White Black Thunder, Hokkaido Limited, 40 Bags — Contents, Shelf Life & Reviews

Product photo of White Black Thunder, Hokkaido Limited, 40 bags. A blue pouch of 40 bags and a blue box of 16 bags stand on a snowy blue background. Text the shop placed in the image: “発売15周年を記念し”, “Renewal” and “リニューアル” at the top; “北海道限定”, “白いブラックサンダー”, “北のザク盛り おすそ分け!”, “北のザクザク おすそ分け!” and “北海道ミルク使用” on the packages; “標準40袋入” on the pouch and “16袋入” on the box
Information as of 2026.11.07 PR
Product photo of White Black Thunder, Hokkaido Limited, 40 bags. A blue pouch of 40 bags and a blue box of 16 bags stand on a snowy blue background. Text the shop placed in the image: “発売15周年を記念し”, “Renewal” and “リニューアル” at the top; “北海道限定”, “白いブラックサンダー”, “北のザク盛り おすそ分け!”, “北のザクザク おすそ分け!” and “北海道ミルク使用” on the packages; “標準40袋入” on the pouch and “16袋入” on the box (Yuraku Confectionery Hokkaido Limited White Black Thunder, 40 Bags)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店” (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop) product page.

The White Black Thunder (白いブラックサンダー) covered in this article is a chocolate snack sold by Yuraku Confectionery Co., Ltd. (有楽製菓株式会社) of Kodaira, Tokyo, and its product name carries the label “Hokkaido Limited”. On Rakuten Ichiba, the shop 有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店 (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop) offers 16-bag and 40-bag options on the same page, and this article is limited to the 40-bag option. Based on the Rakuten product page and its reviews, we organized the product into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. The features confirmed on the product page are three: individually wrapped bags, a total of 577g for the 40 bags (including wrappers), and a choice of message cards (4 kinds in all).

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba View on Amazon (different seller) Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

*The Amazon link goes to an item with the same processor (Yuraku Confectionery) and the same specifications (40 bags), sold by a different store (ゆきしん総合ショップ). Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.

At a Glance

Key points

  1. The total for 40 bags is 577g (including wrappers), with a standard 14g per bag. Among the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), 4 have a total amount confirmed in their articles, and 577g is the largest figure of those 4 (the items include different kinds of products, and 3 items have no confirmed total. Weak point: because it is managed by weight, the product page image says the number of bags may differ)
  2. Best-before date of 8 months from the month of manufacture, stored at 28°C or below, as shown on the Rakuten product page. The page says products with at least 30 days remaining until the best-before date at the time of shipping are delivered
  3. Rakuten rating 4.66 (3,939 reviews). Viewed November 7, 2026. Among the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), only 2 have a higher figure: 4.75 (5,089 reviews) for the Lindt Lindor Tasting Set and 4.72 (3,193 reviews) for the Maison du Miel Macadamia Caramel Sand (its review count is smaller than the 11,041 of the Uji Matcha Nama Chocolate, the 6,109 of the ショーコラ&パリトロ and the 5,089 of the Lindt)
  4. A choice of message cards (4 kinds in all) is shown in the product page images

Watch out for

  • Most of the 106 Rakuten reviews we read were posted between 2010 and 2017, and they mix in descriptions of earlier versions of the product. Only 3 of the 57 posts in the standard sort order (August 2025 to February 2026) show the 40-bag set count
  • Noshi support and the delivery temperature range are not found on the product page, so they are Not confirmed

Suits: People who want to share individually wrapped sweets among many people. The shop also presents it as suited to those who want to eat a lot or share it among many people

The comparison covers the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. The features are from the Rakuten Ichiba product page and product images (viewed November 7, 2026). The rating is as displayed on Rakuten (viewed November 7, 2026) and does not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.

Compared with 7 Similar Chocolate Items

The 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026). Each value is as of the date its own article was researched and may differ from the current listing. Ratings are as shown on Rakuten and do not necessarily reflect the current state of a product. A rating moves more easily when the number of reviews is small. The table is ordered by the Japanese syllabary order of the product names (this article first).

