In this article, we organized the statements on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page for a thank-you gift from Betsukai Town, Hokkaido (ikura in soy sauce, 250g–2kg) and the Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) into five points: contents, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews. The ingredients field states that the salmon roe or ikura is from Hokkaido, and the place of processing is stated as Odaito (尾岱沼), Betsukai Town, Hokkaido. The outlook for shipping this season could not be found on the application page; Not confirmed.
What We Confirmed
- Contents and approximate number of servings
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Suitable as a gift?
- Trends in publicly available reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the application page. However, the “not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | 北海道産 新物 いくら 醤油漬け 内容量が選べる 250g〜2kg 別海町 ふるさと納税 (Hokkaido-grown, new-season ikura soy sauce marinade, selectable amount, 250g–2kg, Betsukai Town, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten product page is a long string that includes many search terms and the shop’s own claims. Only the product-name part is shown here. |
|---|---|
| Name | 醤油いくら (shoyu ikura, ikura in soy sauce)Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Contents | Choose from 8 sizes: 250g (250g × 1 pack) / 500g (× 2) / 750g (× 3) / 1kg (× 4) / 1.25kg (× 5) / 1.5kg (× 6) / 1.75kg (× 7) / 2kg (× 8). Every size comes in individual 250g packs. No indication of the number of servings; Not confirmedSource: sizes displayed on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| What changes depending on your selection | You choose the amount (8 sizes in 250g steps). The ingredients differ in two ways depending on the manufacturing date, and the page states that you cannot choose between them (see “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling”)Source: sizes displayed and product description on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Shipping period | The size options display “翌月末まで発送” (ships through the end of the following month), and the page states that it ships in order during the period you choose. The outlook for shipping this season could not be found on the application page; Not confirmedSource: sizes displayed on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Catch period (new season) | The product name shows “新物” (shinmono, new-season catch). The year of the catch could not be found on the application page; Not confirmed. As of October 6, 2026, no option for choosing the catch period was found among the size optionsSource: product name and sizes displayed on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Wakeari (irregular) label | The search terms in the product name include “訳あり” (wakeari, irregular), but the reason is not stated on the product page; Not confirmedSource: product name and product description on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Storage method | Frozen (−18°C or below)Source: product description on the application page |
| Best-before date | Stated as 90 days from the shipping dateSource: product description on the application page |
| Country of origin of the ingredient | The salmon roe or ikura (salmon roe) is stated as from Hokkaido (the ingredients differ in two ways depending on the manufacturing date, and both are labeled as from Hokkaido). The image in the product description states that, depending on the catch situation, ikura from autumn salmon from Hokkaido other than Notsuke may be processedSource: ingredients field and product description image on the application page |
| Place of processing | Odaito (尾岱沼), Betsukai Town, HokkaidoSource: product description on the application page |
| Condition / how to eat (whether heating is required) | It is stated to arrive frozen. Eating it on rice is introduced as a way to eat it. The image in the product description says it can be eaten right away after thawing in the refrigerator for half a day. No statement on whether heating is required could be found on the application page; Not confirmedSource: product description and product description image on the application page (how to eat is the shop’s own statement) |
| Thawing method | The image in the product description says to thaw it in the refrigerator for half a day. No guidance on shelf life after thawing could be found on the application page; Not confirmedSource: product description and product description image on the application page |
| Delivery | Frozen delivery. It is stated that it cannot be shipped to Okinawa or remote islands. It is stated that a specified delivery date is not availableSource: product description and notes on the application page |
| Manufacturer | No manufacturer could be found; Not confirmed. The application page lists 野付漁業協同組合 (Notsuke Fisheries Cooperative Association) as the providerSource: product description on the application page |
| Shop | Betsukai Town, Hokkaido (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
The donation amount differs depending on the amount you choose. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The application page states that ingredients differ depending on the manufacturing date, that one of the following is sent, and that you cannot choose which (source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page, accessed October 6, 2026).
- Pattern 1: salmon roe (from Hokkaido), soy sauce (contains soybeans and wheat), kelp dashi, mirin, sugar, fermented seasoning, salt, yeast extract
- Pattern 2: ikura (salmon roe, from Hokkaido), seasoning liquid (soy sauce, fermented rice seasoning, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, reduced starch syrup, mirin, seafood extract), seasoning (amino acids, etc.), (contains wheat, ikura, mackerel, and soy as part of the ingredients)
The allergen field lists wheat, salmon, mackerel, ikura, and soy. The ingredients field for Pattern 1 has no mention of mackerel, while the ingredients field for Pattern 2 says it contains mackerel, so whichever arrives, please check against the side that has a labeled allergen (the five items above). If you are concerned about allergies, check the labeling on the application page before applying for the donation, or check the food information label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 6, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| Item to check | For this product | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Contents and number of servings | 8 sizes from 250g to 2kg (250g × 1 to 8 packs). All in individual 250g packs. No stated number of servings; Not confirmed | Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page |
| 2. Storage method and shelf life | Frozen (−18°C or below). Best before 90 days from the shipping date. Thawing in the refrigerator for half a day is advised. Shelf life after thawing: Not confirmed | Product description on the application page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | The ingredients differ in two ways depending on the manufacturing date, and you cannot choose. Labeled as containing wheat, salmon, mackerel, ikura, and soy. The ingredient is from Hokkaido and the place of processing is Odaito, Betsukai Town, Hokkaido | Ingredients and allergen fields on the application page |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | Noshi, wrapping, message cards and delivery to an address other than the donor’s: Not confirmed. A specified delivery date is not available, and it cannot be shipped to remote islands | Product description and notes on the application page |
| 5. Review trends | Rakuten Ichiba rating is 4.68/5 (6,783 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s standard sort order (posted October 2024–September 2026, most recent September 2026), 30 ★1 reviews (posted January 2026–September 2026), and 30 ★2 reviews (posted September 2023–May 2026). The following are trends within the range we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product. Many comments mention the taste, the grain size, and applying again and again, while several posts say that a thank-you gift applied for in the autumn of 2025 was changed to another item without ikura | Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 6, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
No statement on support for noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping, or message cards could be found on the application page (source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page, accessed October 6, 2026). Words such as oseibo (year-end gift) and gift appear in the search keyword field of the product page, but they are not a statement of what is supported.
- Noshi: Not confirmed
- Wrapping / gift box: Not confirmed
- Message card: Not confirmed
- Delivery address: no statement could be found on whether it can be delivered to an address other than the donor’s own; Not confirmed
- Specified delivery date: stated as not available
- Areas it cannot be shipped to: stated as not shippable to Okinawa or remote islands
Furusato nozei thank-you gifts are sent as thanks for a donation. If you plan to use it as a gift, check the handling of noshi, wrapping and delivery address on the application page before applying.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by topic. The rating figures are as of the time of viewing and may change afterward. The following are trends within the range we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.
| Site | Rating | Count | Date viewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (product page) | 4.68 / 5 | 6,783 reviews | October 6, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 5,312 / ★4 1,125 / ★3 140 / ★2 54 / ★1 152 (as displayed on Rakuten Ichiba, accessed October 6, 2026)
Range read: the first 60 reviews in standard sort order (posted October 2024–September 2026, most recent September 2026), 30 reviews filtered to ★1 (out of 152; posted January 2026–September 2026), and 30 reviews filtered to ★2 (out of 54; posted September 2023–May 2026), 120 reviews in total. These are trends within the range we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.
What Reviewers Praise
Taste and saltiness
About 30 of the 60 reviews in standard sort order mentioned the taste of the ikura, saying it was delicious (excluding impressions of replacement items). About 6 reviews said the saltiness or sweetness was just right (all posted within the last 2 years).
Grain size and texture
About 9 of the 60 standard reviews said the grains were large or each grain was firm, and about 3 mentioned the popping texture or that the skins do not linger in the mouth (all posted within the last 2 years). On the other hand, one review said that one of the boxes that arrived had very small grains.
Applying again and again
About 20 of the 60 standard reviews mentioned choosing it repeatedly, such as applying every year, again this year after last year, or for the umpteenth time (all posted within the last 2 years).
