Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI (Betsukai Town) — Contents & Reviews

Product photo of a round white cheesecake with one cut slice taken out, set side by side on a dark stone-like stand (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI, a furusato nozei thank-you gift from Betsukai Town, Hokkaido). Text the shop placed in the image reads “酪農王国 別海町から 地元の素材を贅沢に使ったスイーツをご用意いたしました” (From Betsukai, the dairy kingdom: sweets made lavishly with local ingredients) and “新鮮なべつかい牛乳と、大自然でのびのび育った鶏卵を原料とした北海道のチーズケーキです” (A Hokkaido cheesecake made from fresh Betsukai milk and eggs from hens raised freely in nature)
Information as of 2026.10.06 PR
Product photo of a round white cheesecake with one cut slice taken out, set side by side on a dark stone-like stand (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI, a furusato nozei thank-you gift from Betsukai Town, Hokkaido). Text the shop placed in the image reads “酪農王国 別海町から 地元の素材を贅沢に使ったスイーツをご用意いたしました” (From Betsukai, the dairy kingdom: sweets made lavishly with local ingredients) and “新鮮なべつかい牛乳と、大自然でのびのび育った鶏卵を原料とした北海道のチーズケーキです” (A Hokkaido cheesecake made from fresh Betsukai milk and eggs from hens raised freely in nature)
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing page. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Betsukai Town (Hokkaido) is the municipality that receives the donation for this thank-you gift, and the listing states it as the place of manufacture. It does not indicate where the raw materials come from (the country of origin of the ingredients is not confirmed). The furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program) thank-you gift covered in this article, “濃厚チーズケーキ BETSUKAI〜べつかい〜” (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI), is a frozen cheesecake in size No. 5 (15 cm); you apply for 1 or 2 and choose the shipping period. We organized the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing and its reviews into five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and a guide to the number of servings
  • Storage method and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the listing. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product Name濃厚チーズケーキ BETSUKAI〜べつかい〜(北海道別海町・ふるさと納税) (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI; Betsukai Town, Hokkaido; furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string packed with search keywords. Only the product-name part is shown here.
Name濃厚チーズケーキ BETSUKAI〜べつかい〜 (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI)Source: product description on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
AmountCheesecake, size No. 5 (15 cm). You choose 1 or 2. The number of servings or slices is not stated and is not confirmedSource: same as above
StructureDescribed as a two-layer cheesecake with a no-bake (rare cheese) layer on top of a baked layer on a tart baseSource: same as above
What Changes by SelectionThe number of cakes (1 / 2) and the shipping period. You cannot choose the delivery dateSource: selection field and cautions on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Donation AmountIt differs by the combination of shipping period and number of cakes you choose. Because the amount changes, it is not given in this article. Please check the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listingSource: selection field on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Storage MethodKeep frozen (-18℃ or below)Source: product description on the listing
Best-Before DateThe listing states 30 days from the shipping date. After thawing, it says to eat it as soon as possible (soon regardless of the date). The number of days after thawing is not confirmedSource: product description and cautions on the listing
Thawing MethodThe listing says to leave it in the refrigerator for about 5 hours before eatingSource: product description on the listing
Cautions After OpeningApart from the guidance above, we found no statement on how long it keeps after thawing or on cautions after opening, so these are not confirmed
Raw Material OriginWe found no dedicated field on the listing, so this is not confirmed. Among the ingredients, only the lemon peel is stated as domestic (Japanese). The product description says milk and eggs are used as raw materials, but no origin is stated for either, so these are not confirmedSource: product description on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Place of ProcessingThe listing states Betsukai Town, Hokkaido as the place of manufactureSource: product description on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
State / How to Eat (Whether Cooking Is Required)It arrives frozen. The listing says to leave it in the refrigerator for about 5 hours before eating, and we found no guidance about heatingSource: product description on the listing
ShippingFrozen delivery. The listing says you cannot specify a delivery date and that delivery is not available to some areas such as Okinawa Prefecture and remote islands. It says donation applications cannot be canceled and thank-you gifts cannot be changed or returnedSource: product description on the listing (cautions)
Shipping PeriodYou choose the shipping period when you apply. As of the viewing date, the selection field had options for shipping by the end of October / November / December / January / February, and the listing says items are shipped in sequence in the period you select. The options may changeSource: selection field on the listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
ManufacturerThe provider field shows カフェミルフイユ (Cafe Mille-feuille). Whether this is the manufacturer or processor, and its location, are not confirmedSource: product description on the listing
Awards and Ratings in the Product NameThe product name shown on the Rakuten product page includes a 2021 gold award, the name of the ESSE Furusato Grand Prix (ESSEふるさとグランプリ), a high-rating figure, and a popularity-ranking phrase (the shop’s own display). The category, the month of the award, what was awarded, and the source and date of the ranking could not be confirmed on the product page, so they are not confirmed. This is a 2021 display and is not the latest. Ochinity has not verified itSource: product name shown on the Rakuten product page (viewed October 6, 2026)
Catchphrase on the Product PageThe catchphrase includes the word “訳あり” (wakeari), but the reason is not stated on the product page and is not confirmedSource: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing (viewed October 6, 2026)
Local-Product CategoryStated as No. 3 (products manufactured or processed within the municipality, which adds considerable value)Source: product description on the listing
Shop北海道別海町 (Betsukai Town, Hokkaido) (Rakuten Furusato Nozei)

Donation amounts may differ by portal and by the shipping period and number of cakes you choose, and they may change. Please check the current donation amount and acceptance status at the link above.

One triangular slice of cheesecake on a glass plate, with a no-bake cheese layer stacked on a baked layer on a tart base, garnished with blueberries and mint. Product photo of Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI (a furusato nozei thank-you gift from Betsukai Town, Hokkaido). Text the shop placed in the image reads “タルト土台のベイクド層 その上にレアチーズの濃厚ダブルチーズケーキ” (a rich double cheesecake: a baked layer on a tart base with a rare cheese layer on top) and “北海道の雪のような白さと、その下にある大地の力強さをチーズケーキで表現しました” (expressing the snow-like whiteness of Hokkaido and the strength of the land beneath it in a cheesecake)
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing page. This is a plating example. The blueberries and mint are not included with the product. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

The ingredients are listed as cream cheese, egg, milk, fresh cream, sour cream, mascarpone, sugar, butter, wheat flour, gelatin, lemon peel (domestic), and vanilla flavoring (vanilla beans) (product description on the listing). The allergen field lists egg, milk, wheat, and gelatin. We found no discrepancy within the listing.

If you are concerned about allergies, please contact the provider before you donate, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 6, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before You Donate

What to CheckFor This GiftBasis
1. Amount and Number of Servings Choose 1 or 2 cakes in size No. 5 (15 cm). The number of servings is not stated Product description and selection field on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing
2. Storage Method and Shelf Life Keep frozen (-18℃ or below). The best-before date is stated as 30 days from the shipping date. Thawing is described as about 5 hours in the refrigerator, and it says to eat soon after thawing. The number of days after thawing is not confirmed Product description and cautions on the listing
3. Ingredients and Allergen Labeling The allergen field lists egg, milk, wheat, and gelatin Product description on the listing (allergen field)
4. Suitable as a Gift The product description has a notice on gift handling for oseibo (year-end gift) saying delivery by December 15 (payment by November 25), simple noshi (gift wrapping label; sticker type, no name printing), and noshi on the outer packaging for multiple cakes. We found no statement on wrapping or message cards, and the listing says you cannot specify a delivery date Product description on the listing (gift handling and cautions, viewed October 7, 2026)
5. Review Trends Rakuten Ichiba’s rating is 4.78 out of 5 (725 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default sort order (posted from October 2025 to October 2026; the latest is from October 2026) and all 26 reviews rated 1★ to 3★ (posted from August 2021 to August 2026). The following is the trend within the range we read and may not reflect the product’s current state. Many reviewers mention richness, a milky taste, and being lightly sweet and easy to eat, while some posts say it was not as rich as expected Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

The product description on the listing has a notice titled “【お歳暮】ギフト対応について” (on gift handling for oseibo, the year-end gift) (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing, viewed October 7, 2026). As a furusato nozei thank-you gift, it also says you cannot specify a delivery date. If you plan to use it as a gift, please check the following points before you apply.

  • Oseibo handling: the listing states delivery by December 15 (payment by November 25). It says that if payment cannot be confirmed within the acceptance period, oseibo handling is not available
  • Noshi (gift wrapping label): only a simple noshi (sticker type) is supported, and the listing says name printing is not possible. If you apply for multiple cakes, it says noshi is applied to the outer packaging. We found no statement on other types of gift noshi or inscriptions besides oseibo, so these are not confirmed
  • Wrapping and gift box: no statement found, so this is not confirmed
  • Message card: no statement found, so this is not confirmed
  • Specifying the delivery date: the listing says you cannot specify the delivery date or a specified arrival date
  • Delivery address and sender name: the listing states that if you specify a delivery address different from the orderer’s information, the parcel is shipped with the donor’s name as the sender on the shipping slip. It says the sender name on the notice of missed delivery will be “北海道別海町サポート室” (Hokkaido Betsukai Town Support Office)

It arrives frozen and you cannot choose the delivery date. If you plan to give it as oseibo, please check the deadline, the payment timing, and how noshi is handled against the latest statement on the listing before you apply.

One slice of cheesecake topped with berry sauce and dark berries, served on a dark green plate with orange, strawberries, blueberries, a yellow fruit, and mint (Rich Cheesecake BETSUKAI, a furusato nozei thank-you gift from Betsukai Town, Hokkaido). Text the shop placed in the image reads “これぞ北海道のチーズケーキ” (This is the Hokkaido cheesecake) and “お好みのフルーツと合わせても美味しくいただけます” (it is also delicious with your favorite fruit)
Image: from the Rakuten Furusato Nozei listing page. This is a plating example. The berry sauce, orange, strawberries, blueberries, other fruit, and mint are not included with the product. The text in this image is what the shop placed in the image; Ochinity has not verified it.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by theme. The rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and may change afterward. The following is the trend within the range we read and may not reflect the product’s current state.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.78 / 5725October 6, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 610 / 4★ 89 / 3★ 17 / 2★ 3 / 1★ 6 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 6, 2026)

Range read: the first 60 reviews in the default sort order (posted from October 2025 to October 2026; the latest is from October 2026), plus all 6 reviews rated 1★ (posted from December 2021 to January 2025), all 3 rated 2★ (posted from October 2022 to July 2023), and all 17 rated 3★ (posted from August 2021 to August 2026), 86 in total. This is the trend within the range we read and may not reflect the product’s current state.

The reviews rated 1★ to 3★ number only 26 in total, so the strength of a trend cannot be judged from counts alone. The counts below are approximate figures from reading the text, and they do not include posts that only concern delivery or the shop’s or municipality’s administrative handling.

What Reviewers Praise

Richness and milky taste

About 30 of the 60 reviews in the default sort order said it is rich or that they could taste the milk.

Lightly sweet and easy to eat

9 of the 60 reviews in the default sort order said it is lightly sweet and easy to eat.

Texture of the tart

About 9 of the 60 reviews in the default sort order mentioned the crisp texture of the tart part or its slightly salty taste. Posts that overlap are counted under each theme.

Texture changes with how far it is thawed

8 of the 60 reviews in the default sort order said it can be enjoyed either half-thawed or fully thawed, and that the texture changes with how thawed it is.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Not as rich as expected, or a faint cheese flavor

5 of the 26 reviews rated 1★ to 3★ said it was not as rich as expected or that the cheese flavor was faint (none of them were posted within the last 2 years). On the other hand, about 30 of the 60 reviews in the default sort order described it as rich, so reactions to the same product are divided.

Burnt taste in the tart layer

4 of the 26 reviews rated 1★ to 3★ (1 of them posted within the last 2 years) said they tasted something burnt in the tart layer.

Baked layer feels unremarkable

3 of the 26 reviews rated 1★ to 3★ (1 of them posted within the last 2 years) said the baked layer felt unremarkable and that the no-bake cheese layer alone would have been fine.

How to check: the two-layer structure is summarized in the “Structure” row of the “Basic Information” section of this article.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 6, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Want to receive a two-layer cheesecake of no-bake and baked layers in size No. 5
  • Want to choose the shipping period when applying
  • Can take the time to thaw it as the listing describes, leaving it in the refrigerator for about 5 hours

Who Should Be Careful

  • Have an allergy to egg, milk, wheat, or gelatin (listed in the allergen field)
  • Want to specify the delivery date (the listing says a specified arrival date is not available)
  • Only a simple noshi (sticker type, no name printing) is stated, and we found no statement on wrapping or message cards (viewed October 7, 2026)
  • Want to know the number of servings before deciding (not stated)
Where to Donate

Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 6, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. Choose 1 or 2 cakes in size No. 5 (15 cm) and also choose the shipping period. Store frozen (-18℃ or below); the best-before date is stated as 30 days from the shipping date, and thawing is described as about 5 hours in the refrigerator
  2. A specified arrival date is not available. The listing describes oseibo gift handling (delivery by December 15, simple noshi only, no name printing), and we found no statement on wrapping or message cards. The allergen field lists egg, milk, wheat, and gelatin
  3. Many reviewers mention richness and a milky taste, while 5 of the 26 reviews rated 1★ to 3★ say it was not as rich as expected, so reactions are divided

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on furusato nozei listings and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as amount, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 6, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “北海道別海町” (Betsukai Town, Hokkaido) listing, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC