features column uses the shop’s own words. All three bottles are listed as 25% alcohol, made from sweet potatoes (from Kagoshima Prefecture) and rice koji (Japanese rice).
| Brand | Volume | Alcohol | Features (as stated by the shop) |
|---|---|---|---|
| あらわざ桜島 (Arawaza Sakurajima) | 1800ml | 25% | White koji, “polished distillation” (migaki joryu) |
| 貴匠蔵 (Kishogura) | 1800ml | 25% | Black koji, brewed in earthenware jars |
| 黒麹仕立て 桜島 (Kurokoji Jitate Sakurajima) | 1800ml | 25% | Black koji |
Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description). Viewed October 4, 2026.
Awards Listed by the Shop
The following transcribes the awards the seller (本坊酒造 公式通販) lists in its Rakuten Ichiba product description; Ochinity has not verified these third-party recognitions. The organizers, categories, and years are as shown in the product description.
| Brand | Organizer / category (as stated by the shop) | Year (as stated by the shop) |
|---|---|---|
| あらわざ桜島 | International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC), Trophy | 2013 |
| あらわざ桜島 | San Francisco World Spirits Competition (SFWSC), Best Shochu | 2021 |
| あらわざ桜島 | Regional Taxation Bureau Liquor Evaluation (国税局酒類鑑評会), representative of its brewery | 2021, 2025 |
| 貴匠蔵 | San Francisco World Spirits Competition (SFWSC), Gold Medal | 2016 |
| 貴匠蔵 | Regional Taxation Bureau Liquor Evaluation (国税局酒類鑑評会), representative of its brewery | 2007, 2020 |
| 黒麹仕立て 桜島 | San Francisco World Spirits Competition (SFWSC), Gold Medal | 2022 |
| 黒麹仕立て 桜島 | Regional Taxation Bureau Liquor Evaluation (国税局酒類鑑評会), representative of its brewery | 2013, 2014 |
Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description). Viewed October 4, 2026. Of the award years in the table, those from 2021 or earlier are five or more years old and are not recent. Whether claims such as “世界一” (world’s best) and “日本一” (Japan’s best) in the product name, or “金賞13冠” (13 gold medals) in the shop’s tagline, correspond in number or award name to the table above could not be confirmed on the product page, so this is not confirmed. This article lists only the awards for which the organizer and year are shown.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
Within what we could check, we could not find allergen labeling on the product page. This item is not confirmed. As in the table above, the ingredients are listed as sweet potatoes and rice koji.
If you have allergy concerns or want to check the ingredients, please contact the shop before purchasing or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed October 4, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before Buying
| What to Check | For This Product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Quantity / servings | 1800ml × 3 bottles (5400ml in total). No serving guideline is listed | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | No best-before field is shown. The shop says about 3 months after opening. Storage method is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| 3. Ingredients / allergen labeling | Ingredients are listed as sweet potatoes and rice koji. Allergen labeling is not confirmed | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | The shop says noshi, wrapping paper, and message cards can be chosen free of charge (viewed October 4, 2026; conditions may change). Comes in the brewery’s own box | Rakuten Ichiba product page (product description) |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten Ichiba’s rating is 4.69 out of 5 (4,645 reviews). Within the 105 reviews we read — the first 60 in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2025 to September 2026; latest September 2026) and all 45 1★ and 2★ reviews (posted September 2013 to June 2026) — many say the recipient was pleased, while some point out issues with the delivery date or taste preferences (this trend does not necessarily reflect the product’s current condition) | Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 4, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
The Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 4, 2026) states that the set comes in the brewery’s own box and that noshi, wrapping paper, and message cards can be chosen free of charge. Conditions such as “free of charge” are as stated on October 4, 2026, and may change. The Amazon product page mentions a gift box bearing the Hombo Shuzo logo.
- Noshi: free of charge, specified in the remarks field of the shopping cart. Examples of inscriptions (on noshi) include ochugen (mid-year gift), anniversary celebrations, return gifts (uchi-iwai), and wedding celebrations. Age-milestone inscriptions are also offered: kanreki (60), rokuju (66), koki (70), kiju (77), sanju (80), beiju (88), sotsuju (90), hakuju (99), and momoju (100). The shop says you can add your own name, a company name, and so on. We could not confirm an explicit statement on the product page about whether an oseibo (year-end gift) inscription can be chosen
- Wrapping paper and message cards: both free of charge, chosen in the shopping cart. Message cards have set wording (birthday, for Dad, for Mom, etc.)
- Delivery date: the shop says the arrival date can be specified in the shopping cart up to 60 days after ordering. If not specified, it ships as soon as possible. The shop says orders can be cancelled free of charge before shipping (excluding Rakuten Ichiba’s refund fee for prepaid orders)
- Receipts: electronic receipts only. The shop says nothing showing the price is included in the package
- We could not find any mention of name engraving on the bottles on the product page
Recipients must be 20 or older. It cannot be given as a gift to anyone under 20.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change afterward.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Date Viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (product page) | 4.69 / 5 | 4,645 | October 4, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: 5★ 3,449 / 4★ 1,015 / 3★ 136 / 2★ 20 / 1★ 25 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed October 4, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted October 2025 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus all 25 1★ reviews (posted September 2013 to June 2026) and all 20 2★ reviews (posted December 2013 to July 2025), 105 in total. These are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the product’s current condition.
What Reviewers Praise
The recipient was pleased
34 of the 60 reviews in the default order said they used it as a gift — for Father’s Day, birthdays, oseibo, thank-you gifts and so on — and that the recipient was pleased. Most were 5★, with a few 4★.
Satisfied with the taste and drinkability
18 of the 60 reviews were from people who drank it themselves and wrote that they were satisfied with the taste or how easy it was to drink.
Repeat purchases
11 of the 60 reviews said they had bought it before or would buy it again.
Comparing the three bottles, and the quantity
5 reviews mentioned being able to compare the three bottles, and 5 mentioned the balance between quantity and price (both out of the 60).
How to check: the 1800ml × 3 bottle quantity and the brands are summarized in this article’s “Basic Information” and “The Three Brands”.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 4, 2026). Counts are approximate, counted by hand, with a margin of ±1–2.
What Reviewers Note
The taste did not suit their preference
10 of the 45 1★ and 2★ reviews said the flavor was weak or not to their taste (4 at 1★, 6 at 2★). Only 1 of these was posted in the last two years (July 2025); the others were posted from 2013 to 2021.
How to check: what the shop states about each bottle, such as the type of koji, is summarized in this article’s “The Three Brands”.
Arrived on a different day from the one specified
8 of the 45 1★ and 2★ reviews said it arrived on a different day from the one they wanted, such as earlier than the specified date (6 at 1★, 2 at 2★). Only 1 of these was posted in the last two years (June 2026); the others were posted from 2015 to 2022.
How to check: the shop’s guidance on specifying the arrival date and shipping as soon as possible is summarized in this article’s “Suitable as a Gift?”.
Damage in transit, problems with wrapping or noshi
6 reviews mentioned breakage or damage in transit or scratched labels, and 6 mentioned problems with wrapping or noshi, such as the name, wrapping paper only, or a missing noshi (both out of the 45 1★ and 2★ reviews). Neither had any posts in the last two years; the former were posted from 2015 to 2022 and the latter from 2013 to 2020.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 4, 2026). Counts are approximate, counted by hand, with a margin of ±1–2.
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Want to choose a set of three bottles of imo shochu as a gift for someone aged 20 or over
- Want to compare three brands made with different koji, such as white and black koji
- Are looking for a product with a choice of noshi, wrapping paper, and message cards
Who Should Be Careful
- Anyone under 20 (drinking is prohibited by law in Japan)
- Those who are pregnant or breastfeeding (please refrain from drinking)
- Want to check the storage method, delivery temperature, and allergen labeling before buying (not confirmed — we could not find them on the product page)
- Want to give it with an oseibo inscription specified (we have not been able to check whether this can be chosen)
Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 4, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing. Drinking by anyone under 20 is prohibited by law in Japan, and age verification may be required for alcohol sales.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- The 1800ml × 3 bottles are three brands — あらわざ桜島, 貴匠蔵, and 黒麹仕立て 桜島 — all listed as 25% alcohol
- There is no best-before field; the shop says it keeps for about 3 months after opening. We could not confirm the storage method on the product page
- We could not confirm allergen labeling or delivery temperature on the product page. Check these before giving it, along with whether an oseibo inscription can be chosen
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on various retail and review sites. Product details such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Drinking by anyone under 20 is prohibited by law in Japan. Please follow the laws of your country or region. Drinking during pregnancy or while breastfeeding may affect the development of the fetus or infant.
Information as of: October 4, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “本坊酒造 公式通販【楽天市場店】” product page, Amazon page for the same type of product, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments