Basque-Style Cheesecake, Set of 2 — Contents, Shelf Life & Reviews

Feature image for Karuizawa Torta’s "Basque-Style Cheesecake, Set of 2": title and shop name on the left, and on the right a product photo showing one whole Basque-style cheesecake with a browned, caramelized top and one cut slice beside it
Information as of 2026.09.16 PR
Product photo of Karuizawa Torta’s Basque-style cheesecake. A whole cheesecake with a caramelized brown top has one wedge-shaped slice cut out and placed in front, showing its pale cream-colored interior. It sits on crinkled kraft paper on a wooden board, with a knife visible in the foreground. The image is printed with the text "BASQUE," "バスク風チーズケーキ" (Basque-style cheesecake), the message "THE BASQUE CHEESE CAKE IS PRODUCT OF KARUIZAWA TORTA. WE HOPE YOU ARE HAPPY WITH OUR PRODUCTS. PEACE BEGIN WITH A SMILE.," a round badge reading "2個セット" (set of 2), and the "軽井沢トルタ KARUIZAWA TORTA" logo.
Image: from the product page of the Rakuten Ichiba shop "Karuizawa Torta Rakuten Ichiba Store."

Because this Basque-style cheesecake is kept in frozen storage (at −18°C or below), it’s easy to order it without knowing when to start thawing it or how long it will keep once thawed. The “Karuizawa” in the product name and shop name is a place name that is part of the shop’s name, Karuizawa Torta Co., Ltd. (軽井沢トルタ株式会社), and is not an indication of where the ingredients come from. The origin of the ingredients varies by item, and some are stated to be from outside Japan. The manufacturer’s address is in Nagano City, Nagano Prefecture, and the place of processing is not confirmed. In this article, we’ve organized publicly available information about Karuizawa Torta’s Basque-style cheesecake, set of 2 (size 4-go), from the product page and Rakuten reviews into five points: amount, storage and how to thaw it, ingredients and allergen labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. Because this product contains wheat, dairy, egg, and soy, we’ve listed the allergen labeling in full detail as shown on the original page (note: since the shop’s specified-allergen notice and its food information label disagree, we include soy on the safer side).

See This Product
View on Rakuten Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed Amazon: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and serving size guide
  • Storage, how to thaw it, and how long it keeps after thawing
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it’s suitable as a gift
  • What public reviews say

Basic Information

Product NameKaruizawa Torta Basque-Style Cheesecake, Set of 2
Name (Food Labeling Category)Western-style fresh confectionerySource: product description on the product page (a food-labeling category name under the Food Labeling Act, not the product name)
AmountOne whole cake (about 12cm across) × 2 cakes per setSource: same as above
Serving Size GuideThe product name states “size 4-go (about 12cm across, servings for 2 to 4).” Whether this guide applies to one cake or to the set of two is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed, so we have not added the two together to state a total number of servings
StorageFrozen storage (kept at −18°C or below)Source: product description on the product page
Best-Before Date14 days, counting from and including the shipping dateSource: same as above
How to ThawThe product description on the product page states, “thaw in the refrigerator over roughly 8 to 10 hours,” while a product description image states, “thaw in the refrigerator for about 8 to 12 hours” — the stated thawing times disagree. This article uses the longer time, 8 to 12 hours, as the guideSource: product description and product description image on the product page (accessed September 20, 2026)
How Long It Keeps After ThawingThe shop advises eating it the same day once thawedSource: same as above
After OpeningThe shop advises eating it soon after openingSource: same as above
Raw Material OriginThe product page has no “raw material origin” field at all, so this is not confirmed. The product description images state that the cream cheese is a blend of Shinshu (Nagano)-produced cream cheese and New Zealand-produced cream cheese, and that the fresh cream is from Hokkaido. In the food information label, only the processed cheese is labeled as being from Shinshu (Nagano)Source: product description images on the product page (accessed September 20, 2026); product description on the product page (food information label)
Place of ProcessingThere is no “place of processing” listed on the product page, so this is not confirmed. The shop states that it manufactures and sells products in Nagano Prefecture, and operates a factory outlet called “Karuizawa Torta FACTORY” in Nagano City, Nagano Prefecture. The manufacturer’s address is in Nagano City, Nagano PrefectureSource: product description images on the product page (accessed September 20, 2026); product description on the product page
ManufacturerKaruizawa Torta Co., Ltd. (軽井沢トルタ株式会社; 671-1 Takada, Nagano City, Nagano Prefecture)Source: product description on the product page
DeliveryCool TA-Q-BIN (frozen), Yamato TransportSource: shipping information on the product page
ShopKaruizawa Torta Rakuten Ichiba Store (軽井沢トルタ 楽天市場店, Rakuten Ichiba)

