“Izumisano City” in the name of this thank-you gift is the municipality that accepts the donation, not where the beef tongue used as the ingredient comes from. The beef tongue is labeled as coming from Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc., and the application page states that processing such as seasoning is done within Izumisano City. This article covers the beef tongue (牛タン 暴れ盛り 厚切り 訳あり) on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page, a thank-you gift for furusato nozei (hometown tax donation program) donations, which is described as “wakeari” (imperfect/irregular, sold at a discount) because the sizes are irregular. You choose the cut (thick-cut, thin-sliced, or a comparison set), the quantity, and the shipping month, and we organized five points to check before choosing: quantity, shelf life, ingredient labeling, suitability as a gift, and reviews.
What We Confirmed
- Quantity and how many people it serves
- Storage method and shelf life
- Ingredients and allergen labeling
- Whether it works as a gift
- Trends in public reviews
Basic Information
This table transcribes what is stated on the application page. However, the “Not confirmed” labels and any notes we add are our own.
| Product name | Abaremori Beef Tongue, Thick-Cut, Wakeari (牛タン 暴れ盛り 厚切り 訳あり; Izumisano City, furusato nozei)The product name shown on the Rakuten page is a long string with many search terms. Only the product-name part is shown here. |
|---|---|
| Name | 【ふるさと納税】牛たん 暴れ盛り 小分け (beef tongue, abaremori, in smaller portions)Source: name field on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Reason for “wakeari” | The page says it is because the sizes are irregular. The FAQ section says the reason is that the parts and shapes are irregularSource: product description on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Quantity | Choose from thick-cut (about 8mm) in 500g / 1kg / 1.5kg, thin-sliced (about 2.5mm) in 500g / 1kg, or a comparison set totaling 1kg (thick-cut 500g × 1 pack + thin-sliced 500g × 1 pack). There is also a subscription option delivered twice in total (every 3 months). The name and description say it comes in smaller portions, but the amount per pack and the number of packs are stated only for the comparison set; for the other options this is Not confirmed. How many people it serves is not stated either: Not confirmedSource: product description and options on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Choices that change what arrives | There are four: the cut (thick-cut / thin-sliced / comparison set), the quantity, the shipping month (October, November, or December), and whether it is a subscription. Which combinations can be chosen may change in the options on the application pageSource: options and product description on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Donation amount | It differs by the option you choose. This article does not list the amounts, so please check them in the options on the application page before you applySource: options on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Storage method | The delivery temperature is stated as frozen. We found no statement of a storage temperature (such as −18℃ or below): Not confirmedSource: delivery temperature field on the application page |
| Best-before date | Beef tongue: 90 days from the shipping dateSource: best-before field on the application page |
| How to thaw | The page says to move it from the freezer to the refrigerator about 8 hours before cooking to thaw it. We found no statement of how long it keeps after thawing: Not confirmedSource: cooking method field on the application page |
| Origin of ingredients | Beef tongue: Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc. The list ends with “etc.” (等), so not every country is namedSource: ingredient labeling in the notes section of the application page |
| Place of processing | Izumisano City (the ingredient labeling says “加工:泉佐野市” (processed in Izumisano City)). The local-product criteria field states that the beef is sourced from outside the area and that the main steps of manufacturing and processing, starting with seasoning, are done within the area, and that this falls under Article 5, Item 3 of the public noticeSource: notes section and the field explaining why it qualifies as a local product, on the application page |
| Seasoning | The page says it is pre-seasoned with an originally blended salt, and that the blend includes salt, pepper, onion, garlic, celery, and more. The ingredient labeling is summarized in the “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling” sectionSource: product description on the application page |
| Part of the tongue | The page only says the parts and shapes are irregular; we found no statement naming the part: Not confirmedSource: product description on the application page |
| Condition / how to eat (cooking required?) | It arrives as frozen, pre-seasoned meat. The page says to thaw it, lightly oil a frying pan, and cook both sides, and that because it is already seasoned you just cook it as is. We found no guidance on whether it can be eaten rawSource: product description and cooking method field on the application page |
| Delivery | The delivery temperature is stated as frozen. The page says the delivery date and month cannot be specified or changed, and that delivery to a parcel locker or leaving it at the door is not allowed in order to maintain quality. During Golden Week, Obon, and the year-end and New Year holidays, shipping is scheduled within up to 14 daysSource: notes on the application page |
| Shipping time | The options showed ★10月発送★ (ships in October; ships during October 2026), ★11月発送★ (ships in November), and ★12月発送★ (ships in December) (as of October 6, 2026). For the subscription, the first delivery ships the month after payment and the second ships 3 months later. The shipping times shown may changeSource: options on the application page (accessed October 6, 2026) |
| Manufacturer | The provider is (株)菜’S. Which party is the manufacturer, processor, or seller, and their addresses, are Not confirmedSource: provider field on the application page |
| Shop | Izumisano City, Osaka Prefecture (Rakuten Furusato Nozei) |
Donation amounts may differ by portal and may change. Please check the current donation amount and availability at the link above.