ProductContentsDelivery TemperatureRakuten Rating
Hokkaido Limited White Black Thunder, 40 BagsThis article · Yuraku Confectionery40 bags577g · standard 14g per bagNot stated4.663,939 reviews
Itohkyuemon Uji Matcha Nama Chocolate, 16 Pieces, Matcha FlavorMatcha flavor, 16 pieces120gChilledCool delivery4.6311,041 reviews
Galler NANO BAR, 24 Pieces6 kinds × 4 pieces each120g; the 36-piece set is 180gNot confirmed4.641,333 reviews
Kobe Franz Kobe Mahou no Nama Chocolate, PlainPlain90gFrozen4.612,103 reviews
ショーコラ&パリトロ, 4 Pieces (バニラビーンズ)2 kinds, 4 piecesAmbientA note says to refrigerate in summer4.576,109 reviews
maison du miel Macadamia Caramel Sand, 5 Pieces5 pieces10 pieces also availableNot confirmed4.723,193 reviews
Lindt Lindor Tasting Set, 15 Kinds, 16 Pieces15 kinds, 16 piecesCool deliveryShipping period of April 1 to October 31, per the shop’s notice4.755,089 reviews

Product names link to each product’s article. The delivery temperature is the shop’s indication confirmed in each article. This article’s product has no delivery temperature stated on its product page.

  • Among the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), 4 have a total amount confirmed in their articles: Kobe Franz Kobe Mahou no Nama Chocolate, Plain at 90g, Itohkyuemon Uji Matcha Nama Chocolate, 16 Pieces at 120g, and Galler NANO BAR, 24 Pieces at 120g (180g for the 36-piece set). This product’s 577g is the largest figure of those 4. However, the kinds of product differ, and 3 items have no confirmed total. Because this product’s bag count is managed by weight, it is not necessarily 40 bags
  • Among the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), only 2 have a Rakuten rating higher than 4.66: the Lindt Lindor Tasting Set at 4.75 (5,089 reviews) and the maison du miel Macadamia Caramel Sand at 4.72 (3,193 reviews). With 3,939 reviews, this product has fewer than the Uji Matcha Nama Chocolate (11,041), the ショーコラ&パリトロ (6,109) and the Lindt (5,089)

Basic Information

Product name
Yuraku Confectionery Hokkaido Limited White Black Thunder, 40 Bags (有楽製菓 北海道限定 白いブラックサンダー 40袋入)
Shop
有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店 (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop, Rakuten Ichiba) / Seller: Yuraku Confectionery Co., Ltd. (Kodaira, Tokyo)
Amount
577g (standard 40 bags), including wrappers. Because it is managed by weight, the page says the number of bags may differ (a 16-bag option is also selectable on the same page)
Per bag
Standard 14g, individually wrapped
Storage
Stated as: avoid direct sunlight and high temperature and humidity, and store at 28°C or below
Best-before date
Stated as 8 months from the month of manufacture
Allergens
Stated as wheat, milk ingredients and soybeans
Shipping
The page says products with at least 30 days remaining until the best-before date at the time of shipping are delivered. The delivery temperature range is Not confirmed
Noshi / gifting
The images say a message card can be chosen from 4 kinds in all. Noshi support and the inscription types are Not confirmed

This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

The allergens are wheat, milk ingredients and soybeans (Rakuten Ichiba product page). If you have an allergy, please ask the seller before purchasing, or be sure to check the label on the product you receive (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (viewed November 7, 2026)).

See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (17 items)