We have not listed the price, since it can change. Please check the latest price and stock status at the link above. How the cake is meant to be sliced (into how many pieces, for example) is not stated on the product page and is not confirmed.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

Based on the food information label on the product page, the ingredients are as follows.
Natural cheese, cream (dairy), sugar, processed cheese (from Shinshu), eggs, wheat flour / stabilizer (locust bean gum), emulsifier (contains wheat, dairy, egg, and soy in part)Source: product description on the product page (food information label)

Specified allergens: wheat, dairy, and egg — 3 items are listedSource: product description on the product page (specified-allergen notice). However, the food information label at the end of the ingredient list states “(contains wheat, dairy, egg, and soy in part),” which also lists soy as an allergenSource: same as above (food information label). Because the specified-allergen notice (3 items) and the food information label’s parenthetical note (4 items) disagree on the same page, this article takes the safer approach and treats all 4 items, including soy, as items to watch for. If you have an allergy to wheat, dairy, egg, or soy, you cannot eat this productSource: same as above.

The product page also states that walnuts, sesame, egg, soy, and orange are used in other products made in the same factorySource: same as above. If you have an allergy to anything other than the specified allergens above, please check before purchasing as well.

Before purchasing, please be sure to contact the seller, or check the food information label on the product once it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (Japan; accessed September 16, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

Point to CheckFor This ProductBasis
1. Amount / Servings Two whole cakes, about 12cm across each. It’s not stated whether the “2 to 4 servings” guide is per cake or for both cakes combined Product description and product name on the product page
2. Storage & How to Thaw Frozen storage (kept at −18°C or below). The stated thawing time disagrees between the product description (“8 to 10 hours”) and a product description image (“8 to 12 hours”); this article uses the longer time, 8 to 12 hours, as the guide. The shop advises eating it the same day once thawed Product description and product description images on the product page
3. Ingredients and Allergen Labeling Contains wheat, dairy, egg, and soy (the specified-allergen notice lists 3 items while the food information label’s parenthetical note lists 4, so we include soy on the safer side). The same factory also handles walnuts, sesame, egg, soy, and orange Food information label on the product page
4. Suitable as a Gift? Rakuten’s “noshi” field is set to “not supported,” but the wrapping-paper choices include “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (a general noshi option, entered in the order’s remarks field) — whether this is available should be confirmed before purchasing. The wrapping-paper choices are seasonal wrapping paper / birthday wrapping paper / “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (please check the product page for any fee). Whether a gift box or simple gift box is available is not confirmed Measured directly from the purchase settings on the Rakuten product page (the “noshi” field; the wrapping-paper option was viewed September 20, 2026)
5. What Reviews Say Read all 28 reviews in the default “Standard” sort order (posted July 18, 2024 to February 14, 2026; most recent February 14, 2026). Rakuten rating is 4.75 out of 5 (28 reviews). Taste is rated favorably overall, with several reviewers mentioning using it as a gift Rakuten customer reviews (accessed September 16, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

We checked the purchase settings on the Rakuten product page and found that the “noshi” field is set to “not supported.” However, the same purchase settings’ wrapping-paper choices include “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (a general noshi option, entered in the remarks field), so the two records disagree on whether noshi is available. Please confirm with the seller before purchasingSource: purchase settings on the product page (accessed September 20, 2026). The wrapping-paper choices are seasonal wrapping paper, birthday wrapping paper, and “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (please check the product page for any fee). As for gift wrapping (wrapping the item in paper) or whether it comes in a gift box or a simple gift box, we could not find any mention of this anywhere on the product page, so this is not confirmed.

The end of the product page’s description also lists many words that describe gift-giving occasions, such as “uchi-iwai” (return gifts), celebrating a birth, and “oseibo” (year-end gifts), but these are keywords listed for search visibility, not primary information about whether noshi or gift wrapping is available. In this article, we base whether the product is suitable for gift-giving purposes only on the measured purchase settings and what is stated in the product page text, not on this list of keywords.

If you’re considering this as a gift, checking the following with the seller before purchasing can help avoid misunderstandings.

  • The “noshi” field is “not supported,” but the wrapping-paper choices include “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (a general noshi option) — please confirm with the seller before purchasing whether this can be used
  • Since it is kept in frozen storage (at −18°C or below), whether the recipient can specify a delivery date and time
  • Since thawing takes about 8 to 12 hours, whether you can let the recipient know about the thawing time and that it needs to be eaten the same day

What Public Reviews Say

We read all 28 reviews shown on the Rakuten product page, in the default display order (“Standard”). The reviews span from July 18, 2024 to February 14, 2026, with the most recent posted on February 14, 2026. Because the tendency of the content can change depending on the sort order and when the reviews were posted, please note that this sort order does not necessarily represent the product’s current state as-is. Below is a summary of the ratings and review content. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change afterward.

SiteRatingNumber of ReviewsDate Viewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.75 / 528September 16, 2026

Star breakdown (measured directly): 22 five-star, 5 four-star, 1 three-star, 0 two-star, 0 one-star.

What Reviewers Praise

Many reviewers described the cake as rich-tasting, and the taste is rated favorably overall. Several reviewers mention using it not only for themselves but also as a birthday gift for family or friends, or as an “uchi-iwai” return gift, and say it was well received. There are also favorable comments about the packaging and delivery.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed September 16, 2026; all 28 reviews read)

What Reviewers Note

Although the number is small, some reviewers said the actual size or amount was smaller, or less filling, than they expected. We did not find any low ratings (one or two stars) within the range we reviewed this time.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed September 16, 2026; all 28 reviews read)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Can order with the roughly 8-to-12-hour thawing time in mind
  • Wants to use it as a gift for a birthday, anniversary, “uchi-iwai,” or similar occasion
  • Wants to split the two 12cm-across whole cakes for different uses
  • Has room in the freezer for two whole cakes

Who Should Be Careful

  • Has an allergy to wheat, dairy, egg, or soy (you cannot eat this product)
  • Wants to eat it right away (thawing takes nearly half a day)
  • Wants to give it as a gift assuming noshi is available (the “noshi” field is “not supported,” but the wrapping-paper choices include “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” — confirmation needed)
  • Wants to confirm the exact number of servings per cake beforehand
Where to Buy
View on Rakuten (Karuizawa Torta Rakuten Ichiba Store) Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed Amazon: availability not confirmed

Price, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates can change. The information in this article is current as of September 16, 2026. Please be sure to check the details at the link before purchasing.
Links in this article include affiliate advertising. Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. Since it is kept in frozen storage (at −18°C or below), thaw it in the refrigerator for about 8 to 12 hours before eating (the product description states 8 to 10 hours while a product description image states 8 to 12 hours; we list the longer time here because the two disagree). The shop advises eating it the same day once thawed, so order with the day you plan to eat it in mind
  2. Contains wheat, dairy, egg, and soy, and the same factory also handles walnuts, sesame, egg, soy, and orange. If you have an allergy, be sure to check before purchasing
  3. The “noshi” field is “not supported,” but the wrapping-paper choices include “一般熨斗(備考欄記入)” (a general noshi option) — whether this can be used needs to be confirmed. Wrapping-paper choices (seasonal wrapping paper / birthday wrapping paper / “一般熨斗”) are available, but whether gift wrapping or a gift box is available is not confirmed, so if you’re giving it as a gift, check with the seller before purchasing

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on the seller’s site and review sites. Product information such as the amount, storage method, and ingredients is subject to change. Please check the seller’s own listing for the latest information.

Ratings of taste and quality are summaries of third-party posts with sources noted, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: September 16, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Karuizawa Torta Rakuten Ichiba Store” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling” (Japan)

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

TOC