Ingredients and Allergen Labeling
The beef tongue is labeled as coming from Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc. What is done in Japan is the processing, such as seasoning, in Izumisano City.
| Type | Ingredients field |
|---|---|
| Beef tongue (salt flavor) | Beef tongue (Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc.), reduced starch syrup, salt, fermented rice seasoning, pepper powder, dried onion, dried garlic, spices, kombu powder / seasoning (amino acids, etc.), pH adjuster, thickener (xanthan), (contains beef), processed in: Izumisano City |
Source: notes section of the application page (accessed October 6, 2026)
For allergen labeling, the “アレルギー” (allergy) field on the application page lists beef only. However, the notes section of the same page also lists the ingredients of other items not found in the current options (beef tongue trimmings marinated in miso sauce, and eel), and there it says they contain wheat, sesame, soybeans, and apple. The labeling on the page with the larger number of items is beef, wheat, sesame, soybeans, and apple. Because the application page does not make it certain whether these are contained in the options you can choose now, we treat the items other than beef as Not confirmed.
If you have allergy concerns, contact the provider before applying for the donation, or check the label on the product when it arrives.
Reference: Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling” (accessed October 6, 2026)
Five Things to Check Before You Donate
| What to check | For this gift | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Quantity / servings | Thick-cut 500g–1.5kg, thin-sliced 500g or 1kg, comparison set 1kg in total. No statement of how many people it serves | Product description and options on the Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page |
| 2. Storage and shelf life | Delivered frozen. The best-before date is stated as 90 days from the shipping date. Storage temperature and how long it keeps after thawing: Not confirmed | Product description on the application page |
| 3. Ingredients and allergen labeling | The beef tongue is labeled as from Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc. It is pre-seasoned and contains seasoning (amino acids, etc.) and more. The allergy field lists beef only, but the notes section also lists wheat, sesame, soybeans, and apple | Ingredients, allergy field, and notes section on the application page |
| 4. Suitable as a gift? | Noshi (gift wrapping label), wrapping, and message cards: Not confirmed. The delivery date and month cannot be specified or changed | Application page (no fields for noshi, wrapping, or message cards) |
| 5. Review trends | Rated 4.45/5 on Rakuten Ichiba (8,913 reviews). We read the first 60 reviews in Rakuten’s default order (posted from October 2025 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), 30 ★1 reviews (posted from March 2026 to September 2026), and 30 ★2 reviews (posted from January 2026 to August 2026). The following are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product. Many mention the thickness and heartiness, while among ★1 and ★2, posts mentioning toughness, odor, and seasoning stand out | Rakuten reviews (みんなのレビュー) (accessed October 6, 2026) |
Suitable as a Gift?
We found no information on the application page about whether noshi (gift wrapping label) is available or what inscriptions are offered, wrapping, or message cards (Source: Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page, accessed October 6, 2026).
- Noshi: whether it is available and what inscriptions are offered are Not confirmed
- Wrapping / gift box: Not confirmed
- Message card / name printing: Not confirmed
- Delivery address: we found no statement on whether it can be sent to an address other than the donor’s (Not confirmed)
- Delivery: the page says the delivery date and month cannot be specified or changed, and that parcel lockers and leaving it at the door are not allowed
The application page says that donation applications cannot be canceled and thank-you gifts cannot be changed or returned. If you plan to use it as a gift, check how noshi, wrapping, and delivery addresses are handled on the application page before you apply.
What Public Reviews Say
We organized the product reviews on Rakuten Ichiba by topic. Rating figures are as of the time of viewing and change afterward. The following are trends within what we read and do not necessarily reflect the current state of the product.
| Site | Rating | Reviews | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rakuten reviews (みんなのレビュー) (product page) | 4.45 / 5 | 8,913 | October 6, 2026 |
Rating breakdown: ★5 5,852 / ★4 2,077 / ★3 441 / ★2 199 / ★1 344 (as shown on Rakuten Ichiba, accessed October 6, 2026)
What we read: the first 60 reviews in the default order (posted from October 2025 to October 2026, the latest in October 2026), 30 reviews filtered to ★1 (out of 344; posted from March 2026 to September 2026), and 30 reviews filtered to ★2 (out of 199; posted from January 2026 to August 2026), for a total of 120. We read only some of the ★1 and ★2 reviews, so these do not represent proportions of the whole.
Overall, ★5 accounts for about 66% (5,852 of 8,913), and ★1 and ★2 together total 543 (about 6%). The review section also includes posts about options not on the current application page (1.2kg, 600g, etc.).
What Reviewers Praise
Thickness and heartiness
21 of the 60 default-order reviews said it was thick or filling (all posted in the last two years).
Easy: just grill it, with scored cuts
12 of the 60 default-order reviews said it can be eaten just by thawing and grilling, or that the scored cuts make it easy to grill.
Tenderness and ease of biting through
15 of the 60 default-order reviews said it was tender or easy to bite through even though it is thick-cut. On the other hand, 3 said some parts were tough, so the descriptions vary.
Seasoning
12 of the 60 default-order reviews said the seasoning was just right, or well applied and a good match.
Source: Rakuten reviews (みんなのレビュー) (accessed October 6, 2026)
What Reviewers Note
The counts here are out of the 60 reviews we read after filtering to ★1 and ★2. They are not proportions of all 8,913 reviews.
Toughness / hard to bite through
29 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews (15 ★1 and 14 ★2, all posted in the last two years) said it was tough or could not be bitten through. Separately, 4 said that even though the top layer had large pieces, the lower layer had many scraps and tongue-tip pieces.
How to check: the reason it is “wakeari” is summarized in the “Reason for ‘wakeari'” row of this article’s “Basic Information.” We found no name of the part on the application page.
Odor
25 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews (16 ★1 and 9 ★2, all posted in the last two years) said they noticed an odor or gamey smell.
Strong or distinctive seasoning
17 of the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews said the seasoning felt strong, salty, or distinctive. 5 also said they had expected a salt-only flavor or wanted it unseasoned. The application page says it is pre-seasoned with an originally blended salt.
How to check: the ingredient labeling is summarized in this article’s “Ingredients and Allergen Labeling.”
Amount per pack
5 of the 60 default-order reviews and 2 of the 30 ★2 reviews said each pack was large and they wished it were divided into smaller portions, or that the amount was so large it was hard to finish.
How to check: the quantity and how it is packed are summarized in the “Quantity” row of this article’s “Basic Information.” For some options, the grams per pack are not found on the application page.
Source: Rakuten reviews (みんなのレビュー) (accessed October 6, 2026)
Who It Suits / Who Should Be Careful
Who It Suits
- People who want to choose between thick-cut (about 8mm) and thin-sliced (about 2.5mm) and compare them
- People who want to choose the amount from options in 500g units
- People who want pre-seasoned meat that arrives frozen, to thaw and grill
- People who understand that it is described as “wakeari” because of irregular sizes
Who Should Be Careful
- People expecting salt-only seasoning (it is pre-seasoned and contains seasoning (amino acids, etc.) and more)
- People concerned about toughness or odor (often pointed out in the ★1 and ★2 reviews we read)
- People who want to confirm that the ingredient is imported before deciding
- People with allergy concerns (the allergy field lists beef only, but the notes section also lists wheat, sesame, soybeans, and apple, so check them as possibly contained)
- People who want to give it with noshi, wrapping, or a message card (not confirmed)
- People who want to specify a delivery date (the delivery date and month cannot be specified)
- People who want to know how many people it serves before deciding (not stated)
Furusato nozei is for people who pay resident tax in Japan. You cannot receive the tax deduction without a Japanese address on January 1 of the following year, the One-Stop Exception requires a My Number, and the application pages are almost entirely in Japanese. Donation amounts, availability, and shipping times change. This article’s information-as-of date is October 6, 2026. Please be sure to check the listing at the link before you donate.
This article contains affiliate links (advertising). Editorial Policy
Summary
- You choose the cut (thick-cut, thin-sliced, or comparison set), the quantity (500g–1.5kg), and the shipping month. It is delivered frozen, and the best-before date is stated as 90 days from the shipping date. The beef tongue is labeled as from Mexico, Denmark, Poland, Spain, etc., and processing such as seasoning is done in Izumisano City
- Storage temperature, how long it keeps after thawing, how many people it serves, and noshi, wrapping, and message cards are not confirmed. The allergy field lists beef only, but the notes section also lists wheat, sesame, soybeans, and apple
- In the 60 default-order reviews, many mention the thickness and heartiness; in the 60 ★1 and ★2 reviews we read, posts mentioning toughness (29), odor (25), and seasoning (17) stand out
Related Pages
This article organizes information published on furusato nozei application pages and review sites. Thank-you gift information such as quantity, storage method, and ingredients may change. Please check the application page for the latest information.
Comments on taste or quality are summarized from third-party posts cited with their source, and are not Ochinity’s own evaluation. Our approach to writing articles is described in our Editorial Policy.
Information as of: October 6, 2026 / Sources: Rakuten Furusato Nozei application page for Izumisano City, Osaka Prefecture; Rakuten reviews (みんなのレビュー); Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan, “About Allergen Labeling”


Comments