How much it feels like
Among the 60 standard reviews, one said one pack (250g) was enough for 5 to 6 bowls of rice, and one said one pack made ikura rice bowls for 4 people just right. The number of servings is not stated on the application page, so these are reviewers’ impressions.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 6, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
Change of the thank-you gift due to poor catch, and how it was communicated
Several reviews said that the ikura they applied for in the autumn of 2025, to be received at the end of the year, did not arrive because of a poor salmon catch, and that they were told it would be changed to another item such as scallops or beef, or to a catalog gift to choose from later. About 28 of the 30 reviews filtered to ★1, 4 of the 30 filtered to ★2 (all posted December 2025 or later), and 10 of the 60 in standard sort order (all posted January 2026 or later). The options presented included receiving the ikura with an additional donation, choosing another item, or canceling.
Some reviews said the notice came by email or postcard and that the email was lost among Rakuten newsletters so they did not notice it, or that the deadline for choosing passed and it was automatically changed to a catalog gift. On the other hand, among the 60 standard reviews, 6 said the replacement item was delicious and 2 said they were satisfied with the handling. These are posts about a thank-you gift applied for in the autumn of 2025.
How to check: the outlook for shipping this season could not be found on the application page, and the “Shipping period” row of the “Basic Information” section of this article treats it as not confirmed.
Small amount, and remarks on the donation amount
Among the 30 reviews filtered to ★2, about 7 said the amount was small and about 4 mentioned the donation amount. Among those posted within the last 2 years, about 2 were about the amount and about 2 were remarks on the donation amount; the rest were posted in March 2024 or earlier.
How to check: the contents of each size are summarized in the “Contents” row of the “Basic Information” section of this article.
Strong saltiness, fishy smell, grains and texture
Among the 30 reviews filtered to ★2, about 4 said it was too salty, about 6 said it smelled fishy, and about 8 mentioned the grains or texture, such as small grains or stickiness (with overlap). Among those posted within the last 2 years, about 1 was about saltiness, about 1 about the fishy smell, and about 5 about grains or texture.
Source: Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”) (accessed October 6, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- Those who want to choose individual 250g packs within a range of 1 to 8 packs
- Those looking for salmon roe in soy sauce whose ingredient is labeled as from Hokkaido
Who Should Be Careful
- Those with wheat, salmon, mackerel, ikura, or soy allergies (labeled as containing all of them)
- Those for whom it matters that the ingredients differ in two ways depending on the manufacturing date and cannot be chosen
- Those for whom the outlook for shipping this season, or the handling if the ikura cannot be delivered, is decisive (not on the application page, so not confirmed; the reviews include posts about a change of a thank-you gift applied for in the autumn of 2025)
- Those for whom guidance on shelf life after thawing or whether heating is required is decisive (not confirmed)
- Those who want to give it as a gift assuming noshi, wrapping, or delivery to an address other than the donor’s (not confirmed) / those who need a specified delivery date or live on a remote island (a specified delivery date is not available, and it cannot be shipped to remote islands)
Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 6, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you apply.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising).Editorial Policy
Summary
- Eight sizes from 250g to 2kg, all in individual 250g packs. The ingredient is labeled as from Hokkaido and the place of processing is Odaito, Betsukai Town, Hokkaido. The manufacturer and the number of servings are not confirmed
- Stored frozen (−18°C or below), best before 90 days from the shipping date. Thawing in the refrigerator for half a day is advised, but shelf life after thawing and whether heating is required are not confirmed. The ingredients differ in two ways depending on the manufacturing date and cannot be chosen; labeled as containing wheat, salmon, mackerel, ikura, and soy
- Many reviews mention the taste, the grain size, and applying again and again, while several posts say a thank-you gift applied for in the autumn of 2025 was changed to another item because of a poor catch. The outlook for shipping this season is not confirmed. Noshi and wrapping are not confirmed
Related Pages
This article summarizes information published on the furusato nozei application page and review sites. Information about the thank-you gift, such as contents, storage method, and ingredients, may change. Please check the application page for the latest information.
Evaluations of taste and quality are summaries of third-party posts with sources noted, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluations. Our approach to creating articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 6, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei “Betsukai Town, Hokkaido” application page, Rakuten customer reviews (“Minna no Review”), Consumer Affairs Agency “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments