Furusato Nozei Mombetsu Scallop Adductor Muscle (ホタテ玉冷) — Contents & Reviews

Product photo of scallop adductor muscles heaped in a bamboo colander (frozen scallop adductor muscle ホタテ玉冷, a Mombetsu City, Hokkaido furusato nozei gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “累計100,000,000粒 達成!!” (cumulative 100,000,000 pieces achieved), “刺身OK” (OK for sashimi), “オホーツク海産 流氷ホタテ” (Sea of Okhotsk drift-ice scallop), “500g〜2kg”. A seal mascot illustration at the lower left. Below the photo: “*Awards and rankings shown are the seller's own claims.”
Information as of 2026.11.05 PR
Product photo of scallop adductor muscles heaped in a bamboo colander (frozen scallop adductor muscle ホタテ玉冷, a Mombetsu City, Hokkaido furusato nozei gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “累計100,000,000粒 達成!!” (cumulative 100,000,000 pieces achieved), “刺身OK” (OK for sashimi), “オホーツク海産 流氷ホタテ” (Sea of Okhotsk drift-ice scallop), “500g〜2kg”. A seal mascot illustration at the lower left
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道紋別市” (Mombetsu City, Hokkaido) listing. The “刺身OK” (OK for sashimi) in the image is the shop’s own text placed in the image; this article treats whether the “Aフレーク” and “まる特フレーク” flake types can be eaten without cooking as not confirmed.

Mombetsu City, Hokkaido is the municipality that receives the donation for this thank-you gift under furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program). The production-area field on the listing says it is from the Sea of Okhotsk, Hokkaido. The thank-you gift in this article, “オホーツク海産 ホタテ玉冷” (Sea of Okhotsk frozen scallop adductor muscles), is one you apply for by choosing from the variety sizes (500g to 2kg), three 1kg types (“特大” (extra-large), “ジャンボ” (jumbo) and “小粒たっぷり” (plenty of small pieces)), and two “wakeari” (imperfect/irregular, sold at a discount) flake types. The provider is 株式会社 本間水産. The same page also has a regular delivery plan (定期便), but this article does not cover it. We organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews say into five points: quantity, shelf life, ingredient labeling, gifting, and reviews. The three features we could confirm on the listing are that you can choose the type, that the pieces are frozen individually, and that the listing says it will send items with a best-before date at least 90 days from the shipping date.

At a Glance

Key points

  1. Variety sizes from 500g to 2kg, and several 1kg types. For 1kg you choose from “特大” (extra-large; about 36–50 pieces), “ジャンボ” (jumbo; about 31–35 pieces), “小粒たっぷり” (plenty of small pieces; about 80–100 pieces) and two wakeari flake types. The piece counts are guideline figures written in the images on the listing
  2. Frozen, with each piece frozen individually. The listing says it comes in a resealable zipper bag (except “Aフレーク”) so you can take out only what you need. It also says it will send items with a best-before date at least 90 days from the shipping date
  3. Rakuten rating 4.77 (8,555 reviews). Viewed November 5, 2026

Watch out for

  • The listing says delivery takes up to about 2 months at most after payment is confirmed, and that you cannot specify a delivery date or day of the week. The sentence saying that delivery within the year is for payments completed by December 14 (online payment only) appears in the section for the regular delivery plan under the shipping-period field on the listing. Whether it also applies to single items is not stated, so we could not confirm it
  • For the two wakeari flake types (“Aフレーク” and “まる特フレーク”), we could not find any text stating whether each can be eaten without cooking

Suits: People who want to choose a type and keep frozen scallop adductor muscles in the freezer

The features are from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed November 5, 2026). The rating is as shown on Rakuten (viewed November 5, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

Basic Information

Product name
Mombetsu City, Hokkaido Sea of Okhotsk ホタテ玉冷 Frozen Scallop Adductor Muscle (Furusato Nozei)
Donation recipient / provider
Mombetsu City, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Provider: 株式会社 本間水産
Amount
500g, 600g, 800g, 1kg, 2kg (variety size); 1kg (“特大”, “ジャンボ”, “小粒たっぷり”, “Aフレーク”, “まる特フレーク”)
Options you can choose
Type (variety amounts / five 1kg types)
Storage
Frozen. The listing says it will send items with a best-before date at least 90 days from the shipping date
Allergen labeling
Not confirmed
Donation amount
Varies with the type you choose. Check the listing
Shipping
From payment confirmation to about 2 months at most. The listing says you cannot specify a delivery date or day of the week
Noshi and gifting
Noshi, wrapping and message card labeling: Not confirmed

This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

The listing has no allergen labeling. If you have an allergy, contact the provider before applying for the donation, or be sure to check the label on the thank-you gift when it arrives (Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed November 5, 2026)).

See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (18 items)

This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name
Mombetsu City, Hokkaido Sea of Okhotsk ホタテ玉冷 Frozen Scallop Adductor Muscle (Furusato Nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string with many search words. Here we show only the part that describes the product.
Type of food
The “名称” (name) field lists three: 帆立貝柱(生食用), ホタテ玉冷Aフレーク and ホタテ丸特フレーク. Which name applies to which type is not statedSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Amount
The variety sizes are 500g, 600g, 800g, 1kg and 2kg. The images on the listing give guideline piece counts: about 25–35 pieces for 500g, about 30–42 for 600g, about 40–56 for 800g, about 50–70 for 1kg and about 100–140 for 2kg. For 1kg, “特大” is written as around 36–50 pieces, “ジャンボ” as around 31–35 pieces and “小粒たっぷり” as about 80–100 pieces. “Aフレーク” and “まる特フレーク” are 1kg each. How many people it serves is not stated, so it is Not confirmedSource: product description and images on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Options you can choose
Variety sizes: 500g / 600g / 800g / 1kg / 2kg
1kg types: “特大” / “ジャンボ” / “小粒たっぷり” / “Aフレーク【訳あり】” / “まる特フレーク【訳あり】”
The regular delivery plan (3, 6 and 12 deliveries) is on the same page, but this article does not cover itSource: option fields and product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Donation amount
Varies with the type you choose. Amounts change, so this article does not state them. Please check the Rakuten listingSource: option fields on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Storage method
Frozen. The listing says each piece is frozen individually and quick-frozen after glazing (coating the surface of the adductor muscle with a thin film of ice). The listing says it comes in a resealable zipper bag (except “Aフレーク”) so you can take out only what you need to thaw, and keep the rest frozenSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Best-before date
The listing says it will send items with a best-before date at least 90 days from the shipping date. The listing also recommends eating within 1 month after arrival, because a household refrigerator is opened and closed often and quality may declineSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
How to thaw
We could not find a thawing method in the listing’s description or images, so it is Not confirmed. How long it keeps after thawing is also Not confirmed
After opening
The listing says to take out only what you need and keep the rest frozen as it is. The number of days it keeps after opening is Not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Origin of ingredients
The ingredient is scallop, and the production-area field says Sea of Okhotsk, Hokkaido (北海道オホーツク海産)Source: product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Place of processing
On the field explaining why it qualifies as a local product (地場産品), the listing says it is manufactured and processed in Mombetsu City. We could not find the location of the processing plant itselfSource: product description on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
State / how to eat (whether cooking is required)
It arrives frozen. The “名称” (name) field includes the label 帆立貝柱(生食用) (scallop adductor muscle, for eating without cooking). The listing’s description first explains eating it as sashimi, and says it can also be used in dishes such as butter sautés, fried dishes (furai), marinades and combined with dashi (soup stock). The images on the listing show how to eat it as sashimi, in stew, in takikomi gohan (rice cooked with ingredients) and butter sautéed. For the two types “Aフレーク” and “まる特フレーク”, we could not find any text stating whether each can be eaten without cooking. In the notes, the listing says that shellfish may carry bacteria regardless of freshness, and that people who are not feeling well may develop symptoms of food poisoning if they eat itSource: product description and images on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Delivery
The listing says it arrives frozen. The type of delivery service is Not confirmed. The listing says requests for a delivery date, shipping period or day of the week cannot be accepted, that items returned because of absence, relocation or an application error cannot be resent, and that if you will be away for a long time you should write it in the remarks field. The listing also says donation applications cannot be canceled, and the thank-you gift cannot be changed or returnedSource: product description on the listing (notes)
Shipping period
For single items, the listing says from payment confirmation to about 2 months at most (delivery date and day of the week cannot be specified). The listing also says delivery may be delayed depending on the number of applications and the state of production. The sentence saying that delivery within the year is for payments completed by December 14 (online payment only) appears in the section for the regular delivery plan under the shipping-period field on the listing. Whether it also applies to single items is not stated, so it is Not confirmedSource: product description and images on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Noshi and gifting
We could not find any noshi, wrapping or message card labeling. The types of noshi inscription and wrapping are Not confirmedSource: the listing’s display (viewed November 5, 2026)
Reason for wakeari
The word 訳あり appears in the product name and in the names of the “Aフレーク” and “まる特フレーク” types. We could not find any text on the listing stating what makes it wakeari (chips, irregular shapes, non-standard size and so on), so it is Not confirmedSource: the product name shown on the Rakuten product page, and the option fields on the listing (viewed November 5, 2026)
Manufacturer
The provider is stated as 株式会社 本間水産 (北海道紋別市渚滑町). Whether it is the manufacturer or the processor is Not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Shop
Mombetsu City, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)

Donation amounts differ by portal and by the size you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

A black 1 kg zip-top bag marked “帆立貝柱” (scallop adductor muscle) with round scallop adductor muscles visible inside, plus a small inset photo of the inside of a bag (frozen scallop adductor muscle ホタテ玉冷, a Mombetsu City, Hokkaido furusato nozei gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “1玉ずつのバラ凍結 だから” (because each piece is frozen individually), “必要な時 必要な分だけ” (only what you need, when you need it), “保存に便利なチャック袋!!” (a zip bag convenient for storage). Text on the bag: “北海道オホーツク海産” (Hokkaido Sea of Okhotsk), “1kg”, “生食用” (for raw eating), “要冷凍” (keep frozen), “株式会社 本間水産”
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道紋別市” (Mombetsu City, Hokkaido) listing.
Photo of a scallop adductor muscle held in chopsticks as sashimi with a dab of wasabi on top, with a drift-ice sea in the background (frozen scallop adductor muscle ホタテ玉冷, a Mombetsu City, Hokkaido furusato nozei gift). Text the shop placed in the image: “ぎゅっとオホーツク” (Okhotsk, packed in), “MOMBETSU”, “食べ方 其の一” (way to eat no. 1), “まずは刺身” (first, as sashimi)
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道紋別市” (Mombetsu City, Hokkaido) listing. The image is a serving example (sashimi); the wasabi, soy sauce and garnishes are not included in the product.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by viewpoint. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and may change afterward. What follows are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.77 / 58,555November 5, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 7,312 / 4★ 864 / 3★ 163 / 2★ 85 / 1★ 131 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed November 5, 2026)

What we read: the first 58 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted November 2025 to November 2026; latest November 2026), 30 reviews at 1★ (out of 131; posted December 2023 to August 2026) and 30 reviews at 2★ (out of 85; posted November 2023 to October 2026), 118 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

The reviews we read include posts about the variety, extra-large, jumbo, “Aフレーク”, “まる特フレーク” and small-piece types, as well as older type names that differ from the current ones. The counts below are approximate figures we counted by reading the text, and they exclude posts only about delivery or how the store handled things, and posts saying they had not yet eaten it.

What Reviewers Praise

Large, thick pieces (about 20 of 58)

About 20 of the 58 reviews in the default order say the pieces are large or thick.

Satisfied eating it as sashimi (about 15)

About 15 of the 58 in the default order say they ate it as sashimi and were satisfied (as described by the reviewers).

Sweetness and umami (about 14)

About 14 of the 58 in the default order say they found the sweetness or umami strong.

Easy to use in small portions (about 6)

About 6 of the 58 in the default order say the pieces are frozen individually and, with the resealable zipper bag, you can use just the amount you need.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Pieces small, or smaller over the years (about 14 of the 60 at 1★ and 2★)

About 14 of the 60 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (about 6 at 1★ and about 8 at 2★) say the pieces were small or had become smaller than before. Among the 58 in the default order, about 8 reviews at 4★ also touched on this lightly.

How to check: the guideline piece count for each type is in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Bothered by a fishy smell or odor (9 of the 60 at 1★ and 2★)

9 of the 60 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (3 at 1★ and 6 at 2★) say they were bothered by a fishy smell or odor.

Donation amount went up (5 of the 60 at 1★ and 2★)

5 of the 60 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (2 at 1★ and 3 at 2★) say the donation amount had gone up from before. Amounts change, so this article does not state them.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026)

Summary: Is This the One for You?

Why choose it: You want to choose the amount from 500g to 2kg or a 1kg type yourself, and you want to keep frozen scallop adductor muscles, frozen individually, in your freezer. If these two conditions apply, this thank-you gift fits. You can choose from five amounts in the variety size and five types at 1kg.

  1. The Rakuten rating is 4.77 / 5 (8,555 reviews). Among the 58 in the default order that we read, many mentioned the size of the pieces (about 20) and sweetness and umami (about 14)
  2. The listing says it is frozen and that it will send items with a best-before date at least 90 days from the shipping date
  3. The listing gives guideline piece counts for 1kg: “特大” about 36–50 pieces, “ジャンボ” about 31–35 pieces and “小粒たっぷり” about 80–100 pieces

Other options: If you want to choose the piece size and delivery period with a single 400g box, there is Betsukai Town Wakeari Scallop Adductor Muscle 400g.

The basis for this section is the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed November 5, 2026). These are review trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications page says that furusato nozei donations are deducted from the income tax of the year you donate, and from the resident tax of the following fiscal year (Source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, accessed October 7, 2026). The deduction amount and the procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the Ministry, your local government and the tax office.

Where to Donate

Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is November 5, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: November 5, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道紋別市” (Mombetsu City, Hokkaido) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works”

予算・贈り先・日持ちから、ほかの品も探せます

条件を選んで探す →

可按预算、送礼对象、保质期查找更多美食

按条件查找 →
Let's share this post !
  • Copied the URL !
  • Copied the URL !

Author of this article

We organize mail-order gourmet foods from across Japan using the product information published by sellers and the voices of people who bought them. Rather than our own tasting impressions, we focus on giving you the facts you need to choose. Read our editorial policy

TOC