Umeboshi Taste Comparison: Fukuume Honpo Trial Set of 4 — Contents & Reviews

Featured image for Fukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) Select Kishu Nankoume Umeboshi Taste-Comparison Trial Set. A product photo. On a white background, the top row shows the sweet set’s umeboshi (あまみつ梅, まろやか梅, ほのか梅, and こんぶ梅 with kelp on top) and the bottom row shows the sour set’s umeboshi (かつお梅, 白干梅, しそ漬梅, and two pieces of うす塩味 しそ漬梅). Text the shop placed in the image includes “あまいセット” (sweet set), “すっぱいセット” (sour set), the name of each umeboshi, “塩分5%”, “塩分10%”, “塩分8%”, “塩分8%”, “塩分10%”, “塩分20%”, “塩分20%”, “塩分9%” (salt content), and “※こんぶ梅の結昆布はイメージです” (the tied kelp on the こんぶ梅 is only an illustration)
Information as of 2026.10.12 PR
Product photo of the Fukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) Select Kishu Nankoume Umeboshi Taste-Comparison Trial Set. On a white background, the top row shows the sweet set’s umeboshi (あまみつ梅, まろやか梅, ほのか梅, and こんぶ梅 with kelp on top) and the bottom row shows the sour set’s umeboshi (かつお梅, 白干梅, しそ漬梅, and two pieces of うす塩味 しそ漬梅). Text the shop placed in the image includes “あまいセット” (sweet set), “すっぱいセット” (sour set), the name of each umeboshi, “塩分5%”, “塩分10%”, “塩分8%”, “塩分8%”, “塩分10%”, “塩分20%”, “塩分20%”, “塩分9%” (salt content), and “※こんぶ梅の結昆布はイメージです” (the tied kelp on the こんぶ梅 is only an illustration)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “福梅本舗” product page.

This is a trial set of umeboshi (salted, pickled Japanese plums) sold by Fukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) of Shirahama Town, Wakayama, with the plums’ country of origin labeled as Kishu (Wakayama). Umeboshi differ widely in saltiness and flavor from one kind to the next, so this set is aimed at people who want to try small amounts before buying a large bag without knowing which they prefer. However, although the product name says “8 kinds,” what you can choose on the current purchase screen is only two sets of 4 kinds each. This article organizes the product information and review-site entries published for Fukuume Honpo’s taste-comparison trial set under five points: amount, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.

View This Product
View on Rakuten Ichiba Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

What We Confirmed

  • Amount and how many servings
  • Storage and shelf life
  • Ingredients and allergen labeling
  • Whether it works as a gift
  • Trends in public reviews

Basic Information

This table transcribes what is stated on the product page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.

Product nameFukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) Select Kishu Nankoume Umeboshi Taste-Comparison Trial Set (the product name says “taste-comparison of 8 kinds”; you can choose 2 sets of 4 kinds each)
NameSeasoned umeboshi (調味梅干) (the white-dried plum, 白干梅, is plain umeboshi)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (ingredient table) (viewed October 12, 2026)
Amount4 kinds × 60g each (240g per set). Roughly 2 to 6 plums per kindSource: same as above
What changes depending on your choiceThe purchase screen has two options: “Sweet umeboshi set (4 kinds)” (あまい梅干しセット) and “Sour umeboshi set (4 kinds)” (すっぱい梅干しセット). Sweet set = Amamitsu Ume (あまみつ梅), Maroyaka Ume (まろやか梅), Honoka Ume (ほのか梅), Kombu Ume (こんぶ梅) / Sour set = Katsuo Ume (かつお梅), Shiso-zuke Ume Usushio-aji (しそ漬梅うす塩味), Shiso-zuke Ume (しそ漬梅), White-dried plum (白干梅). We did not find an option to choose all 8 kinds together on the purchase screen that daySource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 12, 2026)
StorageStore away from direct sunlight, high temperature, and humidity. Refrigerate after openingSource: same as above
Best-before dateShown as “from 1 month” (for the white-dried plum and Shiso-zuke Ume, “from 1 year”). The best-before period for each kind is not confirmedSource: same as above
Country of origin (raw material)Kishu (Wakayama)-grown plumsSource: same as above
Place of processingNot confirmed
Condition / how to eat (cooking required?)Umeboshi. Whether the seller gives guidance on cooking is not confirmed
After openingRefrigerate after openingSource: Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 12, 2026)
DeliveryThe shop’s guidance image says delivery is by Yu-Packet (a Japan Post small-parcel mail service), with no delivery date or time selection and no cash on delivery. It also says that orders of 2 or more are sent by takkyubin (home delivery service). The temperature range for delivery is not confirmedSource: guidance image on the Rakuten Ichiba product page (viewed October 12, 2026)
ManufacturerFukuume Honpo (有限会社福梅本舗) (2497-36 Katata, Shirahama Town, Nishimuro District, Wakayama Prefecture)Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (ingredient table)
ShopKishu Umeboshi Specialty Store Fukuume Honpo (紀州梅干し専門店 福梅本舗) (Rakuten Ichiba)

Prices change, so they are not listed here. Please check the link above for the latest price and stock.

Product photo of the Fukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) Select Kishu Nankoume Umeboshi Taste-Comparison Trial Set. At the top are a pink “あまいセット” (sweet set) label, a purple “すっぱいセット” (sour set) label, and large lettering “選べる お試しセット” (choose-your-trial-set). Below, eight kinds of umeboshi are arranged in two rows (top: まろやか梅, あまみつ梅, ほのか梅, こんぶ梅; bottom: かつお梅, 白干梅, しそ漬梅, and two pieces of しそ漬梅うす塩味). Text the shop placed in the image includes “選べる お試しセット”, the name of each umeboshi, “※こんぶ梅の結昆布はイメージです” (the tied kelp on the こんぶ梅 is only an illustration) and “※各味60g(3粒〜4粒入り)” (60 g per kind, 3 to 4 pieces)
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “福梅本舗” product page.

Ingredients and Allergen Labeling

Ingredients are labeled for each kind. We found no dedicated “allergen labeling” field on the product page, so this is not confirmed. In the parenthetical notes of the ingredient field, Maroyaka Ume and Katsuo Ume say “contains soybeans as part of the ingredients,” and Amamitsu Ume says “contains apples as part of the ingredients.” The other kinds have no allergen notes in parentheses.

Kind (set)Ingredient labeling (key points)Salt equivalent (per 100g of edible portion)
Amamitsu Ume (あまみつ梅) (sweet)Plum, pickling ingredients (sugar, reduced starch syrup, salt, apple cider vinegar, honey), acidulant, alcohol, vitamin B1, sweetener (sucralose). Contains apples as part of the ingredients5.33g
Maroyaka Ume (まろやか梅) (sweet)Plum, pickling ingredients (salt, reduced starch syrup, fermented seasoning, sugars, protein hydrolysate, honey), seasoning (amino acids, etc.), acidulant, vitamin B1, sweetener (stevia), vegetable pigment. Contains soybeans as part of the ingredients10.5g
Honoka Ume (ほのか梅) (sweet)Plum, pickling ingredients (reduced starch syrup, brewed vinegar, sugar, salt, protein hydrolysate, yeast extract), alcohol, acidulant, sweetener (stevia), vitamin B1. The old labeling is also shown alongside8.0g
Kombu Ume (こんぶ梅) (sweet)Plum, kombu (kelp), pickling ingredients (salt, reduced starch syrup, kombu extract, yeast extract, fish sauce), acidulant, alcohol, vitamin B1, sweetener (stevia)7.9g
Katsuo Ume (かつお梅) (sour)Plum, shiso (perilla), dried bonito flakes, pickling ingredients (salt, reduced starch syrup, fermented seasoning, sugars, protein hydrolysate, honey), seasoning (amino acids, etc.), alcohol, acidulant, vitamin B1, sweeteners (stevia, sucralose), vegetable pigment. Contains soybeans as part of the ingredients10.1g
Shiso-zuke Ume Usushio-aji (しそ漬梅うす塩味) (sour)Plum, shiso (perilla), pickling ingredients (shiso liquid, reduced starch syrup, brewed vinegar, salt), alcohol, seasoning (amino acids, etc.), acidulant, vitamin B1, vegetable pigment. The old labeling is also shown alongside9.0g
Shiso-zuke Ume (しそ漬梅) (sour)Plum, shiso (perilla), pickling ingredients (salt, shiso liquid)21.0g
White-dried plum (白干梅) (sour)Plum, pickling ingredients (salt)19.3g

Source: Rakuten Ichiba product page (ingredient table) (viewed October 12, 2026). For Honoka Ume and Shiso-zuke Ume Usushio-aji, both the new and the old labeling are shown. This table is based on the new labeling.

The product name includes “additive-free” (無添加), but a note attached to the same product name says that only the Shiso-zuke Ume and the white-dried plum are made without chemical seasonings, coloring agents, or preservatives. As the table above shows, the other 6 kinds list acidulants, sweeteners, or seasoning (amino acids, etc.). For “reduced salt” (減塩) in the product name, the standard and what it is compared against are not stated on the product page, so this is not confirmed.

If you have allergies, contact the shop before buying, or be sure to check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 12, 2026)

Five Things to Check Before Buying

What to checkFor this productBasis
1. Amount and servings 4 kinds × 60g each per set (240g in total). Roughly 2 to 6 plums per kind. No serving count is given: not confirmed Product page (ingredient table)
2. Storage and shelf life Keep away from direct sunlight, high temperature, and humidity. Refrigerate after opening. Best-before date is “from 1 month” (for the white-dried plum and Shiso-zuke Ume, “from 1 year”) Product page
3. Ingredients and allergen labeling Labeled for each kind. A dedicated allergen field is not confirmed. In parenthetical notes: soybeans (Maroyaka Ume, Katsuo Ume) and apples (Amamitsu Ume) Product page (ingredient table)
4. Whether it works as a gift Delivery by Yu-Packet, with no date or time selection and no wrapping. We found no indication of noshi (gift wrapping label) Product page and guidance image
5. Trends in reviews The Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.54 / 5 (4,716 reviews). The following trends are within what we read: the first 58 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted April 2025 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus 28 each filtered to 1★ and 2★. They may not reflect the product’s current condition. Many reviewers praised the plump size and softness of the plums and the way the comparison revealed their preferences, while some mentioned saltiness or a small amount. Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 12, 2026)

Suitable as a Gift?

On the Rakuten Ichiba product page, we found no indication that noshi (gift wrapping label) is supported, and no mention of message cards. The inscription on the noshi is not confirmed. The shop’s guidance image says the item arrives by Yu-Packet (a Japan Post small-parcel mail service) and that a delivery date and time cannot be specified and wrapping is not available. So if you send it as a gift, note that you cannot choose a day the recipient will be able to receive it, and that you cannot ask for wrapping. The box is shown as 18 × 18 × 3.5cm.

  • Noshi: not stated on the product page (not confirmed) / Wrapping: the guidance image says it is not available with Yu-Packet delivery
  • Delivery date: guidance says date and time cannot be specified

Among the reviews we read, some posts said the set was used as a gift or in a care package for family or friends (Source: Rakuten customer reviews, viewed October 12, 2026. This applies to the 114 reviews we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition).

Photo of the Fukuume Honpo (福梅本舗) Select Kishu Nankoume Umeboshi Taste-Comparison Trial Set showing a serving example. An example of how to eat it: one umeboshi held in chopsticks above white rice in a bowl with a brown rim. Text the shop placed in the image includes “美味しい笑顔を咲かせる” and a passage reading “先祖から受け継いだ梅の魅力を、次世代へと繋いでいく。”, “世界に誇るジャパンブランドだと確信しております”, “製品に使用するすべての梅を、ひと粒ひと粒真心込めて大切に作っております” and “『おいしい!』と喜んでいただけますように”. The rice is not included with the product
Image: from the Rakuten Ichiba “福梅本舗” product page. This is a serving example. The rice is not included with the product.

What Public Reviews Say

We organized the Rakuten Ichiba product reviews by topic. Rating figures are as of the time we viewed them and will change.

SiteRatingReviewsViewed
Rakuten customer reviews (product page)4.54 / 54,716October 12, 2026

Rating breakdown: 5★ 3,143 / 4★ 1,086 / 3★ 341 / 2★ 66 / 1★ 45 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, viewed October 12, 2026)

What we read: the first 58 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted April 2025 to September 2026; latest September 2026), plus 28 filtered to 1★ (posted February 2009 to July 2024) and 28 filtered to 2★ (posted February 2012 to November 2025), 114 in total. These are trends within what we read and may not reflect the product’s current condition.

What Reviewers Praise

The comparison shows your preferences

About 23 of the 58 reviews in the default order said that trying several kinds in small amounts showed them which flavors and saltiness levels they like. Some also said it helped them choose which large bag to buy next.

How to check: the saltiness of each of the 4 kinds is summarized in the table in the “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling” section of this article.

Plump size and softness

About 17 reviews said the plums are large, with soft, plump flesh.

A reasonable amount for a trial

About 15 reviews said the amount is reasonable for a trial, and that they buy it repeatedly.

Used as a gift or care package

About 9 reviews said they sent it to family or friends, or included it in a care package.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 12, 2026)

What Reviewers Note

Salty or sour

About 24 of the 56 reviews at 1★ and 2★ (2 of them posted within the last two years) said they found it salty or sour, especially the white-dried plum and Shiso-zuke Ume.

How to check: the saltiness of each kind is summarized in the table in the “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling” section of this article.

Small amount and comments on price

About 11 of the 56 reviews at 1★ and 2★ said there were few plums, or that the price felt high for the amount. All were posted in 2021 or earlier.

How to check: the number of plums and the weight are summarized in the “Amount” row of “Basic Information” in this article.

Sweetness preference and additives

About 6 of the 114 reviews we read said that even the sweet set divided opinion on sweetness and flavor, or that additives such as acidulants were a concern.

How to check: the ingredients used are summarized in the table in the “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling” section of this article.

Source: Rakuten customer reviews (viewed October 12, 2026)

Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful

Who It Suits

  • Want to try several umeboshi in small amounts before buying a large bag
  • Want to know whether you prefer the sweet type or the sour type
  • Want to compare the saltiness and ingredients of each kind in a table before choosing

Who Should Be Careful

  • Want all 8 kinds in a single order (you can choose 2 sets of 4 kinds each)
  • Looking only for umeboshi without additives (the “additive-free” label applies only to Shiso-zuke Ume and the white-dried plum)
  • Want to specify a delivery date (guidance says date and time cannot be specified)
  • Plan to give it with noshi or wrapping (no noshi mention found; wrapping is stated as unavailable)
Where to Buy
View on Rakuten Ichiba (Kishu Umeboshi Specialty Store Fukuume Honpo) Amazon: availability not confirmed Yahoo! Shopping: availability not confirmed

Prices, stock, shipping fees, and delivery dates change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 12, 2026. Please be sure to check the display at the link before you buy.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy

Summary

  1. You can choose 2 sets of 4 kinds each (sweet / sour). The salt equivalent of each kind ranges from 5.33g to 21.0g (per 100g of edible portion), and you can check the saltiness in the table
  2. The best-before date is “from 1 month” (for the white-dried plum and Shiso-zuke Ume, “from 1 year”), and it must be refrigerated after opening. Guidance says delivery dates cannot be specified, so pay attention to the receiving date if you give it as a gift
  3. The “additive-free” label applies only to Shiso-zuke Ume and the white-dried plum. We could not confirm a dedicated allergen field, so contact the shop before buying, or be sure to check the label on the product when it arrives

Related Pages

This article organizes information published on sales sites and review sites. Product information such as amount, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the seller’s listing for the latest information.

Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.

Information as of: October 12, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Ichiba “Kishu Umeboshi Specialty Store Fukuume Honpo” (紀州梅干し専門店 福梅本舗) product page, Rakuten customer reviews, Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Comments

To comment

TOC