This list transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name
White Black Thunder (the Rakuten product name carries the label “Hokkaido Limited”)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string with many search keywords. Only the product-name part is shown here.
Amount
577g (standard 40 bags), including wrappers. Because it is managed by weight, the product page image says the number of bags may differ. The number of servings is not stated (Not confirmed)Source: product information and product images on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Options
Count: 16 bags / 40 bags (this article covers the 40-bag option only)Source: purchase field on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Nutrition
Per bag (standard 14g): energy 77kcal, protein 1.0g, fat 4.6g, carbohydrates 8.0g, salt equivalent 0.1gSource: product information on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Ingredients
Quasi-chocolate (vegetable fats and oils, sugar, whole milk powder, skim milk powder, lactose, cocoa butter, cocoa powder, cocoa mass) (made in Japan), cocoa cookie, processed fat product (sugar, vegetable fats and oils, skim milk powder, lactose), wheat flour, sugar, butter oil, shortening, skim milk powder, salt / sweetener (sorbitol), leavening agent, emulsifier (derived from soybeans), flavoringSource: product information on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Allergens
Wheat, milk ingredients, soybeansSource: product information on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Storage method
Stated as: avoid direct sunlight and high temperature and humidity, and store at 28°C or below. How to store it after opening is Not confirmedSource: product information on the product page
Best-before date
Stated as 8 months from the month of manufacture. The page says products with at least 30 days remaining until the best-before date at the time of shipping are deliveredSource: product information on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Origin of ingredients
Not confirmed. The quasi-chocolate in the ingredients is labeled as made in JapanSource: product information on the product page
Processing location
Not confirmed. The seller’s address is stated as Kodaira, TokyoSource: product information on the product page and the shop’s company profile on Rakuten Ichiba (viewed November 7, 2026)
Condition / how to eat (heating required or not)
Presented as a snack in individually wrapped bags. No guidance on how to eat it, such as heating or chilling, was found on the product pageSource: product description and product images on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Features (shop’s description)
The product page images explain that the package was redesigned to mark the 15th anniversary, with an added illustration that conveys Hokkaido. They also explain that it combines a coating chocolate made with Hokkaido milk and a newly developed milk-flavored biscuit, along with a harder-textured cocoa cookie in addition to the conventional cocoa cookie. The page also says that, because of the renewal, the package design and other details of the product shown may differ from the product deliveredSource: product description and product images on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
After opening
How long it keeps after opening and precautions are not found on the product page, so they are Not confirmed
Shipping
The shipping method and delivery temperature range are not found on the product page, so they are Not confirmedSource: product information on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Noshi / gifting
The product page images say a message card can be chosen from 4 kinds in all. An image of a gift shopping bag is also shown, but whether one is included and under what conditions is Not confirmed. Noshi support, the inscription types and wrapping are not found on the product page, so they are Not confirmedSource: product information and product images on the product page (viewed November 7, 2026)
Manufacturer
The seller is stated as Yuraku Confectionery Co., Ltd. (1-94 Ogawa-cho, Kodaira, Tokyo 187-0032). The manufacturing site’s address is Not confirmedSource: product information on the product page and the shop’s company profile on Rakuten Ichiba (viewed November 7, 2026)
Shop
有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店 (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop, Rakuten Ichiba)

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Guide image showing the two pack counts. A blue box of 16 bags is on the left and a blue pouch of 40 bags on the right. Text the shop placed in the image: “選べる入り数” at the top; “16袋入” and “どんな味か試してみたい方や、少人数で楽しみたい方におすすめ。” on the left; “標準40袋入※” and “たくさん食べたい方や、大人数でシェアしたい方におすすめ。” on the right; “※重量で管理しているため、袋数は異なる場合がございます。” at the bottom right (Yuraku Confectionery Hokkaido Limited White Black Thunder, 40 Bags)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店” (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop) product page.
Guide image about the renewed packaging. A blue pouch of 40 bags is on the left and a blue box of 16 bags on the right, each with individually wrapped pieces beside it. Text the shop placed in the image: “パッケージを刷新” and “15周年を記念してパッケージを刷新し、北海道らしさを伝えるイラストを追加することで、‘北海道のおみやげといえば’の存在感を強めていきます。” (Yuraku Confectionery Hokkaido Limited White Black Thunder, 40 Bags)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店” (Yuraku Confectionery Official Shop) product page.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the viewing date and may change afterward. What follows is a trend within the range we read and does not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.66 / 53,939 reviewsNovember 7, 2026

Rating breakdown: ★5: 2,901 / ★4: 790 / ★3: 196 / ★2: 32 / ★1: 20 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed November 7, 2026)

Range read: the first 57 reviews in the standard sort order (posted November 2010 to April 2026; the latest is from April 2026; 4 of them within the last 2 years), all 20 posts rated ★1 (posted December 2010 to November 2023), and 29 of the 32 rated ★2 (posted January 2011 to June 2017), for a total of 106. This is a trend within the range we read and does not necessarily represent the product’s current state.

Most of the posts we read are from 2010 to 2017, and they mix in descriptions of the amount, shipping, best-before date and so on of the product at that time. The counts below are approximate figures counted by reading the text; posts that only concern shipping or the shop’s handling, and posts written before the reviewer had eaten it, are not included in any viewpoint.

What Reviewers Praise

Liking the combination of white chocolate and cocoa cookie (about 20 of 57)

About 20 of the 57 posts in the standard sort order said they liked the combination of white chocolate and cocoa cookie, or that they were pleased with it. The posts span 2010 to 2026.

Used for handing out, as an office treat, a souvenir or a present (about 15)

About 15 of the 57 posts in the standard sort order said they used it as an office treat, a souvenir or a present, and that it was well received. The posts span 2011 to 2026.

Substance and satisfaction per piece (about 6)

About 6 of the 57 posts in the standard sort order said a single piece is satisfying or substantial. All are from 2011 to 2017 and describe the product at that time.

A novelty and how it differs from the regular Black Thunder (about 10)

About 10 of the 57 posts in the standard sort order said it has a novelty that differs from the regular Black Thunder, or that they buy it repeatedly. 1 of them is from the last 2 years.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 7, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Too sweet or strong in flavor (about 12 of 106)

About 12 of the 106 posts we read said it felt too sweet or strong in flavor. Most are rated ★1 or ★2, and the posts are from 2010 to 2017.

Best-before date shorter than stated (4 to 5)

4 to 5 posts said the best-before date of the product they received was shorter than the one shown on the product page (such as 8 months or 180 days). The posts are from 2013 to 2023, and 2 posts from November 2023 said that although 8 months was stated, the product that arrived had a date about 2 months away.

How to check: the best-before date indication, and the page’s statement that products with at least 30 days remaining at the time of shipping are delivered, are summarized in the “Best-before date” row of the details under “Basic Information” in this article.

Crushed box and packaging (3)

3 of the 106 posts we read said the box arrived crushed or mentioned the packaging. The posts are from 2011 to 2020.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 7, 2026)

Summary: Is This the One for You?

Why choose it: You want to have individually wrapped sweets in an amount that can be shared among many people, and you want one with a large total amount. If those are your two conditions, among the 7 chocolate items featured on Ochinity (as of November 7, 2026), 4 have a total amount confirmed in their articles, and this product’s 577g is the largest figure of those 4 (weak points: because it is managed by weight, the number of bags may differ, and 3 items have no confirmed total).

  1. The Rakuten rating is 4.66 / 5 (3,939 reviews). In the reviews we read, of the 57 in the standard sort order, about 15 posts said it was used for handing out, as an office treat, a souvenir or a present and was well received, and about 20 said they liked the combination of white chocolate and cocoa cookie (most posts are from 2010 to 2017 and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product)
  2. The best-before date is 8 months from the month of manufacture, and the page says products with at least 30 days remaining at the time of shipping are delivered. The images say a message card can be chosen from 4 kinds in all

Other options: To put together an assortment of different flavors, see the Lindt Lindor Tasting Set (15 kinds, 16 pieces); to give a small box of 5 pieces, see the maison du miel Macadamia Caramel Sand (5 pieces).

This section is based on the Rakuten Ichiba product page and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 7, 2026). It is a trend in the reviews within the range we read and does not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.

Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba View on Amazon (different seller) Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

*The Amazon link goes to an item with the same processor (Yuraku Confectionery) and the same specifications (40 bags), sold by a different store (ゆきしん総合ショップ). Please check the details on the Amazon product page before purchasing.

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 7, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

This article organizes information published on various retail sites and review pages. Product details such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the product page for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: November 7, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “有楽製菓公式ショップ 楽天市場店” product page and company profile, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

予算・贈り先・日持ちから、ほかの品も探せます

条件を選んで探す →

可按预算、送礼对象、保质期查找更多美食

按条件查找 →
Let's share this post !
  • Copied the URL !
  • Copied the URL !

Author of this article

We organize mail-order gourmet foods from across Japan using the product information published by sellers and the voices of people who bought them. Rather than our own tasting impressions, we focus on giving you the facts you need to choose. Read our editorial policy

TOC