Hokkaido Scallop Adductor Muscle Toku-A/A Grade 1kg — Contents, Shelf Life, Reviews

Featured image of Hokkaido Scallop Adductor Muscle Toku-A/A Grade 1kg: a product photo of white frozen scallop adductor muscles packed in a clear bag inside a white polystyrene box placed on a wooden board. No text in the image.
Information as of 2026.10.11 PR
Product photo of Hokkaido Scallop Adductor Muscle Toku-A/A Grade 1kg: a heaped bamboo basket lined with bamboo leaves, full of frozen white scallop adductor muscles. Text the shop placed in the image reads: “たっぷりメガ盛り「1kg」” (generous mega portion, 1kg) and “使いやすいように一粒ずつ冷凍されているので、とても便利です。” (frozen piece by piece for easy use, very convenient).
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba product page of “魚の北辰” (Uo no Hokushin). The text in this image was added by the seller and is not a fact confirmed by Ochinity.

“Hokkaido” here is the origin stated on the product page, and the processor’s address is listed as Kashiwa, Chiba Prefecture. With Hokkaido scallop adductor muscle (Toku-A/A grade) 1kg, what arrives depends on the grade (the size of the pieces), and it is easy to choose without knowing how many servings it makes or how to thaw it. This article sorts the publicly available product information and Rakuten reviews for this product from Uo no Hokushin (魚の北辰) into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

View this product
View on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and roughly how many servings
  • Storage method and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Suitable as a gift?
  • Trends in publicly available reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product Name北海道産 ほたて貝柱 特A規格/A規格 フレーク 最上位規格 お刺身用 1kg (Hokkaido scallop adductor muscle, Toku-A grade / A grade, flake, top grade, for sashimi, 1kg)〔This is the name shown on the Rakuten product page, shortened by removing promotional words and search keywords〕
DesignationScallop adductor muscle (ほたて貝柱)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Amount1kg (1,000g). Individually frozen; the page says you can thaw only the amount you needSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
What Changes With Your ChoiceChoose a grade: “特A規格” (Toku-A grade, about 70 to 80 pieces) / “A規格” (A grade, about 120 to 130 pieces). The amount is 1kg for bothSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Storage MethodStore at −18°C or belowSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Best-Before DateThe use-by date is 90 days frozen. Once thawed, the page advises eating it within 3 daysSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Country of OriginHokkaidoSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Processing LocationKashiwa, Chiba Prefecture (listed as the address of the processor, Hokushin Suisan (北辰水産))Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Condition / How to Eat (Cooking Required?)Frozen. The shop’s description also recommends it for sashimi (“お刺身にもおすすめ”). Clear guidance on whether cooking is required is Not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
Thawing MethodNot confirmed
ShippingThe page says unattended drop-off (okihai) is not available for frozen items. Shipping is estimated at 4 to 5 days (excluding the shop’s closed days). The delivery temperature category is Not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
ManufacturerListed as the processor: Hokushin Suisan (北辰水産), Kashiwa, Chiba Prefecture. Whether it is the manufacturer or the seller is Not confirmedSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
ShopUo no Hokushin (魚の北辰) (Rakuten Ichiba)

The page says natural scallops are used, that shell fragments may rarely be present, and that you should be careful when eating (source: Rakuten Ichiba product page, accessed October 11, 2026). It is a flake grade sold as a “wakeari” item (imperfect/irregular, sold at a discount), and the product page says the pieces vary in size but have almost no cracks or chips (“ワレ・カケ”).

Prices are not listed here because they change. Please check the current price and stock availability at the link above.

Product description image of Hokkaido Scallop Adductor Muscle Toku-A/A Grade 1kg comparing two bags of scallop adductor muscles, Toku-A and A grade, on a black background. Text the shop placed in the image reads: “ご購入前にご確認ください” (please check before purchase), “特A級品” (Toku-A grade) “約70〜80粒” (about 70 to 80 pieces), “A級品” (A grade) “約120〜130粒” (about 120 to 130 pieces), “訳あり品の規格で、最上クラスの大粒です。” (the top class of the seconds grading, large pieces) and “訳あり品の規格では2番目のクラスです。粒がやや小さくなります。” (the second class of the seconds grading, slightly smaller pieces).
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba product page of “魚の北辰” (Uo no Hokushin). The text in this image was added by the seller and is not a fact confirmed by Ochinity.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

Within what we could check, the body of the product page does not show an ingredient list or allergen labeling. We also have not been able to check whether the images used in the product description contain such information. This item is Not confirmed.

If you have an allergy and plan to eat this, please check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 11, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

Item to CheckFor This ProductBasis
1. Amount / Servings 1kg. Toku-A grade is about 70 to 80 pieces and A grade is about 120 to 130 pieces. Individually frozen. How many servings it makes is Not confirmed Product page. No serving count is stated
2. Storage and Shelf Life Store at −18°C or below. Use-by date is 90 days frozen, and within 3 days once thawed Product page
3. Ingredients and Allergen Labeling Not confirmed (not stated in the page body) Rakuten Ichiba product page (accessed October 11, 2026)
4. Suitable as a Gift? We could not confirm noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping or message card options. The shop’s description says the product is also chosen as a gift Product page
5. What Reviews Say Rakuten rating is 4.68/5 (1,585 reviews). We read the first 59 reviews in the default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; the latest is from October 2026), all 20 reviews filtered to 1 star (posted December 2023 to September 2026) and all 19 reviews filtered to 2 stars (posted October 2023 to August 2026), 98 in total. The following are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition. Many reviewers praised the sweetness and the size of the pieces, while some pointed out small pieces, odor and the manufacturing date Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 11, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

We could not confirm noshi, wrapping or message card options on the product page. The product name includes words for ochugen (mid-year gift) and oseibo (year-end gift), but these do not indicate that such options are available. The shop’s description says the product is also chosen as a gift. If you are considering it as a gift, it helps to check the following before buying.

  • Whether noshi and wrapping are available (not stated on the product page)
  • Whether the recipient can receive it on the delivery date, since unattended drop-off is not available for frozen items
  • Whether the recipient has room in their freezer for 1kg

Of the 59 reviews we read, 9 said the item was used as a gift or thank-you and was well received (source: Rakuten customer reviews, accessed October 11, 2026. This is a count within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition).

Serving-example photo for Hokkaido Scallop Adductor Muscle Toku-A/A Grade 1kg: butter-sautéed scallop adductor muscles with a browned surface arranged on a round white plate with a scalloped rim, garnished with broccoli, chopped green onions and tomato. A sign at the upper right reads “ほたてのバターソテー” (butter-sautéed scallops).
Image: From the Rakuten Ichiba product page of “魚の北辰” (Uo no Hokushin). The image is a serving example (butter sauté); the broccoli, chopped green onions and tomato are not included with the product. The photo shows the scallops after cooking.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by theme. The rating figures reflect the time of viewing and will change.

SiteRatingNumber of ReviewsDate Accessed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.68 / 51,585October 11, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 1,227 / 4★ 271 / 3★ 48 / 2★ 19 / 1★ 20 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 11, 2026)

What we read: the first 59 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted October 2025 to October 2026; latest October 2026), plus all 20 reviews filtered to 1★ (posted December 2023 to September 2026) and all 19 filtered to 2★ (posted October 2023 to August 2026), 98 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

What Reviewers Praise

Taste and sweetness

About 28 of the 59 reviews in the default order mentioned the sweetness or taste of the scallops.

Large pieces and satisfying bite

About 14 of the 59 reviews in the default order said the pieces were large or satisfying to eat.

Posts about eating it as sashimi

About 12 of the 59 reviews in the default order said they ate it as sashimi.

Repeat purchases

About 26 of the 59 reviews in the default order mentioned buying it repeatedly.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 11, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Small pieces and uneven sizes

About 11 of the 39 reviews rated 1 or 2 stars (about 8 of them posted within the last two years) mentioned that the pieces were smaller than expected or varied in size.

How to check: the approximate piece counts for each grade are summarized in the “What Changes With Your Choice” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Odor

7 of the 20 reviews rated 1 star (6 of them posted within the last two years) said they noticed a fishy or ammonia-like smell.

Manufacturing date and date labeling

5 of the 39 reviews rated 1 or 2 stars said that the manufacturing or catch date of the item received was old, or that the date on the outer box differed from the one on the product (all were posted from May 2025 onward). How this relates to the use-by date on the product page (90 days frozen) is Not confirmed as of this article.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (accessed October 11, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Those looking for individually frozen scallops that can be thawed only as needed
  • Those who want to choose the size of the pieces (grade) when buying
  • Those who have freezer space for 1kg

Who Should Be Careful

  • Those who want to check ingredients and allergen labeling before buying (not stated in the page body, so not confirmed)
  • Those bothered by the possibility of shell fragments (the shop gives a caution)
  • Those who want to use it as a gift that comes with noshi or wrapping
  • Those who find it hard to arrange the receiving date and time (unattended drop-off is not available for frozen items)
Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba (Uo no Hokushin) Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates are subject to change. The information in this article was gathered on October 11, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before purchasing.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. The amount is 1kg, and the size of the pieces depends on the grade: Toku-A (about 70 to 80 pieces) or A (about 120 to 130 pieces). It is individually frozen, but how many servings it makes is not confirmed
  2. Store at −18°C or below. The use-by date is 90 days frozen, and within 3 days once thawed. Some reviews also point out the manufacturing date and date labeling
  3. Ingredient and allergen labeling could not be confirmed in the body of the product page. Check the label on the product when it arrives

Related Pages

This article summarizes information publicly available on retail sites and review sites. Product details such as amount, storage method, and ingredients are subject to change. Please check the seller’s listing for the most current information.

Assessments of taste and quality are summarized from third-party posts with sources cited, and do not represent Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our editorial process is described in the Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 11, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “魚の北辰” product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC