Sanriku Kaihouzuke, Kamaishi Furusato Nozei — Contents, Shelf Life & Reviews

Product photo of Sanriku Kaihouzuke in a clear container: ikura and slices of simmered abalone arranged on top of mekabu in soy sauce (Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g, Kamaishi City, Iwate, Nakamuraya). Text placed in the image by the shop: “地元で長年愛される 高級割烹店の味” (The taste of a high-end Japanese restaurant, long loved locally), “和食のプロが数十年にわたって追求し尽くしたこだわりの逸品” (A carefully made dish that Japanese-cuisine professionals have pursued for decades), and the shop logo “中村家” (Nakamuraya).
Information as of 2026.10.21 PR
Product photo of Sanriku Kaihouzuke in a clear container: ikura and slices of simmered abalone arranged on top of mekabu in soy sauce (Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g, Kamaishi City, Iwate, Nakamuraya). Text placed in the image by the shop: “地元で長年愛される 高級割烹店の味” (The taste of a high-end Japanese restaurant, long loved locally), “和食のプロが数十年にわたって追求し尽くしたこだわりの逸品” (A carefully made dish that Japanese-cuisine professionals have pursued for decades), and the shop logo “中村家” (Nakamuraya).
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “岩手県釜石市” (Kamaishi City, Iwate) listing.

Kamaishi City (釜石市) in Iwate Prefecture is the municipality you donate to for this thank-you gift, and the listing says the main stages of production, such as manufacturing and processing, are carried out in Kamaishi City. As for the country of origin of the ingredients, the mekabu and abalone are labeled as from Sanriku, and the ikura (salmon roe) is labeled as domestic, or as from the US and domestic, depending on the size and the shipping period. The thank-you gift covered in this article, Sanriku Kaihouzuke (三陸海宝漬), is a frozen gift made by Nakamuraya (中村家) from mekabu (a type of wakame seaweed) in soy sauce, ikura in soy sauce and simmered abalone. You apply by choosing one of two sizes, 150g or 350g, a quantity of 1 to 3, and a delivery period. We organized what the Rakuten listing and reviews say into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift and reviews. The features we could confirm on the listing are three: the 150g and 350g sizes, a choice of delivery periods, and frozen storage with a best-before period of 180 days.

View This Thank-You Gift
View on Rakuten Furusato Nozei (Kamaishi City, Iwate) Amazon: Not confirmed to carry the same product Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

At a Glance

Key points

  1. Three items: mekabu in soy sauce, ikura in soy sauce and simmered abalone. You can choose 150g or 350g in a quantity of 1 to 3; the largest option is 350g × 3, or 1,050g
  2. Frozen, with a best-before period of 180 days, according to the listing. The listing says that after thawing it should be kept in the refrigerator and eaten within 5 days
  3. Three delivery periods to choose from: November–December, January–February, or standard shipping (within 30 business days of payment). The listing says donations with payment confirmed by December 7 will be shipped within the year
  4. Rated 4.41 on Rakuten (515 reviews). As displayed when viewed on October 21, 2026

Watch out for

  • The listing says part of the ingredients of the 350g size will change for shipments from December onward. The fish roe in the mekabu in soy sauce changes from Alaska pollock roe to capelin roe, and the ikura (domestic) in the ikura in soy sauce changes to salmon roe (from the US and domestic)
  • The Rakuten listing shows no support for noshi (a gift wrapping label)

Suits: people who want to receive mekabu, ikura and abalone in soy sauce frozen, choosing the size and the delivery period

The features come from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 21, 2026). The rating is as displayed on Rakuten (viewed October 21, 2026) and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

Basic Information

Product name
Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g (Kamaishi City, Iwate; Nakamuraya)
Donation recipient / provider
Kamaishi City, Iwate (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) / Manufacturer and provider: Nakamuraya
Amount
150g / 150g × 2 / 150g × 3 / 350g / 350g × 2 / 350g × 3
Contents
Mekabu in soy sauce, ikura in soy sauce and simmered abalone (the amount of each item is not confirmed)
Delivery period
Choose from November–December, January–February, or standard shipping (within 30 business days of payment)
Storage
The listing says frozen. It gives the best-before period as 180 days
Allergen labeling
Wheat, abalone, ikura, soybeans (as labeled in the ingredient list)
Donation amount
Varies with what you choose. Check it on the listing
Shipping
Depends on the delivery period you choose. The listing says donations with payment confirmed by December 7 ship within the year
Noshi / gifts
No mention of noshi support (no mention of wrapping or message cards either)

This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

The allergen labeling is a transcription of the ingredient list on the listing (contains wheat, abalone, ikura and soybeans in part). If you have allergies, be sure to check the labeling on the listing before you apply, and the label on the thank-you gift after it arrives (reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, viewed October 21, 2026).

See the transcribed details, sources and “not confirmed” items (16 items)

This list transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product name
Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g (Kamaishi City, Iwate; Nakamuraya)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part and the sizes are shown here.
Type of food
三陸海宝漬 (Sanriku Kaihouzuke; as written in the “名称” (name) field on the listing)Source: product description on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Amount
150g / 150g × 2 / 150g × 3 / 350g / 350g × 2 / 350g × 3. The number of servings is not stated and is not confirmed. The amount of each of the mekabu, ikura and abalone, and the number of abalone slices, are also not confirmedSource: options on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Options you can choose
Size and quantity: 150g / 150g × 2 / 150g × 3 / 350g / 350g × 2 / 350g × 3
Delivery period: delivery in November–December / delivery in January–February / standard shipping (within 30 business days of payment)
The same page also offers regular delivery plans of the 350g size (3 months and 6 months), which are not covered in this articleSource: options on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Donation amount
Varies with the combination of size and quantity you choose. Because the amount changes, it is not given in this articleSource: options on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Ingredients
[Kaihouzuke 350g] Mekabu in soy sauce (mekabu (from Sanriku), soy sauce, Alaska pollock roe, sugar, mirin, chili pepper, salt) (manufactured in Japan), ikura in soy sauce (ikura (domestic), soy sauce, sugar, sake, brewed vinegar), simmered abalone (abalone (from Sanriku), sake, salt), / alcohol, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), caramel color, acidulant, thickener (xanthan gum), sweetener (licorice), (contains wheat, abalone, ikura and soybeans in part)
Partial change for the 350g size from shipments in December onward: the listing says “スケトウダラの卵” (Alaska pollock roe) in the mekabu in soy sauce becomes “カラフトシシャモ卵” (capelin roe), “いくら(国産)” (ikura, domestic) in the ikura in soy sauce becomes “鮭卵(アメリカ産、国産)” (salmon roe, from the US and domestic), and everything else stays the same
[Kaihouzuke 150g] Mekabu in soy sauce (mekabu (from Sanriku), soy sauce, capelin roe, sugar, mirin, chili pepper, salt) (manufactured in Japan), ikura in soy sauce (salmon roe (from the US and domestic), soy sauce, sugar, sake, brewed vinegar), simmered abalone (abalone (from Sanriku), sake, salt), additives the same as the 350g size, (contains wheat, abalone, ikura and soybeans in part)Source: “原材料名” (ingredients) in the product description on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Storage method
FrozenSource: product description on the listing
Best-before date
Stated as 180 days. The listing does not say from when it is counted, so this is not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Thawing method
The thawing steps and a guide to the time needed are not confirmed
Shelf life after thawing
The listing says that after thawing it should be kept in the refrigerator and eaten within 5 daysSource: “注意事項” (notes) in the product description on the listing
Country of origin (ingredients)
Mekabu: from Sanriku / abalone: from Sanriku / ikura (salmon roe): labeled “いくら(国産)” (ikura, domestic) for the 350g size, and “鮭卵(アメリカ産、国産)” (salmon roe, from the US and domestic) for the 150g size and for the 350g size shipped from December onwardSource: “原材料名” (ingredients) in the product description on the listing
Place of processing
Kamaishi City, Iwate. As the reason it qualifies as a local product (地場産品), the listing says the main part of the manufacturing, processing and other stages is carried out in Kamaishi CitySource: product description on the listing
Condition / how to eat (cooking required?)
It arrives frozen. We found no guidance on whether to thaw it and eat it as is or whether it needs heatingSource: product description on the listing
Delivery
We found no statement on whether it is sent by frozen delivery, so this is not confirmed. The listing says that if you apply for more than one, they may arrive separately; that residents of Kamaishi City cannot apply; that no refund or redelivery is possible if you cannot receive it; and that donation applications cannot be canceled and thank-you gifts cannot be changed or returnedSource: product description on the listing and the notes image for thank-you gifts (viewed October 21, 2026)
Shipping time
The listing shows standard shipping as within 30 business days after payment is confirmed, and January–February delivery as delivered in January–February after payment is confirmed. No shipping guideline text was shown for the November–December delivery option. The listing says donations with payment confirmed by December 7 will be shipped within the year, and that for bank transfers, donations whose payment is confirmed in Rakuten’s system by December 7 are eligible for shipping within the yearSource: options and product description on the listing (viewed October 21, 2026)
Noshi / gifts
The listing shows no noshi support, wrapping or message cards. An image on the listing says that if you want ochugen (mid-year gift) packaging with noshi, you should apply from the separate ochugen application page (the contents of that page and the types of noshi inscription are not confirmed). The listing says that for furusato nozei thank-you gifts, the orderer’s information is treated as the donor’s resident registration information, and whether it can be delivered to an address other than the donor’s is not confirmed. Whether it comes in a gift box is also not confirmedSource: listing and images on the product page (viewed October 21, 2026)
Manufacturer
Nakamuraya (the provider is also Nakamuraya). The address is not stated and is not confirmed. A regular (non-furusato nozei) listing of Nakamuraya’s Sanriku Kaihouzuke is covered in a separate article. It is a different listing from this thank-you gift, and we have not been able to confirm whether the contents are the sameSource: product description on the listing
Shop
Kamaishi City, Iwate (Rakuten Furusato Nozei). The contact for the thank-you gift and delivery is given as 株式会社かまいしDMCSource: Rakuten shop company information page (viewed October 21, 2026)

Donation amounts may differ by portal and by the size and quantity you choose, and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.

Photo of Sanriku Kaihouzuke in 150g and 350g sizes side by side: on the left, the 150g gift box and its contents in a clear container; on the right, the 350g gift box and its contents in a clear container (Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g, Kamaishi City, Iwate, Nakamuraya). Text placed in the image by the shop: “ご家族の人数やお好みにあわせて” (To suit your family size and preferences), “お届け回数や容量が選べる!” (Choose the number of deliveries and the size!), “少しの量をお召し上がりたい方!” (For those who want a smaller amount!), “150g”, “350g”, “定番!” (Standard!), “定期便もご用意しております。” (Subscription deliveries are also available.). Printed on the boxes: “三陸海宝漬”, “中村家”, “要冷凍” (Keep frozen), “保冷剤入り” (Ice pack included), “350g”, “この商品は保冷剤といっしょにパックされております。” (This product is packed with an ice pack.), “SANRIKU-KAI”.
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “岩手県釜石市” (Kamaishi City, Iwate) listing.
Serving example photo: mekabu in soy sauce, ikura and slices of simmered abalone placed on rice in a white bowl (Sanriku Kaihouzuke 150g / 350g, Kamaishi City, Iwate, Nakamuraya). The rice is not included in the product. Text placed in the image by the shop: “頑張った自分へのご褒美に” (A reward for yourself after working hard), “感謝を伝えたいあの人へ” (For someone you want to thank), “海宝漬で至福の時間を” (A blissful moment with Kaihouzuke).
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei “岩手県釜石市” (Kamaishi City, Iwate) listing. The image is a serving example; the rice is not included in the product.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change afterward. What follows is a trend within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.41 / 5515October 21, 2026

Rating breakdown: ★5 342 / ★4 103 / ★3 34 / ★2 11 / ★1 25 (as displayed on Rakuten Ichiba; viewed October 21, 2026)

What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted December 2018 to July 2026, most recent July 2026), all 25 reviews at ★1 (posted June 2019 to January 2025) and all 11 reviews at ★2 (posted May 2019 to February 2024), 96 reviews in total. This is a trend within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

The counts below are approximate figures from our own reading of the posts. Posts that only concern the One-Stop Exception paperwork, the municipality’s handling or shipping delays, and posts saying they had not eaten it yet, are not included.

What Reviewers Praise

Satisfied with it as a topping for rice (about 26 of 60)

About 26 of the 60 reviews in the default order said they put it on warm rice and ate it as a topping for rice. 12 of these were posted within the last two years.

Applying every year or again (about 14 of 60)

About 14 of the 60 reviews in the default order said they apply every year or had ordered it again. 7 of these were posted within the last two years.

Texture of the abalone (4 of 60)

4 of the 60 reviews in the default order said the abalone was tender or had a firm, crunchy bite.

Also with drinks (2 of 60)

2 of the 60 reviews in the default order said they had it not only with rice but also as a snack with drinks (as written by the reviewers).

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Most of the contents feel like mekabu (8 of 25 at ★1, 6 of 11 at ★2)

8 of the 25 reviews at ★1 and 6 of the 11 reviews at ★2 said there was a lot of mekabu and that the abalone and ikura felt scarce. There are also 4 such reviews among the 60 in the default order. The ★1 and ★2 reviews of this kind were mostly posted between 2020 and 2022, and only 1 at ★1 was posted within the last two years.

How to check: the order of the ingredient list and whether the amount of each item is stated are summarized in the “Ingredients” and “Amount” rows of the details in “Basic Information” in this article.

The amount received felt small (5 of 25 at ★1)

5 of the 25 reviews at ★1 said the amount that arrived felt smaller than expected. Reviews about the 150g size stand out, and 2 of these were posted within the last two years.

How to check: the amount for each size is summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Strong-tasting or salty (6 in total)

3 of the 60 reviews in the default order, 2 of the ★1 reviews and 1 of the ★2 reviews said the flavor felt strong or salty.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026)

Summary: Is This the One for You?

Why choose it: you want to receive mekabu, ikura and abalone in soy sauce frozen, and you want to choose whether it arrives within the year or after New Year. If those two are your conditions, this thank-you gift fits: you can choose 150g or 350g in a quantity of 1 to 3, and a delivery period of November–December, January–February or standard shipping (weak point: some ★1 and ★2 reviews say most of it felt like mekabu).

  1. Rated 4.41/5 on Rakuten (515 reviews). Among the 96 reviews we read (which may not reflect the product’s current condition), many mentioned satisfaction with it as a topping for rice (about 26 of 60) and applying again (about 14)
  2. The listing says it is frozen with a best-before period of 180 days. It also says donations with payment confirmed by December 7 ship within the year

The basis for this section is the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 21, 2026). These are review trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications explains that the deduction is taken from income tax for the year in which you make the furusato nozei donation, and from resident tax for the following fiscal year (source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”, viewed October 21, 2026). Deduction amounts and procedures differ from person to person, so please check with the ministry, your local municipality or the tax office.

Where to Donate
View on Rakuten Furusato Nozei (Kamaishi City, Iwate) Amazon: Not confirmed to carry the same product Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 21, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 21, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “岩手県釜石市” (Kamaishi City, Iwate) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, “How Furusato Nozei Works: Tax Deductions”

予算・贈り先・日持ちから、ほかの品も探せます

条件を選んで探す →

可按预算、送礼对象、保质期查找更多美食

按条件查找 →
Let's share this post !
  • Copied the URL !
  • Copied the URL !

Author of this article

We organize mail-order gourmet foods from across Japan using the product information published by sellers and the voices of people who bought them. Rather than our own tasting impressions, we focus on giving you the facts you need to choose. Read our editorial policy

TOC